HTPC V2, Home Theater PC Setup, HOWTO and Guides

barjoyai
post Aug 19 2015, 07:21 PM

PoisonRoses
726 posts

QUOTE(bad2928 @ Aug 19 2015, 03:20 PM)
just choose the surround mode in your avr example dolby pro logic,dts neo or others
You put it in simpler way, lol ๐Ÿ˜‚
j45on
post Oct 3 2015, 05:35 PM

348 posts

First time in this thread.

I am looking to build a low powered HTPC to host Plex Media Server to stream my medias to my chromcasts @ 720p. The HTPC will be running 24/7. I will install windows on it to also act as a workstation for Excel spreadsheet work, which rarely happens. I will also be using it to run Deluge torrent application and store my media. It would be great if it is a small form factor that takes up less space and I will opt to use a hybrid HD.

Any recommendation is appreciated. I would love to make a purchase some time next week.

Thank you!

This post has been edited by j45on: Oct 3 2015, 05:36 PM
Shoot@M3
post Oct 29 2015, 01:18 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

hmm bit quiet here eh, i've been visiting time to time see if got ppl create new discussion hehe
btw my current setup is very simple, my player is vlc on my laptop
laptop > wolfson 8501 DAC > Powered Edifier M3300 + Edifier P3080M (only sats from my M3300 attached to the P3080M to increase the mid range) > another out on Wolfson goes to my Wharfedale PMX500 Powered mixer/amp > Robertson Audio silver 25 tower speakers

For movies i only use the edifiers, for music i use all the speakers

Thinking in future will upgrade to the X-LS Encore series by fx20, by a forumner here

Forgot mention i also have a dedicated active wharfedale sub really old one for the bass side during watching movies, it also acts as a passthru to my wharfedale pmx500

This post has been edited by Shoot@M3: Oct 29 2015, 01:21 PM
4lt4ir
post Nov 17 2015, 02:21 AM

{--} 7
1,397 posts

Anyone selling their mini pc or htpc? I'm looking for one.
Drian
post Nov 17 2015, 09:48 AM

4,999 posts

With apple tv supporting plex, does it still make sense to do a HTPC nowadays?

SSJBen
post Nov 17 2015, 04:31 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Nov 17 2015, 09:48 AM)
With apple tv supporting plex, does it still make sense to do a HTPC nowadays?
You want the best audio and video quality, a HTPC is still required. Plex is just plex, meh.
It's like asking if Blu-Rays are still required since Netflix/Hulu+ is available. They just can't be compared, quality wise.

Of course, if you're just into simplicity, you don't even need to shell out that much in the first place.
bad2928
post Nov 17 2015, 07:29 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(Shoot@M3 @ Oct 29 2015, 01:18 PM)
hmm bit quiet here eh, i've been visiting time to time see if got ppl create new discussion hehe
btw my current setup is very simple, my player is vlc on my laptop
laptop > wolfson 8501 DAC > Powered Edifier M3300 + Edifier P3080M (only sats from my M3300 attached to the P3080M to increase the mid range) > another out on Wolfson goes to my Wharfedale PMX500 Powered mixer/amp > Robertson Audio silver 25 tower speakers

For movies i only use the edifiers, for music i use all the speakers

Thinking in future will upgrade to the X-LS Encore series by fx20, by a forumner here

Forgot mention i also have a dedicated active wharfedale sub really old one for the bass side during watching movies, it also acts as a passthru to my wharfedale pmx500
just get an av receiver all your problem and question will solved

Alan Yee
post Nov 20 2015, 10:35 AM

1,031 posts

So, any device that can output HDMI, DVI, or Display Port basically are HTPC capable?
Even laptop can doing so?

The 1st attempt is, when bought a new Plasma TV 4 years back, I install a DLNA server and try steam media from PC to TV.
This attempt cannot work as the TV cannot decode most of the media format.

2nd attempt is connecting my PC to Plasma TV is using DVI to HDMI converter as old graphic card only has DVI.
Then, using the old 2.1 speaker on PC for audio.

After a few month, bought a cheapo DVD 5.1 HTiB (I think below RM300) for sound on TV, using cheapo RCA cable connect the sound from computer to the HTiB for movie watching. Only getting 2.1 channel sound. But the sound greatly improved compare to TV sound.
I rarely gaming on TV, found more convenient to gaming on 23" monitor.

3rd attempt, bought a cheapo BD 5.1 HTiB (I think, below RM700), then fully utilize the DLNA to play all high quality video file from computer to the player, and can properly decode all surround sound (Dolby TrueHD, DTS MA) and other lossy sound format properly. Using cheap LAN cable to transfer those stuff digitally.

After a while, found out the computer has the Digital Coaxial output, then connect the Digital Coaxial cable (cheapo RCA again) to the BD HTiB, gaming on the TV with sound on HTiB.

This post has been edited by Alan Yee: Nov 20 2015, 10:54 AM
mostwanted82
post Apr 4 2017, 12:02 PM

603 posts

summon this 2 years old thread to ask something releated to HEVC.

If anyone here tried play 4K HEVC 10bit movie on HTPC and successful enabled hardware acceleration?

I need to confirm what Graphic Card can do 4K HEVC 10 bit hardware decoding.
keewah
post Apr 27 2017, 05:29 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(mostwanted82 @ Apr 4 2017, 12:02 PM)
summon this 2 years old thread to ask something releated to HEVC.

If anyone here tried play 4K HEVC 10bit movie on HTPC and successful enabled hardware acceleration?

I need to confirm what Graphic Card can do 4K HEVC 10 bit hardware decoding.
GFX 1050 can do that if not mistaken

source - https://forums.geforce.com/default/topic/98...c-a-k-a-h-265-/
mostwanted82
post Apr 29 2017, 10:30 AM

603 posts

QUOTE(keewah @ Apr 27 2017, 05:29 PM)
GFX 1050 can do that if not mistaken

source - https://forums.geforce.com/default/topic/98...c-a-k-a-h-265-/
tq for the information.
CCubeHL
post Nov 17 2017, 02:11 PM

171 posts

Hi every one

Just want to ask all the sifus here.

I have a core 2 quad and an Ati 6870 lying around. Planning to fix up a htpc with it. Will be getting a 2 or 4 gb ram for it.

Do you think itโ€™s ok performance wise for a htpc or should I get an i3?

Further more what casing would be roecommended if my budget at 200

Thanks in advance
SSJBen
post Nov 17 2017, 02:31 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(CCubeHL @ Nov 17 2017, 02:11 PM)
Hi every one

Just want to ask all the sifus here.

I have a core 2 quad and an Ati 6870 lying around. Planning to fix up a htpc with it. Will be getting a 2 or 4 gb ram for it.

Do you think itโ€™s ok performance wise for a htpc or should I get an i3?

Further more what casing would be roecommended if my budget at 200

Thanks in advance
For 1080p rips/remux and streaming, shouldn't be a big issue unless you are going to be using SVP and madvr ultra preset.
For 4k, neither hardware will be enough.

As for casing, at RM200... does it matter? Just get whatever that fits in your space?
CCubeHL
post Nov 17 2017, 09:25 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 17 2017, 02:31 PM)
For 1080p rips/remux and streaming, shouldn't be a big issue unless you are going to be using SVP and madvr ultra preset.
For 4k, neither hardware will be enough.

As for casing, at RM200... does it matter? Just get whatever that fits in your space?
Thanks for your reply and your input. Really appreciate it and happy to not needing to spend money on maybe an intel thumb pc.

Honestly I donโ€™t have a space restraint but would like some recommendation in regards of aesthetic reasons that looks good beside a tv and can fit a normal size gpu in regards of the back io.

This post has been edited by CCubeHL: Nov 17 2017, 10:32 PM
Max
post Nov 19 2017, 12:32 AM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(CCubeHL @ Nov 17 2017, 09:25 PM)
Thanks for your reply and your input. Really appreciate it and happy to not needing to spend money on maybe an intel thumb pc.

Honestly I donโ€™t have a space restraint but would like some recommendation in regards of aesthetic reasons that looks good beside a tv and can fit a normal size gpu in regards of the back io.
can look for silverstone or cooler master htpc casing.. surely nice aesthetic.
im using silverstone mATX square case. fit nicely in my current TV cabinet.
CCubeHL
post Nov 19 2017, 01:03 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(Max @ Nov 19 2017, 12:32 AM)
can look for silverstone or cooler master htpc casing.. surely nice aesthetic.
im using silverstone mATX square case. fit nicely in my current TV cabinet.
thanks for your suggestion.

Ya I love the Silverstone Chasings, so clean the look but they are above my budget (finance minister not happy i spending so much on a tv set up), the cooler master ones are also nice but my finance minister say look like micro wave oven so made me second guess it.

I am considering the Cube from Segotep, trying to get a Black version.
https://gamehypermart.com/segotep-p-cube-mi...ssis-white.html

or

AVF Gaming Freak Dark Wiccon
https://www.lazada.com.my/avf-gaming-freak-...k-26598858.html

Both are within my budget and neat looking with a modern touch.

This post has been edited by CCubeHL: Nov 19 2017, 01:04 PM
Max
post Jul 18 2021, 11:03 PM

1,705 posts

This thread dead ?
No more people use htpc? ๐Ÿค”๐Ÿฅบ๐Ÿ˜…
SUSWobblyblob
post Jul 19 2021, 01:46 AM

680 posts

What about Steam Engine HTPCs, console hybrids like the Subor Z+, MSI Trident and Asus Huracan, NUCs (Next Unit Computing) like Intel Skull Canyon NUC and Interactive players like China's O Box?

I personally have a Dell HTPC or PCTV.

This post has been edited by Wobblyblob: Jul 19 2021, 02:23 AM
Skylinestar
post Jul 20 2021, 05:24 PM

Mega Duck
10,472 posts

QUOTE(Max @ Jul 18 2021, 11:03 PM)
This thread dead ?
i have a matx pc next to my tv icon_rolleyes.gif
SSJBen
post Jul 21 2021, 03:44 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Max @ Jul 18 2021, 11:03 PM)
This thread dead ?
I'm still using mine.

But now a days the majority of people uses:

1) Android box/Apple TV/FireTV
2) Dedicated Android based player from Zidoo, IPUK, etc.
3) Built in player on SmartTV

Most don't want to bother with HTPC because either they believe in the myth that it's complicated to setup or they believe their android boxes produces better image quality. rolleyes.gif

101 Pages « < 98 99 100 101 >Top

0.0177sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:54 AM