HTPC V2, Home Theater PC Setup, HOWTO and Guides

peter32
post Jan 24 2015, 11:17 AM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Jan 23 2015, 04:49 PM)
hi guys. planning on building a HTPC with a budget 2k.

purpose is mainly for 1080p movies. no gaming intended.
maybe might want to use it to download movies and stream once a while but wont be heavy

still new in this htpc thing. would certainly appreciate if someone could give a guide on building one.

please include wireless keyboard and remote control into the budget if possible
So far I have built two. So managed to do some minor research before building my 2nd one 2 months back.

Here's my take.

1. Best so far, if just for multimedia eg. Kodi (XBMC) with windows 8, just use a Haswell i3 chip with built-in Intel HD Graphic chip 4400. Its capable of decoding 4K. I am using one now, its smooth for Full HD thus far. Haven't tried 4K content though. i5 is a bit overkill if you just use it for full HD video viewing.

2. AMD A6 Chipset, cheaper overall if DIY.

If you were to opt for the first option, do look at Intel NUC mini set that comes with everything inside ! It costs about RM800++, I think is worth all the effort.

The reason I didn't buy the NUC is that I wanted to use the HTPC to serve as server as well. So I need a bigger casing for multiple hard drives.

EternalC
post Jan 24 2015, 11:58 AM

Take what you can, give nothing back
845 posts

QUOTE(peter32 @ Jan 24 2015, 11:17 AM)
So far I have built two. So managed to do some minor research before building my 2nd one 2 months back.

Here's my take.

1. Best so far, if just for multimedia eg. Kodi (XBMC) with windows 8, just use a Haswell i3 chip with built-in Intel HD Graphic chip 4400.  Its capable of decoding 4K.  I am using one now, its smooth for Full HD thus far.  Haven't tried 4K content though.  i5 is a bit overkill if you just use it for full HD video viewing.

If you were to opt for the first option, do look at Intel NUC mini set that comes with everything inside !  It costs about RM800++, I think is worth all the effort. 

The reason I didn't buy the NUC is that I wanted to use the HTPC to serve as server as well.  So I need a bigger casing for multiple hard drives.
hi, thanks for reply.

about the decoding things, it will automatically decode or do i need do adjustment?

Intel NUC mini set is a pre-setup htpc you mean?
peter32
post Jan 24 2015, 12:23 PM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Jan 24 2015, 11:58 AM)
hi, thanks for reply.

about the decoding things, it will automatically decode or do i need do adjustment?

Intel NUC mini set is a pre-setup htpc you mean?
If you install XBMC or Kodi, just follow some simple instruction for video playback. Nothing amazingly difficult. You can connect HDMI to Av Amp, or connect S/pdif optical cable to Av Amp for full audio playback too.

In short, the chip nowadays is so fast and advance that simple HD video decoding is no longer a problem.

EternalC
post Jan 24 2015, 12:57 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(peter32 @ Jan 24 2015, 12:23 PM)
If you install XBMC or Kodi, just follow some simple instruction for video playback.  Nothing amazingly difficult.  You can connect HDMI to Av Amp, or connect S/pdif optical cable to Av Amp for full audio playback too. 

In short, the chip nowadays is so fast and advance that simple HD video decoding is no longer a problem.
ok thanks bro
paskal
post Jan 24 2015, 04:25 PM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(peter32 @ Jan 24 2015, 11:17 AM)

Here's my take.

1. Best so far, if just for multimedia eg. Kodi (XBMC) with windows 8, just use a Haswell i3 chip with built-in Intel HD Graphic chip 4400.  Its capable of decoding 4K.  I am using one now, its smooth for Full HD thus far.  Haven't tried 4K content though.  i5 is a bit overkill if you just use it for full HD video viewing.

If you were to opt for the first option, do look at Intel NUC mini set that comes with everything inside !  It costs about RM800++, I think is worth all the effort. 

The reason I didn't buy the NUC is that I wanted to use the HTPC to serve as server as well.  So I need a bigger casing for multiple hard drives.
woh? those integrated graphics any good meh?
got people say those integrated GC sucks and must use dedicated gaming GC only will give very the best picture quality! the more expensiver the GC the more better they say! more expensive GC = better PQ.

not true ah? kah kah kah
EternalC
post Jan 24 2015, 06:19 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Jan 24 2015, 04:25 PM)
got people say those integrated GC sucks and must use dedicated gaming GC only will give very the best picture quality! the more expensiver the GC the more better they say! more expensive GC = better PQ.

not true ah? kah kah kah
i think there is a limit on the quality they can give lol. it is a movie, not a game tho lol
peter32
post Jan 24 2015, 11:40 PM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Jan 24 2015, 04:25 PM)

not true ah? kah kah kah
I think the max that Intel HD 4400 can deliver in 4k is 30fps.

In my Kodi, initially there was jitterring in video playback, which I thought was due to lower Graphic Chipset capacity. Despite other online suggestion to set video playback to 'Software' instead of 'hardware' with DXVA disabled, I enabled the DXVA2 with 'Hardware' graphic Acceleration actually make the full HD playback smooth as silk. Problem solved.

My Chip is the i3 Haswell only. It saves power, runs cooler (using a fanless cooling). So yes it works.
peter32
post Jan 24 2015, 11:44 PM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

From the web info, AMD APU model does run full HD better especially with minor gaming without any additional Graphic card. But it still does not run 4K effectively.

paskal
post Jan 25 2015, 10:55 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Jan 24 2015, 06:19 PM)
i think there is a limit on the quality they can give lol. it is a movie, not a game tho lol
Really meh?
I've been told you need Quad SLI gtx Titan or 4 way crossfire ati firepro to achieve maximum quality BD video playback. Like this one:

Only then can unlock best PQ. Not true ah? Kah kah kah
EternalC
post Jan 25 2015, 01:49 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Jan 25 2015, 10:55 AM)
Really meh?
I've been told you need Quad SLI gtx Titan or 4 way crossfire ati firepro to achieve maximum quality BD video playback. Like this one:

Only then can unlock best PQ. Not true ah? Kah kah kah
that one i think if your tv is 4k and beyond then maybe need? lol
suj87
post Feb 4 2015, 03:37 PM

hi guys, planning to buy a windows htpc. Mostly for watching and downloading HD movies, internet surfing and occasional usage of word/excel/powerpoint. Not for gaming whatsoever. can anyone recommend. Budget less than 1k
paskal
post Feb 4 2015, 06:12 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(suj87 @ Feb 4 2015, 03:37 PM)
hi guys, planning to buy a windows htpc. Mostly for watching and downloading HD movies, internet surfing and occasional usage of word/excel/powerpoint. Not for gaming whatsoever. can anyone recommend. Budget less than 1k
do you require HD audio bitstreaming capability?
suj87
post Feb 4 2015, 10:49 PM

QUOTE(paskal @ Feb 4 2015, 06:12 PM)
do you require HD audio bitstreaming capability?
Yes bro
paskal
post Feb 5 2015, 06:24 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(suj87 @ Feb 4 2015, 10:49 PM)
Yes bro
do you believe dedicated graphic cards deliver better picture quality compared to integrated solutions?
suj87
post Feb 5 2015, 06:58 PM

QUOTE(paskal @ Feb 5 2015, 06:24 PM)
do you believe dedicated graphic cards deliver better picture quality compared to integrated solutions?
Dont they?
paskal
post Feb 5 2015, 09:25 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(suj87 @ Feb 5 2015, 06:58 PM)
Dont they?
depend on who you ask. kah kah kah
bet those that say yes have never seen the 4th generation intel 4400/4600 and the newer AMD APU in action.
ivantks
post Feb 6 2015, 04:10 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(breonwei @ Apr 25 2014, 11:45 AM)
Received Flirc from USPS yesterday. Now I can launch XBMC, have full control to XBMC using Harmony 300 biggrin.gif

Hi bro. Mind telling where you bought the FLIRC dongle?
squid7681
post Mar 17 2015, 02:26 PM

Guys, need help on setting up a HTPC.

My purpose is purely downloading 24/7, online & playing videos(downloaded, streaming)

By reading through this topic, i came up with my conclusion is that I would required 1 which able to provide me stability, low heat/noise and low power consumption.

My ideal would be using a CM Mini ITX casing.

As i am noobie on setup of the pc. Need some suggestions on what specs shud i come up with.

Please help on it. thanks a lotttttt

kherel77
post Mar 17 2015, 02:54 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

QUOTE(squid7681 @ Mar 17 2015, 02:26 PM)
Guys, need help on setting up a HTPC.

My purpose is purely downloading 24/7, online & playing videos(downloaded, streaming)

By reading through this topic, i came up with my conclusion is that I would required 1 which able to provide me stability, low heat/noise and low power consumption.

My ideal would be using a CM Mini ITX casing.

As i am noobie on setup of the pc. Need some suggestions on what specs shud i come up with.

Please help on it. thanks a lotttttt
Asrock Intel Q1900B-ITX (10W Intel BayTrail J1900)
So-DIMM 2GB DDR3 1333 MH
FSP Hexa 400W
CM Elite 120 Advance

Max 2 HDD

This is my future build for HTPC.

If you want more lower power consumption, try Raspberry Pi... thumbup.gif
paskal
post Mar 17 2015, 05:59 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(kherel77 @ Mar 17 2015, 02:54 PM)
Asrock Intel Q1900B-ITX (10W Intel BayTrail J1900)
So-DIMM 2GB DDR3 1333 MH
FSP Hexa 400W
CM Elite 120 Advance

Max 2 HDD

This is my future build for HTPC.

If you want more lower power consumption, try Raspberry Pi... thumbup.gif
if you explicitly require SATA hdd support and don't mind working with linux, this is also available:
much faster IO access compared to raspi, and has a gigabit ethernet chip. perfect for NAS purpose and download server. doesn't even have a heatsink.

similar power efficiency as raspi at ~4W

101 Pages « < 95 96 97 98 99 > » Top

0.0228sec    1.02    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:25 PM