HTPC V2, Home Theater PC Setup, HOWTO and Guides

geforce1999
post Mar 30 2010, 04:32 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Mar 30 2010, 04:16 PM)
Silverstone ATX LC20B-M is overkill....

Silverstone KL01 or KL02 allows for 5 hard drive bays and is about RM400+ nia...

hot swap is elite! *thumbs up*

Nice, if it has eSATA connection then I will go for it...
kianwee
post Mar 30 2010, 04:44 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

Silverstone KL01 or KL02 allows for 5 hard drive bays and is about RM400+ nia...

hot swap is elite! *thumbs up*

IMHO, KL series is tower case... I wouldn't want that for my HTPC. I will always go for the sleekness of LC series and it's in desktop form.

I'm still trying to look for this sad.gif

chuan1983
post Mar 30 2010, 06:15 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Mar 30 2010, 04:44 PM)
IMHO, KL series is tower case... I wouldn't want that for my HTPC. I will always go for the sleekness of LC series and it's in desktop form.

I'm still trying to look for this sad.gif

[URL= http://global.aopen.com/products_detail.aspx?Auno=2926]Link to the Official Website[/URL]

I looking for this HTPC casing, it look great... thumbup.gif But I can't find it in Malaysia.... blink.gif
Suk
post Mar 30 2010, 06:58 PM

2,330 posts

thank TS for the great information....
djlah
post Mar 30 2010, 07:30 PM

7,723 posts

very nice HTPC. most of HTPC are desktop.
will you guys like also tower as HTPC?

like this:

shuto1
post Mar 30 2010, 07:42 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Mar 30 2010, 09:18 AM)
Taukeh, good specs you haveĀ  drool.gif
How do you install all hdds in a htpc?
I can only have my hdds lying external and mount them on external dock.
Personally I prefer TMT3 over PDVD. nod.gif
QUOTE(Dannyoski @ Mar 30 2010, 03:13 PM)
Wah ! only the casing "Silverstone ATX LC20B-M" itself oledi cost >rm700.
Can show some picture here? Really interested to see how you fit 5 Hdd into this casing.
Ya it's a great casing. I've attached a picture showing how the 5 HDDs are fit in. I still have space for 2 more HDDs.

QUOTE(kianwee @ Mar 30 2010, 04:44 PM)
Kianwee is a genius mind reader. My thoughts exactly.

Yonggoh: The LCM20B-M may be over kill to you, but I wouldn't want to see a tower case in my setup. Also I need something that looks good enough to sit next to my Pioneer AVR.

This post has been edited by shuto1: Mar 30 2010, 09:19 PM
sean_gtech
post Mar 30 2010, 08:58 PM

54 posts

helo all htpc sifu.need some guidance here.pls help.i'm building htpc/gaming rig.i'm using ma785gt mobo and hd5770 gc.i'm gonna connect the hdmi from the mobo to an lg42pq30 while the gc hdmi to my lcd monitor.i'm confused right now on how to set up the speaker.i notice there's an output behind the mobo.can ijust plug the satellite speaker directly to the speaker output or i need to buy amplifier card?
mobo>rca>speaker or mobo>rca>avr>speaker?
thanks in advance.
minimize
post Mar 30 2010, 09:17 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Mar 30 2010, 07:30 PM)

like this:

This tower casing is great but for me it still look like PC. Not HTPC. icon_rolleyes.gif
paskal
post Mar 30 2010, 09:26 PM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(shuto1 @ Mar 30 2010, 07:42 PM)
that is one sexy case!
never knew an ATX case could be no bigger than an AVR.
all ATX system that i've ever came across are big big tower that looks awfully too big next to the tv
ronaldjoe
post Mar 30 2010, 09:30 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(chewkl @ Mar 30 2010, 03:55 PM)
My car got Dynaudio speakers. tongue.gif
QUOTE(shuto1 @ Mar 30 2010, 07:42 PM)
Ya it's a great casing. I've attached a picture showing how the 5 HDDs are fit in. I still have space for 2 more HDDs.

Kianwee is a genius mind reader. My thoughts exactly.

Yonggoh: The LCM20B-M may be over kill to you, but I wouldn't want to see a tower case in my setup. Also I need something that looks good enough to sit next to my Pioneer AVR.

Taukeh, how much is the case? Where did you get it?
I could be building another htpc sometime next month.
htkaki
post Mar 30 2010, 11:13 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Thinking of building one too with my newly acquired and unopened icy dock. How muchie for the budget? shuto1's HTPC looks good. Sleek would be good.
djlah
post Mar 31 2010, 08:31 AM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(sean_gtech @ Mar 30 2010, 08:58 PM)
helo all htpc sifu.need some guidance here.pls help.i'm building htpc/gaming rig.i'm using ma785gt mobo and hd5770 gc.i'm gonna connect the hdmi from the mobo to an lg42pq30 while the gc hdmi to my lcd monitor.i'm confused right now on how to set up the speaker.i notice there's an output behind the mobo.can ijust plug the satellite speaker directly to the speaker output or i need to buy amplifier card?
mobo>rca>speaker or mobo>rca>avr>speaker?
thanks in advance.
mobo <HDMI> AVR <HDMI> LCD TV

what is the speakers & AVR you're using now?

This post has been edited by djlah: Mar 31 2010, 08:31 AM
peter32
post Mar 31 2010, 04:22 PM

åæƒę—·ē„žę€”
1,162 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Mar 30 2010, 07:30 PM)

like this:

The HTPC case design goes opposite to the geek's CPU ideal design. HTPC tends to be low key, where simplicity is the luxury, unlike the gamer CPU that comes with LED lights, fans, overall intimidating look.

The best analogy is the design of minicompo with 1000Watt wording splashed across the speakers, and an audiophile Hifi that comes with only 2 huge dials, with only one LED light to indicate that its 'on'. Its quite a different set of ball game.

Furthermore, just like in a cinema, any light that blinks below the screen is a distraction, so is the fan noise. Thats why HTPC is so low key in design.

Btw, the distraction can be a pain. My htpc blu ray drive blinks when I ran it. Still thinking of using a black tape to cover it.
ycs
post Apr 1 2010, 09:25 AM

4,221 posts

for htpc users, what method you use to back-up your media files?

i was thinking to use freenas on an old P3? any views on this.
yonggoh
post Apr 1 2010, 11:36 AM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Mar 30 2010, 11:13 PM)
Thinking of building one too with my newly acquired and unopened icy dock. How muchie for the budget? shuto1's HTPC looks good. Sleek would be good.
hey bro! where did u get the icy dock and how much?

which model?

i need storage solutions also!
sean_gtech
post Apr 3 2010, 03:50 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Mar 31 2010, 08:31 AM)
mobo <HDMI> AVR <HDMI> LCD TV

what is the speakers &  AVR you're using now?
thanks for the info djlah.i haven't bought the speaker yet.i thought of eliminating the avr n go direct from
mobo to speaker.is it possible?if i were force to buy avr,i will opted for lg htib for example HT964PZ-AM.
i'm kind of on tight budget.don't want to spent to much on av system but i like to watch movie a lot.
djlah
post Apr 3 2010, 04:48 PM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(sean_gtech @ Apr 3 2010, 03:50 PM)
thanks for the info djlah.i haven't bought the speaker yet.i thought of eliminating the avr n go direct from
mobo to speaker.is it possible?if i were force to buy avr,i will opted for lg htib for example HT964PZ-AM.
i'm kind of on tight budget.don't want to spent to much on av system but i like to watch movie a lot.
it's impossible to connect speaker direct to mobo because no amp to power it. unless you buy computer pc speakers.
if you're in tight budget, no need to buy a avr. go as you opted, get a HTiB system.
hian
post Apr 3 2010, 06:43 PM

418 posts

If you are going for HTiB, and you want to hook your PC or HTPC to it, then make sure the HTiB has the input for it. For an example, not all GPU can push audio through HDMI, and if you are using such GPU, then you will need another audio input on the receiver. smile.gif
sean_gtech
post Apr 3 2010, 09:25 PM

54 posts

thanks for the advice guys.well,i've already check the lg HT964PZ-AM.
at the back of the receiver,there's 3 hdmi.1 is input,1 output and another 1 is just hdmi.(i refer at the website).
djlah,i saw in utube where this guy from amd teach u how to built htpc.
i saw him installing a amplifier card to the mobo.i try looking for it at garage
sale but nobody carried it.that's mean it possible right?i just need to find that
amplifier card right?thanks in advance guys.really appreciate it.
hian
post Apr 3 2010, 09:48 PM

418 posts

I maybe been living in a cave for too long, I have never heard of a PCI amplifier card before...pardon me. blush.gif However, I do know that there are active speakers (with build-in amp) on the market, half the size of most of the floorstander. You can connect it straight to your sound card. It's just like an oversized PC speakers. My dad is using it in his bedroom, and it sounds good too. I mean if you compare with normal PC speakers. smile.gif

101 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0265sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:52 AM