Device for surfing the Net on a HDTV

TSjitbeng
post Mar 13 2010, 04:22 PM, updated 16y ago

302 posts

Sorry, don't know whether this has been asked before.

But anyway would like ask the following:-

a) A Device that operate on windows operating system that can be attached to the HDTV to surf the Net.

b) A kind of Xbox/PS3 wireless controller to work with the Device to surf the Net.

Need the above so that I can comfortably sit on my couch to surf the Net on the 42" HDTV using the controller. Also easy for the eyes & don't have to frequently enlarge the fonts.

Thanks in advance

This post has been edited by jitbeng: Mar 14 2010, 12:47 AM
buffalowings
post Mar 13 2010, 04:24 PM

225 posts

dinovo mini
Elanges
post Mar 13 2010, 04:54 PM

706 posts

pc + Dinovo mini
TSjitbeng
post Mar 13 2010, 04:55 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(buffalowings @ Mar 13 2010, 04:24 PM)
dinovo mini

The problem is my PC is not at the front. When I am watch the TV, my PC is behind me about 10ft away. Does this dinovo mini work then?

Where to buy & how much it cost?

Many thanks.

Elanges
post Mar 13 2010, 04:57 PM

706 posts

if im not mistake dinovo connected using Blue tooth and range shouldn't be a problem... price around 4xx
neb
post Mar 13 2010, 05:06 PM

2,234 posts

add wireless mouse +wireless keyboard to your existing PC, and make sure you got graphics card with hdmi/dvi port connecting to your TV via long HDMI cable
btw not surfacing but surfing icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by neb: Mar 13 2010, 05:09 PM
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Mar 13 2010, 05:10 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

When you have Desktop and Laptop, why do you need to surf net on HDTV?

Vast improvement of technology encourages everyone to feel the speed eh?
TSjitbeng
post Mar 13 2010, 07:11 PM

302 posts

I think using the wireless keyboard/mouse is troublesome siting on the couch in front of the TV. I am a couch potato. Daily I am either watching Astro or DVD/Blu-ray. If not watching then will be playing Xbox 360. So might as well surf the internet using my 42" Panasonic Plasma TV. Easy on the eyes & the font should be ok.

My TV has a PC VGA input. I have already bought a 5M cable & will be the TV to the Desktop.

I just need a simple to use wireless device to surf while sitting in front of the TV.

By the way, is this dinovo mini selling in Low Yat.

Many thanks for the advice so far.

Loreburner
post Mar 13 2010, 07:29 PM

131 posts

Surfacing the Net??? Are you retarded? doh.gif

This post has been edited by Loreburner: Mar 13 2010, 07:30 PM
RAMChYLD
post Mar 13 2010, 09:35 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Loreburner @ Mar 13 2010, 07:29 PM)
Surfacing the Net??? Are you retarded?  doh.gif
Not a bad idea actually. If the TV is trueHD and support 1920x1080, picture can be actually good.
TSjitbeng
post Mar 14 2010, 12:37 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(Loreburner @ Mar 13 2010, 07:29 PM)
Surfacing the Net??? Are you retarded?  doh.gif
Typo error lah!!!

Who is retarded here. As far as I am concerned you are the one retarded. I am sure anyone not retarded here would have guessed it was a typo!

Not only you are retarded but someone must have pissed you off today!

Thanks but no thanks.

Added on March 14, 2010, 12:45 am
QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Mar 13 2010, 09:35 PM)
Not a bad idea actually. If the TV is trueHD and support 1920x1080, picture can be actually good.
Thanks for the positive comment.

Yes, mine is a 42" Full HD Panasonic TH-P42S10K.

This post has been edited by jitbeng: Mar 14 2010, 12:46 AM
Sky.Live
post Mar 14 2010, 01:19 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

I still think a normal LCD monitor is better for surfing, reason is that text is still better visible using a normal monitor than a TV. It's build for what it's mean for..
ianho
post Mar 14 2010, 01:21 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Just get a PS3 la. It does everything. Get the Logitech PS3 keyboard with the touchpad. I surf n YouTube on my 60" HD Plasma n it's awesome. Best thing is watching movies that r in my PC HDD tru wifi
connection.
TSjitbeng
post Mar 14 2010, 01:34 AM

302 posts

"ianho" & "Sky.Live",

Many thanks for the advice.

RAMChYLD
post Mar 14 2010, 12:16 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Mar 14 2010, 01:21 AM)
Just get a PS3 la. It does everything. Get the Logitech PS3 keyboard with the touchpad. I surf n YouTube on my 60" HD Plasma n it's awesome. Best thing is watching movies that r in my PC HDD tru wifi
connection.
thumbup.gif I agree. Although, be prepared for the fact that Facebook games cannot work correctly on the browser. Trust me, I tried playing Mafia Wars on the PS3 a few days ago because I don't feel like sitting up and my PS3 has the Logitech EX-100 wireless kit. Can't load the page. At the end had to sit up, power on PC to play anyway.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Mar 14 2010, 12:17 PM
willkso
post Mar 14 2010, 03:25 PM

993 posts

What about Acer Aspire Revo R3610? It come with wireless keyboard and mouse but priced at RM1399..

The CPU is small enough to attach to the back of the TV. smile.gif
Sky.Live
post Mar 14 2010, 06:07 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

I think if there is a wireless trackball mouse it shud be very cool..
TSjitbeng
post Mar 19 2010, 01:33 PM

302 posts

I am typing this post with my Bluetooth Logitech Cordless MediaboardPro on my Panasonic Plasma 42S10K Full HDTV.

This MediaboardPro is like a laptop keyboard with a touchpad. On the box it stated for PS3 but can use it for computer also. Bought this & a USB HK-890 bluetooth dongle for RM200 & RM21 respectively. Connect them up & viola! you can surf the net on your HDTV. Essentially you do all the things you do with your normal keyboard & mouse.

Now I can watch Astro, Movies, play Xbox 360 & surf the Net all on my HDTV. I think in future the HDTV will be the center for your multimedia needs. Off course the bigger the HDTV the better. And also easy on the eyes.

This post has been edited by jitbeng: Mar 19 2010, 01:36 PM
ianho
post Mar 19 2010, 03:19 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Heh that's the keyboard I was telling u about. Good stuff eh? Best thing is the touchpad. I actually have the thumb board for my PS3 controller too but no touchpad, very kacau when surfing without touchpad.

Actually there's an even cheaper version that's silver in color. The silver 1 is exactly the same as the black PS3 version, just that it doesn't have the PS3 specific buttons. It's half the price IIRC. Not available in Msia though.

This post has been edited by ianho: Mar 19 2010, 03:21 PM
TSjitbeng
post Mar 19 2010, 03:50 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Mar 19 2010, 03:19 PM)
Heh that's the keyboard I was telling u about. Good stuff eh? Best thing is the touchpad. I actually have the thumb board for my PS3 controller too but no touchpad, very kacau when surfing without touchpad.

Actually there's an even cheaper version that's silver in color. The silver 1 is exactly the same as the black PS3 version, just that it doesn't have the PS3 specific buttons. It's half the price IIRC. Not available in Msia though.
Thanks again for the advice.

The touchpad is really good. Have to get use to it after umpteenth years using mouse.

I need a bigger size TV, then it will be as you said "Awesome". But I am happy with my TV now & moreover I just bought it about 3 months ago. Bigger TV means more expensive. Maybe will get a really big one 2-3 years from now.

0.0200sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:07 PM