Chance to tour ASTRO Broadcast Facility, Quick, sign up now!

TSbeatnikseed
post Mar 12 2010, 05:49 PM, updated 16y ago

23 posts

Wow, “Astro B.yond, HD Content Available” is now onto its version 3.0, pushing to 1,500 replies soon!

Just like you, I'm excited with many thoughts in mind. Thus, the inspiration for the event below:

Lowyat and ASTRO has joined together to bring you the “B.yond the Lowyat Forum” workshop.

The workshop (to be held in ASTRO’s HQ) will include a tour of its facility and a chance for you to meet up with the tech whizzes behind ASTRO B.YOND.

This is when it's meant to happen:

Date : 20 March 2010 (Saturday)
Time : 10:30am – 12:00 noon
Venue : All Asia Broadcast Centre,
Technology Park Malaysia,
Lebuhraya Puchong-Sg. Besi,
Bukit Jalil, 57000, Kuala Lumpur

We are opening this to five (5) persons, which should promise to make the tour a lot more personal and engaging.

So, if you want a chance at one of the five slots, just email in your request to astrohd2010@gmail.com before 17 March (Wed). Once we receive your email, a security form will be sent to you to fill up. Send it back to the same email once you are done. You will be notified by us latest on the 18 March (Thurs) once security clearance is obtained.

Well, we look forward to your email. Till then, let’s keep the B.yond conversation going!

Sincerely,
Seet
On behalf of ASTRO B.YOND team

p/s: Since it’s the weekend, I will check the mail box on Saturday and reply to as many requests as possible, otherwise, the team will respond on Monday smile.gif
SiriuslyCold
post Mar 12 2010, 06:04 PM

1,976 posts

only 5!!

they will have to write a report for the rest of us

neb
post Mar 12 2010, 06:14 PM

2,234 posts

wow! people from astro actually read through lyn forum posts shocking.gif

Time : 10:30am – 12:00 noon
what! no free lunch! so stingy hmm.gif

This post has been edited by neb: Mar 12 2010, 06:21 PM
spikey2506
post Mar 12 2010, 07:16 PM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

If I'm selected, can you introduce me to the bloke who suggested the compulsory zoom and pillarbox mode on Byond? So I can whack his head. mad.gif

This post has been edited by spikey2506: Mar 12 2010, 07:27 PM
SiriuslyCold
post Mar 12 2010, 08:19 PM

1,976 posts

QUOTE(spikey2506 @ Mar 12 2010, 07:16 PM)
If I'm selected, can you introduce me to the bloke who suggested the compulsory zoom and pillarbox mode on Byond? So I can whack his head.  mad.gif
sure, I bet you're candidate #1 now doh.gif

spikey2506
post Mar 12 2010, 08:22 PM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Mar 12 2010, 08:19 PM)
sure, I bet you're candidate #1 now doh.gif
Ahaha. I did not even bother applying lah bro. No time to go. Just airing my frustration. Sigh. At least can look forward to F1 in HD this weekend.

Bro Seet, you're from Astro? Tell us sincerely please, does Astro plan to fix the stretch issue or not? And please, do not quote from the official reply given by your PR department. We have enough of that already.

This post has been edited by spikey2506: Mar 12 2010, 08:25 PM
TSbeatnikseed
post Mar 13 2010, 12:23 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(spikey2506 @ Mar 12 2010, 08:22 PM)

Bro Seet, you're from Astro? Tell us sincerely please, does Astro plan to fix the stretch issue or not? And please, do not quote from the official reply given by your PR department. We have enough of that already.
Bro, my sincere answer is, they are telling you the truth. As for the details, I wouldn't know because I'm not a broadcast engineer nor work for that department. I suppose this is a work in progress thing which we'll find out together hmm.gif

Ah, I must clarify, I'm from an external company that works with Astro comms team smile.gif

To Neb, of course there's f&b provided biggrin.gif
netken
post Mar 13 2010, 09:42 AM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(spikey2506 @ Mar 12 2010, 07:16 PM)
If I'm selected, can you introduce me to the bloke who suggested the compulsory zoom and pillarbox mode on Byond? So I can whack his head.  mad.gif
yalah - should be solving more important issues now ... vmad.gif
king_kenny
post Mar 13 2010, 01:20 PM

82 posts

WE CARE.. yeah right..
neb
post Mar 13 2010, 01:34 PM

2,234 posts

what a pretty sight if thousand b.yond subscribers turn out at All Asia Broadcast Centre to protest rclxm9.gif
netken
post Mar 16 2010, 06:54 PM

1,298 posts

yay all sorted out de' ... at least the tour can be a good experience now ... icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by netken: Mar 16 2010, 06:55 PM
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Mar 16 2010, 07:06 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(netken @ Mar 16 2010, 06:54 PM)
yay all sorted out de' ... at least the tour can be a good experience now ...  icon_idea.gif
No more entry dy? What a let off..
edbravo
post Mar 16 2010, 08:41 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(beatnikseed @ Mar 12 2010, 05:49 PM)
Wow, “Astro B.yond, HD Content Available” is now onto its version 3.0, pushing to 1,500 replies soon!

Just like you, I'm excited with many thoughts in mind. Thus, the inspiration for the event below:

Lowyat and ASTRO has joined together to bring you the “B.yond the Lowyat Forum” workshop.

The workshop (to be held in ASTRO’s HQ) will include a tour of its facility and a chance for you to meet up with the tech whizzes behind ASTRO B.YOND.

This is when it's meant to happen:

Date  :  20 March 2010 (Saturday)
Time  :  10:30am – 12:00 noon
Venue :  All Asia Broadcast Centre,
                        Technology Park Malaysia,
                        Lebuhraya Puchong-Sg. Besi,
                        Bukit Jalil, 57000, Kuala Lumpur

We are opening this to five (5) persons, which should promise to make the tour a lot more personal and engaging.

So, if you want a chance at one of the five slots, just email in your request to astrohd2010@gmail.com before 17 March (Wed). Once we receive your email, a security form will be sent to you to fill up. Send it back to the same email once you are done. You will be notified by us latest on the 18 March (Thurs) once security clearance is obtained.

Well, we look forward to your email. Till then, let’s keep the B.yond conversation going!

Sincerely,
Seet
On behalf of ASTRO B.YOND team

p/s: Since it’s the weekend, I will check the mail box on Saturday and reply to as many requests as possible, otherwise, the team will respond on Monday  smile.gif
OK....who is going to bring the BLOOD biggrin.gif "Protesters in Thailand have spilled their own blood in a symbolic gesture to try to bring about the downfall of the present government."
SiriuslyCold
post Mar 16 2010, 08:53 PM

1,976 posts

QUOTE(edbravo @ Mar 16 2010, 08:41 PM)
OK....who is going to bring the BLOOD  biggrin.gif "Protesters in Thailand have spilled their own blood in a symbolic gesture to try to bring about the downfall of the present government."
such are our concerns compared to other people... during uni days our students were protesting against the university turning some roads on campus into one-way roads, while students in China were in Tiananmen Square

TSbeatnikseed
post Mar 16 2010, 09:14 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Mar 16 2010, 08:53 PM)
such are our concerns compared to other people... during uni days our students were protesting against the university turning some roads on campus into one-way roads, while students in China were in Tiananmen Square
Ooh, SiriuslyCold you were a uni student in 1989?

Pardon me, off topic for a while, just finished reading this book titled "Chinese Lessons: Five Classmates and the Story of New China" by John Pomfret and was very very fascinated by it. Perhaps I can learn about your view as a student then. tongue.gif

Ok, back to the topic, rsvp deadline is tomorrow, I will be in the office until 6pm, so, cepat cepat la.

minimize
post Mar 16 2010, 09:20 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(edbravo @ Mar 16 2010, 08:41 PM)
OK....who is going to bring the BLOOD  biggrin.gif "Protesters in Thailand have spilled their own blood in a symbolic gesture to try to bring about the downfall of the present government."
Better their donate than spilled blood. What are waste. LOL laugh.gif
flodder
post Mar 16 2010, 09:42 PM

6 batang ab numb addicted with 6 bintang
1,039 posts

too bad not much HD channels available atm:(

change when it came more worth then.
reileong88
post Mar 16 2010, 09:44 PM

96 posts

i wan 16:9 SD!!!!!