Hardware External HDD / Back up
mememe12
Apr 14 2010, 01:05 PM
since this is a place to ask about external HDD and back up.. i have a few questions..
1) i need to buy a new HDD just for the use of time machine backup right? 2) what size of HDD is suitable? i do a lot of photo editing(about 100GB photos always in HDD) 3) in PC, if we wanna do a backup, we clone hdd, use ghost to make an image, or something like acronis... but in Mac, time machine is equivalent to those stuffs?
thanks!
mememe12
Apr 14 2010, 06:25 PM
thanks for the reply.. but how big is the file for the backup from TM? let say my 500GB MBP hdd already 200GB filled.. then the TM backup will be how big?
mememe12
Apr 15 2010, 01:06 PM
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Apr 15 2010, 12:13 PM) time machine keeps: - hourly backups for the past 24 hours - daily backups for the past month - weekly backups for all previous months the oldest backups are deleted when your disk becomes full ^ that's what written on the TM syspref  so yeah for the hourly backups u need to keep it plugged in all the time. but for me i juz plug in my TM whenever i want to backup. once done, eject the disk  thanks.. now i understand better.. but can i copy the backup of certain date out and keep it separately so that if my system crash.. i can restore the backup not from days ago, weeks ago but restore to a fresh copy after i install all the apps?
mememe12
Apr 17 2010, 11:21 PM
and if we use an external HDD to do TM.. then we cant format it in FAT32 right? bcoz max size only 4GB.. that hdd we can only format in the mac format and we cant let PC read the file from the hdd d right?
mememe12
Apr 19 2010, 05:33 PM
thx dvlz for the great response.. if i make partition in my external hdd.. one for TM.. one for normal use mix with windows & mac..
if i m format under NTFS, and install an apps for Mac to write in NTFS.. will there be any downside? altho format it in FAT32 would be easier.. but just in case i hv file bigger than 4GB per file in the future..
mememe12
Apr 19 2010, 06:27 PM
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Apr 19 2010, 06:14 PM) so far i havent encountered any downsides with ntfs-3g  oo.. then i will format it in NTFS instead of FAT32 lor.. so that in case i hv file bigger than 4GB also no worries
mememe12
Apr 22 2010, 12:13 AM
QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Apr 21 2010, 11:50 PM) Just started doing backup with the WD 1TB, Firewire 800.... Directly can detect by Mac & windows without any formatting .. Can use password to lock the HDD. Firewire transferring speed is pretty fast.. u are using mybook studio 1TB? i plan to buy from him.. anyone bought from him before? http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1203412
mememe12
Apr 22 2010, 11:54 AM
QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Apr 22 2010, 10:55 AM) mememe12, "WD Mybook Studio 1.0TB WDBAAJ0010HSL RM 439" LYP, Jayacom - RM407 now.. U can try to bargain for a little lower with luck. Last week i went Jayacom. Price was at RM430. After the pc fair, the price came closer to RM400. Best price i found in PC Fair is RM410. I didn't bought it cause my budget is around RM350 for the Seagate Free Agent Desktop. THe WD is quiet... Lovely... I just hope the HDD casing could be more sturdy. Its easy get dented with little bump onto the edge of the case. SG freeagent desktop have firewire model. But i not sure it is FW 400 or 800. Best price is at Viewnet.. RM369.. Out of stock now. I couldn't found it in LYP. So, i ended up with WD instead. oo.. so best price for 1TB Mybook Studio is RM407... i m not from KL.. will try to find in my area.. if dont get.. then might need to ask my fren to buy for me d.. thx for the info!
mememe12
Apr 22 2010, 12:45 PM
QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ Apr 22 2010, 12:27 PM) Umm mememe12 you are in penang right? Penang's HDD will be more expensive compared to KL price (Lowyat) so I guess you have to ask your friend to get it for ya... I have also surveyed the price and stuff and conclusion is that Penang's computer hardware stuff is definitely more expensive compared to KL.. Maybe low demand or Penang lang kiamsiap dont wanna spend =) hmm.. u r buying from KL too?
mememe12
Apr 22 2010, 03:16 PM
wahhhhhhhh... 1TB need to wait for 1 month ar? hmm..