Just started doing backup with the WD 1TB, Firewire 800....
Directly can detect by Mac & windows without any formatting ..
Can use password to lock the HDD.
Firewire transferring speed is pretty fast..
Hardware External HDD / Back up
Apr 21 2010, 11:50 PM
3,813 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Just started doing backup with the WD 1TB, Firewire 800....
Directly can detect by Mac & windows without any formatting .. Can use password to lock the HDD. Firewire transferring speed is pretty fast.. |
Apr 21 2010, 11:53 PM
5,054 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
Chill chill make peace not war...
We are here to share our experience... =D |
Apr 22 2010, 12:13 AM
2,849 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Apr 21 2010, 11:50 PM) Just started doing backup with the WD 1TB, Firewire 800.... u are using mybook studio 1TB?Directly can detect by Mac & windows without any formatting .. Can use password to lock the HDD. Firewire transferring speed is pretty fast.. i plan to buy from him.. anyone bought from him before? http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1203412 |
Apr 22 2010, 10:11 AM
Yea only WD MyBook studio has firewire 800 and is made for Mac... the rest all are using USB..
Apr 22 2010, 10:55 AM
mememe12,
"WD Mybook Studio 1.0TB WDBAAJ0010HSL RM 439" LYP, Jayacom - RM407 now.. U can try to bargain for a little lower with luck. Last week i went Jayacom. Price was at RM430. After the pc fair, the price came closer to RM400. Best price i found in PC Fair is RM410. I didn't bought it cause my budget is around RM350 for the Seagate Free Agent Desktop. THe WD is quiet... Lovely... I just hope the HDD casing could be more sturdy. Its easy get dented with little bump onto the edge of the case. SG freeagent desktop have firewire model. But i not sure it is FW 400 or 800. Best price is at Viewnet.. RM369.. Out of stock now. I couldn't found it in LYP. So, i ended up with WD instead. This post has been edited by dinodog_Jr: Apr 22 2010, 10:59 AM |
Apr 22 2010, 11:54 AM
QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Apr 22 2010, 10:55 AM) mememe12, oo.. so best price for 1TB Mybook Studio is RM407... i m not from KL.. will try to find in my area.. if dont get.. then might need to ask my fren to buy for me d.."WD Mybook Studio 1.0TB WDBAAJ0010HSL RM 439" LYP, Jayacom - RM407 now.. U can try to bargain for a little lower with luck. Last week i went Jayacom. Price was at RM430. After the pc fair, the price came closer to RM400. Best price i found in PC Fair is RM410. I didn't bought it cause my budget is around RM350 for the Seagate Free Agent Desktop. THe WD is quiet... Lovely... I just hope the HDD casing could be more sturdy. Its easy get dented with little bump onto the edge of the case. SG freeagent desktop have firewire model. But i not sure it is FW 400 or 800. Best price is at Viewnet.. RM369.. Out of stock now. I couldn't found it in LYP. So, i ended up with WD instead. thx for the info! |
Apr 22 2010, 12:27 PM
Umm mememe12 you are in penang right? Penang's HDD will be more expensive compared to KL price (Lowyat) so I guess you have to ask your friend to get it for ya... I have also surveyed the price and stuff and conclusion is that Penang's computer hardware stuff is definitely more expensive compared to KL.. Maybe low demand or Penang lang kiamsiap dont wanna spend =)
Apr 22 2010, 12:45 PM
QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ Apr 22 2010, 12:27 PM) Umm mememe12 you are in penang right? Penang's HDD will be more expensive compared to KL price (Lowyat) so I guess you have to ask your friend to get it for ya... I have also surveyed the price and stuff and conclusion is that Penang's computer hardware stuff is definitely more expensive compared to KL.. Maybe low demand or Penang lang kiamsiap dont wanna spend =) hmm.. u r buying from KL too? |
Apr 22 2010, 02:10 PM
Umm.. Nope I bought through my company xD....
Added on April 22, 2010, 2:11 pmAlready ordered and have to wait like 1 month to get it @@... Waiting game is killing me lol... So many things to wait.. first MBP, my casing, my backpack, my HDD lol... all still waiting except my MBP haha This post has been edited by tarvalslain87: Apr 22 2010, 02:11 PM |
Apr 22 2010, 03:16 PM
wahhhhhhhh... 1TB need to wait for 1 month ar? hmm..
Apr 22 2010, 07:08 PM
Yealo... Company purchase have to wait longer cause got discount haha.... Dont mind waiting since not really urgent need it... need it when Im leaving to Australia =D
Apr 24 2010, 12:54 AM
Guys,
I need to clarify a mistake in my previous post bout 1TB HDD format. It is HFSJ format. Please take note. paiseh~~ I wrote it can be detected in Windows. Cause i am using bootcamp 3.0. It can detected HFSJ automatically. Today i plugged the WD HDD into my office PC with XP and found out cannot shown the WD HDD icon. Scratching my head all day long. Until now realize that the format is for Mac only. Quickly installed Macdrive which can read my files out of the HDD in windows XP now. Thanx for the Option 3. i need to re-backup my stuff and do 2 partitions as well. This post has been edited by dinodog_Jr: Apr 24 2010, 12:56 AM |
Apr 26 2010, 01:07 AM
7,916 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
lol, yea bootcamp 3.0 cn read HFS ;p thx 4 sharing abt macdrive
Apr 26 2010, 09:47 AM
Oh so if the HDD is formatted as HFSJ which only applicable to Mac but if you wanna use it in a windows OS, just have to download macdrive in windows?
So conclusion is HFSJ to work in both mac and windows = download macdrive in windows and get both NTFS to work in mac and windows = download ntfs-3g in mac and get both... Am I right? |
Apr 26 2010, 10:29 AM
4,506 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ Apr 26 2010, 09:47 AM) Oh so if the HDD is formatted as HFSJ which only applicable to Mac but if you wanna use it in a windows OS, just have to download macdrive in windows? yea u are right So conclusion is HFSJ to work in both mac and windows = download macdrive in windows and get both NTFS to work in mac and windows = download ntfs-3g in mac and get both... Am I right? |
Apr 26 2010, 10:31 AM
OK cool.. thanks for the clarification... i guess these two setups would be the best if you wanna use both mac and windows.. No matter what size of the file...
Apr 26 2010, 10:55 AM
Guys,
I have a situation with my WD ext HDD here.. I had did the backup in HFSJ-ready WD HDD. Everything can be read/write in Windows OS after installed Macdrive. After that, i created a NTFS partition in Windows XP with Partition Magic8. *There is no format i did during this NTFS partition* Just the normal process of create logical drive for new partition in the HDD. Now the HFSJ is gone. And Macdrive couldn't detect the partition as well. Reason i created the NTFS partition is to make the Ext HDD readable in any Windows PC without installing Macdrive. Now the HFSJ become unreadable in Windows & Mac OS. All my backup data is still there and labelled as "unallocated" in Windows Disk Management. Any suggestion how to revive my HFSJ? I am thinking to delete the NTFS drive i had created. So, i can "return" the whole HDD to HFSJ format?! Please help. Thanx~! |
Apr 26 2010, 12:32 PM
wow
can u view the size of the contents in the "unallocated" partition? how does it show up in OSX? partitioning an HFS drive on windows isnt a good idea |
Apr 26 2010, 12:40 PM
That means if I want to partition and format my HDD Mac OS will be a better place to do it? Or only partitioning? Is it only applicable to HFS format or other format.. Sorry for so many questions.. Just want the best condition and not many problems =D
Apr 26 2010, 12:48 PM
that's my opinion lah. after install ntfs-3g, OSX 'fully understand' what is NTFS, so it can handle it no prob. w/o ntfs-3g, in disk utility there's no option to format a drive to NTFS.
as for partition magic or any other partition manager in windows, it doesnt understand what HFS is. im not sure if macdrive changes this. does macdrive include a partitioner of some sort? i'll experiment later on after my midterms |
| Change to: | 0.0231sec
5 queries
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:57 PM |