[UPDATED 11/17/05]Headphone FAQ, read this, check it, before you buy one.

gavlim
post Apr 21 2005, 03:27 PM

i'm too sexy for my girlfriend
1,487 posts

i am debating between the Audio Technica CM7 and the etymotic ER6 / ER6i. has anyone here tried out the etymotic ER6 / ER6i earphones? i wrote to discountheadphones.com and they replied saying the ER6 is more accurate and would be a better buy over the ER6i. they also recommended the etymotics over shure E3C.

i've read some mixed reviews and its making it difficult to make a choice. so hoping whoever has these phones, could u say a few words?

the CM7, ER6 and ER6i are all around the same price. CM7 quoted at RM415 including shipping from Singapore, the ER6 around US$110+ including shipping from US at Discountheadphones.com

edit: called up HungBros Singapore (65) 6336 9989, quoted ER6i at S$245 and HD650 at S$700 (cheaper than malaysia).
gavlim
post Jul 18 2005, 12:55 AM

1,487 posts

heres a nice site i came across. shows just about every headphone there is (but missing AT CM7). comes with some useful info for each headphone as well as expected retail price, impedance etc etc and most importantly, some very nice pictures.

enjoy guys smile.gif

http://headphones.warzone.org/
gavlim
post Jul 18 2005, 12:11 PM

1,487 posts

lol i just realised senn orpheus impedance is 10,000 ohm.. i think my cmoy will self implode laugh.gif
gavlim
post Aug 10 2005, 01:43 PM

1,487 posts

try the senn px100. i bought them before and gave a very short review. quite good for the money u pay. dont even need an amp to drive them, actually i feel with an amp maybe the bass is a bit too strong. runs nicely straight out of an ipod. and sturdy construction also. maybe a little bit bright at first, but i heard they will quieten down a bit after a burn in period. try www.bluetin.com good prices there.
gavlim
post Aug 10 2005, 04:28 PM

1,487 posts

QUOTE(blstz @ Aug 10 2005, 02:09 PM)
Great site. Anyway, are the price at local kl stores cheaper than the site?

Have you tried Koss gav? Only thing i dont like about senn px100 is that the headband cannot be folded to the back of the head.

Is PX200 the same as px100?
u can try calling the sennheiser distributor (number in the "where to buy what" thread), apparently i read someone posted that they give free shipping. bluetin will charge around RM12-20 on the shipping. i bought two earphones from them, good service and prompt email reply.

never tried koss before.. really dun like the way the porta pro looks. px100 is open, px200 is closed headphones.. havent tried px200 but didnt havent read anything good about them. go with the px100, if you dont like them, dont worry, someone will buy them in garage sales smile.gif
gavlim
post Aug 18 2005, 01:55 AM

1,487 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Aug 18 2005, 12:58 AM)
Hmm..anyone here can recommend me a decent headphones that wont hurt / burden your ears for long time usage? 

My current headphone is kinda heavy, when using for 1-2 hours, then I felt my ears getting uncomfortable, especially on my left ears.

Thanks for helping out!
need to know your budget..
gavlim
post Aug 18 2005, 02:27 AM

1,487 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Aug 18 2005, 02:03 AM)
Hmm..less than RM100.

Got any?
RM100 a bit hard to play with. like scotty mentioned, u can try mikechai's bulk on the philips. alternatively, many people will be recommending the Senn's MX series earphones. if u can up a bit, check garage sales for people selling their philips HP890. mostly selling for under RM130. what are u using currently that is causing that heaviness?

0.0159sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 11:39 PM