Astro byond software update v1.1, 4:3 channels on 16:9 screens

smileguy
post Mar 11 2010, 06:04 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(amirsubhi @ Mar 11 2010, 05:56 PM)
Well..why dont astro offer 3 of them..It just a matter of programming the decoder right..If they can provide strecth like before..Why not offer both 3 option..Some like purist with the pillarbox..Not many like zoom though....to be honest I wonder who use zoom at first place...

And as for me..I prefer stretch more than zoom.
Astro SD stinks zoom for what ? rclxm9.gif I notice after upgrade HBO HD is close to SD ! hmm.gif
smileguy
post Mar 12 2010, 06:16 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(torreto @ Mar 12 2010, 01:27 AM)
hmmm, that firmware update doesn't really bother me since i've already using the pillar box setting way back before byond on my tv. just can't stand looking at stretch people. no offense
Those with HDTV dont bother just play with you TV picture settings my Toshiba ZV does a great job. Leave Astro at pillar box zoom your TV settings I get full picture with Subs and logos and its perfect only problem each time you off the tv u have to reset back but its far smarter then silly asstro ! If only our tv was like that stupid box ? Thank god our TVs actually do a great job as far astro's feed is concerned if not Astro wld look wworst then pirated VCD ! rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif
smileguy
post Mar 16 2010, 09:32 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Mar 16 2010, 07:58 AM)
The only way to get Asstro to pay attention to the customers is to change the Fed Gomen. Get in a Gamen that discourage monopolistic business.
Latest !! they may go private, they got no worry anyway with Gomen and EPF as shareholders, they wld ensure Asto has no competetors hmm.gif
smileguy
post Mar 18 2010, 11:42 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 18 2010, 11:29 AM)
Ok now we can start ranting about astro gave bck fit to screen & pillar box but no zoom....haha

I haven't check yet but Wondering why take away the zoom-lah? Why not maintaining it as an option??
Good question !! now its just back to original status, I feel pillar box and zooming using Tv seettings to fit to screen was far better then now fit to screen using beyond, the Zoom option could have been left as an option. hmm.gif
smileguy
post Mar 19 2010, 12:02 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Mar 19 2010, 10:56 AM)
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry32454272

# RTM1
# RTM2
# DWTV
# Channel News Asia
# BBC Knowledge
# BBC Lifestyle
# CBeebies
# Fashion TV SD
# Fashion TV HD

Astro salesman promised me that they're bringin in CBeebies when I asked last year. Now CS day they won't bring in anything from BBC other than World News  cry.gif

TM should think about selling IPTV to streamyx 4MB subscribers. If they do I'll upgrade to 4MB immediately.
The channel line up does not seem to be threat to Asto, hmm.gif

0.0476sec    2.28    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:03 PM