NOKIA N97 V4!, Firmware V22 is available!!

besiegetank
post Apr 14 2010, 07:33 PM

918 posts

I'm interested to upgrade my stoneage phone to phone which has wifi, gps and good camera. Nokia N79 and N97 come to my view after doing some homework.

I want to ask what's the difference between N97 AP and ori phone?If I bought AP, will it lag like hell and how to upgrade N97 AP phone to the latest firmware?

Thanks for any help. Phone newbie here.
besiegetank
post Apr 15 2010, 01:31 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(PyOsE @ Apr 14 2010, 09:18 PM)
Original Phones vs. Approval Products
Thanks sifu for the guided post. Guess I can rest assured to buy a second hand AP N97. Hopefully it won't lag like no tomorrow.
besiegetank
post Apr 20 2010, 09:13 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(PyOsE @ Apr 20 2010, 11:19 AM)
i was using a chinese website for signing application before..i'm not sure still can use as of today..dont think it'll void the warranty..
Can pm me the link of that chinese website?Malas nak googled tongue.gif
besiegetank
post Apr 22 2010, 07:23 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(neo_sharky @ Apr 22 2010, 07:21 PM)
perhaps they'll use N900 proc next tyme when launch new phone biggrin.gif
Sure they will. I will only consider buying if they make it smaller. For now, it is too bulky for me to carry around.
besiegetank
post Apr 23 2010, 12:43 PM

918 posts

You will need to hack your phones. Make sure your warranty is over before you do it.
besiegetank
post Apr 23 2010, 02:27 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(omarule87 @ Apr 23 2010, 12:46 PM)
I've already hacked my phone but i still have 6 months warranty, will it void ur warranty?
Well, I heard that you can still revert back your phone to the original settings in order to claim the warranty but you have to do a neat job so that they won't detect anything peculiar.

Btw, is there any free pdf reader around?It is so frustrating to pay for something you can actually get it free in pc. Not that I want to edit or create one, just need to view it will do. I heard of a way to convert the pdf to sis/sisx files but I wonder if it is reliable. hmm.gif
besiegetank
post Apr 23 2010, 07:53 PM

918 posts

Thanks for your link. But then it will be a hassle to convert the pdf into the ebook files. Really there's no way to read pdf directly without hacking your phone?

Btw, do you have any apps which can shut down the phone automatically after some time?

Edit: Never mind, Mr google help me find the auto shut down apps already.

This post has been edited by besiegetank: Apr 23 2010, 08:02 PM
besiegetank
post Apr 26 2010, 11:27 PM

918 posts

Want to gather some opinion here for all N97 users...
Which web browser currently you using?The original or Opera/Skyfire or other apps?Now been using the original one but doesn't seems to be user friendly but I scare if installed 3rd party apps will cause the browsing to be lag like hell. Opinions?
besiegetank
post Apr 27 2010, 08:05 AM

918 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Apr 26 2010, 11:30 PM)
i prefer opera mini loads faster but sadly cant load flash
Then how about skyfire?
besiegetank
post Apr 29 2010, 01:49 PM

918 posts

Btw, can we play flash games with N97/N97 mini? Do we need to install other apps?
besiegetank
post May 2 2010, 09:25 AM

918 posts

QUOTE(G K Lai @ May 1 2010, 07:03 PM)
I totally agreed with this... I also own an iPhone (3GS), although N97 performance sucks, but still more "useful" and "convenient" than iPhone.

Anyone know where I can still download PC Suite?
My hard disk crashed, now reinstalled the entire system.
I don't have the downloaded installer, last time also got the very old version and auto-updated to the latest.
I don't want to use Ovi Suite...  tongue.gif

Thanks in advance...  smile.gif
+1 on the iphone part.

Why still using pc suite?I think ovi suite can replace almost all the function of pc suite plus many more interesting features being added on. rclxms.gif
besiegetank
post May 11 2010, 11:01 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(NoobPro70 @ May 11 2010, 12:05 PM)
err , n97 is better than  n97 mini lah ? I scare n97 always hang and lag only ! Because it is 32GB !
Ideally, N97 mini should be less lag than N97 due to larger ROM and less storage.
besiegetank
post May 18 2010, 09:09 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(hsienhsien @ May 18 2010, 06:10 PM)
where to get those cfw?
Search earlier posts by Pyose. and you always has uncle Google to help you. Kful don't break your warranty though ;p
besiegetank
post Jun 7 2010, 01:46 PM

918 posts

Wow, thanks a lot for your answer. I always thought my msg were saved to my mass memory but I after I just checked after reading your post, all of them been saved in my phone memory! mad.gif
No wonder find my phone to be quite laggy sometimes...Thanks!
besiegetank
post Jun 25 2010, 10:46 AM

918 posts

Means both of them cater for different class of people, just pick one that best suits your needs!
besiegetank
post Jun 25 2010, 09:09 PM

918 posts

You can always google around. You try play the Football touch posted by pyose earlier?

0.0415sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:14 PM