post Mar 10 2010, 06:10 AM, updated 16y ago

5,154 posts

Note: You may read more about their stats in:
http://www.arsenal.com/first-team/first-team-stats

Welcome to the Emirates, where Gooners live and breathe Arsenal!
Credits and photos:

Fixture (2009/10):
August
15 Sat Barclays Premier League A Everton  6 1
18 Tue UEFA Champions League A Celtic  2 0
22 Sat Barclays Premier League H Portsmouth  4 1
26 Wed UEFA Champions League H Celtic  3 1
29 Sat Barclays Premier League A Manchester United  1 2
September    
12 Sat Barclays Premier League A Manchester City  2 4
16 Wed UEFA Champions League A Standard Liege  3 2
19 Sat Barclays Premier League H Wigan Athletic  4 0
22 Tue Carling Cup H W.B.A.  2 0
26 Sat Barclays Premier League A Fulham  1 0
29 Tue UEFA Champions League H Olympiacos  2 0
October    
4 Sun Barclays Premier League H Blackburn Rovers  6 2
17 Sat Barclays Premier League H Birmingham 15:00 
20 Tue UEFA Champions League A AZ Alkmaar 19:45 
25 Sun Barclays Premier League A West Ham United 16:15 
28 Wed Carling Cup H Liverpool 19:45 
31 Sat Barclays Premier League H Tottenham Hotspur 12:45 
November    
4 Wed UEFA Champions League H AZ Alkmaar 19:45 
7 Sat Barclays Premier League A Wolverhampton 17:30 
21 Sat Barclays Premier League A Sunderland 15:00 
24 Tue UEFA Champions League H Standard Liege 19:45 
29 Sun Barclays Premier League H Chelsea 16:00 
December    
2 Wed Carling Cup N Quarter-Final  
5 Sat Barclays Premier League H Stoke City 15:00 
9 Wed UEFA Champions League A Olympiacos 19:45 
12 Sat Barclays Premier League A Liverpool 15:00 
15 Tue Barclays Premier League A Burnley 19:45 
19 Sat Barclays Premier League H Hull City 15:00 
26 Sat Barclays Premier League H Aston Villa 12:00 
28 Mon Barclays Premier League A Portsmouth 15:00 

All the above are according to UK time

Latest Replays:
QUOTE(lipkhin @ Mar 14 2010, 03:57 AM)
whoever missed the match, can view all the goals here:

http://www.goalvideo.net/england/premier-l...l-city-arsenal/

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Mar 14 2010, 09:34 AM)
MOTD:

http://www.mediafire.com/?tz1neytcmqd

Great stuff.

I love Nicklas Bendtner.
Recommended sites for football and Arsenal news:
UK-based sports sites:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/default.stm
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/football/
http://www.rockynewsnow.info/ - Its a modified version from NewsNow and concentrate solely for arsenal.. It also filtered out most crap, unreliable stuff from the blogosphere .. And best feature which still chuckled me, renamed some team/ sites to funny names .. that one you will have read yourself, it wont be much of a problem to know the original team anyway if you are an Arsenal's supporter for a while.

or follow good quality arsenal blogs which often have good insight and fan-written articles:
Arseblog ( http://www.oleole.com/blogs/arseblog ) - good old drunken arseblogger who swears at anything that's not arsenal
A Cultured Left Foot ( http://aculturedleftfoot.wordpress.com/ )- decent writeup and opinions
Gunnerblog ( http://gunnerblog.com/ ) - same as above
Goodplaya ( http://goodplaya.com/ )- probably the most accurate player analysis after a match
3rd Gen ( http://www.third-gen.com/ )- pretty good too
Arsenal Insider ( http://www.arsenalinsider.com/ )- very pro-Arsene site, but many good articles to read... great weekly TGIF, but not sure whether they still do it or not
Untold Arsenal ( http://blog.emiratesstadium.info/ )- My newest favourite arsenal site written by a die-hard old school gooner
http://www.goonernews.com - all-in-one Arsenal news web
http://arsenalist.com/ - for replays and highlights
http://myarsenalvlog.blogspot.com/ - for videos and highlights
http://arsenalanalysis.blogspot.com - technical analysis on Arsenal

For news and progress about the kids, try
Young Guns ( http://youngguns.wordpress.com/ )
Arsenal Youth ( http://arsenalyouth.wordpress.com/ )
This post has been edited by kimhoong: Apr 1 2010, 07:03 PM
TSkimhoong
post Mar 10 2010, 06:10 AM

5,154 posts

The Emotional Highbury and The Grand Ashburton Grove

Highbury 1913-2006

For the majority of their time in south-east London, Arsenal played at the Manor Ground in Plumstead, a three-year period at the nearby Invicta Ground between 1890 and 1893 excepted. The Manor Ground was initially just a field, but the club installed stands and terracing in time for their first Football League match in September 1893. They played their home games there for the next twenty years (with two exceptions in 1894�95), until the move to north London in 1913.

user posted image user posted image

Arsenal Stadium, widely referred to as Highbury, was Arsenal's home from September 1913 until May 2006. The original stadium was designed by the renowned football architect Archibald Leitch, and had a design common to many football grounds in the UK at the time, with a single covered stand and three open-air banks of terracing. In the 1930s, the entire stadium was given a massive overhaul, with new Art Deco West and East stands constructed, opening in 1932 and 1936 respectively; in addition, the North Bank terrace had a roof added, which was later bombed during World War II and not restored until 1956.

At its peak, Highbury could hold over 60,000 spectators, and had a capacity of 57,000 until the early 1990s. The Taylor Report and Premier League regulations forced Arsenal to convert Highbury into an all-seater in time for the 1993�94 season, reducing the capacity to 38,419 seated spectators. This capacity had to be reduced further during Champions League matches to accommodate additional advertising hoardings, so much so that for two seasons (1998�99 and 1999�00) Arsenal played Champions League home matches at Wembley, which could house more than 70,000 spectators.

Final moments - the emotions run high in Highbury

user posted image user posted image user posted image

Ashburton Grove 2007-present

Expansion of Highbury was restricted because the East Stand had been designated as a Grade II listed building and the other three stands were close to residential properties. These limitations have prevented the club from maximising the revenue that their domestic form could have brought in recent seasons. After considering various options, in 2000 Arsenal proposed building a new 60,000-seater stadium at Ashburton Grove, since renamed the Emirates Stadium, about 500 metres south-west of Highbury. The project was initially delayed by red tape and rising costs, but construction was completed in July 2006, in time for the start of the 2006�07 season. The stadium is named after its sponsors, the airline company Emirates, with whom the club signed the largest sponsorship deal in English football history, worth approximately �100 million; however some fans refer to the ground as Ashburton Grove, or the Grove, as they do not agree with corporate sponsorship of stadium names.The stadium will be officially known as Emirates Stadium until at least 2012, and the airline will be the club's shirt sponsor until the end of the 2013�14 season.

Construction and completion of the Ashburton Grove

user posted image user posted image
user posted image user posted image user posted image

TSkimhoong
post Mar 10 2010, 06:10 AM

5,154 posts

The LYN Gooners
Updated list:
0-9 - 1809
A - atreyuangel, Angel of Deth, Andr3w, awh85, alabais, arsenal, Ah KeaT, Azurues, ahcong, aladdin, airline, afiqkhairi, aku_figo, ametzer
B - binary, blugear, bobotorix, broken_string, BuLLs10, beandy, bal, b4sh88, billygoh, buzzfizz
C - ch1ck3n, chinzw, c_calvin, chika138, cyfc29, CrOmer, cry4freedom, chypher, chronic_blade
D - darnell, Darkmage12, Dashken, dcking, Daven81, darksider, DannGun, dkwan87, det3st
E - erxier, elvenchou1987,eZeE

F - FCUK89, fo33il, Frostymocha, fcuk90, FollowN, funnyTONE, fish_hoo, FerD7
G - gigalixir, garagesell, greated, Gilbert5107, gordon.engineer, Gr3yL3gion, gummer, giotto
H - harrychoo, he-sham, heavenhell90, hirozq, Havock^64, heLL_bOy, Hideiki, hydrogen, hunter1012
I - ivanchin99, ivanau88, IsoZ, iglue, isma45
J - jasonkwk, jam_lennon, jeffwyk, jim18992, jamallj, jameslionhart, joe405, jonrwg, jaecon, jinyu, jeff_v2, JoyLee1055
K - kenzo, KingHenry14, kenny B, kyser39099, kabuto rider kick, kaka91, kazek, kayent, kae7, kepalakeras, KiNA Asuki, kuai_chai, kepet, kimhoong, kevlinefm, kanelee

L - Lowyat, little_mozart, linkinstreet, leinnz, Liuism, Laine85, laica, locomotion, lhy88, lipkhin, linuxskate, Lynixx, leymar7, lonelysoldierboy, liez
M - Mie, muhdhafiz, matju, maximus85, ManLivArs, mukissmyarse, mengdez, mruzian, Meis, muhdhan
N - ncool15, nerd, nkw1987, Nostalgia, necrox77, nightdrifter, noir7559
O - ocz, opjust
P - Phalanx, playerseeker, pukarix, punditski, pmtan, paopiak
Q - Quick`, QuickFire
R - RedSky21, ROTiJOHN, RyanAtwood, realman, Roux, ReBeLLioN, rastablank, raven143, rickrick, rifasha, rebel_azri

S - skod, s|dE, s3liparjepon, sabmeen, sakaito, sandcool, Sarbath, Scramblershazzmania, sickx, slashie, sOuLx, sr_reyes, StarGhazzer, sufyian, syahrulz, shah_mechy, spirit of demon, synchromess, super messi, syafri88
T - tapirus, teyjohn tkh_1001, throx, toshio14, tyc03, taufik054, taukekia, tenno
U - udin_014
V - Vanquish, villevalo, Vinci777 vivi99, vutsi, vandennis, vandetta_10, vcxv
W - waynewong79, waruna
X - xakemx
Y - yingchai, yogurt7, yuchankit
Z - zhixin, zenox0123

etc - - JaY -, -Y-
This post has been edited by kimhoong: Mar 10 2010, 12:16 PM
TSkimhoong
post Mar 10 2010, 06:11 AM

5,154 posts

Some photo sharing dedicated for Ramsey's injury

QUOTE(mengdez @ Mar 7 2010, 12:22 PM)

This post has been edited by kimhoong: Mar 10 2010, 06:14 AM
TSkimhoong
post Mar 10 2010, 06:15 AM

5,154 posts

QUOTE(vcxv @ Mar 10 2010, 06:03 AM)
song did a lot better during the 1st half.. he won lots of ball from porto. i agree we saw less of him in the 2nd half.
clichy missed header almost make my heart stop. huhu
comfortable win for us tonight  thumbup.gif
QUOTE(little_mozart @ Mar 10 2010, 06:04 AM)
nasri is our deputy fabregas. Seriously he will be next zidane. The dribbling, ability to keep ball under his foot. If he keeps improving, surely he will be next zidane.
QUOTE(sakaito @ Mar 10 2010, 06:04 AM)
OMG...

i too wished for a 1-0 to the arsenal... they gave me 5 star performance.

Phil Brown must be shitting himself now coz he'll be facing us next.

what an atmosphere at the Emirates.... more review later today.

for highlights... always dependable http://www.arsenalist.com

btw.. MOTM - Nasri and Arsha.  rclxms.gif
QUOTE(ryuiichi @ Mar 10 2010, 06:05 AM)
nasri is very2 superb today! rclxms.gif

i can see bendtner smiling before he taking the penalty if i am not mistaken,hihi tongue.gif quite shocking also,hehe..yay arsenal win, keep it coming..win and win and win  flex.gif  flex.gif Awesome game! notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  go go arsenal!
QUOTE(rebel_azri @ Mar 10 2010, 06:06 AM)
Glory glory Arsenal,Glory glory Arsenal,Glory glory Arsenal,As the Gunners go marching on on on!

im in awe of today game.
QUOTE(ametzer @ Mar 10 2010, 06:10 AM)
for me nasri is the man of the match for tonight..what a performance by him n the team..2 thumbs up! hehehe thumbup.gif
QUOTE(kanelee @ Mar 10 2010, 06:10 AM)
Not to be picky,but I felt the atmosphere at the Emirates only lasted for the 1st half..second half was kinda quiet IMO until the goals came and another quiet patch till the final whistle sweat.gif Maybe its just my stream or wht haha!I hope we give Phil Brown a trashing of a lifetime next!
QUOTE(sakaito @ Mar 10 2010, 06:12 AM)
btw... u know why we got to play our game tonite? the REFEREE was spot on! protected the players well and dish out penalty/yellow cards without hesitation.

kudos to the officiating crew. best i've seen so far.
rebel_azri
post Mar 10 2010, 06:17 AM

22 posts

yeahh!!!!
kanelee
post Mar 10 2010, 06:18 AM

123 posts

YAHOO!!
TSkimhoong

5,154 posts

Post your match analysis or review here biggrin.gif
sickx

:)
1,232 posts

first vote!clichy for me.i just love his pace and breaking the opponent's right winger's heart.yes,he had some bad patch but seems to me he's picking up his strength back.
sakaito

1,366 posts

in!

new thread... new life! let's hope this thread will be full of joy like the last one. biggrin.gif
ametzer
post Mar 10 2010, 06:19 AM

131 posts

QUOTE(rebel_azri @ Mar 10 2010, 06:17 AM)
yeahh!!!!
worth waiting worth watching! rclxm9.gif
TSkimhoong
post Mar 10 2010, 06:19 AM

5,154 posts

Regarding the poll options, there's a limitation of 15 options only. So I just put in those who has played more (according to http://www.arsenal.com/first-team/first-team-stats )

This post has been edited by kimhoong: Mar 10 2010, 06:20 AM
kanelee
post Mar 10 2010, 06:23 AM

123 posts

Voted for my RvP in the poll,lethal,can create and score goals,fiery and passionate..the only downside is he was always cursed with unlucky injuries.

The match was just superb!It's been a while since we last trash opponents by 5 goals margin!

Off topic-was going to buy the Arsenal away jersey later on,between Vermaelen and Nasri which one is a better choice to print on ah?Kinda torn between them..or maybe I just put another RvP..haha!
Phalanx
post Mar 10 2010, 06:24 AM

360 posts

5-0, ah what a nice scoreline to wake up to biggrin.gif

Thought I could wake up for the match but turned out I was too tired and slept through the whole match tongue.gif

Nevertheless, a good win and a major boost for the lads smile.gif
maximus85
post Mar 10 2010, 06:24 AM

O.M.F.G~!!!
605 posts

the referee console the Porto keeper right? sort of asked him to relax abit.... brows.gif

kesian him... cry.gif
rebel_azri
post Mar 10 2010, 06:26 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(maximus85 @ Mar 10 2010, 06:24 AM)
the referee console the Porto keeper right? sort of asked him to relax abit.... brows.gif

kesian him... cry.gif
agree2.the ref even shake hand with Helton(Porto GK) before Bendtner penalty.i never saw any referee done that.
ametzer
post Mar 10 2010, 06:27 AM

131 posts

QUOTE(maximus85 @ Mar 10 2010, 06:24 AM)

kesian him... cry.gif
from the moment the goalkeeper kena sepak kepala i kesian oredi.. smile.gif
sakaito
post Mar 10 2010, 06:27 AM

1,366 posts

QUOTE(kanelee @ Mar 10 2010, 06:23 AM)
Voted for my RvP in the poll,lethal,can create and score goals,fiery and passionate..the only downside is he was always cursed with unlucky injuries.

The match was just superb!It's been a while since we last trash opponents by 5 goals margin!

Off topic-was going to buy the Arsenal away jersey later on,between Vermaelen and Nasri which one is a better choice to print on ah?Kinda torn between them..or maybe I just put another RvP..haha!
go with Vermy. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
ProbMan
post Mar 10 2010, 06:30 AM

67 posts

Somehow, I felt abit weird that Eboue has this unusual seriousness of him in celebrating goal...Hope he's not thinking about other club tho. sweat.gif
ametzer
post Mar 10 2010, 06:31 AM

131 posts

QUOTE(ProbMan @ Mar 10 2010, 06:30 AM)
Somehow, I felt abit weird that Eboue has this unusual seriousness of him in celebrating goal...Hope he's not thinking about other club tho.  sweat.gif
err..dis is his last season with us rite? unsure.gif

142 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0597sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:37 AM