125 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Hobbies TAMIYA Mini 4WD V8, Mini 4wd

Beans
post Mar 16 2010, 08:50 PM

Erm, well, I emphasize on viper's post. Actually I'm also not sure whether the RM 33 axle ball bearings will improve the car.
Yes, indeed, ball bearings do make things smoother and less frictional force in between, but the weight is certainly heavier as they are made of aluminium.
Metal is anyhow heavier than plastic, so if we use the original plastic ones, the weight is lighter but less smooth compared to the ball bearings.
So based on your opinion, which is better?

Thanks guys.
david tamiya
post Mar 16 2010, 08:51 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(alan85 @ Mar 16 2010, 05:45 PM)
Like this....

Anyone know this? tongue.gif

hmmmm.....

should be 0.5mm copper wire double
on a 10mm rotor
the commutator is really worn out indicating long runs
use of more than 1 pcs of brush which is stiffer and it really leaves the slope on the commutator
should be one of your first few tries winding these rotors

correct me if i am wrong see i got lost touch or not

to others who wants to race with me in sg
http://www.stargek.com/1004/info_pages.php...6e66b656f844b02
lolhalol
post Mar 16 2010, 09:29 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(Beans @ Mar 16 2010, 09:50 PM)
Erm, well, I emphasize on viper's post. Actually I'm also not sure whether the RM 33 axle ball bearings will improve the car.
Yes, indeed, ball bearings do make things smoother and less frictional force in between, but the weight is certainly heavier as they are made of aluminium.
Metal is anyhow heavier than plastic, so if we use the original plastic ones, the weight is lighter but less smooth compared to the ball bearings.
So based on your opinion, which is better?

Thanks guys.

although i love chopping chassis and lightening cars. there is also the weight / performance (speed) factor.
u might be lighter with the plastic ones but u would can go faster with the ball bearings.

then again, from what i have learned from all the sifus especially david , u can buy the all the best parts, but if ur car cant suit the track the most expensive parts also wont win u the race or get the best time. the car always suit the track not the track suit the car.

example, the plastic ones can be used to control the speed of the car for maybe a super technical track .

long story short, there is no best part or parts. just what parts suit the track .

Added on March 16, 2010, 9:33 pm
QUOTE(david tamiya @ Mar 16 2010, 09:51 PM)
hmmmm.....
on a 10mm rotor
use of more than 1 pcs of brush which is stiffer and it really leaves the slope on the commutator

david which dates are u going to be there ?

Added on March 16, 2010, 9:51 pm
QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Mar 16 2010, 07:51 PM)

The First of many . lol
one of the best 1 on 1s that day.. ms pro vs super x/xx chasis

This post has been edited by lolhalol: Mar 16 2010, 09:51 PM
choycp
post Mar 16 2010, 10:17 PM

QUOTE(david tamiya @ Mar 16 2010, 08:51 PM)
hmm....still, anything goes. nothing mentioned about having 6 roller, japan setup. ironic coz the champion is going to be sent to shizuoka to compete. its going to be a big disadvantage for the champion if he takes along one of the SG signature cars to race.

macam ni nak tunggu technical track kat TU, test brake belalang la hehehehe tongue.gif

Jom la this year team enjoice ikut pergi race singapore~~ kita pening sama sama.

if im not mistaken, david had made plans to go sometime in may/june/july

>BTW, Beans
ball bearings are definitely faster, better, smoother.. but then again some ppl do use the plastic wheel bearing to limit their speed. i know JOSH did this at the finals last year. instead of changing to a slower motor he actually makes use of the plastic bearings to slow his car a bit. still his super 1 was FAST.

>lolhalol
in singapore they dont slow down the speed of their cars and they race technical tracks most of the time. its insane. fast and stable. think about it... hehehe. im still scratching my head to figure out how to do it myself.

This post has been edited by choycp: Mar 16 2010, 10:19 PM
-=conselfa=-
post Mar 16 2010, 10:45 PM

picture spam jap...hehehe

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
LanEVOchris
post Mar 16 2010, 10:46 PM

861 posts

QUOTE(choycp @ Mar 16 2010, 10:17 PM)

Jom la this year team enjoice ikut pergi race singapore~~ kita pening sama sama.
I see you enjoice too....we will be using our yerrow karer rowwrirerrs...ffuuuuuuuu
lolhalol
post Mar 16 2010, 10:48 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(choycp @ Mar 16 2010, 11:17 PM)
hmm....still, anything goes. nothing mentioned about having 6 roller, japan setup. ironic coz the champion is going to be sent to shizuoka to compete. its going to be a big disadvantage for the champion if he takes along one of the SG signature cars to race.

macam ni nak tunggu technical track kat TU, test brake belalang la hehehehe tongue.gif

if im not mistaken, david had made plans to go sometime in may/june/july

>BTW, Beans
ball bearings are definitely faster, better, smoother.. but then again some ppl do use the plastic wheel bearing to limit their speed. i know JOSH did this at the finals last year. instead of changing to a slower motor he actually makes use of the plastic bearings to slow his car a bit. still his super 1 was FAST.

>lolhalol
in singapore they dont slow down the speed of their cars and they race technical tracks most of the time. its insane. fast and stable. think about it... hehehe. im still scratching my head to figure out how to do it myself.
singapore kita buat one fleet of super fmx/xx cars lah. hehe i would love to go but need to plan ahead a bit coz got semester exams coming up.

they dont have limit on rollers or anything too.. as u said anything goes. so should be easier to setup cars when u hve no limits.
btw u guys go Singapore stay which hotel? or is there an alternative accommodation there..

-=conselfa=-
post Mar 16 2010, 10:50 PM

off topic for a while... sweat.gif

anyone dare to custom mini 4wd cover such this girly thingy style? haha

lolhalol
post Mar 16 2010, 10:51 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(-=conselfa=- @ Mar 16 2010, 11:45 PM)
picture spam jap...hehehe
nice.. i love the tamiya transformers.. so kool..

QUOTE(LanEVOchris @ Mar 16 2010, 11:46 PM)
I see you enjoice too....we will be using our yerrow karer rowwrirerrs...ffuuuuuuuu
yerrow arrrrantay rowwwwriders...

Added on March 16, 2010, 10:53 pmconstella u ot aku pun ot kejap..

won my first round game at my uni's pool tournamet. 400rm first prize..2 morow round 2 and knockout stages.

yay to me.. lol

This post has been edited by lolhalol: Mar 16 2010, 10:53 PM
alan85
post Mar 16 2010, 10:53 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(david tamiya @ Mar 16 2010, 08:51 PM)
hmmmm.....
on a 10mm rotor

yeah, sifu really sifu...
you are correct...0.5mm copper wire and 10mm rotor..
Indeed, the commutator is really not good condition d..10 years old rotor
thinking to repair/replace it, but too bad not selling this kind of rotor anymore
its really hard to wind this rotor with zero knowledge of 3 pole brush motor..
need some research and few tries only get it works.
david tamiya
post Mar 16 2010, 11:05 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(alan85 @ Mar 16 2010, 10:53 PM)
yeah, sifu really sifu...
you are correct...0.5mm copper wire and 10mm rotor..
Indeed, the commutator is really not good condition d..10 years old rotor
thinking to repair/replace it, but too bad not selling this kind of rotor anymore
its really hard to wind this rotor with zero knowledge of 3 pole brush motor..
need some research and few tries only get it works.
thanx for the compliment
practice makes perfect 1 wind 5 to 10 rotor a day
and when racing 3 wheel new coil and commutator every run for ultimate performance

yo reggie
we play pool when got chance need to play with champ here

Beans
post Mar 16 2010, 11:18 PM

Wow, there are so many replies on your post, lolholol...so I better send my post separately from yours so that people can see clearly la ^^

I understood what you mean, but sorry to say, I think you didn't get my point.
What I mean is:

using plastic = light =) but rough =(
using ball bearings = heavy =( but smooth =)

so in the end, are both the same?
in terms of speed, isn't there any differences?

thanks for you reply anyway...

Regards, Beans flex.gif
lolhalol
post Mar 16 2010, 11:29 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(Beans @ Mar 17 2010, 12:18 AM)
Wow, there are so many replies on your post, lolholol...so I better send my post separately from yours so that people can see clearly la ^^

What I mean is:

using plastic = light =)  but rough  =(
using ball bearings = heavy =(  but smooth  =)

Regards, Beans  flex.gif
in terms of speed ,ball bearings definitely faster. the weight diff between them is actually not that much.the diff almost negligible in my opinion.

also other benefit is less friction should translate to longer lasting batteries as the motor speed is more efficiently transfered to the wheels. which also means more speed. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
alan85
post Mar 16 2010, 11:30 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(Beans @ Mar 16 2010, 11:18 PM)

What I mean is:

using plastic = light =)  but rough  =(

Regards, Beans  flex.gif
i dont think 4 ball bearings are heavy, it wouldn't slow down your car speed much anyway...
lolhalol
post Mar 16 2010, 11:32 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(david tamiya @ Mar 17 2010, 12:05 AM)
yo reggie
we play pool when got chance need to play with champ here
sure man.. we can organise something one day after chenging the coke. icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
btw im not pro lah.. still got lots to learn about cueing and angle paterns

Added on March 16, 2010, 11:38 pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8uG2A7A4ZrQ&feature=grec
this track looks crazy fun .... david next track for time attack similar to this can kah?

or this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1HuP5NQ0f-g&feature=channel

This post has been edited by lolhalol: Mar 16 2010, 11:48 PM
alan85
post Mar 16 2010, 11:52 PM

138 posts

anyone got gears for super X chassis?
lolhalol
post Mar 17 2010, 12:57 AM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Mar 16 2010, 08:34 PM)
may drop by tomorrow . lol
suicidal motor then laugh.gif
can drop off the charger also bang? thanks. ill pick it up from tu whenever i manage to get there smile.gif
TamiyaAye
post Mar 17 2010, 02:07 AM

QUOTE(Beans @ Mar 16 2010, 11:18 PM)

What I mean is:

using plastic = light =)   but rough  =(

Regards, Beans  flex.gif
Plastic sure slow than bearing... 4 wheel steel bearing i think no make wat diff, bcoz 1 set(4 piece) only max 1gram. 620 is 3-3.2gram. But in term of speed, bearing increase ur speed possibly around 30%.... So if i do 10 sec, u nid do 13sec wif plastic bearing.
(Always car suit track nt track suit car, David's advices)
Perhaps someday i race wif plastic wheel bearing oso one~~ XD

thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by TamiyaAye: Mar 17 2010, 02:11 AM
szngszng
post Mar 17 2010, 02:21 AM

Aye... when you wanna come back ~?
TamiyaAye
post Mar 17 2010, 02:37 AM

Nt so sure yet, perhaps next month or 2 months... Hope everyhing going jus fine...

This post has been edited by TamiyaAye: Mar 17 2010, 02:38 AM

125 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0326sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:19 AM