Buy house later?

TSCyberKewl
post Mar 9 2010, 10:05 PM, updated 16y ago

2,900 posts

Some of my friends are advising against buying house now citing reasons that interest rate will go up and house prices will drop, is this true? would it be better to buy house later say 3-5 months down the road rather than now?
danielwst
post Mar 9 2010, 10:48 PM

50 posts

As i know...the price for house, keep increase
airline
post Mar 9 2010, 11:33 PM

7 stars
7,923 posts

in jan 2009 low, people say dont buy wait drop somemore, economy bad..
price go up until today

KLsooner
post Mar 10 2010, 12:12 PM

737 posts

Property price will never come down until next major economy meltdown like 97 crisis. We are recovering from subprime crisis so next cycle of crisis probably will not hit us soon. It takes time to build another bubble to burst.

Inflation is kicking in at a faster pace than ever, our currency is also loosing value at a faster pace than ever. So expect it to rise, but whether it is rising at today's pace is a different discussion.

Buying today and 3 months or 3 years later is not an issue if you are buying for own stay. If you are buying for investment then there are many other things you have to consider.

my 2 cents worth of view.

leongal
post Mar 10 2010, 12:40 PM

~I have a new mission in life~
3,188 posts

there are many factors other than interest rates; i bought at a low interest rate, but i have not yet pay my first loan amount, the interest rate has start rising....interest rate is one of the factors that is unpredictable; no one knows....so, don't make it as a factor; instead, get a good loan package....
felisa0529
post Mar 10 2010, 12:54 PM

426 posts

QUOTE(KLsooner @ Mar 10 2010, 12:12 PM)
Property price will never come down until next major economy meltdown like 97 crisis. We are recovering from subprime crisis so next cycle of crisis probably will not hit us soon. It takes time to build another bubble to burst.

Inflation is kicking in at a faster pace than ever, our currency is also loosing value at a faster pace than ever. So expect it to rise, but whether it is rising at today's pace is a different discussion. 

Buying today and 3 months or 3 years later is not an issue if you are buying for own stay. If you are buying for investment then there are many other things you have to consider.

my 2 cents worth of view.
agree...the next turmoil would probably happen in 2019..so beware...by that time, make sure u are not caught! drool.gif
SUSwankongyew
post Mar 10 2010, 12:59 PM

1,177 posts

QUOTE(felisa0529 @ Mar 10 2010, 12:54 PM)
agree...the next turmoil would probably happen in 2019..so beware...by that time, make sure u are not caught! drool.gif
I would think the next turmoil would be far closer. The next general election will probably be a very unstable period for Malaysia I suspect. What do the others here think?
jarjar6666
post Mar 10 2010, 09:10 PM

354 posts

If you are buying for your own stay then the earlier you buy the better.
abu_adi
post Mar 11 2010, 09:29 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Mar 10 2010, 12:59 PM)
I would think the next turmoil would be far closer. The next general election will probably be a very unstable period for Malaysia I suspect. What do the others here think?
offtopic a bit: talks going on that the next general election will be before GST is implemented (of course, why would they hold a general election after GST is introduced? that would be suicide...)...

back to topic: if the interest rate is going high, its even better to get a loan now than later, isn't it? because at least, you could have catch some payments while the interest is still lower...for the house prices, they keep on increasing, so that doesn't matter anyhow...

but yeah, get a good loan package..don't just look at the interest rate...

i'm also like leongal..haven't start servicing loan yet, but interest already increasing..but, looking at the house prices today, i'm damn glad that i bought the house earlier...
cmk96
post Mar 11 2010, 11:55 AM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(abu_adi @ Mar 11 2010, 09:29 AM)
offtopic a bit: talks going on that the next general election will be before GST is implemented (of course, why would they hold a general election after GST is introduced? that would be suicide...)...

back to topic: if the interest rate is going high, its even better to get a loan now than later, isn't it? because at least, you could have catch some payments while the interest is still lower...for the house prices, they keep on increasing, so that doesn't matter anyhow...

but yeah, get a good loan package..don't just look at the interest rate...

i'm also like leongal..haven't start servicing loan yet, but interest already increasing..but, looking at the house prices today, i'm damn glad that i bought the house earlier...
The BLR is increasing due to better economy outlook. So its better to buy now rather than later... i bought mine 2 yrs ago... and the property price just keep increasing despite economy went down... event are hard to time... I will start to service the loan next mth... those who haven't bought yet should look for good package such as no interest during construction period...yes... there are hard to find.
Tohsan
post Mar 11 2010, 12:31 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(cmk96 @ Mar 11 2010, 11:55 AM)
The BLR is increasing due to better economy outlook. So its better to buy now rather than later... i bought mine 2 yrs ago... and the property price just keep increasing despite economy went down... event are hard to time... I will start to service the loan next mth... those who haven't bought yet should look for good package such as no interest during construction period...yes... there are hard to find.
when times bad, property price didn't come down,either maintain or goes up, now with better economy outlook, property price sure going higher, those buyer waiting for house prices to come down will be forever waiting. Now with increase in interest rate, they will end up paying more.
lowyat888
post Mar 11 2010, 01:44 PM

596 posts

the only way for property price to come down is to increase the interest rate more. due most people have depleted their savings in the bank by investing in alot of things/properties. with the interest rate up higher alot of people will serve the interest up to their neck bcos majority is taking 80-90% loan and also can afford the loan later on.

bank will be the gainer, the more people getting loan, the richer the bank is. waiting for the bank quota to reach and then blr increase higher and higher interest rate bcos people have fall into the trap/tie down by the huge loan.

majority of the property buyer is either ahlong/money lender( turning $$ money laudering / flip flop) by paying 10% and few year no need to serve to loan. later tell agent to sell for them

or big boss buying at a high price is abit risky bcos expecting normal double storey Rm500-700k) to hit the price of millions in 5 to 10 years time for just a double storey house. just like HongKong property crash

Even can afford to buy , is only a empty house and need to renovate and put in alot of things in order to stay. alot of hidden cost. $$ is tie down. Why would people want to carry/serve loan/ tie down by the expensive house? Work daily like a dog for it. what if suddenly no job/sack/ alot of hidden commitment pops up. Percentage of Property appreciate will be low/min due to purchase at a high price.

property price higher due price of property gain tax 5%/ agent fees 2-3%/other hidden fees/lawyer fees/ stamp duty +- etc incurred into the price already by the seller or unless pay a certain amount of cash undertable(negotiable price) and declare less for tax purpose.

money lender/money laundering is now into second used car/ buying property (buy a few units to flip flop)/opening wedding business, computer business etc. pumping a few million into the business and selling just a few ringgit higher to turn back the $$ (turn from black to white $$)

eg. register a new company and buy few million computers/accessories and sell it just a few ringgit higher or at cost, will eventually turn back the $$ with some gain. others competitor will eventually close shop. Large volume have bigger discount rate, and the small timer is no way to match the price

buying a new property just pay 10% deposit and wait for few year to start serve the loan property and at the mean time can sell at a higher price. gamble abit. but not second hand property bcos have to serve loan once the buyer buys it and get loan

salary wise is not in tandem with the higher inflation rate/ property price. rental wise is totally out for such a property high price. JUST like gambling/investing in share market by buying at high price.

if cannot sell in time to come have to continue to serve high interest rate and maintain the property. Nothing in the world that goes up but never come down. everything have to come full circle in time to come. sooner or later in time to come

This post has been edited by lowyat888: Mar 11 2010, 02:44 PM
travolta_lim
post Mar 11 2010, 06:31 PM

356 posts

Recently there is an agent email me on the new launching unit , she will be getting latest price and reservation priority. Deposit/booking fees is only less than RM10k.

How can i make money by selling higher?
Tohsan
post Mar 11 2010, 06:36 PM

1,133 posts

will anyone wait another 30 years to buy a property for own stay? whistling.gif

Added on March 11, 2010, 6:40 pm
QUOTE(travolta_lim @ Mar 11 2010, 06:31 PM)
Recently there is an agent email me on the new launching unit , she will be getting latest price and reservation priority. Deposit/booking fees is only less than RM10k.

How can i make money by selling higher?
new launching if got good prospect, booked 1 unit, wait til all unit sold off, buyer will offer if they r sell like hot cakes, otherwise be prepare to get burn if you get stuck.

This post has been edited by Tohsan: Mar 11 2010, 06:40 PM
R o Y
post Mar 12 2010, 01:33 AM

930 posts

QUOTE(Tohsan @ Mar 11 2010, 06:36 PM)
will anyone wait another 30 years to buy a property for own stay?  whistling.gif

Added on March 11, 2010, 6:40 pm
new launching if got good prospect, booked 1 unit, wait til all unit sold off,  buyer will offer if they r sell like hot cakes, otherwise be prepare to get burn if you get stuck.
You can sell provided:

1. the project us hot and quickly sold off
2. the developer must consent to changing name on your booking receipt
art6969
post Mar 12 2010, 11:17 AM

1,520 posts

Steel prices likely to rise further

PETALING JAYA: Steel prices are expected to jump a further 15% to 20% after the Chinese New Year as governments in East Asia restart spending on major infrastructure-related projects and restocking activities increase, said Malaysia Steel Works (KL) Bhd (Masteel) managing director Datuk Seri Tai Hean Leng.

The current steel bar price in the domestic market is about RM2,000 (US$585) per tonne while the international market price is about US$565.

He said the steel industry was heading for a recovery with an average capacity utilisation of about 70% to 75% due to an improvement in steel demand from East Asia.

The higher cost of raw materials like iron ore and scrap metal, given the extreme cold winter, could also result in steel prices rising in the coming months.

“Many industry players are expecting an increase in restocking activities as consumers (steel buyers) prepare for strong construction demand by end-February,” Tai told StarBiz.

Malaysia, Indonesia, the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand are expected to spend a total of about RM102bil on infrastructure projects, financed by their economic stimulus packages.

He also expects locally-made steel billets to command higher prices in the regional markets as the local products were of a higher grade compared with those from China.

“The Middle East, Australia, Pakistan and Bangladesh will also be favourable export markets for local billets, should these economies continue to improve,” he said.

According to Tai, Masteel was looking forward to boosting the sale of its premium steel products which conform to the Australian and New Zealand standards.

The company recently secured a two-year contract worth RM120mil to export steel bars to major cities in Australia. It has been exporting to New Zealand since October last year.

Tai said Masteel was targeting to produce 500,000 tonnes of steel billets and 280,000 tonnes of steel bars by the year-end. Currently it produces about 450,000 tonnes of billets and about 230,000 tonnes of steel bars.

“Works are in progress to further boost our billets and steel bars capacity to 550,000 tonnes and 300,000 tonnes by the middle of next year,” he said, adding that this was to cater to the expected higher demand arising from projects earmarked by the government stimulus packages.

The infrastructure expenditure in Malaysia include the Light Rail Transit extension, Gemas-Johor Baru electrified double-tracking, the low-cost carrier terminal, the upgrading of roads, bridges and community halls in rural areas, the upgrading of schools and hospitals as well as the urban transport system.

It is reported that over the past two years, local steel mills had been exporting about one million tonnes of steel products.

Malaysia’s exports of steel products increased after China imposed a 25% tax on exports of billets which created a shortfall of about five million tonnes of billets in the South-East Asia (SEA) market. Previously, China supplied about 75% of the total SEA billets requirement.

Meanwhile, analysts expect feedstock iron-ore prices to increase by 20% to 40% from 2010 onwards due to the emergence of highly monopolised supply from the impending merger between iron-ore giants BHP Billiton Ltd and Rio Tinto Group.

Metal Bulletin said in a recent report that iron-ore prices would likely trade at US$110 to US$110 per tonne from US$70 to US$75 per tonne currently.

BHP is currently in talks with China to set the annual iron-ore prices. Together with Vale SA, the world’s biggest producer, the move could signal contracts doubling the spot market prices this year.

LeeteNg
post Mar 12 2010, 02:02 PM

93 posts

loan interest is increasing day by day. and price of housing in certain area increasing day by day too. so do the decision yourself.
art6969
post Mar 13 2010, 05:43 PM

1,520 posts

is there any double story terrace which the price less than 300k around klang valley right now?
R o Y
post Mar 13 2010, 07:15 PM

930 posts

QUOTE(art6969 @ Mar 13 2010, 05:43 PM)
is there any double story terrace which the price less than 300k around klang valley right now?
Klang/Rawang/Kajang/Bangi considered Klang Valley?

hehehe... actually no need to go so far, USJ 2 also have, but quite small, 20 x 60.

Regards,
Phoeni_142
post Mar 13 2010, 07:48 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Mar 9 2010, 10:05 PM)
Some of my friends are advising against buying house now citing reasons that interest rate will go up and house prices will drop, is this true? would it be better to buy house later say 3-5 months down the road rather than now?
one of my guiding principles

"it is better to buy property and wait, rather than wait to buy property"
lowyat888
post Mar 14 2010, 11:24 AM

596 posts

WHEN A PERSON STAYING AT THE PRESENT HOUSE, EVERYTHING IS GOING YR WAY SMOOTHLY AND LUCKY ALWAYS, GOOD FENGSHUI DONT SHIFT OR SELL THE HOUSE BCOS IS A GOOD HOUSE FOR THE PERSON.

IF THINKING OF RENTING OR INVESTMENT WHEN BUYING A NEW HOUSE FORGET IT BCOS IT DOES NOT COVER YR HIGHLY HOUSE PRICE AND LOAN. RENTAL PRICE IS LOW.
R o Y
post Mar 14 2010, 01:33 PM

930 posts

QUOTE(Phoeni_142 @ Mar 13 2010, 07:48 PM)
one of my guiding principles

"it is better to buy property and wait, rather than wait to buy property"
Agreed thumbup.gif
KLsooner
post Mar 15 2010, 12:08 PM

737 posts

QUOTE(art6969 @ Mar 12 2010, 11:17 AM)
BHP is currently in talks with China to set the annual iron-ore prices. Together with Vale SA, the world’s biggest producer, the move could signal contracts doubling the spot market prices this year.
If china succefully strike a long term deal, price will up 15-20%. If they fail, expect a 50% surge in steel price like last year.
lowyat888
post Mar 15 2010, 12:21 PM

596 posts

Bank Negara says may hike rates further

Malaysia’s central bank said it may increase interest rates further to avert asset bubbles and discourage risky investments by people seeking better returns, even as inflation will likely remain “modest” this year.

“We will review the conditions at our next monetary policy meeting and work towards further normalizing if necessary,” Governor Zeti Akhtar Aziz said in a March 12 Bloomberg Television interview in Kuala Lumpur. “Inflation will continue to be modest and therefore it would not prompt us towards tightening, but that does not preclude that we will continue to normalize interest rates.”

Malaysia raised its benchmark interest rate to 2.25 per cent this month, becoming the second Asian nation to increase borrowing costs as the region leads a recovery from the global slump. The central bank wants to prevent “financial imbalances” that could undermine the economy’s recovery from last year’s recession, Zeti said.

“There is no compelling evidence of asset bubbles in Malaysia based on current indicators,” Suhaimi Ilias, chief economist at Maybank Investment Bank Bhd. in Kuala Lumpur, said before the interview. Still “the risk is there if the interest rate is kept very low for an extended period as money searches for returns to beat inflation that is creeping up.”
China has started draining excess cash from the economy to prevent asset bubbles. Australia and Vietnam have raised borrowing costs as inflation accelerates, and the Philippine central bank last week pared back a lending program for banks.

http://www.btimes.com.my/articles/20100315084514/Article/
art6969
post Mar 15 2010, 01:08 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(lowyat888 @ Mar 15 2010, 12:21 PM)
Bank Negara says may hike rates further

Malaysia’s central bank said it may increase interest rates further to avert asset bubbles and discourage risky investments by people seeking better returns, even as inflation will likely remain “modest” this year.

“We will review the conditions at our next monetary policy meeting and work towards further normalizing if necessary,” Governor Zeti Akhtar Aziz said in a March 12 Bloomberg Television interview in Kuala Lumpur. “Inflation will continue to be modest and therefore it would not prompt us towards tightening, but that does not preclude that we will continue to normalize interest rates.”

Malaysia raised its benchmark interest rate to 2.25 per cent this month, becoming the second Asian nation to increase borrowing costs as the region leads a recovery from the global slump. The central bank wants to prevent “financial imbalances” that could undermine the economy’s recovery from last year’s recession, Zeti said.

“There is no compelling evidence of asset bubbles in Malaysia based on current indicators,” Suhaimi Ilias, chief economist at Maybank Investment Bank Bhd. in Kuala Lumpur, said before the interview. Still “the risk is there if the interest rate is kept very low for an extended period as money searches for returns to beat inflation that is creeping up.”
China has started draining excess cash from the economy to prevent asset bubbles. Australia and Vietnam have raised borrowing costs as inflation accelerates, and the Philippine central bank last week pared back a lending program for banks.

http://www.btimes.com.my/articles/20100315084514/Article/
what next 6.0 or back to 6.5 again?
mlpk
post Mar 15 2010, 07:35 PM

194 posts

at least 7 percent BLR
Pai
post Mar 16 2010, 12:47 PM

~ Billionaire in training ~
3,318 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Mar 9 2010, 10:05 PM)
First go learn and understand properties. Then quickly buy.

Once you know what to look for in a property, minor issues like price drop, interest increease etc all will not matter anymore smile.gif

airline
post Mar 16 2010, 06:12 PM

7 stars
7,923 posts

i think he wants to wait for market correction.
R o Y
post Mar 16 2010, 08:50 PM

930 posts

QUOTE(Pai @ Mar 16 2010, 12:47 PM)
First go learn and understand properties. Then quickly buy.

Once you know what to look for in a property, minor issues like price drop, interest increease etc all will not matter anymore  smile.gif
Well said Bro.

As long as the banks are willing to lend, its a good time to buy property =)
Pai
post Mar 17 2010, 12:28 AM

~ Billionaire in training ~
3,318 posts

QUOTE(airline @ Mar 16 2010, 06:12 PM)
i think he wants to wait for market correction.
if he/she know what to look for than dont need to wait until correction to snap a bargain smile.gif

Added on March 17, 2010, 12:30 am
QUOTE(R o Y @ Mar 16 2010, 08:50 PM)
As long as the banks are willing to lend, its a good time to buy property =)
actually this is a good point. All this price drop n rate increase issues is just minor compared to IF banks stop lending.

This post has been edited by Pai: Mar 17 2010, 12:30 AM
rumahwip
post Feb 3 2023, 07:44 AM

1,102 posts

interest ald up now.anyway, buy hse is few decades commitment
Aaron212
post Feb 3 2023, 07:59 AM

1,773 posts

QUOTE(rumahwip @ Feb 3 2023, 03:44 AM)
interest ald up now.anyway, buy hse is few decades commitment
BROOOO PLZ STOP REVIVING POST FROM DINOSAUR AGE !!!!
remora
post Feb 3 2023, 08:39 AM

50 posts

Buy if you need a house and could afford installment @ 6-7% interest rate within next 5 years. However, we are currently heading into inflationary period, cost and interest rate will go up. Expect more lelong properties coming up in next 1-2 years - there are currently many buyers who bought in because loan is cheap and no deposits needed. Furthermore, supply far exceeded demand in price range >$500K. Unlike Singapore, with at least 20% foreign workforce on S pass and Employment Pass, rental market here is not very vibrant.

This post has been edited by remora: Feb 3 2023, 08:40 AM
Onetwothreeeee
post Feb 3 2023, 01:21 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(Aaron212 @ Feb 3 2023, 07:59 AM)
BROOOO PLZ STOP REVIVING POST FROM DINOSAUR AGE !!!!
It's still a good topic to discuss
StupidGuyPlayComp
post Feb 3 2023, 01:46 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(remora @ Feb 3 2023, 08:39 AM)
Buy if you need a house and could afford installment @ 6-7% interest rate within next 5 years. However, we are currently heading into inflationary period, cost and interest rate will go up. Expect more lelong properties coming up in next 1-2 years - there are currently many buyers who bought in because loan is cheap and no deposits needed. Furthermore, supply far exceeded demand in price range >$500K. Unlike Singapore, with at least 20% foreign workforce on S pass and Employment Pass, rental market here is not very vibrant.
hmm.gif everyone said interest will keep going up.

Actually Malaysia's OPR before covid is 3.0%, currently already 2.75%, the uprising margin may not be high.

Unlike US they lower the intrest too much, so now have to raise aggresively.

0.0279sec    1.04    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 05:18 AM