4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

DFI nF3/4 series (LP and Infinity) users come in, Overclocking ability and troubleshooting

gsan
post Jun 6 2006, 11:49 AM

Electrical RF Engineer
2,471 posts

QUOTE(remysix @ Jun 6 2006, 11:46 AM)
those of u using 0406bta bios...did u notice the mem bandwidth when u did the memtest86+.
i'm asking coz when i used the 623 bios, the bandwidth is around 27xx Mbps and when i flashed the 0406bta, with the same setting and fsb, i got 22xx Mbps...kinda weird coz lost about 500Mbps...
and i found one thing is the bandwidth for opty is much lower than a64. i use excatly the same setting for 250 @ 2-2-2-5 on both opty & a64.

A64 gives me about 32XX whereas opty gives only about 28XX sweat.gif
gsan
post Jun 6 2006, 11:26 PM

Electrical RF Engineer
2,471 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jun 6 2006, 12:29 PM)
ODC enabled? memtest86+ cant detect d speed for the ram w/ feature turned on.  smile.gif
i always use 10x multiplier laugh.gif
gsan
post Jun 8 2006, 07:05 PM

Electrical RF Engineer
2,471 posts

QUOTE(fantasy_kenny @ Jun 8 2006, 06:38 PM)
got Expert User using E704-2BT BIOS??

i using it BIOS 1 week b4,yesterday my system restart 5 time more....

wanna ask another user of Expert got same problem or not??
i'm using the bios at this moment, no problem so far.
gsan
post Jun 8 2006, 08:37 PM

Electrical RF Engineer
2,471 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Jun 8 2006, 07:07 PM)
tat nice. how ur opty goin' ady??  biggrin.gif
now tuning ram, will back to proc later. smile.gif

This post has been edited by gsan: Jun 8 2006, 08:37 PM
gsan
post Jun 16 2006, 07:12 PM

Electrical RF Engineer
2,471 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jun 16 2006, 04:38 PM)
the strange thing is when is loosen 'em to 2.5-4-4-8, memtest gimme more errors....  rclxub.gif

anything to do w/ d ldt voltage or so... for ya info, they have no problem passin memtest test #5, but errors apprea in test #3. pretty weird...  sweat.gif
try either 2.5-3-4-7 or 2.5-4-3-7.

i've tested a pair of ram, when doing 2.5-4-3-7 will give ton of errors in memtest but 2.5-3-4-7 give no errors in both memtest and sp2004.
gsan
post Jun 16 2006, 07:50 PM

Electrical RF Engineer
2,471 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jun 16 2006, 07:42 PM)
bro, in order to get it memtest stable (test #5), d ram need to be @ 2.5-3-3-7, i've tried 2.5-4-3-7, 2.5-3-4-7 or 2.5-4-4-8, all these 3 settings givin me instant error in test #5, i started to doubt that it's d problem of d board or my 0516 kinda sucky. too bad i'm in sgp now, else i'll let u test these sweet baby...  sad.gif
just noticed your setting, Idle Cycle Limit suppose set to 256 for tccd. btw, you have to try play with the setting since you set "auto" in certain significant setting.
gsan
post Jun 27 2006, 05:58 PM

Electrical RF Engineer
2,471 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jun 27 2006, 08:36 AM)
after few days of huff & puff...  sweat.gif

[attachmentid=117143]

i found that setting rp & ma to AUTO is d easiest way when it comes to low voltage ram oc'in, in my case tccd & my ex ocz premier of psc chippies...  smile.gif
well done bro, 310 @ 2.5-4-3-7 thumbup.gif
gsan
post Jan 6 2007, 09:31 AM

Electrical RF Engineer
2,471 posts

QUOTE(ashraful @ Jan 6 2007, 12:24 AM)
mine is Gskill. i think F1-4000 2gbhz. right now i put one orange and one yellow.
u guys know how to make it dual channel?? thnx~!!
neway, i'm just wondering why i can't push my opty 144 further?
damn.. hehhe laugh.gif the max i can get is 255mhz (2.29Ghz)
i did try raised the vcore for 260mhz... but always get BSOD... 
can somebody help me? thnx~!!!
try 1 stick 1st, boot into BIOS and set the DDS/DS as well as the ram divider 166MHz, plug into another stick, and enter BIOS set back the divider to 1:1
gsan
post Jan 26 2007, 11:02 AM

Electrical RF Engineer
2,471 posts

QUOTE(ekok @ Jan 23 2007, 10:59 AM)
Hi guys, need ur help on this:
AMD64 3000+ Venice, DFI NF4 LP Ultra-D, 2x 256MB Winbond BH-6 @2-2-2-5 DC

My system has been running flawlessly for about 1yr until last month. At first it reboot automatically once in a while. Then it happens more often and last week it totally cant boot up. I've to boot up with 1 stick of ram to do some testing(everything at default):

DIMM1: tested with both stick, no problem
DIMM2: tested with both stick, no problem
DIMM3: cant boot with either stick
DIMM4: haven tested cos too near to my hs  tongue.gif

*when tested with dimm1 and 2 - single-channel mode, it can boot up but very unstable in windows

So i need input from u guys. Could it be my mobo or ram?
it mostly due to the DS/DDS setting. you have to try these setting patiently. my bh5s also run flawlessly for few month on SLI-DR Expert but the mobo suddenly acting weird, reboot and cannot booting up, but once I replay the setting again, everything are ok. smile.gif
gsan
post Jan 27 2007, 12:34 AM

Electrical RF Engineer
2,471 posts

QUOTE(ekok @ Jan 26 2007, 04:02 PM)
Hmm... will try that out later when i get back. Any recommended settings for DS / DDS?  tongue.gif
hope that following step would help you a abit.

1. Don't set MAL and RP under bios. You have to set AUTO.
2. IdleCycle Limit - set to auto under bios to boost MAL tighter.
3. If go higher fsb, then DS can go with 1. DDS sometimes can be tricky, if you have very strong ram, try 3 first, but always from auto, then if safe, go 2 then go 3, normally 2 is just perfect for average users.

QUOTE(Westley @ Jan 25 2007, 08:10 AM)
flash different bios to try it...
erm, sadly to tell u, sumtimes it need some strange setting to make it normal.
u might need to wait for gsan and other to reply...
i'm always going with low voltage chips, samsung, hynix, micron, infineon etc...
sli-dr expert limitation TCCD, you should try Venus tongue.gif

This post has been edited by gsan: Jan 27 2007, 09:56 AM
gsan
post Jan 28 2007, 09:31 AM

Electrical RF Engineer
2,471 posts

QUOTE(ekok @ Jan 27 2007, 03:42 PM)
After changing the DS to 8(normal4) and DDS to level1, my pc finally can boot into windows in dual-channel mode. Though it still reboot by itself but atleast it can boot up  smile.gif

Still need further tweaking to make it stable.
which BIOS you using now?
gsan
post Jan 29 2007, 11:38 PM

Electrical RF Engineer
2,471 posts

QUOTE(Westley @ Jan 28 2007, 11:26 PM)
cannot run when using mixed ram, wanna let go liao...
hehe... expert or tccd ram?
gsan
post Feb 1 2007, 12:15 PM

Electrical RF Engineer
2,471 posts

QUOTE(Westley @ Jan 30 2007, 05:18 PM)
mixing ram cannot run
I mean which you wanna let go? tccd or expert?
gsan
post Feb 1 2007, 02:31 PM

Electrical RF Engineer
2,471 posts

QUOTE(Westley @ Feb 1 2007, 01:24 PM)
for what to let go my expert? hmm.gif
why not? change to Venus limited edition. laugh.gif
gsan
post Feb 3 2007, 06:41 PM

Electrical RF Engineer
2,471 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Feb 3 2007, 04:15 PM)
hy guys...
i have this strange (i think tongue.gif) problem...i used to run daily 320x9 @1:1, but now, seems like it'll BSOD from time to time, until now, i have to use stock (no overclock already). my system specs is...

Enermax FMA 350W
DFI LanParty nForce4 SLI-DR
AMD64 Athlon 3000+ @2.88GHz @1.4vCORE
2x512MB Team eXtreme PC4800 @DDR640 3-4-4-8 @2.8vDIMM
3xHDD, 1xODD

the Q is, what is exactly the problem is? the RAM is faulty? i tried on my bro's system, it running well, with or without overclock, CPU? also, tested and running well, Prime95 for about 5 hrs until i have to stop it (playing games tongue.gif), HDD? i tried use single HDD, other new HDD, the old HDD, all same, it'll BSOD, a friend of mine suspected my video card is the culprit, so i swapped with my brother's card, same...BSOD too sad.gif, PSU? yeah i know, 350W is really low, but i even tried run on very basic setup, 1x512MB of RAM, 1xHDD, my bro's video card and mine (testing) still the same, BSOD... -- this is really confusing me about what happened and what have i done to my system

currently, i can't overclock it, even at 250, 275, 300 or my last best setup, 320, it'll load to windows, it'll BSOD right just after that...

from my opinion, it could be my PSU due to overstress from time to time and thinking in getting a 500W Silverstone Element series...or should i get Enermax FMA 535W?
not sure about your problem, but I noticed that 2.88GHz @ 1.4v only... what a strong Venice.... rclxms.gif btw, what's the highest speed of this baby?
gsan
post Feb 11 2007, 01:10 PM

Electrical RF Engineer
2,471 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Feb 11 2007, 12:27 AM)
hey guys...
regarding my problem that can't pass in primetest at DDR660 (well, i used to run in this set before this), i think it's my motherboard...not my PSU though, because change the PSU (SilverStone ST56ZF), still the same...
now the ram can run ddr400 1:1 ?
gsan
post Feb 12 2007, 07:34 PM

Electrical RF Engineer
2,471 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Feb 12 2007, 03:52 PM)
not 1:1, but yes, at DDR405 to be exactly since i'm on memory divider, CPU clock at 2.835GHz while RAM's clocked at DDR405 @2-3-2-6 2.8vDIMM
i tried, it runs perfect under other mobo lo...pening lalat sudah...
mobo start acting weird... can take to rma liao...
gsan
post Feb 12 2007, 08:11 PM

Electrical RF Engineer
2,471 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Feb 12 2007, 07:48 PM)
doh.gif, the problem is...i bought this from one of our forummer, he's a Johorean and it's like what, almost 10 months woor till now...i hope still warranty...anyway, that (acting weird) can happen? hmm.gif...
why not? since you had tested the psu and ram are ok, so what else could be cause the problem? All DFI mobo got 2 yrs warranty from alphamatic smile.gif
gsan
post Feb 19 2007, 11:56 PM

Electrical RF Engineer
2,471 posts

I'm confuse that which BIOS is optimized for tccd, -1 or -3? because what I found from XS and TechPowerUp! website given 2 different answer.

btw, try it on opty 146 which has stronger memory controller,

Idle Cycle = 16
DS/DDS = 8/3 thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by gsan: Feb 20 2007, 01:45 PM
gsan
post Feb 25 2007, 10:41 AM

Electrical RF Engineer
2,471 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Feb 24 2007, 03:55 PM)
nice on there bro...  thumbup.gif

vdimm used? am sure this baby capable of atleast 31xMHz at looser timing...  biggrin.gif

my experience tells me that 0406 is gud for tccd...  smile.gif
2.8v + 0.03v in bios, no point to run with high HTT with 3-4-4-8 laugh.gif

no luck with 0406BTA, but 623-2BTA is the best for both of my BH5 and TCCD. but then, -1 or -3 is optimized for tccd huh? kinda confused because some say -1 and some say -3. sweat.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0210sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:29 AM