5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

DFI nF3/4 series (LP and Infinity) users come in, Overclocking ability and troubleshooting

irenic
post Apr 25 2005, 05:54 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(.:BreT:. @ Apr 24 2005, 10:44 AM)
noted 10q smile.gif
normal? dunno y.... but seems i cant really clip that system fan into the mobo (i mean the dfi stock fan).
how come ur processor so cool? thumbup.gif what type of cooling r u using?

QUOTE(kianwee @ Apr 24 2005, 08:31 PM)
At default the chipset fan is loose (try to move it, it wiggles). what i did was i took out the chipset fan and remove the gay square sponge, remove the yellow thermal conductive shit (you will know why when you see it) and apply some AS5. Snap that cooler back and voila, my temp now idle at 42. Before that was 47-48.
i already did this since the 1st day i bought the board.. but till now it still wiggles biggrin.gif how ar?
irenic
post Apr 25 2005, 03:50 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

how about your temp? it still wiggles a little bit i know.

erm my idle chipset temp is around 43C and when running stressprime it goes as high as 50C - 51C

yes it still wiggles biggrin.gif but just 1 to 2 degrees... (42C<--43C-->44C)

i have one vantec iceberg chipset hsf.. never try it yet.. dunno whether it performs better than this DFI stock or not..

irenic
post Apr 26 2005, 03:45 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Apr 25 2005, 04:15 PM)
It doesn't fit. The hole layout is not same with our board. Unless you drill a little. smile.gif
it does fit! i already tried installed it when first i bought it.. but then i opened it back biggrin.gif
irenic
post Apr 26 2005, 02:22 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Apr 26 2005, 04:10 AM)
Sorry, my bad! I was told it doesn't fit, now that it fits, i'm getting one of those and change it!
nice..do update bout the temp okey... coz i'm so lazy to open out my board since all my temp sensor wires are all hiding under the board.. wink.gif
irenic
post Apr 26 2005, 11:23 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Apr 26 2005, 10:22 PM)
What is your CPU, PWMIC and chipset temp now?
here is mine.. why my chipset is very hot ar? now idle is 49C

maybe becoz the HIS iceq II cooling blocks the chipset hsf from getting fresh air.

Kianwee, how come ur chipset + pwm got below 40C? r u in airconditioning room? or r u using watercooling?

This post has been edited by irenic: Apr 26 2005, 11:25 PM

irenic
post Apr 26 2005, 11:29 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(.:BreT:. @ Apr 26 2005, 11:26 PM)
my chipset temp oso around 49 zzz
but damn lazy to take out the mobo to unattach that chipset fan le....
once i tried using a cutter to cut both that chipset legs.... but damn!!! mission failed -.-
last time i already removed the original pad that comes with the chipset fan. then i attached as5.. but still hot.. thumbup.gif doh.gif
irenic
post Apr 26 2005, 11:45 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Apr 26 2005, 11:37 PM)
the first time i apply AS5 on my chipset, my temp rises to 60!! then i realise i applied too much, reapply again and it works. I'm in air cond room, without air cond the temp rose to 50.....  shakehead.gif

you using XP120, how come your cpu still so hot? you oc?
owh thats why.. my new room doesnt has aircon.. wink.gif

yes i oc.. now at 2.7ghz biggrin.gif
irenic
post Apr 26 2005, 11:57 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

last time my friend with stock cooling said he was very proud coz he didnt need to invest a lot of money on heatsink like me, yet his temp still under 25C which is far better than my processor temp biggrin.gif
then i asked him to update his bios and naahh his real temp is 45C laugh.gif ekekek

This post has been edited by irenic: Apr 27 2005, 12:00 AM
irenic
post Apr 27 2005, 12:07 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Apr 27 2005, 12:04 AM)
I tried lapping my stock heatsink, it helps a bit.
hehe i just told the story of my friend. he is using abit kv8 with older bios which is well known with its non accurate temp..
erm what heatsink r using? thumbup.gif
irenic
post Apr 27 2005, 10:45 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Apr 27 2005, 03:04 AM)
lol, 2.5 HP in my tiny room.  smile.gif
wow... 2.5hp can cool ur whole living room! hmm no wonder ur pc so cold one thumbup.gif
irenic
post Apr 27 2005, 09:34 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

i just installed the vantec iceberg chipset fan and my chipset idle temp now is 55C!! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by irenic: Apr 27 2005, 09:36 PM

irenic
post Apr 28 2005, 10:03 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(Evogenix @ Apr 27 2005, 10:02 PM)
HOLY....
thats really HOT~!!!
i think the stock chipset cooling still da best thumbup.gif

mine drop to 43-44 Dcelcius after clean the yellow mug and reapply with AS5

Evogenix
i think it is because my as5 is too thick la..but no time to remove my mobo.. quite bz rite now wink.gif
irenic
post May 4 2005, 08:46 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(arj @ May 4 2005, 02:22 PM)
I'll be gunning for you numbers tonight ray tongue.gif
go arj! hehe sorry for keeping ur fx with me for quite a long time.. err and there is still 1 week more to go sweat.gif
irenic
post May 11 2005, 02:38 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(De_Cruelz @ May 10 2005, 01:25 PM)
Well, not exactly what you requested with idle/load. I must say though that the PSU will handle anything you can throw at it as I have yet to touch the adjustable rails yet. Paid $320 AUD for it. Not sure of its price in KL though smile.gif
QUOTE(remysix @ May 10 2005, 01:55 PM)
OCZ Powerstream price...ermmm...no price at all...coz we dun have that psu over here...BTW...might coz nearly 1K
indeed.. $320 AUD = RM943.758.. excluded postage sweat.gif

http://www.xe.com/ucc/

irenic
post May 12 2005, 09:56 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(remysix @ May 12 2005, 09:10 AM)
how did u manage to get those fan hanging over the mobo?
last time i did this thing also.. to make the fan hanging, i just put it on one of the rounded cable.. it works err unless u use tornado fan laugh.gif
irenic
post May 22 2005, 06:19 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(Show-Time @ May 22 2005, 02:58 PM)
only dimm 2 and 4 will run dual channel?
i have to resetup my xp-120 again... sad.gif
btw, smart guardian is not providing accurate information...
yups, smartguardian is not accurate...
one of the example is my +12v reading in smarguardian is 11.9v but when i test using digital multimeter is 12.2v

irenic
post May 22 2005, 06:39 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(Show-Time @ May 22 2005, 06:31 PM)
mine shows around 11.83 - 11.9v
bios shows 12.02 - 12.1...
where to buy digital multimeter? how much it cost?

after flashed bios, everything running fine...
before that was using default 125 version, my pc keeps on restart...zz...
my bios shows around 12.02 also.. but i read that the reading in bios sure is higher than windows.. hmm let me try using voltmeter when i'm in bios..

there are a lot of digital multimeter.. from rm30 up to rmxxx.. i bought mine in aussie for AUD $10 = rm30 biggrin.gif

btw, r u using the hellfire modded bios? is the bios only suitable for utt / bh5 ram?

This post has been edited by irenic: May 22 2005, 06:40 PM
irenic
post May 22 2005, 08:07 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(Show-Time @ May 22 2005, 07:38 PM)
yea hellfire modded bios. it's best for utt/bh5 smile.gif
sigh.. i just flashed my mobo.. nvr mind.. just try la whether it suits my tccd or not hehe rolleyes.gif
irenic
post May 22 2005, 08:12 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ May 21 2005, 12:50 PM)
Beware: Setting only for TCCD

Enable
Auto
Enable

Auto
auto
8x
4x
Disable(8 Bursts)

Tested on 3200+ venice @ 2.7GHz/1.6v @ 300HTT @ 2.8v vdimm
kianwee, what bios r u using for ur dfi sli-d + ocz tccd ?

thx
irenic
post May 22 2005, 08:29 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(Show-Time @ May 22 2005, 08:18 PM)
hey bro, get your tccd bios from here...if that modded bios not suitable for your tccd.
thx.. i already opened it but which one does kianwee use? unsure.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0428sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:47 PM