DFI nF3/4 series (LP and Infinity) users come in, Overclocking ability and troubleshooting

gavlim
post Jul 10 2005, 01:51 AM

i'm too sexy for my girlfriend
1,487 posts

but the official bios 3/10 here http://www.dfi.com.tw/Support/Download/bio..._FLAG=A&SITE=US
says got support for E3 venice and e4 san diego.. ?! sad.gif

going to try reformat my C: now and see if its due to clash from my old intel 875 chipset mobo.

if it doesnt support e3/e4.. im pretty muched done for since i got no floppy drive doh.gif
gavlim
post Jul 10 2005, 01:56 AM

1,487 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_hata @ Jul 10 2005, 01:53 AM)
huh...y not?? dun scare me ler...
my mobo gc psu all ready in house...onli proc nia...gavlim...let me know which bios better for sandiego ya..after u test...10sss
biggrin.gif let me get into windows first! haha

man, seriously stressing me out la this stuff. wanna put in the ram also susah. the thought of trying to remove the xp120 is going to be another big headache i am not looking forward to. should have just put on the stock heatsink first to test test.
gavlim
post Jul 10 2005, 02:27 AM

1,487 posts

huge sigh of relief. after reformatting, everything seems fine.
btw which stuff do u guys install from the provided mobo software cd? i came across stuff like nvidia firewall manager, nvidia forceware manager etc etc. just wallop everything?
gavlim
post Jul 10 2005, 11:42 AM

1,487 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Jul 10 2005, 04:17 AM)
bios 3.10p is the best for my system..
i installed the latest nvidia chipset driver but without the ide driver.
thanks for the headsup smile.gif i tried installing the firewall manager for fun but looks like it'll be gotten rid of soon.

QUOTE(MacDaNife @ Jul 10 2005, 07:18 AM)
Why does the XP120 block your RAM slots? I installed mine with the pipes facing the PCI slots and all RAM slots are usable. I've got mine in slots 1 and 3 (orange slots). No problems booting whatsoever.
smile.gif i installed mine with the pipes facing the ram slots.. had the thought of getting my rams cooled by the overhanging part of the xp120 but looks like its more of a nuisance now.

going to try flash a newer bios now. between 510 and 704, have u guys tried them?
gavlim
post Jul 10 2005, 05:15 PM

1,487 posts

macdanife i think we have the same setup there. the ends of my pipes are pointing away from the pcie slots (ie the front is towards).
gavlim
post Jul 10 2005, 09:24 PM

1,487 posts

hey guys, i'm so used to seeing high temps with my old P4 rig, is getting 33C on load is normal with the sandy and xp120? still using 310 bios.. havent touched any bios settings at all. on stock, superpi 38 secs SSE3 patched. havent tried 3dmark yet, downloading now.
gavlim
post Jul 11 2005, 04:14 AM

1,487 posts

i really dunno.. cause i'm reporting the temps given by smart guardian (the program found in the software CD given with the mobo).. without aircon, the idle is 28-29C. then i tried prime95, and then folding@home, the temps on full load (100% cpu usage in task manager) is around 33-34C with xp120. i'm thinking there may be something wrong, but if not, then i'm really happy with the temps. i tried touching the heatpipes when on load, but they feel really cool to touch.

this one with side panel closed.. sweat.gif
gavlim
post Jul 11 2005, 11:51 AM

1,487 posts

maybe i set my heatsink improperly. will have to double check later. anyways, spent the whole night folding and the temps dropped summore doh.gif and no, i dont stay on a hill haha 7th floor condo only.

gavlim
post Jul 12 2005, 01:38 AM

1,487 posts

QUOTE(zonlee @ Jul 12 2005, 12:34 AM)
water cooler

no fan detect
sorry bro, no money yet for water cooling. xp120 goodness and delta fan from allngap.

QUOTE(irenic @ Jul 12 2005, 12:56 AM)
it can be gavlim connect his fan direct to PSU's molex  tongue.gif
actually i connected it to my vantec fan controller.. running at lowest speed smile.gif
gavlim
post Jul 12 2005, 05:50 PM

1,487 posts

nice. my mobo revision is A03, has anyone tried modding this revision yet?

kelvin_hata : going to do some testing tonight and will let you know the temps
gavlim
post Jul 12 2005, 07:54 PM

1,487 posts

i think there is a specific set of instructions you need to follow to set the 4v jumper correctly.

here you go. http://www.abxzone.com/forums/printthread.php?t=88699

take note tip #5. i'd suggest following this cause you wouldnt want to risk screwing up your expensive mobo.
gavlim
post Jul 12 2005, 09:28 PM

1,487 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Jul 12 2005, 09:18 PM)
New OFFICIAL bios for those who hates the word "BETA"

http://www.dfi.com.tw/Support/Download/bio..._FLAG=A&SITE=US
623-3.. i've read conflicting things about the -3 (or -2/-1 extensions for that matter)

i need one for the UTT rams. but there was this thread in dfi-street http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/showthread.php?t=16479 making me all confused now.

[edit] this is pretty funny.. http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/showthread.php?t=16674
gavlim
post Jul 13 2005, 01:06 AM

1,487 posts

just flashed 623-3 using winflash utility.

funny thing now..

my ocz gold vx pc4000 can pass 10 loops of test 5 in memtest at 250mhz 2-2-2-5 at 3.2v, but it will show errors on the first loop of test 5 if i lower to 240mhz 2-2-2-5 3.2v

now can someone tell me whats going on? doh.gif
gavlim
post Jul 13 2005, 01:31 AM

1,487 posts

funny.. 2-2-2-5 at 3.2v - 200mhz ok, 230mhz error, 240mhz error, 247-250mhz ok.
gavlim
post Jul 15 2005, 01:07 PM

1,487 posts

i was using 310, but then changed to 623-2 to take advantage of being able to use slots 1 and 3 smile.gif running fine and stable also.
gavlim
post Jul 17 2005, 12:48 PM

1,487 posts

QUOTE(ray99mond @ Jul 17 2005, 12:10 PM)
anyone know what is the LDT voltage for ?
same question. i PMed angry games at dfi-street for an answer and he said it was alright to leave it at auto as apparently it will self adjust depending on the overclock. i then PMed someone in the OCZ support forum at bleedingedge.com and he said with all the new bios revisions coming out that it was probably not a good idea to set it on auto as the auto adjust feature may have been left out with newer bios revisions. he suggested when overclocking step it up a notch to 1.3v if i'm not mistaken. and increase when u think necessary (no idea when that is) lol.. anyway, i didnt know who to believe so i stuck with the dfi technician angry games and left it at auto tongue.gif
gavlim
post Jan 7 2006, 08:06 PM

1,487 posts

i think your settings must be wrong somewhere if u r having boot up problems. i'm on dfi nf4 ultra-d, 2.6ghz on stock vcore 24/7 and have never had any boot up problems at all.

0.0187sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:47 AM