migration to Australia
Fujihime
Mar 24 2010, 07:40 PM

since this topic is up, i've got a scenario which i need help with. please hear me out?
my bf and i are discussing about migrating to australia. both of us find that if we are going to start a family, might as well go to a better place with better living standard, healthcare and such. we all know how malaysia is in certain ways. i'm not saying it's really bad but what we want and deserve, malaysia couldn't give... or should i say, aussie is better.
anyway, we aren't sure how hard is it to apply and how much it cost. the last time we checked, it cost about AUD2250 (non-refundable). should we hire an agent? and how much would that be?
his grandparents and uncles are there, citizens, so this might be a plus point, plus he is an engineer although with only 1+ year experience. what are the chances of him getting a PR? for me, should i apply with him as a spouse? or get married only AFTER he has gotten his visa?
any feedback appreciated!
Fujihime
Mar 25 2010, 06:48 PM

thanks witchx for the reply!
my bf is an electronics engineer. i read that they need engineers but i'm not sure which ones. we are currently in malaysia and plan to apply here. the part about me tumpang to apply with him is quite the challenge. so we'll prolly get an agent to help us. but thanks for the input, appreciate that!
remeron, i'll check out the agent that you recommended, thanks! maybe i might sound harsh when i say about the deserving part haha! hmm i do like alot of things that malaysia offer, the food, night life etc. but other than that, standard of living, my major concern is unfulfilling. lets say a freshie gets a starting pay of RM2k, it wont get u much in m'sia. for aus, a freshie gets AUD2k (with tax minus off) can afford much more. a reputable car there only cost about AUD20-30k but dollar-to-dollar we can only get a kancil or kenari maybe? raw materials such as food are much more affordable there as well although i can't say the same as eating out. but after even things out, i still prefer the living in aus.
other than that, working ethics. australians work 8hrs and they can go home tepat2. for us, the culture is different. going home on time can sometimes means u r being lazy @_@ i mean this might not happen in all companies la but you get what i mean. i wan to work for what i'm paid, something like that.
when i have kids in future, i wan equality in schooling too. i'm offended with the quota thingie. this goes the same with buying a house. it's unfair that some ppl have to pay more. there's no such inequality in aussie.
these are the things that i can see so far. there might be other aussie stuff that i missed out that i might need to consider as well. for one, i'm quite uneasy about the suburb areas being too quiet and dark after 7pm. it seems too 'dead'. but so far, from the perspective of my bf's relatives living there, they lead happier lives compare to when they are here.