Pioneer HT Dilema in music and movie, Please help budget uncle

paskal
post Mar 8 2010, 10:45 AM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(rexa13 @ Mar 8 2010, 10:35 AM)
better get option no.2 with vsx819 instead of vsx 519. u can get it with in ur budget.

i have exp 1st buying HTiB then need to forkup money to get an avr.

i buy HTZ280 i belive the DVD player almost the same with HTZ787. it cannot play DVDR very well always stuck. and only have Hdmi output. if the same with htz280 the dvd player/amp didnt have any audio input in except stereo red and white.
but be sure not to waste all the budget to the max just for the HT setup.
else have to fork out more money for MEDIA PLAYER (be it dvd, blueray or hdd)

the RS70 does come with VSX-819, priced just wee bit below 3k. but there's a catch, no player.
and listening to it, i kindda agree with you, it's not really for music. the setup are better suited for movies.

for something better in dealing with music, maybe you should take a look at this:

there's 2 models:
htp-819sw priced wee bit above RM3k, comes with vsx-819 avr
htp-519sw priced RM2.4k, comes with vsx-519sw.

i'm using the htp-519sw in my hall (also a budget uncle tongue.gif ). maybe you could come and audition it at my place first before diving in..
paskal
post Mar 8 2010, 11:06 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(beloved @ Mar 8 2010, 10:55 AM)
1. I hope it is really the settings problem. Really need to spend times to tune the settings besides rely on MCACC. But too bad, the sales person is not proficient enough to show me thru.
2. Great to hear you support this.
3. Always in the box cannot compare to AVR but their price attracted me.
4. I know that but Pioneer HTZ-LX61 can provide sufficient inputs and outputs which I needed. Too bad, when leverage in movie treble like transformer 2 robots fighting with each others, they seems to be suppressed.
1. the sales person is never proficient enough, unless you go to a proper hifi shop. htib sounds better out of the box because they have no settings to change on. it'll sound as good as it can without having to change anything. but buy it and you're stuck using it for the rest of your life tongue.gif
2. +1
3. refer my post above. entry level avr set with a budget price. plus a plueray player, you're still under RM3k. take the extra and bring the family to a nice restaurant.
4. be sure to count the input and see if it's enough for you. 1 for astro. 1 for dvd/blueray. 1 for hdd player/htpc. 1 for cd player. my avr don't have enough digital coax inputs
paskal
post Mar 8 2010, 11:58 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(beloved @ Mar 8 2010, 11:07 AM)

Good to hear from another uncle. What will be the main difference between this 2 models which you suggested? Any pioneer showroom to listen this beside your place? Thanks for your offering.
it's available at courts, can hear there. harvey norman also got sell i think.
the only difference is the the avr. one comes with vsx-519 and one with vsx-819. the vsx-519 is a pretty basic avr without mcacc and doesn't support hd audio. but it does support lpcm. i don't have any blueray collection yet, so i don't really need hd audio support, yet.. biggrin.gif

the thing is, most showroom only have sub par sources for you to demo on. some demo using pirated dvd, feeded with analog rca to the avr. can expect how the sound will be. doesn't do justice to the avr sweat.gif

Added on March 8, 2010, 12:01 pm
QUOTE(jeffdnp @ Mar 8 2010, 11:53 AM)
hi there, tumpang thread here...heheee.. sorry for that..

does anyone here knows where is htp-819sw made in? and how is the quality?
thanks... biggrin.gif
the speakers are made in malaysia. the sub i think from china as well as the avr. why you wanna know where it's made from?

This post has been edited by paskal: Mar 8 2010, 12:01 PM
paskal
post Mar 8 2010, 01:59 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(rexa13 @ Mar 8 2010, 01:49 PM)
VSX1019- best for byond thumbup.gif
brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
1019 have how many digital coax inputs?
paskal
post Mar 8 2010, 10:31 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(HW-Racer @ Mar 8 2010, 10:05 PM)
saw in today's STAR paper... senQ got promotion on the pioneer ...

VSX519K + SMS800 + SRS3SW  RM2599

if in the future i buy a bluray player...can I connect to the VSX 519K ?? thru co-axial cable ??

it this player good (VSX519K) for listening to music ?
it's the same price they've been selling it for since last year. RM2599 is the RRP.
i got it for RM2350, got a shop offered me for RM2.3k, but have to wait and order. don't wanna wait, wanna hear it first rather than buying blind.

you could connect the blueray through coax, optical, multi channel analog, hdmi. only thing is that it doesn't decode hd audio, only lpcm.
paskal
post Mar 10 2010, 02:43 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(beloved @ Mar 10 2010, 01:31 PM)
Ok, brother. I will go to those HIFI shop and hear it. Hopefully, they dun disappoint me. But VSX1019 amp alone olredi RM 2.3K? What about speakers?
buy something inside your BUDGET.
if you set an absolute ceiling limit of RM3k, STICK TO IT. it's verry easy to go over the budget when dealing with audio products.
this sounds better, that sounds better; with a little bit more you could get that set, this set. whistling.gif

and there's (nearly) always some hidden cost involved.
surge protector, hdmi cables, speaker cables, stands, installation, etc etc. so if you dump all your money to a verry good avr, you'd have to spend more for speakers, subwoofers, cabling.
spend wisely bro
paskal
post Mar 11 2010, 07:18 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(rexa13 @ Mar 11 2010, 04:33 PM)
how much for this speaker?
i think those should be RB-61
price maybe something in the RM9k range perhaps? (guessing)

try and contact htkaki
paskal
post Mar 14 2010, 09:19 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(beloved @ Mar 14 2010, 09:08 PM)
I have listen this HTP-819SW from Harvey Norman audio room and thumb high from me for this AVR in listening music and movie. They are well better than HTiB and TODOROKI. They quote about RM 34xx something. Does this price worth or anybody get below than this?
i got quoted RM3.1k (need to order) and RM3.15k for ready stock units.
the shop that i went that time have 4 htp-819sw in stock.
paskal
post Mar 15 2010, 01:43 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(VSX-AX2as @ Mar 15 2010, 12:32 AM)
Extra RM500 just for ready stock  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif .Waiting and you can save your money maa hmm.gif
RM3.1k and RM3.15k bro
3100 and 3150. difference of RM50 only, not RM500
paskal
post Mar 15 2010, 07:20 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(rexa13 @ Mar 15 2010, 07:10 AM)
i have been qouted Jamo speaker for 1.3K without sub
which model?

0.0200sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled