AMD® Socket AM2&AM3 Overclocking V22, Now what!?Its Thuban and 800 Era!..oh no

antonio
post Mar 8 2010, 12:30 PM

AMD Phenom II & Intel i7 Overclocker
4,032 posts

me really would wait for some magic....890GX on paper currently doesn't really make your spine tingling...if you already have 790GX or790FX, 890GX in terms of function, wouldn't justify the upgrade...

The IGP also its just a small bump from the 785 models.... why dun put in HD5200 brows.gif
antonio
post Mar 8 2010, 01:06 PM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Mar 8 2010, 01:02 PM)
if earn same like in msia.. profit..

asus highend already almost half of my salary.. damn it.. laugh.gif
if there.. grab dua biji dah tongue.gif
SuperComputer cost RM2099.....so your pay 4k??? blink.gif rclxm9.gif

If you already got a 790 be it GX or X, the only reason to jump to 890GX would be because of the Raid and Sata6/Usb3 thingy whistling.gif

antonio
post Mar 9 2010, 09:25 AM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Mar 9 2010, 08:00 AM)

that's d only preciouusss stuff i got, d rest are all cheapo...  cry.gif

it was a $10 top up usin my corsair dhx, guess i was lucky back then...  tongue.gif
rams are precious, CPU n Mobo come and go.... brows.gif laugh.gif
antonio
post Mar 10 2010, 02:27 PM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(dafreak @ Mar 10 2010, 09:51 AM)

this time it is really weird, i throw all the voltages to stock, vcore 1.325v (+0v)

only rams @ 1.65v

running almost 4hrs... doh.gif

tmpin2 = core temp minus ~2 °C
tmpin1 = nb i think
can your rams run at 1600 CL7??? voltage around 1.71-1.74v rolleyes.gif

Its nice actually for the temp not to bounce a lot....

antonio
post Mar 11 2010, 12:52 AM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(rxy @ Mar 10 2010, 05:48 PM)
erm..if like increasing the cpu core speed to 3.4GHz and increasing the NB speed and ram speed,does whole system speed increases as well??
Like wat antonio said before,if can oc till 3.6GHz,NB speed to around 2400 and HTT to above 2k,can faster than 965 stock..I think I am not going for 3.6GHz.Scare the system cant withstand..Must use 1.441Vcore to let it fully stable..Like not so worth it?
Rxz...eh rxy,

What I'm generalizing was;

-Phenom2 (Deneb) out of the box (tak kira X2, X3, X4 or X1 huh.gif got X1 meh?? whistling.gif ) would have a common stable rate of 3600mhz at 1.35v (with +- 0.2v) and trying to achieve the 3600mhz isn't something hard to get on the CPU speed...If you need 1.4v, it can only mean that either;

-your settings to 3600mhz has something wrong in it (such as ram too tight, too fast or simply not enough voltage) and needs to be test with both Prime95, small and Blend test for at least 8 hours to let the whole cycle of prime completes its job...

-your mobo maybe undervolting, in which you may think that you are pumping 1.375v but instead, your CPU only harvest a mere 1.35-1.33v, BUT, even so you need to confirm, at which Bios option regarding the voltage is supplying enough voltage to the Proc...C2 have a tendency to eat more volts than C3 at the same clock speed....For instance at 1.44v there is no way I can boot into windows at 4ghz on C2, but I can even open light programs such as winamp and watching MTVs', surfing and what not on a C3 CPU at the same volts....Not stable but still can use the PC...

-You mentioned 1.44v then can only fully stable, may I ask is that setting:

a)all stock except for CPU multi upped and CPU voltage at 1.44v?

or

b)apart from the CPU Multi and volts, did you alter mem timings, HTT, CPU-NB speeds? If yes, did you also alter the voltages for the IMC, NB, SB, PCIE and the HTT?

That is why I always recommends Multi over HTT overclocking if you have black editions CPU, only after you have successfully note down all the stable settings for all of the possible combo (3.6 CPU, 2400mhz IMC (CPU-NB) and the ram speed (i.e 1600mhz CL7@ X.XX volts) then only you can use HTT to squeeze additional clock speed for maximum performance. DO NOT that 'maximum performance' isn't what you use everyday, but only for benching purposes... 4.4mhz CPU 3000mhz CPU-NB with highest ram speed and tightest timing possible....

I make an easy example of what I'm babbling about tongue.gif

Since 04 up to early last year, I'm working as a journalist in the motoring world with a performance modification magazine... My everyday job is to doctrinate ppl (or subliminally persuade the guys in the market of modifying their cars) and giving them a monthly dosage of super duper modified cars from Kancil to Nissan Skylines R34 GTR (the new GTR I didn't write because already malas to work tongue.gif ) During my time, I have seen 140hp kancils with ridiculously high boost, a 800++ hp RB26 with HKS T51R turbine and 1000cc injectors and fully programmable ECU, a HKS FCON V-Pro. From lepak'ing with Formula BMW/ Formula V6 Renault mechs, to the full Carbon body Black lambo crew which was owned by a local performance shop at Sunway owned by a Japanese (now kaput edi), chit chat with A1GP Team Malaysia engineers and mechs during the A1GP races that was held at Sepang, good associates with shops like N1 Racing, GT Auto, Links Power, PowerCube just to name a few, visited Miri a couple of time for the Miri Merdeka Drag at Shell airstrip, working closely with DUKE Racing Japan (the white r33 Skyline that demo'ed at Sepang Drag Battle), lepaking with Keichi Tsuchiya, Tengku Djan (my siggy finish because we both smoke non-stop through out the interview session and his puff were out, and he malas go buy vmad.gif ), Ah Fai and most of the other guys in the local drift scene, and many more fascinating experience in the motorworld and motor sports...

Most of my work involves hanging out with modified kakis which I mentioned earlier, with cars like wira having Evo III engine pumping in excess of 350hp to the wheels or a 4wd Evo 7 with no less than 700hp just waiting to be unleashed whenever the pedal is to the floor...BUT,

Although having 1000hp is fun, most of the time, they will drop down the boost and will have a tuning banks that is interchangeable for cruising mode ( so save fuel, engine much easier to propel and have less power (who needs 700hp at traffic light or KL daily jam routine maaaa?? laugh.gif ) But, when in comes to Sepang Drag Battle weekends, they (well, most of the pack anyways) heads down to a dyno facility, and switch to a racier fuel map and increase the boost to allow more powahhhh....

So moral of the story, no matter how high you overclock, trust me, your everyday computing really doesn't need such high clockspeeds tongue.gif only when go to drag SuperPI races, then only switch to Max OC mode biggrin.gif

My GD70 have 4 sets of Bios which stores, stock values, maximum ram performance settings, highest clockspeed settings and everyday overclocking mode (which is 3600mhz CPU 2400mhz CPU-NB, 1600@CL7 for the ram)...Now on i7, I'm still searching for the maximum CPU clock, maximum memory speed and the IMC speed which is a freaking hassle to maintain the voltage low doh.gif

p/s: Having a BE (unlock Multi) is like tweaking a turbo, just slight change, PC go fast, HTT or FSB or BCLK for instance is like tuning an N/A machine, tune bagai nak gila but power not much sad.gif

This post has been edited by antonio: Mar 11 2010, 12:59 AM
antonio
post Mar 11 2010, 01:20 AM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Mar 11 2010, 01:09 AM)
^ then how about your car?xD
Me no car...sad.gif

Wehhh...dun spam ahh!!! vmad.gif

QUOTE(razo007 @ Mar 11 2010, 01:15 AM)
i got 3.68ghz on my PHII 550BE with unlocking core to tri core..

tried to get quad.. but failed after 1st test on prime95 blend test..

so sad..!!
Try to prime at 3.5 first see if X4 settings is stable...keep everything else stock first...isolate! thumbup.gif
antonio
post Mar 11 2010, 11:07 PM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(rxy @ Mar 11 2010, 04:27 PM)
@antonio:
I just adjusted the CPU speed and the vcore.
Other things set to auto.
Basically,I oc to do Folding.

Added on March 11, 2010, 6:25 pmAnd ya,I fit into this category:a)all stock except for CPU multi upped and CPU voltage at 1.44v.
Wow! thats one voltage hungry chip you got there shocking.gif sweat.gif ....mind snapping some Bios screenie??? thumbup.gif
antonio
post Mar 12 2010, 08:08 AM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(rxy @ Mar 12 2010, 06:08 AM)
@antonio:which part of that you want?maybe i will try upload tonight.
oh ya,hmm,does upping cpu-nb need additional voltage?and if yes,how much does it need?for 2.6k needs around 1.25 V enough?
The main overclocking page, where you can see voltage adjustments and HTT clock... rolleyes.gif

usually at stock (in stock I mean 1.25v) usually can go up to 2500mhz-ish... for 2600mhz you would be looking at around 1.3v and for 2800 around 1.375 to 1.4v... for 3000mhz you would be looking of up to 1.5v and above, which is a bit high on the side...

I'm describing based on GD70 with 1600mhz CL7 @ 1.69v (true DMM readings 1.73v)
antonio
post Mar 12 2010, 10:57 PM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(rxy @ Mar 12 2010, 01:11 PM)
I see.
So basically at stock achieving and maintaining stable at 2400MHz is not a prob should be.
Yap..most of the IMC on Deneb, wouldnt have much problem dealing with 11 or 12 multi on the CPU-NB at stock voltage....

QUOTE(rxy @ Mar 12 2010, 02:08 PM)
Just now I used power calculator to calculate the wattage I used.
Didn't know I used so much of power.
Could power supply cause failure to oc?
Lol, of course lar...because power surge or high amount of current instability could cause your mobo to work overtime in order to correct it...All the phases will indeed reach is melting point where it can no longer handle massive amount of 'dirty' current running through the circuitry..

If nasib baik, just simple reboot...if unlucky, mobo bakar lor...

antonio
post Mar 14 2010, 12:48 AM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(catalan90_V @ Mar 13 2010, 11:15 PM)
i still got issue in ocing my proc,
i already posted it before, it may related to temperature issue,
but yesterday i try downclocking it and my pc wont boot up..
i thnk it is my mobo problem, maybe some setting need to change..
QUOTE(rxy @ Mar 13 2010, 11:19 PM)
maybe try change all to ori settings and see..
it might work..
then oc again..
Both of you try flashing your mobo bios and start stablity testing on fresh bios first before proceeding to overclock mode icon_rolleyes.gif
antonio
post Mar 14 2010, 02:43 AM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(catalan90_V @ Mar 14 2010, 01:42 AM)
thanks for the advide, but i found the problem
actually my cpu is not BE, so i cant adjust the multipier, my mistake..haha
ok sifu2, now i change the fsb from 200 to 225, do i need to change the other setting? like ram and some other stuff.
sorry im really noob at this
Not BE???

CPU-z screenie please whistling.gif
antonio
post Mar 14 2010, 03:50 AM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(catalan90_V @ Mar 14 2010, 03:25 AM)

i just increase the fsb
Wow...I find it interesting....have you flashed to the latest bios.... rolleyes.gif
antonio
post Mar 14 2010, 02:38 PM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(dafreak @ Mar 14 2010, 02:16 PM)
sifus, i am wondering is this blend test useful?

min FFT size: 112k Max: 4096k
Memory used: 3200M
Interval: 1 minute

tried @ 1600mhz 9-9-9 bluescreen after 1hr tongue.gif
vcore: 1.325v, nb volt: stock (1.1v), cpu-nb-vid: stock (1.2v), vdimm: 1.7v

analyzing the dump file shows cpu cache error hmm.gif
Bump vcore to 1.375 and IMC to 1.3v larrr...not going to hur a bit pun tongue.gif

QUOTE(scar_face008 @ Mar 14 2010, 02:28 PM)
i'm having a weird problem with asus m4a785td-m evo and athlon ii x4 620.
i can run prime95 stable with 215*13 ~ 2.8G and ram 667Mhz speed. higher than 215, i have to turn down the ram to 400Mhz, otherwise it won''t boot. which one is better? 3.2G @ 400Mhz (500 after oc fsb) or 2.8G @ 667Mhz (715 after oc)?

p/s: bios is latest. mushkin 1333 ddr3 ram, 1 stick only.
Of course 667 thumbup.gif

antonio
post Mar 18 2010, 10:43 AM

4,032 posts

whistling.gif whistling.gif

Who wants the next Crosshair 4???

http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/hardw...sneak-peak.html
antonio
post Mar 30 2010, 11:06 PM

4,032 posts

I'll be back! - Arnold Susahnakeja in Terminator 2/3....

6-cores + 890FX!!!!

Just as soon I can let go of R2E+920...

tongue.gif
antonio
post Mar 31 2010, 11:12 PM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Mar 31 2010, 08:42 AM)
the x6 already here?
Mid april....now only got the new series...But will wait for 6-cores to arrive first...

QUOTE(verdict @ Mar 31 2010, 11:40 AM)
Woahh! cant wait to hear it from you soon! antonio bro! notworthy.gif
Me too...hope can get em...

Need to clear out R2E and 920 first...

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Mar 31 2010, 12:48 PM)
Woah.. org kaya2 ... sweat.gif me waiting new increment.. hope can get at least another rm200.. ade wang ada amoi component .. laugh.gif
Where got kaya lorrr....u ok edi got increment...me paycheck oso dun have...

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Mar 31 2010, 02:03 PM)
Me sudah 4 years no increment  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  sweat.gif
me 1 1/4 years aledi no salary sad.gif
antonio
post Apr 2 2010, 12:26 AM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Apr 1 2010, 10:25 PM)
Ooooooo naise, X6 for only RM7xx 
brows.gif now you know....hihihihih

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Apr 1 2010, 11:18 PM)
BE version gonna cost a bomb  sweat.gif 
Well its the price you pay, for the BE u choose... tongue.gif

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Apr 1 2010, 11:26 PM)
Dont take that 1.1k and dont suggest if not ppl sure suggest get Core i7 doh.gif

If me got $$ would take the 2.8Ghz or..maybe 960T and tries unlock it tongue.gif

Btw..when the official release date?
I'm not one of them tongue.gif

Me from i7 change to X6...lol...how??? thumbup.gif
antonio
post Apr 4 2010, 06:51 PM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(dafreak @ Apr 4 2010, 04:07 PM)
My latest attempt biggrin.gif from x3 ---> x4
rounding error after 9hrs doh.gif
not enough juice?? (vcore) whistling.gif
antonio
post Apr 13 2010, 08:53 AM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Apr 12 2010, 08:59 PM)
where to find one?
High end Bio probably have to source from Sing, why not ask bro ah_khoo to help ship from there brows.gif

QUOTE(makoshark @ Apr 13 2010, 12:15 AM)
hi i hv 1 question about my pc, when i oc to 3.4Ghz and then after 5 minute prime it, my cpu temp going so hot, it reach to 64c, i already use after market cpu cooler (CM TX3)..
can tell me why is this happen?is it CM TX3 not good enough to handle my cpu temp?
Probably but not necessarily....try to reseat your heatsink and ensure the fan speed management is calibrated properly or when running Prime or LinX, check the fan and see if it does run at 100%

QUOTE(verdict @ Apr 13 2010, 08:24 AM)
wooottt! thuban thuban thuban beruban wub.gif

Reaching 4 Ghz prime stable!!! icon_rolleyes.gif

[attachmentid=1525496]

[attachmentid=1525497]
Lol...1 jam jer...

Why second screenie the time is funny? from 00 00 straight away jump to 08 00?? shocking.gif

antonio
post Apr 16 2010, 08:40 PM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Apr 16 2010, 08:36 PM)
it works even on 7xx series board, so ppl shouldn't worry too much on needin to spend big $$$ for thuban. as long as manufacturers update newer version of agesa in bios, 7xx will have no problem runnin x6, ofcoz provided d pwm can tahan which i'm confident decent boards (at least w/ 4+1 pwm) like 790fxb or 790gxE 128m will do just fine.  nod.gif

i'm temporarily permanently on intel g33 + e2160 now... amd what???  rolleyes.gif  whistling.gif  tongue.gif
Go join the vrz R3E giveaway compy lar ah_khoo, you live at Sing so can join...we KL ppl kenot... laugh.gif

0.0348sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:44 AM