pioneer DV-220KV-K support, support 5.1 channel???

TSKelvin7212
post Mar 7 2010, 06:07 PM, updated 16y ago

64 posts

http://www.pioneermalaysia.com.my/product_details.php?id=83
tis is the official website...
anybody can tell me the audio spec???
did it support dolby 5.1 channel??
did it support dts 5.1 channel??
dts digital or 96/24??
dolby digital or prologicII??
Skylinestar
post Mar 7 2010, 06:36 PM

Mega Duck
10,478 posts

# DTS 96/24 Decoder: No
# DTS 5.1-Channel Decoder: No
# DTS 2-Channel Downmix Output: No
# Dolby Digital 5.1-Channel Decoder: No
# Digital Output (Dolby Digital, DTS (DVD), MPEG Audio, Linear PCM): Yes

this is the first time i see a NO for DVD player. the specs also didn't mention about analog L+R output terminal. if this is true, then the player cannot decode the audio internally. it only bitstream the digital audio out through SPDIF coaxial to an external AVR.
azbro
post Mar 7 2010, 06:44 PM

4,403 posts

In order to get any Surround from the player.

Use the Digital Coaxial output and fix it to the amp that has DD/DTS decoding features (and also a Dgital Coaxial socket)

HDMI output also carries Digital audio (but i'm not sure for your model). If your Amp has HDMI switching capabilities as well as supports audio from it, you should be able to get DD/DTS for there as well.

The best is you download the manual book to check it out.

For you info, the basic surround out there that has real surround is
Dolby Digital (AC3)
DTS
There are many variants around, but all of the time, the basic Dolby Digital and DTS will be used in a DVD

Dolby Prologic II is actually a processing method used in the amp to decode stereo sound to make it like a simulated surround.
Example, if you got a concert recorded in stereo, and you use a amp to play it back with Dolby Prologic2, all 5.1 speakers will have sound instead of 2 only.
matyeo
post Mar 7 2010, 07:06 PM

352 posts

QUOTE(Kelvin7212 @ Mar 7 2010, 06:07 PM)
http://www.pioneermalaysia.com.my/product_details.php?id=83
tis is the official website...
anybody can tell me the audio spec???
did it support dolby 5.1 channel??
did it support dts 5.1 channel??
dts digital or 96/24??
dolby digital or prologicII??
dolby digital 5.1...yes
dts 5.1...yes
96/24 -yes
prologicII...yes

for above basic spec this player support like other normal player
excpt
no WNM
no Mpeg 4

no s video
no optic only coaxial
no 192/24 bit DAC only 108/12bit DAC

hope it will help you... biggrin.gif
TSKelvin7212
post Mar 7 2010, 07:24 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Mar 7 2010, 06:36 PM)

this is the first time i see a NO for DVD player. the specs also didn't mention about analog L+R output terminal. if this is true, then the player cannot decode the audio internally. it only bitstream the digital audio out through SPDIF coaxial to an external AVR.
coaxial to my avr also no 5.1 channel...
dunno how....
set all setting also cant get 5.1 surround...
but same setting can play on ps3 to get surround...

Added on March 7, 2010, 7:29 pm
QUOTE(azbro @ Mar 7 2010, 06:44 PM)
In order to get any Surround from the player.

Use the Digital Coaxial output and fix it to the amp that has DD/DTS decoding features (and also a Dgital Coaxial socket)

HDMI output also carries Digital audio (but i'm not sure for your model). If your Amp has HDMI switching capabilities as well as supports audio from it, you should be able to get DD/DTS for there as well.

The best is you download the manual book to check it out.

For you info, the basic surround out there that has real surround is
Dolby Digital (AC3)
DTS
There are many variants around, but all of the time, the basic Dolby Digital and DTS will be used in a DVD

Dolby Prologic II is actually a processing method used in the amp to decode stereo sound to make it like a simulated surround.
Example, if you got a concert recorded in stereo, and you use a amp to play it back with Dolby Prologic2, all 5.1 speakers will have sound instead of 2 only.
see tis
http://www.pioneermalaysia.com.my/uploads/...ponents2009.pdf

Added on March 7, 2010, 7:30 pm
QUOTE(matyeo @ Mar 7 2010, 07:06 PM)
dolby digital 5.1...yes
dts 5.1...yes
96/24 -yes
prologicII...yes

for above basic spec this player support like other normal player
excpt
no  WNM
no Mpeg 4

no s video
no optic only coaxial
no  192/24 bit DAC only 108/12bit DAC
hope it will help you... biggrin.gif
i dun think wat u say is real...

This post has been edited by Kelvin7212: Mar 7 2010, 07:30 PM
matyeo
post Mar 7 2010, 08:04 PM

352 posts

[/quote]

If what i have told you not real that mean pioneer alsoi not real... i get it pioneer spec la bro... tongue.gif

what type AVR that u r using rite now...new type or very old type...
if your AVR no coxial or no optic input that mean you will never get digital signal DD/DTS from your DVD player..
unless your AVR is DTS ready and you need dvd player with 5ch output to enjoy DTS sound...

check your AVR...

Skylinestar
post Mar 7 2010, 08:06 PM

Mega Duck
10,478 posts

based on the picture, there's analog L+R audio out. it means that the player can internally decode DD and DTS.

if you wanna get 5.1 surround sound, make sure you go to settings page and enable the "digital out".
matyeo
post Mar 7 2010, 08:16 PM

352 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Mar 7 2010, 06:36 PM)

bro...where did you get this...

i read from pioneer brochure this player support everything like normal player....
TSKelvin7212
post Mar 7 2010, 08:21 PM

64 posts

[quote=matyeo,Mar 7 2010, 08:16 PM]bro...where did you get this...

i read from pioneer brochure this player support everything like normal player....

[/quote]
read tis

Added on March 7, 2010, 8:25 pm[quote=matyeo,Mar 7 2010, 08:04 PM]

[/quote]
If what i have told you not real that mean pioneer alsoi not real... i get it pioneer spec la bro... tongue.gif

if your AVR no coxial or no optic input that mean you will never get digital signal DD/DTS from your DVD player..
unless your AVR is DTS ready and you need dvd player with 5ch output to enjoy DTS sound...

check your AVR...

[/quote]

my avr is pioneer vsx-519v-k
i buy with bundle set tat is rs60...

This post has been edited by Kelvin7212: Mar 7 2010, 08:25 PM
matyeo
post Mar 7 2010, 08:41 PM

352 posts

[quote=Kelvin7212,Mar 7 2010, 08:21 PM]
read tis

Added on March 7, 2010, 8:25 pm

check your AVR...

[/quote]

[/quote]

doh.gif Bro...i'm realy2 sorry i read DV-220V-K not yours DV-220KV-K

yes bro skylinestar was right...sorry bro... blush.gif

Nothing wrong with your AVR and you got good AVR too...
but i also don't know why pioneer still produce DVD player like this .... hmm.gif
TSKelvin7212
post Mar 7 2010, 08:54 PM

64 posts

[quote=matyeo,Mar 7 2010, 08:41 PM]

[/quote]
doh.gif Bro...i'm realy2 sorry i read DV-220V-K not yours DV-220KV-K

yes bro skylinestar was right...sorry bro... blush.gif

Nothing wrong with your AVR and you got good AVR too...
but i also don't know why pioneer still produce DVD player like this .... hmm.gif

[/quote]

ya....
disappointed with pioneer....
pay rm369 for this crap rubbish...
azbro
post Mar 7 2010, 09:00 PM

4,403 posts

So Kelvin, did you select the Digital oledi or not?....Settle or not?

This post has been edited by azbro: Mar 7 2010, 09:01 PM
TSKelvin7212
post Mar 7 2010, 09:03 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Mar 7 2010, 09:00 PM)
So Kelvin, did you select the Digital oledi or not?....Settle or not?
told u already, all setting hav been try...
hdmi out - auto
digital out - on
other setting is automatic detect...
and tat brochure approved tat dv-220kv-k is not support 5.1 channel surround...
Skylinestar
post Mar 7 2010, 09:14 PM

Mega Duck
10,478 posts

did you properly connect it to your AVR? can your AVR display the type of input that it detects? if yes, what does it show? should show 3/2.1 or 5.1 or sth similar.
(i'm not a pioneer AVR user)
TSKelvin7212
post Mar 7 2010, 09:20 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Mar 7 2010, 09:14 PM)
did you properly connect it to your AVR? can your AVR display the type of input that it detects? if yes, what does it show? should show 3/2.1 or 5.1 or sth similar.
(i'm not a pioneer AVR user)
amp only show dts or dolby digital....
but dvd player show...
dolby digital 3/2.1
dts 3/2.1
VSX-AX2as
post Mar 7 2010, 10:16 PM

214 posts

You can check some parameter at Input Setup menu.Maybe there is some parameter setup you are wrongly configure.
TSKelvin7212
post Mar 7 2010, 10:36 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(VSX-AX2as @ Mar 7 2010, 10:16 PM)
You can check some parameter at Input Setup menu.Maybe there is some parameter setup you are wrongly configure.
impossible....
then y ps3 can play?
azbro
post Mar 7 2010, 11:32 PM

4,403 posts

i got it oledi, same thing happen to me, but I'm not using Pioneer Amp...

its not so easy switching between Optical and Coaxial on the amp, my amp I need to factory reset it for sound to come out.

What you do is read up the AVR manual book how how to select device between Coaxial and Optical (cause you are using Digital optical for the PS3). Check the settings on the DVD and Amp as well so that the sound only comes out from the coaxial instead of both HDMI and coaxial too.

Also, try to disconnect the PS3 from the optical and push the input button so the AVR can select Coaxials instead...if it works than check on how to change between digital port...I'm sure there is an Auto select function.

This post has been edited by azbro: Mar 7 2010, 11:34 PM
willkso
post Mar 7 2010, 11:48 PM

993 posts

All I can say is the spec for the player mention it don't have built in decoder for the DTS and DD.

With the coaxial output connected to VSX-519, definitely you won't have problem to get the 5.1 either DTS or DD and the player itself won't show you DD 3/2.1 or DTS 3/2.1.

VSX-519 can do the switching function for the HDMI and not decoding the audio channel from the HDMI.

Also my VSX-919(1 coaxial + 2 optical) can take the coaxial from Byond without the need to assign either coaxial or optical.
TSKelvin7212
post Mar 8 2010, 12:27 AM

64 posts

QUOTE(willkso @ Mar 7 2010, 11:48 PM)
All I can say is the spec for the player mention it don't have built in decoder for the DTS and DD.

With the coaxial output connected to VSX-519, definitely you won't have problem to get the 5.1 either DTS or DD and the player itself won't show you DD 3/2.1 or DTS 3/2.1.

VSX-519 can do the switching function for the HDMI and not decoding the audio channel from the HDMI.

Also my VSX-919(1 coaxial + 2 optical) can take the coaxial from Byond without the need to assign either coaxial or optical.
but the dvd not support 5.1 channel...
can the avr receive 5.1 dts signal??

0.0190sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:45 PM