Android marketshare growing, iPhone shrinking

LEVIATHAN
post May 21 2010, 09:26 AM

Master Chief Carl M. Brashear
2,281 posts

You sounded like a preacher.

And the other you, you give too much f***. How's that working out for you?

Damn man. Why so serious?

Android market is growing. Good. Now I can have this warm feeling fingering my phone.

Android market is shrinking and dropped dead suddenly, good. I can move to the next fun thing.
bahathir
post May 21 2010, 11:11 PM

1,200 posts

As most of the "VS" threads, there will always these kind of 'flame' and strong supporters.

I don't want to lean on to any sides, because, both iPhones and Androids are good mobile OS. PERIOD. If you like monotonous iPhones, then it is up to you. Personally I prefer more freedom, and that's why I chose Android, Nexus One. Remember freedom of choice.

Anyway, every OSes have their own strength and weakness. Before that, I'll like to share a bit about OS.

hw <-> firmware/kernel <-> OS <-> apps/sw <-> users

Here we can see in a working system, there will be several parts which closely linked to each other. Now, Android and WebOS or Chrome OS has similar, kernel, which is the Linux kernel. But, the we got diffrent interfaces/GUIs because of the OS and apps layers. Yes, it is possible to port WebOS to Android phones, if hp/palm release the OS codes smile.gif

Now. Linux has been in industries for many years, even in certain model of Sony Bravia LCD HDTV smile.gif. It can scaled from very small (IBM watch) to the fastest super computer, or even on US figther jets or space shutltle. Scaled mean, the kernel is very flexible, it can be made very small or very complex based on user's need. Yes, the Linux source code is 'bloated' with feautures in every releases. Most of the codes are for hardware drivers. As I said earlier, you can choose what you want to be in your kernel. This is the beauty of Free and Open Source Software (FOSS). You have several type of filesystems, I/O schedulings, QoS, .... and even it includes many CPU platforms codes too. I don't thinks MS or Apple able to provide kernel for more than 2 CPU types/platforms smile.gif Am I correct ? So, Now we can see that, the 'bloat'ness is to support plethora of platforms, which most of us even knew if they are exist. smile.gif

App's count:
Is it relavant to you?
If Apple have 200k apps, and android has 50 k apps, how many apps you can put in your device ? Are you intalling several similar apps? 10? 100? 1000? 10000? I am not the person who like to brag about how many pages of apps' icons. I only install which I frequently use, and I got what I want with Android. Anyway, I always use my N1 primarily as phones and checking my mails, remote access to my servers,... Game? mmm.. not much, I like simple games such as othello/reversi. I got several 3D games, and I only used it as a benchmark and testing for my own kernel development smile.gif Hey,... I can create my own kernel... which is you can only dream with other closed solutions.

Yes, everyone have their own reasons to choose the platform. Up to you la, because I cannot force you to choose and like Android. smile.gif If you think iPhone is superior, then, I cannot say bad words about iPhones. It is your choice.

Ok, Android is growing faster and faster, and there will be some walls or gaps which must be to overcome. I also did not say that Android is perfect, but, it still better than other mobile OSes, IMHO. But for sure, Android has many varieties of phones to choose from. Also the spec is getting better and better. I hope, my next Android smartphone will be using OLET (Organic Light Emitting Transistor) or the Mirasol technology, for more better battery life. Until then, I'll stick to my N1. Hopefully, I can install WebOS too.

BTW, you still can give your opinions about both platforms. If you think Android is bad, then others should not condemn. He might be right, because NOTHING IS PERFECT!!...

So, I hope this thread will be calm and cooled down and respect each others. If you have points to say, just say it. This is open discussion and we have to open minded.

Thank you.

This post has been edited by bahathir: May 21 2010, 11:32 PM
shahz
post May 22 2010, 02:37 AM

I have more stars than cleave
1,566 posts

That is why I said, I don't deserve to speak on Linux behalf smile.gif I used Windows in my early days, experienced Linux enough and use MacOSX for my current daily OS. Indeed, we are not fighting here. Its just a heated debate that everyone is enjoying being a fanboy. If it was a quarrel, I wouldn't have invited you to join and share your words smile.gif

Great explanation. Enjoyed reading it happy.gif
8kelvin
post May 22 2010, 08:36 AM

59 posts

iPhone 4.0 vs Android 2.2 – War is Over

http://www.taranfx.com/iphone-4-vs-android-2-2
bahathir
post May 22 2010, 02:18 PM

1,200 posts

Looking forward this June smile.gif and the end of this year: Q4.
myboo_1988
post May 22 2010, 04:59 PM

Love The Way U Lie
754 posts

lol...android community should no argue

com'mon isnt that matter who win each people got their own perspective ...

so lets no talk out of the topic.

all argument pls settle in PM
faridaizuddin
post May 23 2010, 05:04 PM

Androidian
1,017 posts

QUOTE(myboo_1988 @ May 22 2010, 04:59 PM)
lol...android community should no argue

com'mon isnt that matter who win each people got their own perspective ...

so lets no talk out of the topic.

all argument pls settle in PM
PM only huh??
Anyway, with Froyo will be released soon, the market will be stronger than ever.
I hope so... nod.gif nod.gif

mfitri77
post May 25 2010, 03:06 PM

1,167 posts

Politically correct question and answer from manufacturer to customer.

Q : Will I be able to upgrade to 2.2?

A : We are comitted to ensure that our user have the best experience possible. At this point however we regret to inform you that the hardware doesn't support the new os.

Real Answer : Buy the new phone lah. We no time upgrade your phone.

Hico
post May 25 2010, 03:13 PM

4,709 posts

QUOTE(mfitri77 @ May 25 2010, 03:06 PM)
Politically correct question and answer from manufacturer to customer.

Q : Will I be able to upgrade to 2.2?

A : We are comitted to ensure that our user have the best experience possible. At this point however we regret to inform you that the hardware doesn't support the new os.

Real Answer : Buy the new phone lah. We no time upgrade your phone.
whistling.gif if not everyone wait for update, then their new hp no one wan..makan sendiri oledi.. rclxub.gif
faridaizuddin
post May 25 2010, 10:01 PM

Androidian
1,017 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ May 25 2010, 03:13 PM)
whistling.gif  if not everyone wait for update, then their new hp no one wan..makan sendiri oledi..  rclxub.gif
Find custom ROM first..
Then, only BUY NEW PHONE!! laugh.gif laugh.gif
adibyusoff
post Aug 1 2010, 11:51 PM

work smart, play hard.
787 posts

lol! android is the best. no joke. icon_idea.gif
rooting it will make it UNBEATABLE. flex.gif
andrekua
post Aug 2 2010, 12:22 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(Crazyboyrs @ May 11 2010, 10:06 AM)
I hope so. That's what I heard 2 years ago. IPhone is so easy to be beaten if we compare with Androids

Manufacturer
IPhone - Only Apple
Android - HTC, Motorolla, Samsung.....and counting

Distributor
IPhone - Only selected Telco for a region - AT&T, Maxis, Digi....
Android - Any distributors or Telco

Feature-wise
IPhone - Limited and locked
Android - Getting packer and packer

Design
IPhone - Same design since it launched
Android - Getting nicer and nicer ( I love Droid/Milestone )

Hardware Specification
IPhone - Dated hardware since it launched.
Android - Latest tech available - HD, AMOLED, Google Navi, Goggle

Connectivity
IPhone - Very limited
Android - Highly interoperable

Storage
IPhone - Fixed since the first day
Android - Mem cards / Internal Storage
I like Android but I dare not say Iphone is not a well thought of Phone. Do not under-estimate Iphone despite some of its short-comings.

t3chn0m4nc3r
post Aug 2 2010, 01:11 AM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

I would say these:

*iOS is for those who care less about tweaking and other mind grinding technical stuff. Basically iOS user just wanna "plug n play" and also to show off around as he/she is following the hype.

*Android OS is for those who really know what a Smartphone is all about and will go all out utilizing and optimizing total usage of their phone.

The above theory is proven by:

*Most apple apps are either pointless/fun/game apps(Apple Store)
*Attitude of iOS users
*limitations and T&S of iOS app development

In short:

iOS: for showing off...
Android: real gadget geeks...

*Note: Do take note I mentioned iOS instead of iPhone. Reason is, some people are smart enough to realize iOS's great drawback and decided to run iDroid on their iPhone. I am not particularly preaching any OS but just laying out some facts. iOS users can stay and use iOS while Android users can continue as well. But personally, I like the way Google is handling things compared to Steve Jobs. hmm.gif
I personally see Steve Jobs as the Hitler of Information Technology.
munky
post Aug 2 2010, 01:35 AM

1,971 posts

u forget bout jailbreak ? Jailbreaking my iphone is like having a new phone. Multitasking on my iphone 3g is not a problem

Btw, i tried 4 android phones b4. The HTC hero, moto milestone, sony ericsson x10, and samsung galaxy S. The only phone that amazed me was the galaxy S. Never had a chance to try the nexus one though.

Never tried rooted android yet

This post has been edited by munky: Aug 2 2010, 02:07 AM
tracktion3
post Aug 2 2010, 03:53 PM

532 posts

I could see those brand adopting Android are getting profit..... very good. Which also tell me, they dont eat each other market share. But they eating market share from somewhere else perhaps?

Google Android phone sales triple in UK
Sales of Google Android handsets have grown by 350 per cent in the last three months, according to industry analysts

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/technology/goog...iple-in-UK.html

Motorola latest to reap the benefits of Android
Strong sales help to bolster quarterly profits
http://www.v3.co.uk/v3/news/2267335/motoro...t-reap-benefits

Sony Ericsson profits rise on Android sales
http://www.crn.com.au/News/220259,sony-eri...roid-sales.aspx

Android Helps HTC Sales Jump 63% in Second Quarter
http://jkontherun.com/2010/07/06/htc-posts...crease-in-june/

Samsung Mobile Handset Sales Up 22 Percent this quarter – sells 63.8million handsets
http://www.techknots.com/mobiles/samsung-s...illion-hansets/

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.0242sec    0.36    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 02:57 AM