Streamyx Streamyx "BLOCKBUSTER DEALS", Update 25/3/10: 2Mb RM130, 4Mb RM140

AjkR06
post Feb 11 2011, 11:57 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(kaiser_reinhard @ Feb 11 2011, 11:51 AM)
Hi guys, Currently I'm having a 512Kbps Line (RM66 per month) and wanted to upgrade to 4Mbps (BBDeals RM140).
But when I went to TMpoint, it says that currently they don't have the port for both 4Mbps and 2Mbps. And she also said that it will charge me RM88 for the technician installation fees.

So is it true that we have to wait for a new port available whenever we doing a upgrade?
Yes.. it depends on the area..
But RM88 installation fees is not charged for BB Deal...
I think she has mislead the information to you.... notworthy.gif
AjkR06
post Feb 11 2011, 12:58 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(kaiser_reinhard @ Feb 11 2011, 12:21 PM)
hmmmmm..........

But I thought they can use my existing port to upgrade the line to a 4Mbps?

I did ask about the RM88 Installation fees as I already have a TM modem in my house (The lousy Rigel Router) and she told me that since they giving another free modem, so the technician need to come my house install the modem and blah blah blah......

But strangely, jus now I called 100 and they also said no need to pay for the installation charges. So I'm really confused with these contradicting information  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
Mind to post your current line statistics?
Eg : Your downstream and upstream rate, SNR Margin and Line Attenuation

And regarding the installation fees, when you upgrade to BB Deal, there's no charges for installation. It's FOC fyi.... nod.gif
I just upgraded my line last week, and technician just came to my house on last Wednesday, suprisingly, he said that installation is FOC...
I paid nothing to him.... He just come to my house, check my line statistics, do some speedtest which I believe from his "uncapped" account, and it's confirm my line are able to support 4Mbps, he call TM directly to upgrade my speed at BRAS from 2Mbps to 4Mbps... Within 48 hours (or less I think), I'm enjoying 4Mbps biggrin.gif (You can see my speedtest results at my signature below... eventhough it's not full 4Mbps, but I'm really satisfied with that speed...)

I think that TMpoint girl are confuse between normal 4Mbps and BBDeal one.... doh.gif

Wanna add some more, every TMPOINT have different kind of system... haish... sweat.gif Like my case, I'm using Streamyx Cool Unipack which is already terminated on October last year. Certain TMPOINT said that those who are using that packages CANNOT upgrade at all their speed... but Certain TMPOINT said CAN upgrade...

This post has been edited by AjkR06: Feb 11 2011, 01:04 PM
AjkR06
post Feb 11 2011, 01:07 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(terrance511 @ Feb 11 2011, 01:02 PM)
so upgrade from 2m to 4m no need change port ?
Definitely need to change your port at DSLAM...
If your current downstream value (let's say), is 1096Kbps (1Mbps), when u upgrade to 2 or 4Mbps, they need to change your port from 1047Kbps to 2096 or 4096Kbps in order for u to enjoy the 2 or 4Mbps speed.... Certain DSLAM (especially older one) doesn't have 2096 or 4096 Kbps port.... That's why it's subject to availability...
AjkR06
post Feb 15 2011, 10:12 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(dannychen @ Feb 15 2011, 09:02 PM)
the 384kbps package should be streamyx combo and the 512kbps should be under blockbuster deals package.

register here
According to TMPOINT at my area when I go there to upgrade my Streamyx speed...,
he said that certain or probably all TM subscribers who resides at Perak, Selangor, KL, Pahang and Melaka cannot use MIPS anymore for sign up, upgrading, check the order status etc since TM already migrated to the new customer service system called iCARE Prime. It applies to me when I upgrading my Streamyx speed, I cannot check my status at MIPS while actually my upgrade has been done successfully at new platform. Don't get shocked when u wanna upgrade your streamyx via MIPS, suddenly you get this message :

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

It was not due to mips problem, but your account has been migrated to icare prime...
It seems that we cannot register online anymore, need to go to TMPOINT now.... doh.gif
or going through agent....

AjkR06
post Mar 19 2011, 11:04 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(prozai @ Mar 19 2011, 10:21 AM)
Hello lowyat forumers
Im now using 512k package that is RM66 per month+RM26 fixed line
If i subscribe RM110 BBD
will i still charge for fixed line tat is RM26?
pls tell me and thx smile.gif
No.. RM110 is including phone rental...
So basically, u only pay RM110 per month if u not make any call to mobile numbers and fixed line which not falls under TM like maxis etc...
AjkR06
post Jul 1 2011, 10:27 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(tai_digidestany @ Jul 1 2011, 09:38 AM)
Guys, as the kontraktor to pasang the phone line will come either today or monday, i need to ask this.

1. The phone line i want to pasang tengah rumah. Can the kontraktor actually do the drilling so that the wire can pass through the house?

2. Got other charge or not or just pay RM50?
Is that your house already got phone socket? If that so, you just need to pay RM50 to them. Same case goes to me when I activate my phone line for my new house, the house developer already installed the phone socket at my living room (just under my home entertainment plug point). When the contractor come to my house, they straightly climb into the telephone pole located just behind my house, connect the drop copper wire to the distribution point at the pole and terminate it at the grey wire which is already concealed on my walls (he need to enter my roof and ceiling in order to connect it).

If your black drop cable is more than 5 meter (if i'm not mistaken), they will charge more to you...

This post has been edited by AjkR06: Jul 1 2011, 10:28 AM
AjkR06
post Jul 1 2011, 11:31 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(tai_digidestany @ Jul 1 2011, 11:12 AM)
Yes, my house did have a phone socket once but terminated since all people in the house have handphone.
But now need to install a new fix line so that they can installed streamyx later on.
I think the charges will be only RM30 since the drop wire already connected to your home. They just need to activate back your port at the exchange and configure your new phone at home...
AjkR06
post Jul 1 2011, 06:10 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(tai_digidestany @ Jul 1 2011, 05:15 PM)

Is there's any link provided for me to check the appointed date and time?
http://sams.tm.net.my/marketingcenter/search.asp

Just enter your phone number/order number/streamyx user name.

AjkR06
post Jul 1 2011, 08:06 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(tai_digidestany @ Jul 1 2011, 06:35 PM)
According to the link, they will pasang my Streamyx on the 5th July 2011!
Looking forward to it.
How about your jumper? Is that the F or tick icon is Green or red?
F if you are using Fiber line, while tick symbol if your line is connected directly to the exchange..
AjkR06
post Jul 2 2011, 10:43 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(tai_digidestany @ Jul 1 2011, 08:43 PM)

J is still red colour. I see an "S" too.
What does it mean?

J - means Jumper. Depending on your line, whether it is terminated at the street fiber cabinet or directly to the main exchange. For fiber cabinet, it will be marked as F while direct to the exchange is a tick sign. For red colour symbol, probably the jumper are still not done yet, or much more complicated cases, there's no free port available for u at the DSLAM/ DSLAM problem/ Port is "damaged" etc... sweat.gif Just hope that everything is fine... hahaha... But i think, since you just installed the phone line yesterday, their contractor still not jumper the port. Contractor name also not available. Try to check back the status using that system this Monday. If the contractor name is available (plus if the contractor name and contact number are available, usually that red F symbol will turn to green colour 'F'), you can straightly call them regarding your streamyx installation.

S - means Speed. If the contractor configure your port at it's existing (default) settings, there will be 'X' red colour symbol. Which means, there's no change in the port default speed. Example, usually for the newer IPDSLAM, the default speed configured is 2048/512 (download/upload). But if you upgraded your packages, let's say to 4Mbps, their appointed contractor will change your port speed, ranging from 4096/512 or if you can "pujuk that technician, they will cap it to 5024/512... In this case, that red 'X' symbol will change to tick green symbol which means, there are change to the port speed...

AjkR06
post Jul 2 2011, 03:49 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(availyboy @ Jul 2 2011, 12:57 PM)
AjkR06 : Bro i know about the pujuk thingy,but how can we actually pujuk them arh? LOL,all i know is if they work or do some work here i can only give them 100plus or smtg...idk about others but i really wanted 5120 speed..haha
hahaha... Sorry bro... I have no idea at all on how to "pujuk" them to cap your line to 5Mbps... notworthy.gif tongue.gif

On my case, there's no "pujuk-pujuk" one... they straightly cap my line to 5120Kbps downstream... But I still didn't managed to get more than 4Mbps.. the best speed that I can get is 3.8Mbps...
AjkR06
post Jul 2 2011, 05:27 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(availyboy @ Jul 2 2011, 05:05 PM)
AjkR06 : Idk how,but that guy suddenly so good and gave me 5120 lol!
yawn.gif...They set my port speed liao,i think the next is my account speed
No use if they cap your port for example to 8Mbps while your account is just capped to 4Mbps...
tongue.gif
AjkR06
post Jul 3 2011, 12:54 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(tai_digidestany @ Jul 3 2011, 02:37 AM)
Then, this Tuesday I'll try to pujuk my installer using my interpersonal skill.
Mana tau boleh dapat tinggi maaa

Added on July 3, 2011, 9:19 amuser posted image

Yay! The "F" turns green!
Fiber baby!
I think you're misunderstood with the Fiber Line..
Actually, Fiber is only from the main exchange (ibu sawat) to the nearest cabinet around your resident areas.
Starting from the cabinet, it's all copper... That technology is called as Fiber to the Curb/Cabinet.
The reality is, there's nothing impressive about that Fiber line, TM just done that to remove the distance limitations of DSL and also to minimize the usage of copper cable in communication which all of us know, the target things for those cable stealer... sweat.gif

Anyway, congratulations! They already setup your jumper tongue.gif Just waiting for the technician to come to your house...

This post has been edited by AjkR06: Jul 3 2011, 12:56 PM
AjkR06
post Jul 4 2011, 10:44 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(tai_digidestany @ Jul 4 2011, 10:10 AM)
i did just now. he'll turn up around 11 a.m later on.
one question, if he pasang:-

1. can use straight away ka the internet?
2. can we ask him to put a name to our wifi and password?
1. Yea.. you can use the internet straightly after the technician setup your connection and activate your account.

2. Definitely they will do that. But they will use default settings which is default password something like 'abcd123456789', default SSID, usually ur username@streamyx or streamyx mobility and default security setting which is WEP that is really hackable. It is recomended for u to change the SSID, your wifi security setting from WEP to WPA and your wifi password and ALSO YOUR STREAMYX PASSWORD straightly after the technician leaving your house...

3. To change your Streamyx password, you can do it here : https://tmbill.tm.net.my

This post has been edited by AjkR06: Jul 4 2011, 10:49 AM
AjkR06
post Jul 4 2011, 11:31 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(tai_digidestany @ Jul 4 2011, 11:22 AM)
They just installed it!!!!!  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

Here's the screenshot of the speed

Quite good also.

Question:

1. If I don't use my wifi, can i just switch off the modem and unplug it? Anything bad will happen if i do that?
Nothing bad will happen... Just switch off when you don't want to use the internet. In fact, you will be saving some electricity by doing that tongue.gif

AjkR06
post Jul 4 2011, 12:02 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(tai_digidestany @ Jul 4 2011, 11:36 AM)
Oh, so i just switch it on when i want to use it, is it?
Yes... smile.gif
Because everything is already setup on your router..
BTW, have you change your wifi password, ssid names, and most important is, your Streamyx ppope password?
AjkR06
post Jul 4 2011, 12:42 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(tai_digidestany @ Jul 4 2011, 12:28 PM)
Wifi Password: Done
SSID Name: Done
Streamyx ppope password: Dunno. Is it the login id name when you access your router?
You can look for your default password at the sticker on the D-Link router...
AjkR06
post Jul 4 2011, 05:58 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(tai_digidestany @ Jul 4 2011, 02:28 PM)
I know the default one is 'tmadmin'.
but then on how to change it.
later on takut ada orang change it maa...
'tmadmin' is your ROUTER password.
Not your account password.

Usually, your account password is written just beside your Streamyx ID or username.

This post has been edited by AjkR06: Jul 4 2011, 06:03 PM
AjkR06
post Aug 6 2011, 06:33 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(nickcct @ Aug 6 2011, 04:43 PM)
Want to ask. The streamyx Gradpack rm100 for 1mbps is it inclusive of homeline rental? and I dont have home fixed line then i have to apply?
Yes... RM100 is inclusive of phone rental. If no fixed line, then you need to apply it in order for use Streamyx...
AjkR06
post Sep 19 2011, 11:42 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(kueks @ Sep 19 2011, 11:32 AM)
hmmm received a call from tm just now

said current package rm68 internet + phone rental rm 26

if upgrade to 1mb... will be rm 110 with phone and internet together

is it 110 inclusive of phone rental ?
Yea... inclusive of phone rental as well... so basically you only pay rm110 + 6% gst charge for the phone services...

0.0221sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:16 AM