123 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

DiGi iPhone Discussion Thread | V1, Official iDiGi Price Plan is out!

z3171600
post Mar 2 2010, 08:52 AM

534 posts

Hmm.. This is weird. For current digi '3G' customer, are you guys using 3G Turbo or actually 3G broadband? Because IINM, 3G Turbo is promised a speed of only up to 384kbps while broadband is higher, at 700kbps. Please clarify here, because these two is definitely different.

Alright. I just went to Digi website. And they actually offer Likely Average Speed of 700kbps down and 200kbps up. For Internet Unlimited 58, the quota is 3GB, however unlimited here refer to you still can use the internet after exceeding quota but at throttled speed of 128kbps.

This post has been edited by z3171600: Mar 2 2010, 09:00 AM
jimmylim85
post Mar 2 2010, 09:15 AM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

I doubt digi can offer lower price for the phone alone. They will lower their rate and cheaper package. Then again you'll be tied into a contract just like what maxis did. For those aiming lower price iPhone can forget about it cause pricing of iPhone is controlled by Apple.
skitZo`
post Mar 2 2010, 09:24 AM

748 posts

QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Mar 2 2010, 08:27 AM)
Compared to that speedtest.net

This is what i obtain from my current Maxis 3G and my location just iPoh, Perak.

[attachmentid=1463709]

I wonder how DiGi can improve it. smile.gif
That is nice speeds in ipoh, Perak. But can you get that speeds always in the Klang Valley area? Is that speed reliable?
westthen
post Mar 2 2010, 09:37 AM

1,660 posts

well we'll nvr know wat digi going to do...as always they like to suprise us...
jphlau
post Mar 2 2010, 09:49 AM

1,202 posts

QUOTE(z3171600 @ Mar 2 2010, 08:52 AM)
Hmm.. This is weird. For current digi '3G' customer, are you guys using 3G Turbo or actually 3G broadband? Because IINM, 3G Turbo is promised a speed of only up to 384kbps while broadband is higher, at 700kbps. Please clarify here, because these two is definitely different.

Alright. I just went to Digi website. And they actually offer Likely Average Speed of 700kbps down and 200kbps up. For Internet Unlimited 58, the quota is 3GB, however unlimited here refer to you still can use the internet after exceeding quota but at throttled speed of 128kbps.
I believe 3g turbo and broadband is the same using 3g signal. Just in broadband area, the 3g speed is greater.

Btw signing up unlimited 58 for the first year will have discount of rm10. so only rm48 per month for 'unlimited' data.
j2kewellunited
post Mar 2 2010, 09:51 AM

but i got frens using Digi postpaid, the line really sucks compared to maxis, but maybe their 3G is good after seeing so many feedback in this thread....

maybe there is a way to use the maxis line but Digi data? ahaha this would rocks pals....
jimmylim85
post Mar 2 2010, 09:53 AM

iPhone world....
7,823 posts

QUOTE(skitZo` @ Mar 2 2010, 09:24 AM)
That is nice speeds in ipoh, Perak. But can you get that speeds always in the Klang Valley area? Is that speed reliable?
I'm not from Klang Valley, so i can't comment on that area.

Besides that speed i'm getting actually inside my house. wink.gif

Speed can consider reliable as i had tested weekly.
finecut
post Mar 2 2010, 11:54 AM

497 posts

just that digi 3g coverage is still not on par with maxis, if they fix this and give out better plan rates which i have no doubt on that since maxis already given out their plan for them to compare with...
see whats happen with iphone 4g, might go with digi... gonna abandon my maxis 3gs biggrin.gif WOOHOO
TStcmean
post Mar 2 2010, 01:33 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Mar 2 2010, 08:27 AM)
Compared to that speedtest.net

This is what i obtain from my current Maxis 3G and my location just iPoh, Perak.

[attachmentid=1463709]

I wonder how DiGi can improve it. smile.gif
Nice speed there. But, how consistent is this speed? DiGi 3G speed is consistent at 1Mbps.
blademike
post Mar 2 2010, 02:45 PM

geez... I just got my iphone last week from maxis. Is it likely that they are going to re-structure their ivalue monthly fees for subscribers who just signed up like me? Coz if not, and if digi's offer is better, I'm really unlucky then sad.gif
jphlau
post Mar 2 2010, 03:00 PM

1,202 posts

QUOTE(blademike @ Mar 2 2010, 02:45 PM)
geez... I just got my iphone last week from maxis. Is it likely that they are going to re-structure their ivalue monthly fees for subscribers who just signed up like me? Coz if not, and if digi's offer is better, I'm really unlucky then sad.gif
maxis might adjust in response to competition but I do not think you can change your plan since you have signed for 24 months.
abubin
post Mar 2 2010, 03:00 PM

10,429 posts

hehe...good competition for the end-users. Apples doesn't usually allow second operator to sell iphone, I wonder what happened that caused them to approve second iphone operator in Malaysia.
deepan84
post Mar 2 2010, 03:13 PM

White Rider
2,199 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Mar 2 2010, 03:00 PM)
hehe...good competition for the end-users. Apples doesn't usually allow second operator to sell iphone, I wonder what happened that caused them to approve second iphone operator in Malaysia.
not really true, bro. Australia, singapore, france and canada among the countries which have multiple sellers. it all boils down to the money on offer wink.gif
monked
post Mar 2 2010, 03:14 PM

1,079 posts

let me guess...
someone complain that the waiting period is too long for repair?
tabs
post Mar 2 2010, 03:57 PM

Gadget Siao @@
2,587 posts

haha.. probably bcos apple get complain from malaysia that maxis waiting period for repair and waiting list too long lo.. that y allow other telco to selling as well?
blademike
post Mar 2 2010, 03:58 PM

QUOTE(blademike @ Mar 2 2010, 02:45 PM)
I hope that Maxis will include the newly signed up customers for the new ivalue rate, if they plan to update them. I emailed both Celcom and Digi early January and both denied having future plan to offer the iphone. But now in Feb, Digi came out with this sad.gif. jphlau, yeah I was lucky that I didn't opt for the 24 months contract. But it's frustrating, waiting all this while for other telcos to offer the iphone and when I actually signed up with Maxis, Digi pop this news. doh.gif. BTW, Maxis KK still got plenty of units, mine having the old boot rom.
denzel88
post Mar 2 2010, 05:32 PM

Let's Bring it On!
1,432 posts

QUOTE(blademike @ Mar 2 2010, 03:58 PM)
I hope that Maxis will include the newly signed up customers for the new ivalue rate, if they plan to update them. I emailed both Celcom and Digi early January and both denied having future plan to offer the iphone. But now in Feb, Digi came out with this sad.gif. jphlau, yeah I was lucky that I didn't opt for the 24 months contract. But it's frustrating, waiting all this while for other telcos to offer the iphone and when I actually signed up with Maxis, Digi pop this news.  doh.gif. BTW, Maxis KK still got plenty of units, mine having the old boot rom.
If you want some inside information, you cant just email them. If your email, ...only those low level employees will reply you. Well...low level employees are mostly not updated with the newest information by the high levels.
gurus
post Mar 2 2010, 10:18 PM

1.get up! 2.survive! 3.go back to bed!
1,242 posts

i am also using the digi unlimited plan....what i see is i can get good receiption around town like kl, pj, subang jaya, sunway and so on but when i was in batu pahat during chinese new year...it dont seem to detect the 3g at all...only edge is available and the speed is amazingly sucks though ..
david888
post Mar 2 2010, 11:20 PM

1,069 posts

good news! hope Digi launches their package with iPhone 4G!!
andrekua
post Mar 2 2010, 11:38 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Lets hope Digi will allow customer to buy them at discounted rate using points. I have a few thousands points unused...

123 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0287sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:40 PM