> How to compute Built-Up area

TStoffeeman
post Mar 1 2010, 05:54 PM, updated 15y ago

230 posts

I always get confused with Built-Up area. Everyone seems to give me a different answer. So I need feedback what is the 'norm' formula to compute built-up area.

So far, I have received the following answers:

(A) Only the internal area
(B) Internal area + covered area like porch
© All areas that have been 'built' ie Internal area + Covered area like porch + area that is not covered like open porch area, balcony etc

So which is the right one? Appreciate feedback

This post has been edited by toffeeman: Mar 1 2010, 05:55 PM
rupart
post Mar 1 2010, 05:59 PM

421 posts

everything under your boarder or gate/fence...that is built up area...
abundai
post Mar 1 2010, 10:24 PM

986 posts

i would say the floor size....
alanyuppie
post Mar 2 2010, 09:32 AM

2,791 posts

QUOTE(rupart @ Mar 1 2010, 06:59 PM)
everything under your boarder or gate/fence...that is built up area...
That's the land area.

For eg in a double storey house with dimension 20x70feet, the land area is 20x70=1400sqrfeet

the built up area for the house might be more than that since it consist of 2 floors.

QUOTE(abundai @ Mar 1 2010, 11:24 PM)
i would say the floor size....
Yep second that.

back to the eg above, let's say from the 20x70 land area, 25 feet length are allocated for porch. this leaves 20x45=900sqr feet per floor. The built-up area of this double storey house might reach 900x2 = 1800sqrfeet (or more if there are extended balconies).

Sometimes developer added the roof over the porch, to "increase" the value of the total built up area too. Lets say from the 25 feet porch length, about 15 feet are roofed. THis means the final built up area for my example above is = 1800+ (15x20) = 2100sqrfeet

This post has been edited by alanyuppie: Mar 2 2010, 09:34 AM
antzan
post Mar 2 2010, 10:26 PM

185 posts

if not mistaken there is 2 type calculation...

a) Living In - which area under roofing n walls
b) Built Up - area include patio n poarch n walkway..

Just my 1 cent lor...

Added on March 2, 2010, 10:27 pmso if living in for 2 storey then double calculate for upstairs n down stairs...

This post has been edited by antzan: Mar 2 2010, 10:27 PM
PJusa
post Mar 2 2010, 10:49 PM

1,969 posts

antzan,

those are the calculations i came across also. in 99.9% of all the houses we looked at the stated built up was calculated as per your b)

but living area should be all rooms (not the walls) which are habitable (means excluding store room and staircase but including toilets) and have a ceiling height of at least 1,5 - 1,75 m in case of tilted ceilings. at least that is the number i'd care about.
toughgshock
post Jan 11 2013, 06:01 PM

196 posts

I have a balcony without roof, not calculated as built up?
Chris Chew
post Jan 11 2013, 06:04 PM

10,387 posts

QUOTE(toughgshock @ Jan 11 2013, 06:01 PM)
I have a balcony without roof, not calculated as built up?
Balcony should be regarded as within the parcel of strata and should calculated into the built up area.

idoblu
post Jan 11 2013, 06:40 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

If for condo, I think the car park area not included in the build-up calculation right?
jj2themax
post Jan 11 2013, 07:19 PM

135 posts

The car porch counted under built-up?
AVFAN
post Jan 11 2013, 08:45 PM

24,037 posts

QUOTE(toffeeman @ Mar 1 2010, 05:54 PM)
I always get confused with Built-Up area. Everyone seems to give me a different answer. So I need feedback what is the 'norm' formula to compute built-up area.

So far, I have received the following answers:

(A) Only the internal area
© All areas that have been 'built' ie Internal area + Covered area like porch + area that is not covered like open porch area, balcony etc

So which is the right one? Appreciate feedback
it used to be different from developer to developer. today, just about all of them use b.
as rule, just incl any area that the rain will not fall on, 2 or 3 storeys.
twins9
post Jan 12 2013, 08:27 AM

1,371 posts

Then what about the tiled porched areas that do not have roofs?

twins9
post Jan 12 2013, 08:30 AM

1,371 posts

Is there a way to request the developer to give us a plan/layout that shows how they calculate total built up? If they can quote 2000 sq ft as built up, then they should have some sort of base for computation.

Condos are easier and more straight forward.

SUSUFO-ET
post Jan 12 2013, 08:56 AM

6,747 posts

QUOTE(antzan @ Mar 2 2010, 10:26 PM)
if not mistaken there is 2 type calculation...

a) Living In - which area under roofing n walls
b) Built Up - area include patio n poarch n walkway..

Just my 1 cent lor...

Added on March 2, 2010, 10:27 pmso if living in for 2 storey then double calculate for upstairs n down stairs...
Quite true

a) Living In - which area under roofing n walls - Build up (nett) (commonly used in Penang)
b) Built Up - area include patio n poarch n walkway.. - Build up (gross) (commonly used in KV by developer)

This post has been edited by UFO-ET: Jan 12 2013, 08:58 AM
ahken100
post Jan 13 2013, 10:16 AM

491 posts

[quote=alanyuppie,Mar 2 2010, 09:32 AM]
That's the land area.

For eg in a double storey house with dimension 20x70feet, the land area is 20x70=1400sqrfeet

the built up area for the house might be more than that since it consist of 2 floors.
Yep second that.

back to the eg above, let's say from the 20x70 land area, 25 feet length are allocated for porch. this leaves 20x45=900sqr feet per floor. The built-up area of this double storey house might reach 900x2 = 1800sqrfeet (or more if there are extended balconies).

---------'-----------

Yes, landed property will count the built-up size for internal. Excluding carporch. All internal size + balcony (upstair).

Usually carporch consider your land size, which is not include to your built-up size. Event you are extended roof to a carporch it just count as slightly increase your valuable cost, not a built-up.

ecin
post Jan 13 2013, 10:34 PM

5,857 posts

QUOTE(ahken100 @ Jan 13 2013, 10:16 AM)
Yes, landed property will count the built-up  size for internal. Excluding carporch. All internal size + balcony (upstair).

Usually carporch consider your land size, which is not include to your built-up size. Event you are extended roof to a carporch it just count as slightly increase your valuable cost, not a built-up.
+1
peri peri
post Jan 14 2013, 09:10 AM

10k nonsense talkative club
11,940 posts

my gosh! excluded? no need construction cost kah?

All car porch, lanai, terrace, balcony and staircase divide the gross floor area by half as built up area.

construction methodology for car porch

u need piling and pile caps or pad footing,
u need ground beam and rc slabs
u need RC column and suspended beams
u need timber roof truss and roof tiling with gutter and RWDP
or u need a RC flat roof with gutter and water proofing
then u need cement screed with floor finishes (either homogenous tiling or stamp concrete)
then u need to built parapet wall at car porch as party wall
then finally u need wall plastering + painting works

All these works for car porch only slightly affected ur building cost?

misleading statement.
ecin
post Jan 14 2013, 10:14 AM

5,857 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Jan 14 2013, 09:10 AM)
my gosh! excluded? no need construction cost kah?

All car porch, lanai, terrace, balcony and staircase divide the gross floor area by half as built up area.

construction methodology for car porch

u need piling and pile caps or pad footing,
u need ground beam and rc slabs
u need RC column and suspended beams
u need timber roof truss and roof tiling with gutter and RWDP
or u need a RC flat roof with gutter and water proofing
then u need cement screed with floor finishes (either homogenous tiling or stamp concrete)
then u need to built parapet wall at car porch as party wall
then finally u need wall plastering + painting works

All these works for car porch only slightly affected ur building cost?

misleading statement.
what do you mean, bro?

If you're taking ahken100's statement, I believe he/she was saying "valuation"
peri peri
post Jan 14 2013, 10:31 AM

11,940 posts

QUOTE(ecin @ Jan 14 2013, 10:14 AM)
what do you mean, bro?

If you're taking ahken100's statement, I believe he/she was saying "valuation"
Bro, rule of thumb for calculation regardless of built up for costing or for selling or for snp or for valuation or for wat so ever

when come to built up, anything under the roof must be included.

If the perimeter apron also got eaves roofs above, thats also need to be included.

This post has been edited by peri peri: Jan 14 2013, 10:37 AM
ecin
post Jan 14 2013, 11:25 AM

5,857 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Jan 14 2013, 10:31 AM)
Bro, rule of thumb for calculation regardless of built up for costing or for selling or for snp or for valuation or for wat so ever

If the perimeter apron also got eaves roofs above, thats also need to be included.
I'm sorry bro, what exactly did you mean then?

This post has been edited by ecin: Jan 14 2013, 11:54 AM
peri peri
post Jan 14 2013, 11:59 AM

11,940 posts

QUOTE(ecin @ Jan 14 2013, 11:25 AM)
I'm sorry bro, what exactly did you mean then?
building terminology and standard method of measurement (SMM)
ecin
post Jan 14 2013, 12:05 PM

5,857 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Jan 14 2013, 11:59 AM)
building terminology and standard method of measurement (SMM)
smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif
ahken100
post Jan 14 2013, 04:18 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Jan 14 2013, 10:31 AM)

----------------------

So.... if condo built-up include my 2 free cover parking lot?
ahken100
post Jan 14 2013, 04:24 PM

491 posts

I just sold mine semi-d last year where I come open the gate & let her(valuable agent) to measured all built-up. It is not including my carporch that cover upstair its balcony.

There use laser infra-red to measure all internal + balcony. Thats only I knew. Built-up must compounded with wall inside, no open air except balcony.
ecin
post Jan 14 2013, 04:38 PM

5,857 posts

QUOTE(ahken100 @ Jan 14 2013, 04:24 PM)
I just sold mine semi-d last year where I come open the gate & let her(valuable agent) to measured all built-up. It is not including my carporch that cover upstair its balcony.

There use laser infra-red to measure all internal + balcony. Thats only I knew. Built-up must compounded with wall inside, no open air except balcony.
thumbup.gif Yes! ; I tired to comment further, let them be
SUSUFO-ET
post Jan 14 2013, 04:40 PM

6,747 posts

QUOTE(ahken100 @ Jan 14 2013, 04:18 PM)
----------------------

So.... if condo built-up include my 2 free cover parking lot?
shocking.gif ! Excluded lah, Perix2 talking bout landed
ecin
post Jan 14 2013, 04:42 PM

5,857 posts

QUOTE(UFO-ET @ Jan 14 2013, 04:40 PM)
shocking.gif ! Excluded lah, Perix2 talking bout landed
bro, no offense, I understood that as sarcastic question (he knew the answer)
runner999
post Jul 4 2013, 11:56 AM

75 posts

does the built up area include the "hollow area" (no floor) on the top floor where there is the staircase section?
matthewctj
post Jul 4 2013, 12:38 PM

1,304 posts

In some cases, Architects takes outdoor usable areas like balcony or side terrace built up divided by 2.
jagjag
post Jul 12 2013, 02:09 PM

511 posts

Built up area should be only area of floor with wall + ½ of floor with no wall ( ie porch, yard, balcony ). Staircase is only take account on the grd flr but not the 1st flr....But i know lot of ppl ( even professionals ) have diff idea in this ....Anyway this is my 2 cents..
NF2M
post Sep 30 2022, 05:10 PM

254 posts

QUOTE(ahken100 @ Jan 14 2013, 04:24 PM)

Just as i thought. Thanks for the confirmation.

0.0172sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 01:41 PM