13 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

The University of Nottingham - Malaysia Campus v3,, Best University in Malaysia so Far

eXPeri3nc3
post Jun 28 2010, 08:08 PM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

Best facilities around in Malaysia I would say. Others I dare not claim without statistics. Lol.
eXPeri3nc3
post Jun 30 2010, 12:26 PM

9,257 posts

Blame the TS for that lol tongue.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Jun 30 2010, 12:36 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jun 30 2010, 12:33 PM)
and i was reading the nottingham msia prospectus........while they claim equivalence, and possibility of transfers, it is subject to 'minimum grades'.......ie you have to achieve certain minimum grades to be eligible for transfer........which imply the standards at the main campuses in and around nottingham is higher than msia..........also, the prospectus seem to suggest that exams are set locally, not the common exam papers used in their uk campuses.........
I believe the minimum grade is applied in China Campus and Malaysia Campus as well (for those who want to come).

... and yes the exam papers are set locally, but it does not mean that it is not regulated twice before being approved. Once by UK, and once by a third party in UK if needed.

Added on June 30, 2010, 12:37 pm
at least they use proper english.........i was also reading ucsi's prospectus, i found so many english mistakes, it reflects very badly on the establishment........

Lol, am glad to hear that.

If I may ask, are you still studying or working?

This post has been edited by eXPeri3nc3: Jun 30 2010, 12:37 PM
eXPeri3nc3
post Jun 30 2010, 12:58 PM

9,257 posts

Ooo IMU biggrin.gif Is it true that you need to have a certain dress code there?
eXPeri3nc3
post Jun 30 2010, 01:55 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jun 30 2010, 01:06 PM)
all students at IMU are required to dress formally irregardless of what course u r studying.
Formal as in business formal or semi-formal?
eXPeri3nc3
post Jun 30 2010, 02:59 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jun 30 2010, 02:09 PM)
ermm..business formal..minus the coat... icon_rolleyes.gif  ties are compulsory as well(for guys).
Wa tie also. GG. Damn uncomfortable for long periods I guess.

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jun 30 2010, 02:19 PM)
i am not in imu.........you will need to go quite far back to get an idea.......... smile.gif
Need to stalk your posts... hmm. Later maybe biggrin.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Jun 30 2010, 08:48 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jun 30 2010, 07:11 PM)
the discussion was on uniformity of standards.........

in any case, you are mistaken.........

you are NOT in school anymore.........needing to be spoon fed..........

a good school teacher will make you understand.........

a university lecturer doesn't have to........he is an expert in his field, and he shares his knowledge with you........it's up to you to understand.......

further help comes from tutors........
Well, I can say that the UK has acknowledged MY campus's standard to be the same (if not better) as their standard.

On the teaching side, I guess it's built into us that we expect the lecturer / teacher / tutor / professor / whatever to teach us till we get it. Education system anyone?
eXPeri3nc3
post Jul 5 2010, 08:27 PM

9,257 posts

They call it Sem 0, 1, 2 but in reality it's first, second, and third sem la.

We students prefer the latter.
eXPeri3nc3
post Jul 5 2010, 08:44 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jul 5 2010, 08:42 PM)
lol. u were told?

definition of chemical from wiki:

In chemistry, a chemical substance is a material with a specific chemical composition.[1]
A common example of a chemical substance is pure water; it has the same properties and the same ratio of hydrogen to oxygen whether it is isolated from a river or made in a laboratory. Some typical chemical substances are diamond, gold, salt (sodium chloride) and sugar (sucrose). Generally, chemical substances exist as a solid, liquid, gas, or plasma and may change between these phases of matter with changes in temperature or pressure. Chemical reactions convert one chemical substance into another.

so no...u dun study that in pharmacy...u only do organic chemistry..looks like u have  a lot of research more to do.. laugh.gif
All I know is in Pharmacy you need to bloody memorise a lot of things from the text books. laugh.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Jul 5 2010, 09:15 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Jul 5 2010, 09:12 PM)
lol. I do STPM also not sure whether it's good enough a preparation for engineering studies.

Hey guys I'm rotting here after all my friends left for IPTA. Is there anything I can do to ease my transition to UG studies? Like maybe refresh skills on specific parts of maths like calculus?

Basically anything that you wished you've had known/prepared before starting 101.
Well at least by now you should have a strong maths base already due to F6. If you'd been through F6, UG should feel more or less the same.

The only vast difference you might feel is that if you're coming from Foundation (me), which kinda sucks as you realised that the way one studied in preschool and also the materials don't fit in the brain.
eXPeri3nc3
post Jul 5 2010, 09:39 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Jul 5 2010, 09:29 PM)
haha. C'mon I know it's a myth that F6 is more or less the same as UG Yr1. Unless ppl do further maths in F6. I didn't la boss. I've peeked into mechanics book in a library and they have all sorts of formulas to calculate all sorts of stuff.

My F6 maths ok la, when taking the STPM paper. Now 6 months didn't touch the book already feeling not that confident.
For Chem Eng and Computer Science it isn't. smile.gif Other Engineering I am not sure. But yeh, you'll be able to pick it up.

Try picking it up after Form 5. smile.gif You'll see the difference.
eXPeri3nc3
post Jul 5 2010, 09:46 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Jul 5 2010, 09:44 PM)
aiyo F5 dun mention. F5 is nothing. Ppl think their F5 get straights think they are god or something. LOL topic for another day.

So, there's nothing you wished you knew before you started 101? Sure or not my friend who took A levels say he might be having trouble even passing his papers for Sem2 that juz ended weeks ago. Haven't got to meet him again though. To be fair he's in Imperial so standards might vary a bit(?).

For the record, will be goin MechEng. So any prep will be helpful.
Exactly my point. It's so diff when you come from Foundation instead of F6.

Anyhow, you can refer to the lecturer's webpage, look for the subject's textbook name used, then look around perhaps?
eXPeri3nc3
post Jul 5 2010, 10:23 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Jul 5 2010, 09:56 PM)
there's a lecturer's webpage? I thought need to log in for that one? Link is called Student Portal or something, right?
Oh yeah forgot, CS lecturers have their own way of doing things. Paiseh. tongue.gif

Unlike most faculties, in CS lecturers have their personal webbie, where they put their notes and whatever that is related or want to put.
eXPeri3nc3
post Jul 5 2010, 10:58 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Jul 5 2010, 10:26 PM)
@eXPeri3nc3 lol i guess you're doing CS now huh? (soli ah didn't read back when you mentioned it, if you did) CS maths lagi tough one wor, right?
Graduating already laugh.gif

Depends la, actually both have their tough parts I would say.
eXPeri3nc3
post Jul 7 2010, 01:09 AM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(A-Note @ Jul 7 2010, 12:02 AM)
oh sad.gif so far i  can't find ppl who studied foundation program thr one to tell me how isit lol ._.
I did Foundation in CS and IT.
eXPeri3nc3
post Jul 7 2010, 01:24 AM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(A-Note @ Jul 7 2010, 01:19 AM)
how was it O.o and what about the coursework:exam ratio? ._. 50:50 a?
Erm it depends. Foundation in CS and IT mix business and engineering subjects. So there's like all extend, from 100% exam to 100% assignment also got.
eXPeri3nc3
post Jul 7 2010, 07:17 PM

9,257 posts

Foundation is supposedly easy if you put a definitive amount of hard work in it, but you know... people tend to slack as it's 'foundation' after all.
eXPeri3nc3
post Jul 8 2010, 12:42 AM

9,257 posts

On a side note, I'm hoping to be able to enter PwC this coming Monday. Dugeun dugeun~
eXPeri3nc3
post Jul 8 2010, 07:15 PM

9,257 posts

Since when got 35% deduction? High achiever only 25%
eXPeri3nc3
post Jul 8 2010, 10:17 PM

9,257 posts

Please refrain Kopitiam chat styles in this thread thank you.

A bicycle will be useful if you're staying in the TTS area. IF it is in campus, don't frigging bother.

Added on July 8, 2010, 10:17 pm
QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Jul 8 2010, 10:13 PM)
For what I know, Foundation can get until 35%, but undergraduate will only have 25%.

And the internet on-campus doesn't allow P2P, for those who are concerned.
Really? I never knew about it. All of my friends got 25% only.

This post has been edited by eXPeri3nc3: Jul 8 2010, 10:17 PM

13 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0510sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:33 AM