Science Kyukpa: The Art of Breaking, What's the science behind?

TSfrankzane
post Feb 25 2010, 11:36 PM, updated 14y ago

664 posts

Hi forumers,

I hope the question fits here.

Most of you might be aware that many martial arts have somehow involve breaking very hard materials like wood board, brick, slab, ice block, marble, etc...to test the practitoners limit.

And I also believe the martial artist able to do so due to hard training over the years (plus 'chi' inside their body).

Martial artists are also human, I just always get amazed by how the body structure can withstand such a blow?

Any explaination behind?
TSfrankzane
post Feb 26 2010, 12:06 AM

664 posts

even that it's almost unbelievable!

imagine a human breaking several blocks of ice! and materials that you could never imagine!

TSfrankzane
post Feb 26 2010, 12:24 AM

664 posts

so it's actually a hard-to-hard technique over many years?
TSfrankzane
post Mar 4 2010, 10:12 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(lin00b @ Feb 26 2010, 03:26 AM)
pst. those thick wood/bricks/ice is not any plain wood/bricks/ice. they are specially made to be weaker. not to say they are fake, but consider plywood vs teak (mostly they break plywood or rubber tree wood) even bricks come in several type.

dont expect them to perform as marvelously with random material picked up from street.
that i'm not so sure...how would one make the ice weaker?

Added on March 4, 2010, 10:14 pm
QUOTE(joe_star @ Feb 26 2010, 10:06 AM)
Dont forget impulse principle. When force is transferred in a very short time, the impulse is large and the damage is greater. If you realize, they hit the board at an extremely high velocity and pull back almost instantly, creating a large impulse on the board that splits it at its weakest point
the martial artists do not seem to pull back after they hit the material (check out some videos in youtube)wink.gif

Added on March 4, 2010, 10:16 pm
QUOTE(lin00b @ Feb 27 2010, 02:00 AM)
and i know of several taekwando blackbelt who admit to observing/participating in demonstration where the board holder will flex the board inward at kick to help break the board (sometimes without the kick landing)

though, having said that, you do not want to be at the receiving end of a taekwando kick with or without board breaking abilities.
that i agree!

Added on March 4, 2010, 10:19 pm
QUOTE(map @ Feb 27 2010, 02:48 PM)
impact force = mass x acceleration

whack hard hard then can liao, no need "chi" powah

that's my humble opinion as a taekwondo student.
maybe can apply this on those taekwondo plank, but dont think can apply (whack hard hard) on blocks of ice!:)

Added on March 4, 2010, 10:26 pm
QUOTE(map @ Mar 2 2010, 03:02 PM)
oh ya, also depends on the structure being broken.

we use roof top tiles which is dome shaped, and the plank wood is solid, but rather light happy.gif can use forehead and pecah also AHHAHAHAH
i always got fascinated when they break bricks, ice blocks or concrete slab. wink.gif

yes, stuff like tiles and plank wood are less hard

This post has been edited by frankzane: Mar 4 2010, 10:26 PM
TSfrankzane
post Mar 11 2010, 11:30 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(darkskies @ Mar 4 2010, 10:35 PM)
Some are true some are fake.
Harvesting chi in ur body isn't just by discussion or a few seminars/lecturing could describe.
Westerners enjoys picking on chinese traditions and tries to make findings to prove it's fake.
When they are unable to proof it or give a result, they simply snap it with their theory and some flashy words.
Modern folks like us wont be able to do that.
It take years of hardship and must be practise at very young age.
yes, you're right!
TSfrankzane
post Mar 18 2010, 11:07 PM

664 posts

the link got problem...

Added on March 18, 2010, 11:07 pmsomehow i still believe in chi...

This post has been edited by frankzane: Mar 18 2010, 11:07 PM
TSfrankzane
post Mar 26 2010, 10:15 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(fenzodahl512 @ Mar 19 2010, 12:41 AM)
I've seen a person who break "batang pisang" with just a punch.. And its the real "batang pisang" of course.. Try la tumbuk batang pisang with your bare knuckles.. you'll know if your punch is strong enuff.. These true martial artists can be really scary sometime.. They seem to have some kind of "internal energy" which is invisible to us..

But I also seen in front of my eyes, a Taekwondo instructor with black belt got beaten badly by a bunch of teenagers.. I actually know that guy.. Yes, it wasn't a fair fight, but it reminds me that no matter how strong you are, if you are against a number of people, you better back off.. That Taekwondo instructor was rude that time, dia ingat dia kuat, that's why he kena belasah..
oh, yes i totally agree with you. no matter how strong you are, you may be easily 'tame' by a number of untrained people.

muay thai train with batang pisang, yeah tat's something i had missed out....how they do it huh? din they feel pain at all?
TSfrankzane
post Apr 4 2010, 10:45 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(cottonkandy @ Mar 29 2010, 10:48 PM)
i believe it's the chi. can see videos by this guy, alot of them amazingly works on me.

As in how it works on you?

Added on April 4, 2010, 10:46 pm
QUOTE(ate @ Mar 30 2010, 08:26 AM)
Lol chi is pure bs,

This old guy supposedly can throw people around with his fingertips, dont know why many people believe in this stuff, one things for sure a lot of people are making money out of it.

There was a case however failed to be mythbusted by the myth buster team, the guy who made heat out of the towel and foils.
Huh? Why suddenly he can be defeated so easily?

This post has been edited by frankzane: Apr 4 2010, 10:46 PM
TSfrankzane
post Apr 6 2010, 10:43 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Apr 5 2010, 01:19 AM)
well, for starters, they do feel pain.

one of my close friend attend the Muay Thai training. for the first week he had to train his fist by pumping on the ground/gravel/whatsoeversurfaceidunno until his knuckle bleed. after some time, he said his knuckle can withstand pain already.

there's a story from his Muay Thai teacher that one of his students are too obsessed with training and fighting that the teacher couldn't put him into competition, scaring that he might kill his opponents accidentally sweat.gif this is somewhat true because one of my friend's training senior saw that student fall into a small drain and his leg, when in contact with the edge of the drain, the edge breaks and he felt no pain at all and said "oops, i broke the drain~" sweat.gif

bones can be really strong if u train them hard over the years sweat.gif
ooo...tat's impressive!
TSfrankzane
post Feb 7 2012, 10:32 PM

664 posts

yeah, i do believe in human power!
TSfrankzane
post Feb 17 2012, 11:17 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(chiiupe @ Feb 10 2012, 09:51 PM)
Except for lin00b's reply, there's not enough emphasis on materials science in this thread.

The harder a material is, the more brittle it is. Once a brittle material has a slight defect, the crack propagates itself. Sure, they still need that certain amount of force to make that crack, but after that it's smooth sailin. What they say, 'a chink in the armour'

For all we know some quacks may have actually make that small notch in the block of materials....

The materials listed that do sound impressive (marble) are classified as brittle, try breaking a piece of ductile metal
still dun understand, even if the materials are brittle, wouldnt the hands/legs feel pain?

0.0171sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:06 AM