dvico tvix m-6500A, Need help

TSlightning69
post Feb 24 2010, 01:36 PM, updated 16y ago

2,298 posts

Sorry for the noob question. I have a friend having the above player. Is this player any good. Can it play 1080P hi-bitrate mkv without problems. Can it support bluray ISO and DTS-Master audio and Dolby True HD?

hdwarexpert
post Feb 24 2010, 01:37 PM

1,342 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Feb 24 2010, 01:36 PM)

Sorry for the noob question.  I have a friend having the above player.  Is this player any good.  Can it play 1080P hi-bitrate mkv without problems.  Can it support bluray ISO and DTS-Master audio and Dolby True HD?
taukeh htkaki has 1 unit of it......i bet he will let it go very soon once BD1 on hand.
welwitchia
post Feb 24 2010, 01:51 PM

1,219 posts

Yes for all your questions BUT it doesn't do blu-ray menus. I does however play them with DTHD and DTSHD-MA. The networking performance is excellent as well.
QUOTE(lightning69 @ Feb 24 2010, 01:36 PM)

Sorry for the noob question.  I have a friend having the above player.  Is this player any good.  Can it play 1080P hi-bitrate mkv without problems.  Can it support bluray ISO and DTS-Master audio and Dolby True HD?
TSlightning69
post Feb 24 2010, 02:58 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Feb 24 2010, 01:51 PM)
Yes for all your questions BUT it doesn't do blu-ray menus. I does however play them with DTHD and DTSHD-MA. The networking performance is excellent as well.
When I check the website, it only mention DTS and DD, no mention of DTHD and DTSHD-MA. Its also base on the sigma8635 chipset which is the same as the WDTV 1stgen. Can the 8635 support DTHD and DTSHD-MA?
welwitchia
post Feb 24 2010, 03:04 PM

1,219 posts

I don't know if it does support DTHD / DTSHD-MA but I've been using the 6500a to do just that. Anyway, out of curiosity does anyone knows how much can I sell the 6500a for? biggrin.gif
Now that I have the HDX-BD1, there's little reason to keep the Dvico 6500a anymore.
TSlightning69
post Feb 24 2010, 03:09 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Feb 24 2010, 03:04 PM)
I don't know if it does support DTHD / DTSHD-MA but I've been using the 6500a to do just that. Anyway, out of curiosity does anyone knows how much can I sell the 6500a for? biggrin.gif
Now that I have the HDX-BD1, there's little reason to keep the Dvico 6500a anymore.
Since you have been using it to bitstream DTHD / DTSHD-MA, then it should support loh. Probably cannot downmix DTHD / DTSHD-MA.

But the same chipset as 1st gen WDTV, that is pretty slow today. I beleive some high bitrate mkv will shutters.

Sell me Rm200 thumbup.gif
ronaldjoe
post Feb 24 2010, 03:12 PM

3,569 posts

RM300 tongue.gif
IIRC 6500a was retailing at 1.2k - 1.3k last time

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Feb 24 2010, 03:13 PM
TSlightning69
post Feb 24 2010, 03:18 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Feb 24 2010, 03:12 PM)
RM300  tongue.gif
IIRC 6500a was retailing at 1.2k - 1.3k last time
I sold off all my sigma 8635 player(WDTV) all for RM200 only. Anyway those price of 1.2k - 1.3k were back in 2008. This is 2010 lah. sweat.gif sweat.gif

welwitchia
post Feb 24 2010, 03:35 PM

1,219 posts

Dammit, only RM300? I'll pass it to my sister then. biggrin.gif
Actually, I think this is the only player that does Auto 24Hz.. all the others have to manually select. blink.gif

This post has been edited by welwitchia: Feb 24 2010, 03:38 PM
ronaldjoe
post Feb 24 2010, 03:41 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Feb 24 2010, 03:35 PM)
Dammit, only RM300? I'll pass it to my sister then. biggrin.gif
Actually, I think this is the only player that does Auto 24Hz.. all the others have to manually select. blink.gif
Buddy price mar laugh.gif joke

Added on February 24, 2010, 3:41 pmI tried the 1080 24p on this 6500a. PQ isn't very good and a bit grainy on my peasant hdtv.

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Feb 24 2010, 03:42 PM
TSlightning69
post Mar 8 2010, 02:35 PM

2,298 posts

Can someone teach me how to update the firmware for this player. I put the latest firmware on the USB stick and boot up the unit but there is no option to upgrade the firmware anywhere in the menu.

Do I need a internal sata HD to upgrade the firmware?

0.0187sec    0.77    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:57 PM