"Closed-minded, back-off", "Open-minded", come in.

darkskies
post Mar 4 2010, 04:37 PM

2,336 posts

Social aspect wise the "close minded" ones usually triumph over the "open minded".
We already had a pack of "close minded" beings running on top of our country. That's one living example.
Anyway i would nv regard this term without the open inverted commas.
Instead i always categorize them as narrow minded.
darkskies
post Mar 4 2010, 10:17 PM

2,336 posts

QUOTE(lin00b @ Mar 4 2010, 08:45 PM)
again you are mistaking conservatives with close-mindedness
I guess ur snapping on the wrong wire. It's base on how individually view upon other's character.
What i pointed isnt only entirely conservative.

darkskies
post Mar 5 2010, 09:12 PM

2,336 posts

QUOTE(lin00b @ Mar 5 2010, 12:16 AM)
at a risk of turning this into a political debate, why do you say the people running this country is "close minded"?
Hm.. Since you know it would invite political debates then i wouldn't wana state the point.
You should be more aware of y i categorize it under "close minded" rather then conservative.
Read the newspaper and u'll get an insight on how u term conservative or "close minded" in their very deeds.

QUOTE(communist892003 @ Mar 5 2010, 3:12 AM)
once an ah moi professor scold the hell out of my fren who are like us (asian), my fren is pissed off that he accuse that professor of being racist. He mention our act to get educated is not an act of to be knowledgeable but somehow an act of cowardness. He tease that we are living in a system which is really safe and yet we are still thinking way to survive and that we the chinese are repeating the history itself of being called Weakman. But one thing he said ring true to me. " We should do something that we passionate for, that's the privilege of having peace in this world. As well a way to understand and express the love of peace. Peace is neither driven by the fear of death nor violent, but fear of living for nothing." He aslo added, "The price one pays for pursuing any profession or calling is an intimate knowledge of its ugly side." Now i finally understand why the ah moi recognize us as 3rd class minded people while most of the chin at australia university out performance the caucasian academically.
What u mention is partially true.
Though chinese still posses leading qualities in thinking. But malaysian and Singaporeans shares the same attitude and moral education. Even though chinese but they are far behind China and Taiwan chinese. Yup to be sad it's on the scale as ignorant. That's y u see "Ang Moh" despising on our pressence. Don't believe ? Check out how the kids in the society compare in China/taiwan and Singapore/Malaysia. Ever seen a kid screaming on top of his voice in public in china/taiwan like a monkey being in the proccess of slaughtering? If it's some rural or kampung place it's hard to blame. But in cities u catch that alot in malaysia/singapore. "We" already regard that as a "common scene" in the society.
I do not believe in being 3rd class minded beings or anything lower then that. I simply regard it as being ignorant.
What your "Ang Moh" Prof see was actually what dated back before the 80s of China/taiwan. Chinese in these country had advance so fast that we cant even believe that malaysian/singaporeans chinese is indeed from the same race. And seriously.. i nv hold on to westerner's words. They are just hypocrites who had an aim to talk u into something else. Of course we do not share passion in learning how to persuade countries to have nuclears and also promotes to sell nuclear to these countries. This is what westerners being doing for years.

This post has been edited by darkskies: Mar 5 2010, 09:13 PM
darkskies
post Mar 7 2010, 01:18 PM

2,336 posts

QUOTE(communist892003 @ Mar 6 2010, 01:23 AM)
U anti-westerner?? It was just a conversation....Teasing than telling the truth??
Nopes i juz don't believe in them that's all. I'll always weigh and see what they say before finalizing my judgement. I won't just simply think that something that these westerner made "written down" must be fact.
I enjoy mixing my critizing and truth spinning in between. Like having chocolate and lemonade at the same time but not mixing it together and having it at once. I don't tease or joke. I'm a failure in that ^.^

QUOTE(3dassets @ Mar 6 2010, 12:50 PM)
Right, narrow it is.
Since a believer already made up their mind, why bother what others says about them, that subject is closed.
Open mined is to open for discussions not to debate on a closed subject, the only thing to defend is power / influence / integrity that could threatens their kind as if being called stupid to follow ancient rules.
When opening a debate or discussion. U've got to accept the downside or upside of the subject. Everyone is entitled to revive something that had been closed instead of being stagnant to one part of the topic entirely. What i notice is lyn dude usually doesnt tolerate such actions and think it's forbidden and absolute zero tolerance for such grp and call them flammers. This already made whatever open discussion to be close instead of open. It's same as saying given freedom to everyone but with rules. Also same like the flyers floating around in the dustbin mentioning UNLIMITED BROADBAND but with Quota in mini letters.

0.0140sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 01:25 PM