-+♦+- LYN OFFICIAL PROTON PERSONA THREAD V7 -+♦+-, Our Pride N' Joy

jasondotcom
post May 22 2010, 12:09 PM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

QUOTE(patdidi @ May 22 2010, 10:59 AM)
why did u replace your myvi? me thinking to do the other side. how is your myvi fc compare to persona? my persona manual is giving me roughly 11km per litre cry.gif . huge different compare to my kelisa, and both are MT and same route. so can u elaborate why u replace ur myvi? thanks... biggrin.gif

Added on May 22, 2010, 11:01 amoh, btw, i don't see persona ugly, in fact, i bought it because i love it design.. smile.gif
Why i replaced it? I had a problematic unit. 2006 batch. I think those around that batches sucks as gathered from many owners in forum. QC problems everywhere. My front disc brake, steering rack warranty claim since i bought the car till 2 years warranty over. Gearbox leaks (twice...2nd time leaked all till cannot drive) and whole interior cabin rattles like hell. Comes with laggy sluggish automatic gearbox. Apa macam? Lost my great love for it....

FC wise... IMHO... MyVi is not that good in FC. My Persona and MyVi automatic both are quite comparable.... almost the same.

jasondotcom
post May 22 2010, 06:23 PM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

QUOTE(patdidi @ May 22 2010, 12:45 PM)
actually, my brother offer to continue the loan for my persona plus he will pay me around rm3k, i only use it since feb 2010. i have nothing much to complaint for  this car beside the huge FC diff. with my kelisa. but my wife got complaint that it is really hard to drive persona compare to kelisa.

considering your experience with myvi auto, and from myviclub forum, i see the FC not very encouraging. if i had to settle with myvi, i'll think i'll get the manual version. however,I do considering getting persona elegance auto if the deal with my brother goes on. I wonder if the 32bit ECU really improve fc.
Yes if comparing with Kelisa, Persona have more FC for sure. Iyer comon see the body size, weight, engine size. For sure more FC.

In terms of driving, yes Persona is much more harder to drive compared to Kelisa, you need quite a while to get used to it. I was soo used to drive MyVi for years and when i moved to Persona, i suddenly feel very hard and feel like i can't see anything (side and rear) and had soo much hard time reverse parking... Took me quite a while to get used to it. Driving Kelisa is even easier for sure. hehehe.... My home got Kelisa SE last batch (A) belongs to my mum... Heck even my dad's W124 Benz is easier to drive compared to my Persona.

Persona's turning angle SUCKS BIG TIME!!! Till today sometimes i miss judge the turning and i cant make a complete u turn or into tight parking space... WTH. hahahaha...
jasondotcom
post May 24 2010, 08:47 AM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

QUOTE(patdidi @ May 22 2010, 07:22 PM)
thanks for the feedback, sure it will help me to decide whether i'm still belong here or jump to myvi thread.. tongue.gif
I was very active in those days... my threads still there if u go look for it. hehe
now i just pop in every once in a while.
jasondotcom
post May 25 2010, 08:58 AM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

QUOTE(aun1986 @ May 24 2010, 08:25 PM)
HI, all Persona Driver ~

I plan to modify my car which some basic things

1.Spark Plug , plan to change to iradium, but the mechanic mention something about tat oil seal?? mean no suit for persona...piston easy to loose or something like tat...

2. Air Filter, any suggestion?

3. others? which can improve the performance?

THANKS

Added on May 24, 2010, 8:26 pmand also brake pad....any suggestion???

Added on May 24, 2010, 8:30 pmabout the gear oil for (MANUAL), i use 80w-90, now plan to use 75w-90 coz my gear really hard to change (higher to lower) any suggestion? can i use toyota brand???
I am gonna do what i did to my ex car but not anytime soon..got other matters need to be done FIRST. On budget and improved much better than stock.

1. 4-2-1 aftermarket exhaust header
2. S-Flow rear muffler
3. NGK Platinum tipped spark plugs
4. Good light weight oil (40) if less is possible then go for it. Even better.
5. Cold air intake. But since original is already having such design with the funnel channeled up front which i think its pretty good enough. Perhaps i will trim or cut a hole at the top grill edge to let / force more moving air while the car is moving. But i will have to plan properly or else during heavy rain i might have some problems of rain water entering the air filter box.

And IMHO i won't go for aftermarket filters. Though it gives more macho sounding engine tone, but i seriously do not trust such filters to filter as good as original filters. It is pretty much common sense. I am looking for long term usage of the engine not short term with high maintenance due to usage of such aftermarket air filters. Yes, i know such aftermarket filters like K&N are lifetime usage and can be cleaned. But, i am talking about how these filters are unable to filter just as good as original filters. Seriously doubt aftermarket air filter's filtering efficiency.

This post has been edited by jasondotcom: May 25 2010, 09:01 AM
jasondotcom
post May 25 2010, 09:35 AM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

QUOTE(dadurtyz @ May 24 2010, 11:02 PM)
my front door passenger got rubber sound, like there are a gap between door and rubber.. really annoy me.
its not because of gap. its just that the rubber is kinda "sticky" and squeaky. Mine also like that. I spray WD40 on all the areas so that such sounds are no more to be heard.
jasondotcom
post May 25 2010, 10:58 AM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

QUOTE(muslayer @ May 25 2010, 10:01 AM)
mine more like from the door panel like plastic rubbing sound..not very loud but can be heard. Planing to get insuflex 6mm stick on 4 door panel.
just to inform you, all Persona doors (panel underside) and plastic panels are heavily insulated with a type of sound insulation pad. Pretty thick. That is why the doors are soo freakin heavy!!!! So if you wanna put extra padding.... i dunno how you are gonna stick it man. hahaha....

Those plastic sound... yea i do get some of those... Minor ones at the doors and also louder ones at the dashboard. I am trying to narrow down on where the heck it is to fix the noise. I believe its due to some loose wiring or metal rods for the locking mechanism that makes the noise. In my car, those safety belt anchor points near ur ear..... at the pillars la... do make some noise as well.

I noticed that every time after car wash or rain.... the car is sure quiet and free from such noises mentioned.

Below are the actual Persona door panel underside with stock thick sound insulation paddings. Note: Photos taken from someone else. Mine i forgot to take photos and its the same anyways.

This post has been edited by jasondotcom: May 25 2010, 11:01 AM
jasondotcom
post May 25 2010, 09:19 PM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

QUOTE(Ultima @ May 25 2010, 09:09 PM)
erm im pretty sure mine is not insulated like the pics.. wht year is the persona btw? mine 2007, not like tht de....
have u seen urs actually? if so then hmm.gif perhaps first batches dun come with it. I know mine (2009 batch) comes with it la.... so as some of my friend's persona....

8 Pages « < 6 7 8Top

0.0193sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:29 AM