Stock Market V50, HUAT AH!!! Tiger Roar, Market Rise!

sharesa
post Feb 25 2010, 10:24 PM

5,587 posts

Hi Guys
this may sound stupid , but I wonder do you know whether I am qualified to claim back the taxes on the dividends, as:
-I never worked in Malaysia before
-do not have an existing income tax file
I wanted to register an income tax file through e-daftar, but they require job information, which I obviously do not have
sad.gif
This year finally decided to claim as past years didn't. So dumb doh.gif
Thanking you in advance if you have some info on this. smile.gif
sharesa
post Feb 26 2010, 11:11 AM

5,587 posts

QUOTE(David_Brent @ Feb 25 2010, 10:34 PM)
My opinion FWIW:

Whether you can claim back depends on if you are tax resident or not. Anyone who is in Malaysia for more than six months per tax year is considered to be tax resident IIRC....and must pay up..... hmm.gif

My advice is not even to bother about re-claiming the with-held tax - if it's a huge sum, I would just shift to trading in another market where you would be non-resident and with-holding taxes are not an issue......

Everyone's situation is different and you should get expert advice as I am not a tax lawyer..... tongue.gif

icon_rolleyes.gif
thank you for your opinion David blush.gif
will try to find out more....
sharesa
post Mar 1 2010, 07:17 PM

5,587 posts

QUOTE(vileparle @ Mar 1 2010, 06:55 PM)
go go go Faber  rclxm9.gif  icon_idea.gif

I remember posting about Faber in one of the threads sometime ago, but had got no response...i guess not many (if any) are holding Faber group's shares here  unsure.gif
I like Faber, it is a good counter, but too bad I sold it off at profit already.
It is also doing part healthcare services, and could expand further.
Its a member of UEM group. smile.gif
sharesa
post Mar 1 2010, 07:41 PM

5,587 posts

QUOTE(vileparle @ Mar 1 2010, 07:35 PM)
Oh yeah, i remember you had mentioned about keeping an eye on Faber group sometime back  thumbup.gif

RHB has maintained its outperform call on Faber group in its research report today, with a slightly higher fair value of 3.01  rolleyes.gif
Good for you thumbup.gif
sharesa
post Mar 5 2010, 04:34 PM

5,587 posts

UMLAND is really an undervalued gem .
sharesa
post Mar 5 2010, 04:50 PM

5,587 posts

maybe someone offered high price for Genting's non-gaming business. hmm.gif
sharesa
post Mar 5 2010, 06:19 PM

5,587 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Mar 5 2010, 04:53 PM)
I want to buy over Resort World but Junior Lim refused to sell to me. biggrin.gif
tell him that you are Lowyat King , I think he might reconsider. biggrin.gif
Good prediction on GenS!!!!! rclxms.gif
sharesa
post Mar 6 2010, 11:05 AM

5,587 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Mar 6 2010, 09:21 AM)
Interesting Article :-

Should Maxis’ current shareholders bear IPO costs?

http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...02&sec=business

I am still trying to figure out under which " Accounting Practice" , costs incurred are relevant to Maxis.

Or Accounting Practices  give leeway, perhaps the reason given is ,  the listing was requested by a VVIP  ? So it is justifiable in nature ?

Anyone cares to share more.
that's why I sold off Maxis not long ago, cause I finally figure out that they are sort of using this relisting for their own benefit. Better late than never maybe. dry.gif

Added on March 6, 2010, 11:09 am
QUOTE(protonw @ Mar 6 2010, 09:27 AM)
So come monday, do we see more red in Maxis?  : unsure.gif
I don't think so....just trading sideways, my opinion. You holding-kah?
By the way, Proton, is the Maybank 0.1% still on after March?

This post has been edited by sharesa: Mar 6 2010, 11:09 AM

0.0438sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:37 AM