University Taylor's University Thread, Now a full fledged University =D

cohenchow
post Dec 2 2010, 11:08 PM

90 posts

Any suggestion for the accommodation?
I'm going in taylor's this February...
Can't find any ideal place with affordable price.
The hostel staffs told me the rental is going to increase up to 900 next intake. T_T
cohenchow
post Dec 16 2010, 12:59 AM

90 posts

OMG!
It's hard to find an affordable and comfortable room near to lakeside campus!
The price is ridiculously high!
HELP!
cohenchow
post Dec 16 2010, 11:54 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(Hikari0307 @ Dec 16 2010, 03:29 AM)
Basically the difference would be recognition and choices afterward. Foundations are designed to cater to that one particular University and if your sure your want to study your Degree in that University than do the Foundation as it's usually easier to get in using foundation.
With A-Levels you have a lot wider choice on where you want to go afterward as it pretty much recognized in most parts of the world.
and if your the exam type A-Levels is suitable for you as it's 100% based on your AS and A2 exams
yeah sure you can. You can go on any normal days to ask about courses, register etc.
the area is like that ahaha, one suggestion is that you could go and try to find accommodation in SS15 and take one of the regular shuttle buses that you can use to go back and forth to uni.
If can't find a good room at a reasonable price then need to think over whether to study in taylors anot. Sigh. 3years!
cohenchow
post Dec 16 2010, 10:34 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Dec 16 2010, 11:58 AM)
technically its much cheaper to buy a 2nd hand kancil, and then rent a house somewhere much further and cheaper, and then drive to school, compared to renting a nearby place  laugh.gif
Car is not a problem, the problem is, the car park in taylor's sucks!
Fills with stones, and.. FULL!
not willing to spend time searching parking slot everyday. ==
cohenchow
post Dec 17 2010, 02:49 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(Hikari0307 @ Dec 16 2010, 10:51 PM)
come early and park in the parking lots under the commercial block la rather than park at the stone parking lot =P
Go to campus at 8am for a 12pm class? ==
dun wish to waste time in searching parking lot.
Did u stay in on campus hostel before? How is it?

This post has been edited by cohenchow: Dec 17 2010, 02:51 AM
cohenchow
post Dec 17 2010, 10:14 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(Hikari0307 @ Dec 17 2010, 06:26 AM)
nop I didn't live in the hostel before.
I don't usually drive since I don't have a car. I only drive when my mum doesn't need the car and I always have stuff to do when I go early there lol ^^"
but usually I take public transport and the shuttle bus.
I see...
May I know how they charge for shuttle bus?
How frequent the buses come?
And, where are the pickup points?
Couldnt find any info regarding this in Taylor's official website...
cohenchow
post Dec 21 2010, 12:48 PM

90 posts

Guys, anyone staying in Suriamas?
Is it a good place to stay??
How's the shuttle bus to lakeside campus? Overall OK?

cohenchow
post Dec 28 2010, 03:57 AM

90 posts

Dear all Taylor's students,

Would love to know whether Suriamas is more preferable by y'all or the housing area around pjs7?
I have been thinking but a decision hasnt been made.
Actually I prefer the housing area in PJS7 more.
The pros is that i do not need to wait and squeeze into the bus every morning.
The cons is that, how if it rains?
i will have no way to go home if it rains. ):
(maybe i can keep a fold-able umbrella in bag everyday?)
For Suriamas, the pros is that bus service is available even it rains. I do not need to worry about it.
However, I need to wait for the bus and yes, need to follow the bus schedule and maybe wake up earlier. tongue.gif
Can anyone tell me more about accommodation?
Thank you. (:
cohenchow
post Dec 30 2010, 04:41 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(@nn@nn @ Dec 29 2010, 01:20 AM)
Well, you might have bus if you stay in Suriamas but please do remember the bus doesn't exactly stops in front of Suriamas. It stops in front of Ridzuan and you have to walk there. So even if it's raining, you still have to run over to the bus which is bout 2-3 minutes of walking from inside Suriamas. Bus schedule is not a problem since the bus is pretty much on track(according to what I experienced last year).

If you prefer to stay nearer to campus, there's Sunway Court(bout 10 minutes of walking) and Mutiara Perdana(5 minutes of walking).

Both of the apartment is almost the same. Sunway Court looks more expensive but its old while Mutiara Perdana looks abit cheap, but its really new and the environment is pretty good. It's not dangerous or anything like that. Another thing is, internet is not so good in Mutiara Perdana. Most broadband can't be used there except Maxis and its a pain.

If you prefer conveniece, Suriamas is definitely the better place since there's food and all.
Thank you for the guidance.
Err, how about staying in the landed house opposite to lakeside campus? Is it better compared to Mutiara perdana?
I prefer to stay in the landed house but the "raining" matter worries me. Getting back home wet is still considered ok but i am afraid of getting late or wet while attending lectures. ): sometimes an umbrella doesn't help when it rains heavily ):
Ahh! I haven't settle my accommodation but the commence date is getting nearer...

cohenchow
post Jan 10 2011, 01:47 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(@nn@nn @ Jan 9 2011, 02:20 AM)
I've never stay there before so I can't really comment. Actually, to determine whether the house is good or not it all boils down to your landlord. Its very important that you have a responsible landlord(ie: fix the fused bulbs asap, repaired internet lines, not a bloodsucker, etc). And bout the raining thing, I think if it rains heavily, you're still going to get wet no matter how near cause you still need to walk out right?

I understand your predicament. Haha. I was in the same situation as you bout 2 years back. Just get a room first. You can slowly look for better options later on. My first room was pretty much like shit. Then I keep moving around until I got what I'm happy with. Good luck in taylors btw. Taylors might be a bit expensive but its a really good place to study.
Thanks a million for the reply..
I have got a room in suriamas and the rental is quite affordable. I guess the landlord is responsible too? hehe.
Care to share which part are you living now?
PJS7 or? (:
haha, was worried about the life in taylor's.
I am from a small town and afraid that there will be difficulties in socializing with others. hahaha!

Added on January 10, 2011, 1:51 am
QUOTE(Maya Chris @ Jan 9 2011, 04:31 PM)
Hi, for me, definately the houses in front of Lakeside campus...it's so near to the school...no need to wait for shuttle bus, which can be very unreliable. 
Just walk casually to school... The area is also guarded by security, so it's very safe. Have been staying there for more than 6months now...no complain so far. smile.gif
But rental is slightly high due to high demand from students. but if compare to the Lakeside campus, it is much cheaper...lol....
Haha, unfortunately I have chosen Suriamas but of course will try to cope with it first. (:
If really can't cope with the life travelling by bus, then I will think about the housing area opposite of the campus.
Was thinking bout on campus hostel but... there're no hawker stalls around!
will be so broke if i tend to have my meals there everyday. ):
However, it is really convenient as I can wake up a bit later before a lecture class. haha!
Anyway, thanks heaps for the reply!

This post has been edited by cohenchow: Jan 10 2011, 01:52 AM
cohenchow
post Jan 11 2011, 12:34 AM

90 posts

Greetings to all of you here.
Recently I have been awarded Tertiary Merit Scholarship, I have also enrolled myself.
But i still havent got my agreement?
Should I receive it before orientation or during orientation?
And... the offer letter is just way too simple. ==
Why didn't taylor's include any details about the orientation?
like what activities will be held and something like that?

cohenchow
post Jan 15 2011, 01:40 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(polaroid-cupcake @ Jan 13 2011, 07:25 PM)
Hi!

i want to apply for the tertiary merit scholarship as well. i was told to apply online. did u apply online too?
at the section B, we're suppose to list down ALL the subjects we taken (in my case, diploma in college)? or did i misunderstood?

and if i don't have any additional english qualification, do i just leave the column empty?

thanks a lot! smile.gif
yea, I applied online and stated 15 subjects that i took during my foundation studies.
Yea, you will just need to leave it blank. (:
They will call you once they get your application and ask for the photocopies for your transcripts all that.
If your pointer meets their requirement to be eligible for 50% or 100% scholarship, you will need to go for an interview. (:

Added on January 15, 2011, 1:46 pm
QUOTE(Hocan @ Jan 14 2011, 08:15 PM)
Hi.. I wanna ask about Perbadanan Tabung Pendidikan Tinggi Nasional (PTPTN) loan.. coz i wan to know more about before apply for study in Taylors University College... it's say 1% interest per annum on the remaining loan amount.. As if i loan for RM50,000.00 from PTPTN and i need pay for 15years... which mean each month i need to pay for RM277.78... after the 1st year i had paid for RM 3,333.36.. the remaining amount loan is RM 46,666,64 and add for 1% then is equal to RM 47,133.31... So, same as the 2nd year i finish paying for RM 3,333.36.. then the remaining amount add for 1% again then continue add till 15 years?? then the interest become 15%?? and I heard people said that if the PTPTN stated that we need to pay for 15 years, if we got extra money and we cannot pay more to finish paying the loan in 10years or 5 years.. Is that real?? have any formula to count it? coz at the PTPTN i only found the formula for 3%...  cry.gif  please  icon_question.gif  me...  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
For the new policy of PTPTN, if i'm not mistaken, they will apply fixed rate on your loan just like car loans.
If you loan for 50k and your repayment period is 15years, they will calculate the interest for 15 years, (50000*0.01)*15 and then plus your loan amount 50k, eventually, you will get the total amount divided by 180 months (15years).

This post has been edited by cohenchow: Jan 15 2011, 01:46 PM
cohenchow
post Jan 18 2011, 07:37 PM

90 posts

hi,

does anyone here know about the program flow of this coming orientation in FEB?
I've tried to call taylor's but no one is answering my call. ):
wanna book my flight ticket to go back hometown.
cohenchow
post Jan 19 2011, 02:45 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(Hikari0307 @ Jan 18 2011, 09:44 PM)
orientation for Degree programmes will just usually last three days. If it starts on Monday it will end around wednesday
i see... then i can book my flight back on wednesday late afternoon. XD
initially i tot it'll be on wednesday, thursday and friday but surprisingly it starts on monday,
so i'm curious whether which day will it end.

cohenchow
post Jan 19 2011, 11:16 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(Hikari0307 @ Jan 19 2011, 02:55 AM)
no problem ^^ You all should go around help make the place a more awesome place ahaha =D
pity I'm gonna be leaving soon for Aussie
lol starting on Monday was just an example ^^"
Edit: hum I checked since it's on the 21st Feb then yeah it starts on Monday ahaha
this programme right?
Bachelor of Business (Hons) (International Business)
Though I'd still recommend you to get a confirmation with Taylor's on how long the orientation will last before booking a flight ticket.
I'm no longer a student ambassador since I'm leaving for Aussie next month so who knows if they change how the orientation works this year ^^"
To be specific, it's Bachelor of Business (HONS) International Business & Marketing.
I've tried calling but no one pick up the phone. ==
Jus now I've tried calling again, it'll be held for one week. T_T
too long!

This post has been edited by cohenchow: Jan 19 2011, 11:21 AM
cohenchow
post Jan 20 2011, 07:41 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(Hocan @ Jan 20 2011, 05:00 PM)
Guys i having a problem for applying the PTPTN loan through internet...
after i done fill the things at

* BUTIRAN PERIBADI
    * BUTIRAN PEKERJAAN PEMOHON
    * BUTIRAN IBU BAPA KANDUNG
    * BUTIRAN PENJAGA
    * BUTIRAN KURSUS
    * BUTIRAN KELAYAKAN
    * PENGESAHAN PERMOHONAN

then last thing is to click "Ya" at the PENGESAHAN PERMOHONAN.. but after i click "Ya", then it said "Pengesahan Permohonan anda telah gagal. Sila periksa butiran-butiran yang disenaraikan semula. Maklumat permohonan tidak lengkap" and "Anda hanya dibenarkan menghantar permohonan sekurang-kurangnya 30 hari sebelum tarikh mula pengajian.(Mengikut surat tawaran IPT)"

but i had checked all the info and filled them.. what should i do ?? anyone can slove this problem? my sch start on 21 Feb.. so.. is very URGENT.. please kindly help  icon_question.gif
When is the deadline of applying Ptptn in Taylors?
I tot we can only apply after the commence date.
cohenchow
post Feb 14 2011, 08:16 PM

90 posts

anyone here knows the schedule for the coming orientation?
No idea whether would i need to join it everyday.
cohenchow
post Feb 15 2011, 10:58 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(Hikari0307 @ Feb 14 2011, 10:28 PM)
you'll get your schedule on your first day
Thanks for the reply...
When I received my offer letter in Penang regional office last month, I was told by the staff that I will only need to settle my tuition fees during orientation right?
Is this true? I'm afraid that there'll be a deadline for the fees.

This post has been edited by cohenchow: Feb 15 2011, 10:58 PM
cohenchow
post Feb 16 2011, 04:42 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(Hikari0307 @ Feb 16 2011, 09:24 AM)
Orientation is usually the deadline so yeah you can settle it during orientation ^^
Thank you for the reply!
Now i'm relieved. haha!

0.0510sec    1.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:37 AM