105 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Bottom

University Taylor's University Thread, Now a full fledged University =D

eMkayz
post Mar 31 2011, 06:06 PM

17 posts

I'm interested in taking a degree in applied finance(UniSA) july intake.
I did my foundation in commerce in SEGI Subang Jaya, would Taylors accept me?
Because a friend of mine (graduated foundation in commerce in HELP), who applied for UniSA was rejected.
Worst thing is Taylors called one day before orientation and said she was rejected.

Regards.

TSHikari0307
post Mar 31 2011, 06:23 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(cyewe @ Mar 29 2011, 11:13 PM)
i have applied for the high achievers scholarship for FIS + BEng HONS Mechanical Engineering with 3a+ 1a 6a-. may i know for my results, if i am selected, how much deduction/discount they will give ? btw, if i do well in foundation studies, will taylor sponsor my degree until to UK ? can i do the Mechanical Engineering degree 4 years locally instead of 2+2 ?
No scholarship is only for studies in Taylor's.

QUOTE(cyewe @ Mar 29 2011, 11:27 PM)
im not sure. 3+1 is 3 years at taylors uni and 1 year at overseas ? anyway u taking FIS first right ? if i do 4 years locally can i get an overseas cert ? like 4+0 twinning program. or 3+1 is worth it ?
No, Taylor's has stopped offering twinning programmes for Engineering, you can credit transfer somewhere overseas but if you stay and finish the degree in Taylor's then you shall get a Degree from Taylor's University.
QUOTE(cyewe @ Mar 30 2011, 04:53 PM)
my application for scholarship is accepted.
The High Achievers' Scholarship covers:
  • RM7,000 tuition fee waiver for 1 year, Foundation in Science; and
  • RM5,000 / year tuition fee waiver for 4 years, B. Engineering (Hons) Mechanical Engineering (4 years)
so my question is, is it worth it ? lets say i do well in my foundation, can i get extra scholarship ? meaning (external scholarship) + RM5000/year from taylors ?

Added on March 30, 2011, 5:18 pmbtw, is it possible to accept the taylor scholarship, then if i done well in foundation, can i take this tertiary  merit scholarship from taylors ?  http://www.taylors.edu.my/popup/students/t...2011/index.html
so it would be like (high achievers scholarship + tertiary merit scholarship ) meaning i will get RM5000/year and tertiary scholarship scholarship amount (based on my foundation results) ?
No most scholarships have it in their terms and conditions that the scholars can not hold any other scholarships therefore you can only have one scholarship at every one time.
If you did well in Foundation and you are eligible for the Tertiary Merit Scholarship then once you get it you will have to let go of your previous scholarship as you are allowed to change to another scholarship which is of a higher quantum but you can't hold two scholarships

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Mar 29 2011, 11:18 PM)
Buddy, im also interested in studying in Taylor's Uni biggrin.gif
BTW, may i know is there any 3+1 option for Mechanical Engineering that twinning to Uni of Birmingham?
No Taylor's does not have twinning programmes for Engineering any more. You can credit transfer after one or two years in Taylor's or stay on and do the TU Degree.

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 30 2011, 10:45 PM)
Just wondering if any of you know the answer.

Does Taylor's ADP upon 2-year completion have any sort of equivalency? As in, if someone were to complete 2 year ADP but then for whatever reason cannot continue to US Uni, can he/she claim that got cert/diploma/whatever, or is it useless piece of paper?
Please go and contact Taylor's ADP. Most probably it's not usable, it's like you do your degree halfway then you stop.

QUOTE(eMkayz @ Mar 31 2011, 06:06 PM)
I'm interested in taking a degree in applied finance(UniSA) july intake.
I did my foundation in commerce in SEGI Subang Jaya, would Taylors accept me?
Because a friend of mine (graduated foundation in commerce in HELP), who applied for UniSA was rejected.
Worst thing is Taylors called one day before orientation and said she was rejected.

Regards.
Entering a university with another institution's foundation is always handled on a case-by-case basis unless your doing stuff like MUFY.
In your case the only one that can answer you is Taylor's and if they think it is not up to par then they will not accept it and in the case of the UniSA programme, Taylor's also can not surely say so unless somebody else has done it before and they would have to refer the qualification to UniSA.
ses.
post Mar 31 2011, 09:22 PM

Hi,i just wanna ask whether if i already apply and paid for the term 1 fees for TBF march intake, can i change my course to sam??
TSHikari0307
post Mar 31 2011, 09:29 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(ses. @ Mar 31 2011, 09:22 PM)
Hi,i just wanna ask whether if i already apply and paid for the term 1 fees for TBF march intake, can i change my course to sam??
Contact Taylor's and ask since SAM already started so I don't know.
Taylor's Pre-U
post Mar 31 2011, 11:54 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Mar 28 2011, 12:12 AM)
Taylors SJ got a-levels intake in May? I know only March and July got, but cant find for May
Hi! There is no A-Levels intake in May, we do have one in June.
Double_Ace
post Apr 1 2011, 06:18 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(Hikari0307 @ Mar 29 2011, 08:23 PM)
hum I'm not sure, try calling the regional office you registered at and ask.
Called them already and they say will call me back but still haven't. mad.gif. My course suppose to star on Wednesday but till today I don't even know what time is the orientation starts???
TSHikari0307
post Apr 1 2011, 09:20 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(Double_Ace @ Apr 1 2011, 06:18 PM)
Called them already and they say will call me back but still haven't. mad.gif. My course suppose to star on Wednesday but till today I don't even know what time is the orientation starts???
Well I can't help you there ^^" best is to keep kacau and calling them >_<
iseenoevil
post Apr 2 2011, 12:17 AM

250 posts

I'm finding for an apartment/flat for rent nearby to Taylor's lakeside.
Can any kind soul tell me some tips or recommend any unit? Thanks.
Budget would be around RM800-RM1300.
cyewe
post Apr 2 2011, 01:14 AM

kalau tak ada sungai, kita bina sungai
1,100 posts

based on what Taylor stated :
School of Engineering
The curriculum of the Taylor’s engineering programme is developed based on the School of Engineering’s 13-
year experience of partnering with top engineering universities from the UK like the University of Sheffield and
the University of Birmingham. Now that we have our own programme, we’ve combined the best of both
theoretical and practical aspects into a 4-year programme structure. Our 4-year engineering degree is also
accredited and recognised by the Malaysian Qualification Agency (MQA), the Engineering Accreditation Council
(EAC) and the Board of Engineers Malaysia (BEM).

• Bachelor of Engineering (Hons) in Chemical Engineering
• Bachelor of Engineering (Hons) in Mechanical Engineering
• Bachelor of Engineering (Hons) in Electrical and Electronic Engineering

I have checked with the official website of BEM and it doesn't shows Taylor's University in the list ? Is there something wrong or the recognition is already been removed ? can any Taylor's representative clarify on this serious matter ?

thanks.
TSHikari0307
post Apr 2 2011, 02:51 AM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(cyewe @ Apr 2 2011, 01:14 AM)
based on what Taylor stated :
School of Engineering
The curriculum of the Taylor’s engineering programme is developed based on the School of Engineering’s 13-
year experience of partnering with top engineering universities from the UK like the University of Sheffield and
the University of Birmingham. Now that we have our own programme, we’ve combined the best of both
theoretical and practical aspects into a 4-year programme structure. Our 4-year engineering degree is also
accredited and recognised by the Malaysian Qualification Agency (MQA), the Engineering Accreditation Council
(EAC) and the Board of Engineers Malaysia (BEM).

• Bachelor of Engineering (Hons) in Chemical Engineering
• Bachelor of Engineering (Hons) in Mechanical Engineering
• Bachelor of Engineering (Hons) in Electrical and Electronic Engineering
I have checked with the official website of BEM and it doesn't shows Taylor's University in the list ? Is there something wrong or the recognition is already been removed ? can any Taylor's representative clarify on this serious matter ?

thanks.
It's simple actually, the Taylor's University own BEng Engineering programme can still be considered quite new therefore it still has yet to receive accreditation. It is recognized by the BEM but it still has not received accreditation from BEM as there are still certain stuff that it can not provide for accreditation evaluation as it's still quite new. The BEM website lists programmes that has already received accreditation. You need to understand the difference between recognition and accreditation.
christcwl9
post Apr 2 2011, 07:18 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

Hey Hikari0307, may i know what is a credit transfer ? Is there any 3 years local + 1 year oversea Engineering programme in Taylor ?
TSHikari0307
post Apr 2 2011, 09:09 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Apr 2 2011, 07:18 PM)
Hey Hikari0307, may i know what is a credit transfer ? Is there any 3 years local + 1 year oversea Engineering programme in Taylor ?
Credit transfer is when transfer to another University with advanced standings. The university will look at your results and the syllabus of the subjects you have done, they will then evaluate how close it is to their programme and decide whether to give you exemptions from those subjects or not.
There's no 3+1.
You can have a look at the Articulation Agreements that Taylor's University have here
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=39815496
sharesa
post Apr 3 2011, 09:31 PM

5,587 posts

Hi, hope you guys can help me, would appreciate alot notworthy.gif

1) how long does it take to travel by car from Sri Hartamas to the Lakeside campus?

2) do any of you guys travel daily to the campus?

3) Usually what time does the lesson start and end at what time?

Thank you. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by sharesa: Apr 3 2011, 10:22 PM
sharesa
post Apr 3 2011, 11:52 PM

5,587 posts

Taylor's School of Communications(foundation + degree 3+0)
Any of you guys taking the above?
hmm.gif
cyewe
post Apr 4 2011, 02:31 AM

kalau tak ada sungai, kita bina sungai
1,100 posts

just to be sure,
the BEng HONS is awarded by Taylor only ? even if i do 2+2, it is still awarded by TAYLOR only ? is there any twinning program offered by TAYLORS ?
Irzani
post Apr 4 2011, 04:20 AM

Just you know why .. why u and i ...
2,972 posts

I used to use inter-library loan to borrow a books from IPTA. But, for Taylor, why there's a lot of e-book? Or got physical book but not put inside the web catalog? hmm.gif

Example, Microsoft Certification book... MCTS or MCITP books ..

spunkberry
post Apr 4 2011, 04:58 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

aww that's cool it's a full university now! if I stayed in KL, I would've attended taylor's most likely
TSHikari0307
post Apr 4 2011, 10:36 AM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(sharesa @ Apr 3 2011, 09:31 PM)
Hi,  hope you guys can help me, would appreciate alot notworthy.gif

1)  how long does  it take to travel by car from Sri Hartamas to the Lakeside campus?

2)  do any of you guys travel daily to the campus?

3)  Usually what time does the lesson start and end at what time?
Thank you. notworthy.gif
1) Depending which road you take and how you drive 20-40 minutes on an ok road. I drove from bangsar through the NPE and it took about 15 minutes, federal highway 30 minutes. Traffic jams well depends on the severity =D

QUOTE(cyewe @ Apr 4 2011, 02:31 AM)
just to be sure,
the BEng HONS is awarded by Taylor only ? even if i do 2+2, it is still awarded by TAYLOR only ? is there any twinning program offered by TAYLORS ?
Yes, it's a Taylor's programme so it's awarded by Taylor's. There's no twinning programmes for Engineering any more. You can only do credit transfer. If you credit transfer somewhere else after spending time in Taylor's you won't get a degree awarded by Taylor's as you have transferred somewhere else and is no longer their student, therefore you'll get your degree from whatever uni you transferred to.

QUOTE(Irzani @ Apr 4 2011, 04:20 AM)
I used to use inter-library loan to borrow a books from IPTA. But, for Taylor, why there's a lot of e-book? Or got physical book but not put inside the web catalog?  hmm.gif

Example, Microsoft Certification book...  MCTS or MCITP books ..

You should go and ask one of the librarians, they would know better.
sharesa
post Apr 4 2011, 12:13 PM

5,587 posts

QUOTE(Hikari0307 @ Apr 4 2011, 10:36 AM)
1) Depending which road you take and how you drive 20-40 minutes on an ok road. I drove from bangsar through the NPE and it took about 15 minutes, federal highway 30 minutes. Traffic jams well depends on the severity =D
Yes, it's a Taylor's programme so it's awarded by Taylor's. There's no twinning programmes for Engineering any more. You can only do credit transfer. If you credit transfer somewhere else after spending time in Taylor's you won't get a degree awarded by Taylor's as you have transferred somewhere else and is no longer their student, therefore you'll get your degree from whatever uni you transferred to.
You should go and ask one of the librarians, they would know better.
thanks for your reply, Hikari! smile.gif
At least I have some idea, so from Sri Hartamas to NPE- 10 minutes + 15 minutes = less than 40 minutes
Hmmm hmm.gif planning to drop & pickup my kid in future.
Double_Ace
post Apr 4 2011, 09:34 PM

517 posts

Anyone here staying in the hostel share how is it at the lakeside??? I'm renting a room outside bcs it cheaper and it is horrible here, I rather pay 700-800 and stay at the lakeside if the environment is clean n good.

105 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Top

0.0249sec    1.93    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:06 PM