Big Company vs Small Company, Which one is your choice

boonyean
post May 7 2010, 05:36 PM

19 posts

i work in big company n small company before....
both oso stress....
but for me, big company is better cuz salary better and really can home on time.
while small company might still have politic, but really more work to do but the work to do might not gain any knowledge, just tat small company lack of people so 1 person really do more work......
minievo
post May 7 2010, 06:15 PM

29 posts

Actually it really depends on the industry you're working in. Sometimes smaller companies has better perks in terms of pay and career progression.
Topace111
post May 7 2010, 06:29 PM

2,102 posts

Normally people will go for big one first. If cannot thrive or unwilling to work anymore then go small.
jing_kohkoh
post May 8 2010, 12:41 AM

Let's kick some AutoBUTTs
650 posts

I am from IT and I am in dilemma, what if the small company pays ALOT better than the BIG company that I am going to join.

small company
- high status
- more responsibilities

big company
- senior programmer
- should have less responsibilities
- bonus
goey
post May 13 2010, 09:41 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(Topace111)
My advice is go for large firms first, if you cannot cut it then go for smaller ones. If you are not learning enough ask to be given more opportunity. If still no response join other large companies that gives such training. Going to small firms then big is not recommended in my opinion cos a lot of people that tried this route before told me not to

I agree.And if you ask HR from MNCs, most of them will tell you that they would prefer to hire candidates from MNC background rather than some SME.Besides that, opportunities for overseas posting is there compared to SMEs.While I do agree working in SMEs you learn a lot becos you pretty much have to do everything and anything in the company, the prospects of you burning out is also much higher.

0.0456sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:03 AM