Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Feb 18 2010, 03:20 PM)
Hi all,

Beside the patterns, what should you consider when you choose tiles for

1) Car porch
2) Floor
3) Toilet floor & wall
1) Rough texture on the tiles so that when the car drive up to your porch it won't skid.
3) Anti slip floor tiles.
TSbrotan
post Feb 18 2010, 07:51 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(edyek @ Feb 18 2010, 06:31 PM)
1) Rough texture on the tiles so that when the car drive up to your porch it won't skid.
what type of tiles available for normal floor ?
APPA
post Feb 18 2010, 11:04 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Feb 18 2010, 07:51 PM)
what type of tiles available for normal floor ?
Type of tiles : porcelain, homogeneous, ceramic....
Type of finish : Polished, matt, honed, textured.....

your choice btwn $$ & your preference tongue.gif
EyraYus
post Feb 19 2010, 01:31 PM

sTRe3tHunt3R
2,152 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Feb 18 2010, 03:20 PM)
Hi all,

Beside the patterns, what should you consider when you choose tiles for

1) Car porch
2) Floor
3) Toilet floor & wall
for car porch its advised to use heavy duty (which usually is also anti slip) tiles

normal floor, just pick a design u like..

toilet floor and wall, usually both come with same design, and its homogeneous type, non slippery, specially for toilet.

I love white horse tile.

and remember there is 2 grade of tiles, the 1st and 2nd grade. the difference is the size. 2nd grade size is not the same for all pieces of tiles, which make it harder to be installed properly, but yeah its cheaper...and the colour differ too...

TSbrotan
post Feb 19 2010, 02:01 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(APPA @ Feb 18 2010, 11:04 PM)
Type of tiles : porcelain, homogeneous,  ceramic....
Type of finish : Polished, matt, honed, textured.....

your choice btwn $$ & your preference tongue.gif
bro,

Do you have a sequence in terms of price for the above list ?
Tohsan
post Feb 19 2010, 07:16 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Feb 19 2010, 02:01 PM)
bro,

Do you have a sequence in terms of price for the above list ?
for floor u use heavy duty while for wall its up to you, prices of tiles also depend on brand, if u talking about Guocera or white horse than its definately more expensive than those china mali al-cheapo quality type. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Tohsan: Feb 19 2010, 07:16 PM
TSbrotan
post Feb 19 2010, 07:58 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(Tohsan @ Feb 19 2010, 07:16 PM)
for floor u use heavy duty while for wall its up to you, prices of tiles also depend on brand, if u talking about Guocera or white horse than its definately more expensive than those china mali al-cheapo quality type.  smile.gif
the china one quality how ?
Tohsan
post Feb 19 2010, 08:07 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Feb 19 2010, 07:58 PM)
the china one quality how ?
its good if u r on budget, save a lot of cash but quality so so laugh.gif
TSbrotan
post Feb 19 2010, 08:09 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(Tohsan @ Feb 19 2010, 08:07 PM)
its good if u r on budget, save a lot of cash but quality so so  laugh.gif
how much it cost on average?
Tohsan
post Feb 19 2010, 08:10 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Feb 19 2010, 08:09 PM)
depend on size.
TSbrotan
post Feb 19 2010, 08:11 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(Tohsan @ Feb 19 2010, 08:10 PM)
depend on size.
2' x 2'?
APPA
post Feb 20 2010, 04:35 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Feb 19 2010, 08:09 PM)
QUOTE(brotan @ Feb 19 2010, 08:11 PM)
2' x 2'?
for 2'x2' china mari no brand one range from rm10-30.
WH/MML from rm18-40+

now all Guocera are OEM from china, quality so so

go check the Niro tile, alto their 2'x2' also from china factory, but the quality is thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
amco
post Feb 20 2010, 05:39 PM

785 posts

besides choices of tiles, pls ensure your hire expert tile installer!! get young contractor and make sure they use good equipements (eg diamond cutter, etc).

if their workers are >40 years old, I WILL REJECT THEM EVEN IF IT IS FREE!!
TSbrotan
post Feb 21 2010, 01:36 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(amco @ Feb 20 2010, 05:39 PM)
besides choices of tiles, pls ensure your hire expert tile installer!! get young contractor and make sure they use good equipements (eg diamond cutter, etc).

if their workers are >40 years old, I WILL REJECT THEM EVEN IF IT IS FREE!!
i thought older guys more experience?
Tohsan
post Feb 21 2010, 02:28 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Feb 21 2010, 01:36 PM)
i thought older guys more experience?
they say when u reach 40, u will have "flowery eyes ' laugh.gif
n73me
post Feb 22 2010, 04:00 PM

315 posts

i regreted that i chose dark colour tiles, a lot of maintenance to keep it clean, the dust is very visible.
however, once clean, it does look good smile.gif
Goneraz
post Feb 24 2010, 11:43 AM

432 posts

i just did my flooring at my new place. bought 2x2 tiles from super ceramic. Made in China. The sales person told me that china made tiles are actually better thanuser posted image the local made ones and its also more expensive than local made tiles.

This post has been edited by Goneraz: Feb 24 2010, 11:48 AM
scorgio
post Feb 24 2010, 12:24 PM

4,694 posts

QUOTE(Goneraz @ Feb 24 2010, 11:43 AM)
i just did my flooring at my new place. bought 2x2 tiles from super ceramic. Made in China. The sales person told me that china made tiles are actually better than the local made ones and its also more expensive than local made tiles.
this is not true.
u go to 10 shops, 10 shops would tell u different things (which obviously the ones they are selling is of better grade).
the most important is the Quality Control. places of manufacture is not important.

driftmeister
post Feb 24 2010, 02:47 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

Good QC China Tiles > Bad QC Tiles from anywhere else
marcusart
post Feb 24 2010, 02:57 PM

32 posts

Just to share, I had came across with china floor tile which had been installed almost 2yr then the color started to change. Not sure whether the floor detergent or the quality of tile caused the problem.
Greenyz
post Feb 24 2010, 06:20 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(Goneraz @ Feb 24 2010, 11:43 AM)
i just did my flooring at my new place. bought 2x2 tiles from super ceramic. Made in China. The sales person told me that china made tiles are actually better than the local made ones and its also more expensive than local made tiles.
Looks like you redo the floors for the entire hall/dining ..did it cost u a fortune ? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Greenyz: Feb 24 2010, 06:21 PM
TSbrotan
post Mar 5 2010, 06:56 AM

2,392 posts

i was introduced to a nano technology 2x2 tiles by white horse

was told it is anti scratch. any one heard of it ? price is RM 16 which i think is pretty reasonable

also for granite tile for table top, the guy quote me RM 160 / feet. expensive ? including installation & skirting
jiaenn83
post Mar 5 2010, 09:59 AM

86 posts

hi brotan,

where u quoted ur granite tile for table top? i am interested as well..can u pm me d contact?

how bout tiles, where u bought ur tiles?

QUOTE(brotan @ Mar 5 2010, 06:56 AM)
i was introduced to a nano technology 2x2 tiles by white horse

was told it is anti scratch. any one heard of it ? price is RM 16 which i think is pretty reasonable

also for granite tile for table top, the guy quote me RM 160 / feet. expensive ? including installation & skirting
darylchan
post Mar 5 2010, 09:59 AM

79 posts

Choose a colour and design that you won't get tired of after 10 years or so. Your deco and theme can change after that, tiles cannot change.
TSbrotan
post Mar 5 2010, 11:46 AM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(jiaenn83 @ Mar 5 2010, 09:59 AM)
hi brotan,

where u quoted ur granite tile for table top? i am interested as well..can u pm me d contact?

how bout tiles, where u bought ur tiles?
PM you

Added on March 5, 2010, 11:48 am
QUOTE(darylchan @ Mar 5 2010, 09:59 AM)
Choose a colour and design that you won't get tired of after 10 years or so. Your deco and theme can change after that, tiles cannot change.
hi darylchan,

thx for the reminder

btw, do you think the price is reasonable or over priced ?

This post has been edited by brotan: Mar 5 2010, 11:48 AM
Goneraz
post Mar 5 2010, 05:43 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(Greenyz @ Feb 24 2010, 06:20 PM)
Looks like you redo the floors for the entire hall/dining ..did it cost u a fortune ? sweat.gif
It wasnt too bad actually... the toilet cost more. than my living room
chiehlim
post Mar 6 2010, 12:40 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Goneraz @ Mar 5 2010, 05:43 PM)
It wasnt too bad actually... the toilet cost more. than my living room
How much was the cost for installation of 2x2 tiles per sqft?

I got a few quotes, cheapest was (hacking of existing tiles + installation + cement, tiles excluded) is RM5.5, and some more expensive around Rm6.5

Goneraz
post Mar 6 2010, 04:37 PM

432 posts

i am not sure how much is per sq ft but total was rm3700 for the entire living room+kitchen+ foyer... my house is about 1350 sq ft
TSbrotan
post Mar 6 2010, 10:29 PM

2,392 posts

just booked a 2x2 tile . super high gloss for rm11.5
Goneraz
post Mar 7 2010, 11:00 AM

432 posts

tats super cheap for super gloss..i bought mine at rm30 per piece. where did u but it

?
TSbrotan
post Mar 7 2010, 11:10 AM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(Goneraz @ Mar 7 2010, 11:00 AM)
tats super cheap for super gloss..i bought mine at rm30 per piece. where did u but it

?
old klang
Goneraz
post Mar 7 2010, 11:39 AM

432 posts

damn it.. i know super ceramic tiles are a bit more exp thatn others.. but i think i kena katuk liao
TSbrotan
post Mar 7 2010, 01:07 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(Goneraz @ Mar 7 2010, 11:39 AM)
damn it.. i know super ceramic tiles are a bit more exp thatn others.. but i think i kena katuk liao
but mine is china brand woh, not branded
Tohsan
post Mar 7 2010, 09:48 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(darylchan @ Mar 5 2010, 09:59 AM)
Can change ma the tiles, its only a matter of the heart willingness and money laugh.gif

Added on March 7, 2010, 9:50 pm
QUOTE(Goneraz @ Mar 7 2010, 11:39 AM)
did u survey Jalan Ipoh, there are a lot of shops there, alternatively u can go to Bandar Baru Ampang, there is a shop there selling quite reasonable price too.

This post has been edited by Tohsan: Mar 7 2010, 09:50 PM
TSbrotan
post Mar 7 2010, 11:46 PM

2,392 posts

any one with idea which tile is best for porch ? i was told MML one is the best as they are thicker
Greenyz
post Mar 8 2010, 08:32 AM

79 posts

My renovator told me the 2X2 not so good for kitchen wall...he has one unit previously installed ..now seems already like senget and looks falling off.His unit done 2 layer cement summore ...takkan for mine he want use 3 layer ....he suggest me change to 1X2 ...of course price more exp ..but correct ka this theory ..last time one Erny also wrote somewhre that 2X2 not so good for table top also ..but its the widely used .....now confused and shud i change the tiles size for kitchen wall???

Your advice appreciated
jiaenn83
post Mar 8 2010, 08:34 AM

86 posts

yes..im using mml for my car porch... u look at their rustic collection..
antzan
post Mar 8 2010, 02:21 PM

185 posts

rusty look damn nice lor....perhhhh...thinking of i also as my car poarch Resort Theme..

Any1 know about the tiles look like wood?...any review of it?wanted to have it in my dinning area...wanted to install laminated floor but with 4 kidz..haiyo...scrap the idea but again saw Kopitiam using the Wood look like tiles...wondering can ar??
skng03
post Mar 8 2010, 05:29 PM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(Greenyz @ Mar 8 2010, 08:32 AM)
My renovator told me the 2X2 not so good for kitchen wall...he has one unit previously installed ..now seems already like senget and looks falling off.His unit done 2 layer cement summore ...takkan for mine he want use 3 layer ....he suggest me change to 1X2 ...of course price more exp ..but correct ka this theory ..last time one Erny also wrote somewhre that 2X2 not so good for table top also ..but its the widely used .....now confused and shud i change the tiles size for kitchen wall???

Your advice appreciated
tarak logic ler, 1'x2' sure cheaper than 2'x2' lor. mad.gif

2'x2' to wall & table top will face the famous "tiles hollow " after few months....

Tohsan
post Mar 8 2010, 09:07 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Mar 7 2010, 11:46 PM)
any one with idea which tile is best for porch ? i was told MML one is the best as they are thicker
wa MML berry expensive compare to White Horse...
TSbrotan
post Mar 8 2010, 10:23 PM

2,392 posts

how much for 1' x 2' ?
Tohsan
post Mar 9 2010, 08:23 AM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Mar 8 2010, 10:23 PM)
how much for 1' x 2' ?
something like RM10 plus to RM30 plus depend on brand.
TSbrotan
post Mar 9 2010, 10:48 AM

2,392 posts

i see there is a mml for 7.5
Tohsan
post Mar 9 2010, 04:35 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Mar 9 2010, 10:48 AM)
i see there is a mml for 7.5
the one i see is those heavy duty for car porch use, the surface is rough with pattern of some kind.
TSbrotan
post Mar 9 2010, 05:03 PM

2,392 posts

QUOTE(Tohsan @ Mar 9 2010, 04:35 PM)
the one i see is those heavy duty for car porch use, the surface is rough with pattern of some kind.
same here

another shop i see they say this one is toughest from MML for RM 8.5
Goneraz
post Mar 10 2010, 12:23 AM

432 posts

u shud be able to find MML tiles for less than rm10.Standard
nepguga
post Apr 5 2010, 12:39 PM

1,066 posts

What kind of tiles we can use for car porch? Ceramic tiles too soft right?
Awakened_Angel
post Apr 5 2010, 01:16 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(edyek @ Feb 18 2010, 07:31 PM)
+100

I sliped and fall on my back few days back doh.gif

0.0304sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 11:05 PM