News Official TM High Speed Broadband (HSBB) Thread V2, TM HSBB Launching Live Now !

rizvanrp
post Mar 22 2010, 07:08 PM

195 posts

Omg!

I nearly threw up in joy just now after feeding my dogs at my backyard. I looked up and saw that TM quietly wired my entire housing area with fiber cabling. The entire bloody row of houses had a thick fiber cable stretched along the telephone posts with 'FTTH' stickered boxes on them XD

This is Damansara Jaya near KDU + LDP there btw
rizvanrp
post Mar 24 2010, 03:43 AM

195 posts

I don't really mind bandwidth caps either.. I just want to get my content faster on a stable line.

I'm sick of ADSL line drops because of old copper wires and rain water.

If they're so worried about international bandwidth usage, other than using some local CDN for caching 'hot' files, they could make local bandwidth unrestricted so we can establish our own p2p network of HSBB users.
rizvanrp
post Mar 24 2010, 03:17 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Mar 24 2010, 03:14 PM)
Anyone can answer? Bandar Utama got HSSB or not? Only next to TTDI wor...cannot just sambung a cable meh??
tongue.gif

Or does it falls into 'Petaling Jaya' category?
My area (damansara jaya) is covered under TTDI's exchange.. called hsbb hotline, gave my address and they said its available. You should do that too biggrin.gif
rizvanrp
post Mar 24 2010, 03:23 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Mar 24 2010, 03:22 PM)
Friend, can give me the contact number to any TMPOINT? I cannot call 100, coz my office line Maxis...and hp line also Maxis...
doh.gif
HSBB sales hotline is 1-300-88-1222 biggrin.gif Just call and ask them about coverage in your area.. it's a good sign if they've already set up FTTH wiring on the telephone posts like they did in my place.
rizvanrp
post Mar 24 2010, 03:36 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Mar 24 2010, 03:31 PM)
Thanks guys. just called. No luck.  shakehead.gif Dunno when either. Told me a lots of stories, all useless. As usual. Just say 'No freaking idea lar'. Told me grandma stories pulak.  doh.gif
Ah sorry to hear that sad.gif Last I heard from my friends who live in BU, they use maxis based lines and maxis ADSL right?

QUOTE(azwan92 @ Mar 24 2010, 03:33 PM)
I think they also know what's our current broadband situation lol. laugh.gif 3.5 more hours. Can watch it live on their website right? http://www.tm.com.my/national slow broadband.php
Eh I didn't know about that site, thanks for the link
rizvanrp
post Mar 24 2010, 04:40 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(kundaichiz @ Mar 24 2010, 04:34 PM)
HSBB will be available for these area only, u have to wait till a whole Malaysia can get one,..as for our knowledge, it will be fully support in 2012..

please be patience guyz..It's not easy to change all the copper to fiber..

btw, the difference between why Malaysia is not that fast is commonly cause..all their wire is underground..while for instance in Japan,
all are wired up by pole(u see so many Tiang in Japan rolleyes.gif )..why malaysia is underground..cause of the "Rain" factors..japan less rain of course whistling.gif

for the installation, definitely take a longer time than Japan..
japan can make the installation in 4 hours..wow..(like i said..pole thing)
Malaysia?.. 6hours(depends)

for know, i can only said, they covers only in TTDI, Bangsar, Shah Alam, Subang Jaya
y they the 1st can get?simple...the Main Distibutor..we called it the Exchange are there
like i said..please be patience...

for the one who always criticize HSBB will be like streamyx..my answer is ...Your WRONG..
HSBB using different cable which is full fiber...(google fiber for the meaning rclxub.gif ) streamyx use copper..
they change totally the cable from the exchange to your home for HSBB.. wink.gif

that's all for now..Tq

btw..I'm still waiting HSBB to come at my house...I'm their customer thumbup.gif
Lol, what? My area all tiangs. So many tiang and tree until when it rains there's a 80% chance of your modem getting struck by lightning and 60% chance for the SNR margin and attenuation to screw up and DC you. Sometimes you'll even see monkeys jumping on them.

And for those tiang ppl, the fiber doesn't replace copper. The fiber is just pushed alongside the copper, you'll see one thick black cable (almost like those residential power lines) carrying it into little grey FTTH boxes where I assume they split the optical signal.
rizvanrp
post Mar 24 2010, 04:46 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(vandread86 @ Mar 24 2010, 04:41 PM)
+11111  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

Added on March 24, 2010, 4:43 pm
some place the fiber will on tiang, some others underground. it depends on the place itself biggrin.gif
I suppose tiangs would be easy to wire up than underground pipes hmm.gif
rizvanrp
post Mar 24 2010, 05:14 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(rajulkabir @ Mar 24 2010, 05:08 PM)
Thanks, too bad more people don't understand this.

The mentality of "I pay for 4mbps therefore I am going to download 4mbps 24/7 just to stick it to the man!!!1!!" is so childish. It's an example of the cultural problems that are holding Malaysia back - a failure to respect the commons and to think of one's actions in the context of greater society.
Exactly. Even in a datacenter environment, bandwidth is rationed fairly (and you have to pay A LOT for bandwidth). There's no such thing as unlimited bandwidth on this planet. There's international link and local switching capacity to take into account.

QUOTE(stmu @ Mar 24 2010, 05:12 PM)
I was wondering if they use fibre optic for broadband. then the copper line telephone izzit still remain seperated? That means we can have HSBB and Streamyx together ah?
Of course, if not those people who are living in HSBB enabled areas right now won't be able to use Streamyx or their telephone lines right?

This post has been edited by rizvanrp: Mar 24 2010, 05:15 PM
rizvanrp
post Mar 24 2010, 05:19 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Mar 24 2010, 05:16 PM)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
==============================
::::::::::::::::PACKAGES::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

5mbps => VIP5: RM149 (60GB cap)

10mbps => VIP10: RM199 (90GB cap)

20mbps => VIP20: RM249 (120GB cap)

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

==============================
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~`
Lol what's this troll value, 120GB cap per month/day? You co-locate a server also you can get at least 200-500GB of monthly bandwidth for that price in Malaysia. It would be a sad joke to pull fiber optic cabling directly into your house and cap it at that value.

Due to overhead, downloading at 20mbps would make your line upload at about 1mbps on a TCP based connection.

This post has been edited by rizvanrp: Mar 24 2010, 05:23 PM
rizvanrp
post Mar 24 2010, 05:26 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(wdarke @ Mar 24 2010, 05:23 PM)
Download caps is likely to be introduced. If HSBB has caps, I am pretty sure they will introduce caps for Streamyx too. With a reasonable cap, it will reduce the impact of bandwidth hoggers on the international line. After you reach your cap, your access is still available, but speed will go down to say.. 512k?
They should implement daily caps perhaps. Most people won't be downloading 24/7 anyway. Monthly caps require additional software to monitor and may not be as accurate as what they're using.
rizvanrp
post Mar 24 2010, 06:59 PM

195 posts

Come on IIS server admin guy! Update the damn page!
rizvanrp
post Mar 24 2010, 07:17 PM

195 posts

ARGH! vmad.gif
rizvanrp
post Mar 24 2010, 10:05 PM