News Official TM High Speed Broadband (HSBB) Thread V2, TM HSBB Launching Live Now !

Instant_noodle
post Mar 23 2010, 09:42 AM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

1 day left...

ready to get rickrolled by TMNut with 10mbps running youtube at 512kpbs user speed, like how 4mbps users are suffering?

i guaranteed everything is fast*...

*locally.... terms and conditions applied...
Instant_noodle
post Mar 23 2010, 11:24 AM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

QUOTE(bai1101 @ Mar 23 2010, 10:10 AM)
superb at normal browsing but any FLV steaming(youtube and other similiar) is cap at morning only smooth after 12pm/1am
Download is depend of the Server side Mostly 200kb +- and some 400kb +- with Download Manager
Torrenting (good seeder) 200-500kb night                          100-200kb Day
Using Utorrent & Xun Lei depend which country seeder
If US/Europe Utorrent perform better
If china Seeder Xun lei is better
But recently it have some routing issue to China and europe. No perform as well as last time.

in short (or tl;dr version):

better download but it's ratio still sux...

betting on constant and stable connection for international servers with HSBB, especially game servers, say 3 months later?

download from international file servers?
CS:S / MW2 to europe?
10/25 men raid for WoW/ Aion/ Rapplez/ WH?

*laughing menacingly*

overcrowded is overcrowded...

i'll enjoy more seeing people yell 'FUUUUUUUUU - TV SHOW lags like sh!t (*operator: plz flip ur modem sideways, restart and chant 'wooka buuka kaala baanga' when it tries to connect*)' thru hotlines when they turn on IPTV then...
Instant_noodle
post Mar 23 2010, 01:30 PM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

seeing that 'terms and conditions' are on their side, plus the 'best effort' policy they offered... what else can we do?

help line? we all know what it does...
MCMC? i feel like my complains thru emails ended up in it's 'spam' section...

then we have our minister of communication...

who warns of legal action against errant private groups and bloggers...
who wants to ensure Internut not abused...
who wants to filter the internut...
who warn us be wary of western influences like facebook, twitter that would damage religious believes...
who wants us to think thousand times before mixed marriage...
who puts silly and irrelevant quotes until people had fed up with his kuno-minded thinking and made him famous thru #yorais...

an incompetent minister overlooking an incompetent communication department that monitor an incompetent GLC, and conficker is still harassing TMNut servers last year when the virus is supposed detected and clean up by most commercial software and open source software (clamwin) in a short period of time, what can you expect?

fast?
stable?
reliable?

we got stuck and forced to use it becoz of the monopoly...

if other isp like singtel start their service here, we'll see share for TMNut will drop drestically.
Instant_noodle
post Mar 23 2010, 02:38 PM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Mar 23 2010, 02:04 PM)
I totally agree  sad.gif

MOOGLE HALP!!! YUE IS MAKIN' ME TANK AFTER I DING 80!!! NEED MOAR TANK TIPS!!!!!!

QUOTE(Demonic Wrath @ Mar 23 2010, 01:54 PM)
They bundle IPTV together with HSBB. It's part of their Triple Play thing. If you want to watch additional channels (besides the free channels), then you'll have to pay. e.g. +RM10 for Channel [V]. The free channels include normal TV channels such as RTM1, 2, 3, NTV7 and 8TV (Should have more). If you don't have to subscribe for additional channels, then you only have to pay for HSBB.

Just hopefully they will come out with Video on Demand services so we can enjoy HD movies. Personally I don't think it will lag when streaming these contents and it will be better than Astro during rain or cloudy weather.

Trust me, even if other ISP comes here, their price will still be higher. They need to buy the lines from TM.

Helpline personnel are not trained thoroughly. What they can do is to inform their supervisor or technician about problems, but if you think that they can advise you, think again. They are only trained to follow the manual.

Fortunately our internet is not filtered that much. Look at countries like China. They banned most of the websites, citing that its not good for their country. Look at SG, the users are not allowed to torrent. Which policies do you think is better? Malaysia's or other countries?

to be frank (i wanna be tom...), torrent is allowed in singapore, you dunno how they do it doesn't mean they are not doing it. take Slackware torrent link or another debain rip-off, Ubuntu torrent link, are singaporean gonna be sue till their pants off by doing so?

like most gomen plans, they are not being executed due to peer pressure they had gotten from peeps around them. take getting petroleum with IC thing that they had scrapped.

did they done field study? no...
did they study the inplication? no...
did they bought the equiptment? yes...
did they wasted $$? yes...

same thing goes with the old fag rais yatim's idea to filter the web; he and the gomen would get srsly bombarded by online media (mainly online news and bloggers), and ended up with higher risk of voters swaying over to the opposition and lose during next election.

power or filter? tough choice... hmm.gif

QUOTE(Demonic Wrath @ Mar 23 2010, 02:11 PM)
Here's what we can do to help out the problems faced in Malaysia:-

• Provide a server to help host contents (e.g. filehippo, filefront)
  • Deal with Google to add a new server here in Malaysia (youtube)
  • Use torrent to share, it saves a lot of bandwidth
  • Find a way to work as TM management

Here's things that will not help:-

• Rant here
  • Rant anywhere
  • Spam TM helpline
  • Shoot anyone that supports TM

plz tell me:
  • ROI for investors just to deal with small amount of local users while making international users suffer
  • why ISP is throttling if it is saving bandwidth? torrent hogs bandwidth instead of saving it

Instant_noodle
post Mar 23 2010, 02:45 PM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

back to HSBB,

would it be great? yes, untill it start getting crowded...

would it be fast? yes, untill it start getting crowded...

would it be reliable? yes, untill it start getting crowded...

dun tell me what i said is lie, it happened when broadband got introduced; it happened when 4mbps got introduced...

what make you think it won't happen few months down the road when people start jamming into the fast 'service'?
Instant_noodle
post Mar 23 2010, 04:13 PM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

QUOTE(Demonic Wrath @ Mar 23 2010, 02:50 PM)
Torrent doesn't exactly hogs bandwidth. It's P2P. The more user in Malaysia uses it, the less international bandwidth it will consume.

Now TM is throttling it because currently Streamyx do not have high upload speed (512 kbps only), so majority of the bandwidth is on international link. HSBB might change that -- 5mbps upload will means an increase of 10x!!

And torrent is not throttled. Check out those impressive speed users are getting.

Yes, the infrastructure in Malaysia is governed by monopolizing. Everything is based on networking, instead of professionalism. Its very common to see "XXX's niece is working on Project Y". They can even open up a new company just to tender a sure-win contract. This is most probably why Google don't want to setup their server here.

Datacenter is not cheap, but it is a viable business. I think it will generate enough revenue if it targets Malaysia alone, but hey I've done enough research on this so I wouldn't know.

plz tell me: how many files are there in your torrent client? 1 file? 5 file?? 7 files? how small the file size? 3mb? 500kb? or would it be something like '[HQ] <put a movie name here>.mkv' that goes roughly 1.2gb?

let's do a rough calculation: 20% penetration rate, 50% of total are doing torrent 3 300mb files, 20% of total are streaming files and 40% of the above actions has leech 1 international server...

it's just a rough speculation but still enough to see those torrents 'that doesn't hog bandwidth' are hogging it alright... only 50% doing torrent, i'm must be joking... torrents not being throttled... you are right, they are being traffic shaped...

hence there are threads lying somewhere around here that goes 'client bypass traffic shaping'

HSBB would bring greater dl capacity, and with the current lifestyle... crystal clear stuff on HDMI screens, running on mkv format or low resolution avi format on HDMI for pleasure viewing semi pixelated stuff? hmm.gif you're forgetting humans are greedy in nature...

QUOTE(boxsystem @ Mar 23 2010, 03:33 PM)
HAHAHAHAHAH SingTel also corrupt. Everyday got people complaining. Don't be so naive la brother. SingTel also GLC. I've worked for them. I know.

even so, the response are quick and there are indeed alternatives

at least there's a choice for them to choose from, unlike here

Instant_noodle
post Mar 23 2010, 04:54 PM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

QUOTE(boxsystem @ Mar 23 2010, 04:46 PM)
choices? as in? please tell me!

let's see...

starhub??
Instant_noodle
post Mar 23 2010, 05:19 PM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

QUOTE(guardioo @ Mar 23 2010, 05:08 PM)
if you using starhub, singaporean saying is laghub aka spikehub.

every isp facing same issues.....

still an alternative, no?

they have their own backbone, no?

as a matter of lag, it's way better than here. no?

looking at new 'Y' shaped undersea cable that's gonna be there, one end to thailand and another end to singapore... how 'lag' would it be in the future?
Instant_noodle
post Mar 23 2010, 07:33 PM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

QUOTE(boxsystem @ Mar 23 2010, 06:59 PM)
we have TIME? Maxis? or even PutraNet years ago.

It is really funny when I encountered users of both StarHub and SingTel kept on complaining regarding "how fast" their connection to WoW servers and others. They even used to have 25Mbps plan which was scrapped. Even their Mio plan isn't so stable.

Starhub? 100Mbps locally only. LOL.

you have missed out 1 slight thing: last mile. tell me, how far Time/ maxis/ jaring/ Putranet have their last mile covered? are there getting any fair share of their deal like how starhub is getting rite now? they have made themselves almost available to while island, here we got TMNut...

just TMNut... sweet...

as far as i know, some sg users actually 'survived' the horrid d/c without the use of tunneling service (but way way lagging), how about local MMO players?

my last run thru molten core ended with 9 d/c
my last attempt on some battleground in new wotlk content ended 2 d/c
even now and then i would roulette a stable ip, and use 2 pc to play, since i'm yet to subscribe to any tunneling service and with 2nd pc as lowerping my record, highest latency is 26k (i got the screenshot posted somewhere...)... tell a singapore player to beat that...

maybe you should try wow using the HSBB plan and get wtfbbqpwned by just as the 10/ 25 men raid starts

wait, 5 men pug with 900ms-1500ms is more than enuf to get your blood boiled...
Instant_noodle
post Mar 24 2010, 09:55 AM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

meh, all useless heavy downloaders...

no wonder the connection get congested so easily...
no wonder TMNut decides to throttle and packet shape...

boasting how fast you're getting the file isn't gonna make your epeen longer; it'll just show you're genuine support for *ahoy* stuffs and the failure of gomen in tackling piracy, boosting it instead of cutting it down and killing gaming industry at the same time.

well, continue your high hope of getting one, at least i'll be enjoying my lulz of putting '20x speed of 512kbps, 20x speed slower than 10mbps' when you guys started '10mbps users club' and rant youtube or any streaming loads like a snail piggybacking a turtle on a 30cm journey

Instant_noodle
post Mar 24 2010, 12:18 PM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

QUOTE(sbd18 @ Mar 24 2010, 12:12 PM)
my latest speedtest on hsbb...

Los Angeles, CA

Sydney, AU

Singapore

London, UK

it's just a temporary boost

if you are in someone's shoe that's gonna stand up on a stage and announce something like 'it's gonna be fast, it's gonna be furious, it's gonna be big!!', would you expect a laggy stream to foreign countries and getting to major newspaper with title 'PM announce new laggy 10mbps connection'?
Instant_noodle
post Mar 24 2010, 02:35 PM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

the bigger the anticipation, the bigger the disappointment

i'll be eagerly waiting to troll 10mbps users when they complain about lag
Instant_noodle
post Mar 24 2010, 05:20 PM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

QUOTE(lamdogkc @ Mar 24 2010, 05:18 PM)
for real??

wait for the real announcement

if it is real...

trollololololololololol....... 10mbps...
Instant_noodle
post Mar 24 2010, 05:47 PM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

QUOTE(terryble @ Mar 24 2010, 05:40 PM)
i think i will be very very VERY happy if they jus upgrade my current 1mb line to 2mbps in very stable speed...

that would allow me to download at 250+ KBps

and allow me to game smoothly..!!!

just whine when you get lags/ dc in mass battle on your MMO without tunneling/vpn service

i will be laughing hardly at you on your 'i haz 250kbps downroad speed'

This post has been edited by Instant_noodle: Mar 24 2010, 05:48 PM
Instant_noodle
post Mar 24 2010, 07:03 PM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

QUOTE(sg999 @ Mar 24 2010, 07:01 PM)
now 701pm liao
y no update r
wana die izit!

the page has already updated since 6pm, click the blaady 'HSBB'

from the looks of it... FUP is mentioned in there and they *might* impose it...

enjoy it while it's not being cramped up, i'll be sticking back to 'unlimited usage' streamyx
Instant_noodle
post Mar 24 2010, 07:14 PM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

how do i put this...

some forumers displays their finest moment of idiocy by not clicking 'HSBB' link on the site...

0.0207sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:21 AM