Travel Bangkok V2

reshila
post May 3 2010, 01:16 AM

Hi people,

I just came back last night from there. The situation was not that worse as what mentioned in media. I was there on 29 April - 1 May. Situation was quite better from my side. But scared thing because everywhere there were some police stand by. So you feel unsecured, but it was fine. In Si Lom area, exactly where MRT and BTS are located, there was a big demo and people almost to close the way. MRT for Si Lom station only operated from 6 am - 7 pm whereas others are normal from 6 am - 11.30 pm.

For Pratunam area, I did not visit there. Not enough time, scared if got demo around public place, and transport difficulties coz I was staying in Yaowarat (China Town) area. In Sukhumvit area, I also not sure, but as I saw in map, there are a lot of hotel there, and this place is one of tourist spot in BKK. The reason because in this area, there is Siam Society which is for those interested in the study of Thai art and culture (but you have to transfer train to there). Some more got shopping centre which are Robinson and Times Square. And also in the grounds of MRT, there is a well preserved teak house on stilts where you wil find antique household and art objects.

Basically, regarding where is good place to stay, it depends on your purpose to visit there. If let say, your main purpose is to visit the temple and major attraction, I suggest you to stay in Yaowarat area. It is quite far from Airport but near from Wat Po, Wat Arun, Grand Palace, Wat Phra Kaew, and Chao Phraya River.

But if your main purpose is to shop, better stay near shopping center which are Si Lom and Pratunam. Whereas in Sukhumvit is near to Airport and there are lot of hotel so you can choose any hotel which suit you and your budget.

This just to share the latest price in BKK:

1. Fees from Airport to Hotel and vice versa. If this your first time to visit, it is adviseable to ask from hotel to send someone to pick you up in hotel. It is quite confusing due to Thai language and writing. Even though Airport people could speak English, but only little portion of percentage. Some of them even do not understand what you are trying to say, but you can understand them. And if they saw you confused, usually there will be some people who offer services for tour and charge you quite expensive and make danger condition in city as reason. As alternative, you can only take taxi to go hotel which the rate is higher than Malaysia's taxi rate. But you will be sitting in Toyota Corolla Altis biggrin.gif

2. Eating. Hmm...Yaowarat is famous with Chinese Food and Gold shop. You can find a lot of restaurant just next to hotel. But the cost is really expensive compare to KL. Its about 300 Baht to 500 Baht (RM 30 - 50) / lunch or dinner. Whereas breakfast you can get for about 150 - 200 Baht. But these food are Non-Halal. And I found it difficult for me coz I had to find halal food biggrin.gif. Even thought if you manage to eat outside, the price also will be about the same.

3. Transport. Ohh..I just checked that there are bus to some area from Airport called Airport Bus Express. Better take down. An economical shuttle from Suvarnabhumi International Airport to the city (No.AE1 to Si Lom, No.AE2 to Banglumpoo, No.AE3 to Sukhumvit, No.AE4 to Hua Lumpong Railway Station) . Service hours: 5 am - 12 pm. Fare is 150 baht per person per trip . Contact at Airport Bus Counter Level 1, near Entrance 8.

Microbus. You might need this when you are in Wat Po to visit Grand Palace and Wat Phra Kaew. It costs about 25 Baht per person.

Taxi. Flag down rate is 35 Baht and less than 5 Baht per km. Expressway tolls are paid by passenger and extra 50 Baht will charged for those from Airport.

Tuk-Tuk. My favorite taxi biggrin.gif. It is compulsory to settle the fare before proceeding. You can even bargain the rate. Fare must never be more than 200 baht per trip. One tuk-tuk can be sitted maximum 3 persons.

BTS Skytrain. The stations are available in major commercial areas. It is an ideal trasport above the traffic from 6 am to midnight. Rate starts from 15 - 40 baht per person per trip. Routes are available in the map. Bangkok MRT and BTS Map

MRT (Underground). Operates from 6 am - midnight except Si Lom station which only operate till 7 pm. Rate from 15 - 41 baht. Each station will provide a coin/token-operated tiket dispensers for single trip. Routes are available in the map.

Express boat. Used for Chao Phraya River trip. Routes to various port along the Chao Phraya River with fare from 9 - 34 baht. It is important to know which port is your destination and check in map so you can know which flag color of boat that you need to go into. Chao Phraya Boat Map and Flag Color For those who wanna go to Wat Arun from Wat Po, the cost to cross river is 3 baht.

4. Major Attraction Ticket. Wat Po 50 baht, Wat Arun 50 baht, Grand Palace and Wat Phra Kaew about 350 baht. You also go shopping in Chatuchak Market which only be opened on Weekend (Saturday and Sunday), Platinum Fashion Mall, some shopping centre in Si Lom.

5. Hotel. You can check for online price and book from there. It will be quite cheaper if book in advance compare to book on the spot. My agent book for me in White Orchid Hotel (Yaowarat) for 2000 baht per night for standard room sharing.

Others: Compulsory for first timer to get a Bangkok Map which cost about 200 Baht or you can get for free in any MRT station. Please exchange your ringgit to baht, because only in bank you do exchange currency or else in Airport and its gonna charge you expensive. (In Malaysia 100 baht = 10.25 rm ; in BKK hotel rate 75 baht = 100 ringgit ; in Airport or bank = could not make it coz bank only open weekdays with limited operation hours).

Hufff....I talk a lot already. Hope it cna help to have clear picture about BKK. Have a nice trip biggrin.gif

Added on May 3, 2010, 1:23 am
QUOTE(kazebert @ Apr 23 2010, 09:44 PM)
Kazebert Bangkok Update

I'm now in Khao San.. found a 30baht an hour internet.. LOL
usually it cost 60 baht..

Anyway...
I was in Chinatown ,Khao san , Platinum mall...
i don"T see any red shirt.. NONE...
Platinum mall is so near to Siam Paragon ... everything is usual..
business and traffic is usual...
It"s not that bad.. u dun see police carrying guns walking around bangkok city...

The Bad news is...
BTS train station for certain station is close..
3 main station is close...
. National Stadium
. SalaDaeng
. Racha -something

So tuk-tuk are using this chance to charge/increase their price.
The cheapest price they offer me from train station to Khao san, MOTOR TAXI are 150baht..
So please consider taking taxi as it's more comfortable and aircon...
it only cost me 63 baht toKhao san..

More bad news are..
. MBK and malls around it close
. Silom close too
. Lumphini night bazaar close

consider going to platinum shopping mall..
Chatuchak is open...

Don't stay in Silom at the moment... as the BTS and malls around it are close....

-thats all for today smile.gif -
I went to Suan-Lum Night Bazaar in Lumphini, it was opened but so silent. Just foreigner were there. SI lom was quite scared coz demo, they closed the road, and many police stand by with guns in their hand. Chatuchak was opened even though Labour Day biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by reshila: May 3 2010, 01:23 AM

0.0249sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 02:34 PM