Travel Bangkok V2

nutella
post May 11 2010, 10:36 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Winning11 @ May 11 2010, 10:24 PM)
any latest news on the condition in Bkk? prefer to hear it from fellow LYNers who are there/ just came back.
I just came back today.

Stayed at Khao San, went to On Nut / Bang Na to look for friends... Also visited Grand Palace, Railway Market, and Amphawa. Passed by pratunam area on saturday night, and shopped @ MBK as well as Platinum Mall yesterday. Everything was fine, as long as u dont go into the protest area.

I think it is safe to travel there, as long as u dont go to the protest area.

By the way, the flight was almost full, very little msians, but alot of mat salleh.
nutella
post May 11 2010, 10:45 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(kimhoong @ May 5 2010, 07:53 PM)

I'd like to ask about transportation.

I am going to BKK in a group of 9 people (15-60 years old) as a family trip in July.

I am planning to book a hotel in Khaosan / Grand Palace area, due to budget concern - but I am open for suggestion if there are better area(s).
My main problem is on transportation

Traveling in a group of 9 :S
1a. Travel by street taxi (pay per trip) ???
1b. Travel by cab (pay per day) ???

2. Travel in a van or a few taxis?

3. Other options.
Thanks in advance for your attention notworthy.gif
We had a group of 8.

Day trip with Tour With Tong in a VIP van (very very huge and comfortable!).
Their service is absolutely good. Told us abt Thai history somemore.
Cost around 5000Baht for 8 hrs (outside bangkok), inc tour guide n gas.
Inside bangkok maybe cheaper, but im not sure.

Most of the taxi drivers speak little english.
And quite inconvenient to travel in 2 taxis or more, sometimes have to wait for the other group of ppl.
We were lucky enough to meet a taxi driver who can speak really good english (he graduated from US!!), he also can do day tour for group, but we didnt hv chance to try. I still hv his contact if u need.

Added on May 11, 2010, 10:51 pm
QUOTE(Winning11 @ May 11 2010, 10:41 PM)
at least Platinum is open. but how about Central is still closed?

and how about BTS?

any signs that show the protestors will disperse soon?

tq.
Central / Erawan still closed.
But Chatuchak + MBK + Platinum already more than enough to shop.
If u want to go Naraya, or want to do higher end shopping, u can go Emporium.

I heard from my Thai friends that they are having alot of sales also, in some convention centre kind of places. Shops from Siam Sq / Central sellings things with good discounts there. But im not sure how to find the info. U can try to google search or ask Thai ppl.

BTS, we went to Siam Sq's BTS, no prob.
But why dun take Taxi, cheap and convenient.

This post has been edited by nutella: May 11 2010, 10:51 PM
nutella
post May 13 2010, 12:47 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Winning11 @ May 12 2010, 10:03 PM)

thanks. with platinum + chatuchak, it is enuf for us actually. but it will be better if Central is there to complement it. haha!

taking BTS as i still have the BTS card with me. and it is easier for me to plan the time of the journey in between.

i guess it's time for me to change the currency to tk advantage of the weak currency and book Suk 11. haha!

any reccomendations other than Suk 11? with the same range of price and near to BTS of course.

Suk 11 is good enuf for me, but if there is better alternative, i'm all ears. Tq.
I heard alot of complaints of suk11 - mostly abt the rude staff there.

English reviews:
http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g2...el-Bangkok.html

Chinese reviews:
http://www.backpackers.com.tw/forum/showthread.php?t=306421

But if u dun care abt the service, then should be ok smile.gif

0.0294sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 06:50 PM