HT-Front Speaker, Klipsch

TSchengkl8
post Feb 16 2010, 01:55 PM, updated 16y ago

120 posts

Looking for my Home Theather Front Speaker, Now my HT Set is - PSB B15 (Front), Klipsch RC-62(center), Velodyn CHT 10Q(SUB) and China Brand suround Speaker with the Yamaha RX-v440.

All Sifu said - is good if the front speaker can pair with center speaker - timbre match!! is it??

I just bought the Klipsch RC-62, so now I looking for RB-61 or RB-81?? which better?? or you have better suggest within this 2 to pair with my RC-62??

PLEASE GIVE SOME SUGGESTION... Thanks.. rclxms.gif
arremie
post Feb 16 2010, 04:52 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

the correct pair for rc62 is either rf62, rf63 or rf82.
TSchengkl8
post Feb 17 2010, 01:29 AM

120 posts

My house really cant fit any floor stand speaker, that Y I have to choose bookshelf speaker.

I know U r Klipsch supporter!! so how?? Klipsch RB-81 good or not??
ronaldjoe
post Feb 17 2010, 07:57 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(chengkl8 @ Feb 17 2010, 01:29 AM)
My house really cant fit any floor stand speaker, that Y I have to choose bookshelf speaker.

Klipsch RB81 is good. but it's not pocket friendly.
http://hometheatermag.com/compactspeakers/1006klipsch81/
http://www.whathifi.com/Review/Klipsch-RB-81/
arremie
post Feb 17 2010, 10:09 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(chengkl8 @ Feb 17 2010, 01:29 AM)

ah ic ic. then it's either rb61 (same driver size with ur rc62) or go for big brother rb81. sure good smile.gif
htkaki
post Feb 18 2010, 09:27 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

But his avr might not be able to extract the full potential of RB81 unless he intends to upgrade avr soon.
TSchengkl8
post Feb 18 2010, 11:17 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Feb 18 2010, 09:27 AM)
But his avr might not be able to extract the full potential of RB81 unless he intends to upgrade avr soon.
Sure soon I'll change my Amp, but I think I want to change my front speaker 1st, as u said last time - my center really over perform with PSB B15
arremie
post Feb 18 2010, 11:27 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Feb 18 2010, 09:27 AM)
I think that should be no problem since Klipsch has a very high sensitivity DB ( >95db for both model) so don't really need a lot of power to make it sing. I learnt that the hard way sweat.gif
ronaldjoe
post Feb 18 2010, 12:01 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(chengkl8 @ Feb 18 2010, 11:17 AM)
Sure soon I'll change my Amp, but I think I want to change my front speaker 1st, as u said last time - my center really over perform with PSB B15
QUOTE(arremie @ Feb 18 2010, 11:27 AM)
I think that should be no problem since Klipsch has a very high sensitivity DB ( >95db for both model) so don't really need a lot of power to make it sing. I learnt that the hard way sweat.gif
+1 Agree nod.gif
VSX-AX2as
post Feb 18 2010, 12:34 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Feb 18 2010, 11:27 AM)
Sorry bro..Can u xplain to me what is dB related to speaker power.. And how can i determine if my amp power not enough to drive my main/center speaker... FYI i'm using pioneer VSX-AX2as (170w per channel) with JBL ATX61 as main speaker and JBL S-studio ii center speaker
arremie
post Feb 18 2010, 01:52 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Speaker sensitivity is used to determine the amount of power necessary to drive or operate a speaker.

For example, a speaker with 85 dB sensitivity rating will take twice the amplifier power to reach to same volume as a speaker with 88 dB. Similarly, a speaker with a 88 dB rating will require ten times more power than a speaker with a 98 dB rating to play at the same level.
TSchengkl8
post Feb 18 2010, 05:15 PM

120 posts

I also cant understand about dB.. so meaning highest dB will be better??
ronaldjoe
post Feb 18 2010, 05:18 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(chengkl8 @ Feb 18 2010, 05:15 PM)
I also cant understand about dB.. so meaning highest dB will be better??
Nothing to do with the Db, it's the sensitivity of the speaker.
Go ahead with RB81 thumbup.gif You can change avr later.

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Feb 18 2010, 05:18 PM
TSchengkl8
post Feb 18 2010, 05:44 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Feb 18 2010, 05:18 PM)
Nothing to do with the Db, it's the sensitivity of the speaker.
Go ahead with RB81  thumbup.gif You can change avr later.
Yes!! I agree with u, I know AVR is important (HTKAKI - Thanks for ur advice), but after I test my friend new bought AVR - Pionner 1019, seriously, I dun like it - is 2 soft compare with my OLD AVR system!! may.. MAYbe I still not use to it or the AVR setting problem.. rclxub.gif

I changed my Subwoofer I can feel the different, I changed my Center I can feel the different, MY FRIEND changed his AVR I ALSO can feel it, but... not feeling upgrading!! WHY icon_question.gif

Bro.. Wat AVR & Front Speaker u using?? Seriously... RF-62 better than RB-81?? icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by chengkl8: Feb 18 2010, 05:45 PM
arremie
post Feb 18 2010, 05:50 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

im using peasant rf52 n ronald is using elite rf82 biggrin.gif
ronaldjoe
post Feb 18 2010, 05:54 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(chengkl8 @ Feb 18 2010, 05:44 PM)
Yes!! I agree with u, I know AVR is important (HTKAKI - Thanks for ur advice), but after I test my friend new bought AVR - Pionner 1019, seriously, I dun like it - is 2 soft compare with my OLD AVR system!! may.. MAYbe I still not use to it or the AVR setting problem.. rclxub.gif

I changed my Subwoofer I can feel the different, I changed my Center I can feel the different, MY FRIEND changed his AVR I ALSO can feel it, but... not feeling upgrading!! WHY  icon_question.gif

Bro.. Wat AVR & Front Speaker u using?? Seriously... RF-62 better than RB-81?? icon_question.gif
Floorstanders has better internal volume and lesser distortion for 2 drivers.
IIRC RF62 is slightly more expensive then RB81.
RB81 is good as well. You seem to be over-worried.
Give it a go man.

I am using Denon 4310 and XPA5 now.
Seriously speaking and as commended by bro remy, Klipsch is not power hungry and does not require a power amp to make it 'sing'.
You can change avr later after you change your fronts.

Added on February 18, 2010, 5:55 pm
QUOTE(arremie @ Feb 18 2010, 05:50 PM)
im using elite rf52 n ronald is using peasant rf82 biggrin.gif
I am only Peasant. bro remy is going to Axiom soon icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Feb 18 2010, 06:06 PM
maja_5365
post Feb 18 2010, 06:13 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Feb 18 2010, 05:54 PM)

I am only Peasant. bro remy is going to Axiom soon  icon_idea.gif
Please bro remy do pm me if u plan to upgrade.
Peasant can only afford used. biggrin.gif
TSchengkl8
post Feb 18 2010, 06:14 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Feb 18 2010, 05:54 PM)
Floorstanders has better internal volume and lesser distortion for 2 drivers.
IIRC RF62 is slightly more expensive then RB81.
RB81 is good as well. You seem to be over-worried.
Give it a go man.

I am using Denon 4310 and XPA5 now.
Seriously speaking and as commended by bro remy, Klipsch is not power hungry and does not require a power amp to make it 'sing'.

Added on February 18, 2010, 5:55 pm
I am only Peasant. bro remy is going to Axiom soon  icon_idea.gif
That mean floor stand have better perfomance compare with bookshelf, even RF-62 vs RB-81... doh.gif

Yup.. a bit worry!! scared buy a wrong front speaker again!! PSB B15 is my 1st mistake already, but I still can use it as a Suround Speaker!! rclxub.gif

Bro remy using RF-52 with RC-52, Bro ronald using RF-82 with RC-64, so if I buy RF-62 with RC-62, so 3 of us can 2gether open a shop to sell a full set RF & RC already... hehe laugh.gif opps... still miss out RF-63 & 83!!

Thanks for ur advice... let me find a place to put my RF-62.. thumbup.gif

ronaldjoe
post Feb 18 2010, 06:18 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(chengkl8 @ Feb 18 2010, 06:14 PM)
That mean floor stand have better perfomance compare with bookshelf, even RF-62 vs RB-81... doh.gif

Yup.. a bit worry!! scared buy a wrong front speaker again!! PSB B15 is my 1st mistake already, but I still can use it as a Suround Speaker!!  rclxub.gif

Bro remy using RF-52 with RC-52, Bro ronald using RF-82 with RC-64, so if I buy RF-62 with RC-62, so 3 of us can 2gether open a shop to sell a full set RF & RC already... hehe laugh.gif opps... still miss out RF-63 & 83!!

Thanks for ur advice... let me find a place to put my RF-62.. thumbup.gif
Superyaw is using RF62 as well. You can PM him.
Remy is going to get RF63 and RF83 soon. laugh.gif
There are elite Palladium, THX and Icon series too. sweat.gif
superyaw
post Feb 18 2010, 09:47 PM

197 posts

So far no regret for getting RF62. Now i am thinking of doing some treatment for my room. Keep hearing my plaster ceiling shaking and i dont even have sub yet..... smile.gif
TSchengkl8
post Feb 20 2010, 11:54 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(superyaw @ Feb 18 2010, 09:47 PM)
So far no regret for getting RF62.  Now i am thinking of doing some treatment for my room.  Keep hearing my plaster ceiling shaking and i dont even have sub yet..... smile.gif
May I know wat brand/model u using for ur center speaker?? U just started set up your HT only, is it?? Y no SUB??

Subwoofers are becoming more and more crucial to the home theater experience, is the sound you actually feel; the deep bass that shakes you up and gets you right in the gut. Anyway, this is my opinion only!! hmm.gif
ronaldjoe
post Feb 20 2010, 12:10 PM

3,569 posts

Superyaw is using Klipsch Center RC speaker as well. biggrin.gif
He is going to get SVS soon brows.gif
superyaw
post Feb 20 2010, 12:52 PM

197 posts

Now without the sub the roof already shaking, if with sub i think my neighbour is going to bring "Gun" to shoot my head. I am thinking of Martin Logan Dynamo Sub. It got pretty good review in net but dont know where to get in KL or SG. I think i will do the treatment for my room 1st.
ronaldjoe
post Feb 20 2010, 01:00 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(superyaw @ Feb 20 2010, 12:52 PM)
Now without the sub the roof already shaking, if with sub i think my neighbour is going to bring "Gun" to shoot my head.  I am thinking of Martin Logan Dynamo Sub.  It got pretty good review in net but dont know where to get in KL or SG.  I think i will do the treatment for my room 1st.
How high is your plaster ceiling? Put some carpets and see...
I don't have much problem with mine...only slight rattling when LFE kicks in.
superyaw
post Feb 20 2010, 01:13 PM

197 posts

Now i put the Auralex Subdude HD under the floor stand and the shaking is slightly better. All the while i am using manual EQ for movie after i run the audyssey. If i use Audyssey, everytime while the LFE come then my plaster ceiling is going to shake like crazy. It don't have any problem if i am using manual EQ now. For music i am using Audyssey flat. My plaster ceiling is about the height of 2 1/2 of my floor stand.
htkaki
post Mar 8 2010, 11:13 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I suspect that the plaster ceiling joints that are making the ceiling to vibrate upon LFE kicks in. Not easy to solve this problem .
ronaldjoe
post Mar 9 2010, 11:27 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(superyaw @ Feb 20 2010, 01:13 PM)
Now i put the Auralex Subdude HD under the floor stand and the shaking is slightly better.  All the while i am using manual EQ for movie after i run the audyssey.  If i use Audyssey, everytime while the LFE come then my plaster ceiling is going to shake like crazy.  It don't have any problem if i am using manual EQ now.  For music i am using Audyssey flat.  My plaster ceiling is about the height of 2 1/2 of my floor stand.
Orang kaya use subdude HD. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Mar 9 2010, 12:17 PM
zerorulez
post Mar 9 2010, 03:39 PM

1,251 posts

hi guys,

can i pair RF52 with RC62?

after RC62 the 1909 seems to run a bit hotter than before.. rclxub.gif
ronaldjoe
post Mar 9 2010, 05:23 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(zerorulez @ Mar 9 2010, 03:39 PM)
hi guys,

can i pair RF52 with RC62?

after RC62 the 1909 seems to run a bit hotter than before.. rclxub.gif
Remy wanna change speaker liao?
arremie
post Mar 9 2010, 08:36 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Not until he return my BDs whistling.gif laugh.gif
ronaldjoe
post Mar 9 2010, 08:40 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Mar 9 2010, 08:36 PM)
Taukeh, what speaker are you going to get?
Paradigm or Axiom?
arremie
post Mar 9 2010, 08:43 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

been bz lately havent got the chance to have a date with paradigm. axiom need power amp to sing so might scrap that idea sweat.gif
htkaki
post Mar 9 2010, 09:38 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Mar 9 2010, 08:40 PM)
Taukeh, what speaker are you going to get?
Paradigm or Axiom?
How abt u, boss? tongue.gif
ronaldjoe
post Mar 10 2010, 07:10 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Mar 9 2010, 09:38 PM)
How abt u, boss? tongue.gif
Eilek...
htkaki
post Mar 10 2010, 09:45 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Boss, can you take photo of your setup and e-mail to me? Collecting all the SVS owners' setup photo to put into an album at the shop.

There will be another SVS owner with Klipsch loudspeakers by next week.
zerorulez
post Mar 10 2010, 11:03 AM

1,251 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Mar 9 2010, 08:36 PM)
if return the BDs can take RF52...? drool.gif drool.gif tongue.gif
arremie
post Mar 10 2010, 12:47 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

can. but must add rm2k tongue.gif
s6xs9x
post Mar 10 2010, 03:04 PM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

Or you can return his BD's to me and only add 1.9K for mine ..

Added on March 10, 2010, 3:05 pmBut wait a minute .. how many Bd's are we talking about here .... I put my words on hold first ...

Zero,
You've got a RC62?

This post has been edited by s6xs9x: Mar 10 2010, 03:06 PM
zerorulez
post Mar 10 2010, 11:32 PM

1,251 posts

QUOTE(s6xs9x @ Mar 10 2010, 03:04 PM)
Or you can return his BD's to me and only add 1.9K for mine ..

Added on March 10, 2010, 3:05 pmBut wait a minute .. how many Bd's are we talking about here .... I put my words on hold first ...

Zero,
You've got a RC62?
a'a... just the RC62 for now... waiting for arremie to start bidding on his RF52... ur RF52 want to open bid too also can.. brows.gif

if add 1.9k rugi lor... one of the BD comes with special/limited edition case... tongue.gif

u upgrading too bro? thumbup.gif
arremie
post Mar 11 2010, 12:23 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(zerorulez @ Mar 10 2010, 11:32 PM)
one of the BD comes with special/limited edition case... tongue.gif
oit that one not for sale. took me sometimes to hunt it down sweat.gif
htkaki
post Mar 11 2010, 09:20 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Boss, only RF-83 available now (a pair on display and another is new - down south). The other model need to be ordered.
arremie
post Mar 11 2010, 09:36 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

RF-83 the most expensive sweat.gif
htkaki
post Mar 11 2010, 09:44 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

RF-63 is still a viable option. Only that it takes 2 months to reach our shore.
zerorulez
post Mar 11 2010, 10:14 AM

1,251 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Mar 11 2010, 09:36 AM)
RF-83 the most expensive sweat.gif
janji puas hati..... biggrin.gif
ronaldjoe
post Mar 11 2010, 10:38 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(zerorulez @ Mar 11 2010, 10:14 AM)
janji puas hati..... biggrin.gif
This baby is taking too much space. 20" deep. 50" high shakehead.gif
arremie
post Mar 11 2010, 12:19 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

yeah it's too big
s6xs9x
post Mar 11 2010, 05:10 PM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Mar 11 2010, 12:19 PM)
yeah it's too big
No it wont .. it'll just look fine when u get your 50" .. rclxms.gif
dirtrun
post Mar 11 2010, 05:11 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(s6xs9x @ Mar 11 2010, 05:10 PM)
No it wont .. it'll just look fine when u get your 50" ..  rclxms.gif
Yah man..

I personally like those huge ribbons of Martin Logans ..

D bigger d better..
D
htkaki
post Mar 11 2010, 10:26 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Wait until you have a look at JBL Everest. Auditioned it today. Tested music, songs as well as movies.

Very realistic reproduction. Bass is punchy and tight. I especially like the guitar plucking in Hotel California.

Top Gun never sound so good before. The Tomcat taking off at the opening scene is so powerful that as if I am there. A pair of Everest for the front with a pair of 13-Ultras.

ronaldjoe, you should go and audition. PM me for details.
ronaldjoe
post Mar 11 2010, 11:39 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Mar 11 2010, 09:20 AM)
Boss, only RF-83 available now (a pair on display and another is new - down south). The other model need to be ordered.
Display got cheaper price? tongue.gif

QUOTE(htkaki @ Mar 11 2010, 10:26 PM)
Wait until you have a look at JBL Everest. Auditioned it today. Tested music, songs as well as movies.

Very realistic reproduction. Bass is punchy and tight. I especially like the guitar plucking in Hotel California.

Top Gun never sound so good before. The Tomcat taking off at the opening scene is so powerful that as if I am there. A pair of Everest for the front with a pair of 13-Ultras.

ronaldjoe, you should go and audition. PM me for details.
Think i would miss it as I need to rush back early morning tomorrow.
Hardly have time as just finish jobs on hand.
I go solaris to see see look look when it's set up. biggrin.gif
htkaki
post Mar 15 2010, 05:30 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Mar 11 2010, 11:39 PM)
I go solaris to see see look look when it's set up.  biggrin.gif
It is scheduled to be opened by next week. It is inside Soho. The Jazz Bar is on the ground floor, with it facing the highway.
arremie
post Mar 15 2010, 11:16 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

jazz bar? where?
htkaki
post Mar 15 2010, 11:47 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Soho, Mont Kiara. On ground floor at the back of the building. Very cosy bar and I heard that they hired Ning Baizura as their resident singer (not sure on regular basis or there is a scheduled performance).

arremie
post Mar 15 2010, 11:48 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

ning singing jazz? cant imagine that sweat.gif
htkaki
post Mar 15 2010, 11:56 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Bro, no lah. Not only jazz. A wide spread of genre will be played. Ning will probably belting out those famous songs.

0.0312sec    0.75    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:17 PM