Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V37!, The Orange Legion

albnok
post Feb 16 2010, 04:58 AM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

ieR: LOL perhaps everybody is expecting some gearhead talk about the picture.

Which is a problem here right - we here, don't really talk about meaning of photos.

Sometimes we have to read the mind of the girl - is she fine with her weight and self-image? If she is not, wah damn challenging man.

Yes, people have sued for unsatisfactory quality in pictures, in Malaysia. I don't know if they have won, though.

braindead_fr3ak: Then it's like photography is a checklist, instead of a tool of expression.

And yes, everybody assumes a pro photographer does everything!

As for the boring housing shoot - there might be elements you might not be aware of, until you've had to shoot it. It might look plain, but you might not have noticed how the sky/house exposure is just right - or how there are no people or stray animals in the scene - or other things he/she would've paid attention to. You'd only know when you'd have to shoot it yourself.

He/she may have been asked to take a plain shot of a field so that a house plan can be superimposed on the background.

Seng_Kiat: Yes correct - notice he is using a bright aperture and high ISO.

lugiamcg: Thanks!

Since you have what appears to be newspapers, why not use one of them as a background for the pitcher plant?

#2 makes the pitcher plant look tiny. Why not shoot from below?

Mikeshashimi: It is a bit underexposed - makes it look not very prosperous. It seems either a bit too big in the picture, or could be centered (so it looks like 3 buttons on a shirt.)

neo_lam has got an example of how vibrant a lantern can be.

Wonka: Somehow #1 might work better centered.

Also, check out this very useful tutorial to do a digital Graduated Neutral Density Filter effect:

http://www.ronbigelow.com/articles/neutral...ral-density.htm

I would love to see #2 as a landscape crop. The way they are positioned, with nobody's shadows overlapping, is already very nice! +1 for you if you waited for that.

lwliam: Might be attributed to the randomness of this Alpha Thread version - 37 is the most likely number to be picked when somebody is asked for a number between 1 and 50. Plus 3, 7 and 37 are prime numbers.

hkhk: Was it flourescent light, which flickers by characteristic?

mastering89: If you have the time... take a few steps back and zoom in. You will still have the trees and leaves, but the sunset will be bigger!

Banzai_san: Look to inspiring pictures and try to see what makes them work. Then do the same.
Naka7a
post Feb 16 2010, 08:26 AM

St. Neo
5,417 posts

QUOTE(david890701 @ Feb 16 2010, 02:00 AM)
hello guys, anyone know where can i get my lens fixed in malacca? do PM me. Thanks!
erm... is your lens by sony? there is this sony service centre that is near...erm... opposite senyum.. near the cube .... they are quite ok..
lwliam
post Feb 16 2010, 11:29 AM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

albnok: like that also can? in that case i can add that 3+7 is 10 where 1+0 is 1 ? LOL
lugiamcg
post Feb 16 2010, 12:18 PM

640 posts

albnok - newspapers as a background...sounds cool =D Gotto try that later

freddy manson - If i decrease my aperture size, i'll get a less blurred bg. I scare that the subject won't standout =D
lugiamcg
post Feb 16 2010, 12:22 PM

640 posts

RE: source by hazril

http://acidcow.com/pics/7239-incredible-li...ng-58-pics.html

any1 knows how to create lightpaints by using alphas' without a helping hand n a wireless trigger?
Ahmike
post Feb 16 2010, 12:52 PM

Powered by Carl Zeiss
3,145 posts

QUOTE(lugiamcg @ Feb 16 2010, 12:22 PM)

any1 knows how to create lightpaints by using alphas' without a helping hand n a wireless trigger?
Ahhh long time didnt post here..

let me help you bit... to just start learning try this.

find a dark room or outdoor

1. get a light pen.
2. Set your camera to the "M" mode. And set your camera maybe to begin capturing after 2 or 10 sec second timer (for you to run to the place)
3. Set your shutter to to Bulb mode or anything longer than 2-30 seconds (depending what you want to draw or how long).
4. Set your focus to infinity to avoid out of focus.
5. Hit on your shutter button and proceed to the place you want to draw.
6. Then let your imagination to try diff things and try and error the timing

This post has been edited by Ahmike: Feb 16 2010, 12:53 PM
Ksano
post Feb 16 2010, 12:52 PM

555 posts

QUOTE(lugiamcg @ Feb 16 2010, 12:22 PM)

if dont have the remote... I guess your only time limit is 30 sec hahaha....
but if with remote... can make it to BULB mode I think...

not sure if there is a method of bulb mode where press once to open the shutter and press again to stop lol (only remote for a700/850/900 has it I think)

just set timer 10 sec so that at least you can prepare to stand infront of the camera for light painting..

Daaannngg... playing long shutter and fireworks is cool!!! wayyy more fun then just a torch light hehehe...
looks like time to play with light trails again... its been a while.... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Ksano: Feb 16 2010, 12:57 PM
mastering89
post Feb 16 2010, 01:08 PM

miao miao
2,546 posts

juz went to Digital Mall PJ, got 1 shop at level 1 selling 50mm 1.8 for RM505.. but i ask for filter UV 55mm kenko rm90 lolz...

Added on February 16, 2010, 1:10 pm
QUOTE(Ahmike @ Feb 16 2010, 12:52 PM)

1. get a light pen.
2. Set your camera to the "M" mode. And set your camera maybe to begin capturing after 2 or 10 sec second timer (for you to run to the place)
3. Set your shutter to to Bulb mode or anything longer than 2-30 seconds (depending what you want to draw or how long).
erm tried this b4 inside my room, but room to small sweat.gif
need play outside...
what to set for ISO btw??

This post has been edited by mastering89: Feb 16 2010, 01:10 PM
Mikeshashimi
post Feb 16 2010, 01:20 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

albnok: i took the shot handheld. so i had to pump the iso and use a faster shutter speed. im still trying my hand at night photgraphy..
lugiamcg
post Feb 16 2010, 02:24 PM

640 posts

Ahmike - hmm, 30s might be a good start =D Gotto try that someday. And btw, if i'm in a dark surrounding but there's a lil' ambient lighting, will the image bcome overexposed on 30s?

Ksano - exactly, no wireless trigger = no bulb mode for alphas unless u have some1 there who're willing to hold the shutter button for ya' cry.gif

Ksano - since, u have a long shutter time, i'll suggest u to use a low ISO cause high ISOs are noise friendly =D
Wonka
post Feb 16 2010, 02:55 PM

U n k o â„¢
1,643 posts

Thanks albnok, I will keep that in mind.
Kul | Mo0
post Feb 16 2010, 02:56 PM

Cow's Zeiss
3,844 posts

Walao so fast page 3 already. Sigh this year's ang pao collection bad la. Can only buy used 50mm f1.4. Rather keep and use. LOL.
lugiamcg
post Feb 16 2010, 03:19 PM

640 posts

shot of the day...mussels
c&c as usual, thx =D

This post has been edited by lugiamcg: Feb 16 2010, 03:20 PM
Kul | Mo0
post Feb 16 2010, 03:36 PM

Cow's Zeiss
3,844 posts

lugiamcg : You used very high ISO? The "bokeh" very noisy le. And I find your framing abit weird. ):
neo_lam
post Feb 16 2010, 04:03 PM

Player
1,921 posts

QUOTE(lugiamcg @ Feb 16 2010, 03:19 PM)
c&c as usual, thx =D

a bit noisy and the composition angle too low...should be higher abit...
Seng_Kiat
post Feb 16 2010, 04:08 PM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(Ahmike @ Feb 16 2010, 12:52 PM)

1. get a light pen.
how to set the focus to infinity? in mode bulb mode, do we need to press shutter (a click) to open and and another click to close shutter? Sorry, I dont have my camera here to test .. biggrin.gif ..
hkhk
post Feb 16 2010, 04:17 PM

*&^%$#@!
834 posts

for Alpha's bulb mode.. the shutter is open as long as u pressing the shutter button.. once you release the shutter button, the shutter close.
lugiamcg
post Feb 16 2010, 04:50 PM

640 posts

QUOTE(neo_lam @ Feb 16 2010, 04:03 PM)
a bit noisy and the composition angle too low...should be higher abit...
alright, problem noted.
The noise, err, i dono why, even the NR system doesn't really perform. I was using a high iso btw coz it's in a low light situation. Do u know how to reduce it using pp?
hkhk
post Feb 16 2010, 04:53 PM

*&^%$#@!
834 posts

Alpha Hi-ISO NR only activated at ISO 1600 and above if not mistaken
ieR
post Feb 16 2010, 05:01 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(lugiamcg @ Feb 16 2010, 03:19 PM)
c&c as usual, thx =D

'
this is something new... a good one... it's not perfect (who is to judge what is perfect?) but is indeed a well taken photo...

other then a nice compose... technically, if u have a external flash, it'd be really nice. it's because taken handheld, there are a little soft from handshake. wink.gif

Added on February 16, 2010, 5:03 pm
QUOTE(lugiamcg @ Feb 15 2010, 11:15 PM)

ieR - good point. Ur 1,3,7 n 9 make things clear. I want it to focus on something like 1 n 9. Is it possible by juz using AF?
                  I'll try ur torch method soon =D

go Fn>AF zone> AF local, then use the Dpad to choose ur af point. if u are on the A330 series, errr that i dont really know where to find the option. blush.gif

This post has been edited by ieR: Feb 16 2010, 05:03 PM

125 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0261sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:34 PM