129 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Bottom

Alienware Mothership v3, the official alien armies thread

Michaelbyz23
post Feb 20 2010, 11:53 AM

Sarawak Maju Makmur
4,546 posts

yea cy-yang, i think better don oc straight away once u got it. wait and relax first. let it get a good breathe and warm up first. haha.
im scared to OC also. i think i try to use it for few months first. see whether isit really necessary for me to OC my rig. if its not performing well or up to my expectation, i may wanna try to oc till maximum 1.6ghz or lower if can.
so need to ask sifus here to teach.

cuz i myself also scare will void warranty or spoil the rig. not a real risk taker >.<

cy-yang, i think ur m17x powerful enuf so doesnt really need to oc it ba. hehe tats my point of view. m11x may need some oc cuz its only 1.3ghz and oc-ing only increase by 1 degree. i'l see how then.

This post has been edited by Michaelbyz23: Feb 20 2010, 12:11 PM
SUSBleed_X
post Feb 20 2010, 11:59 AM

220 posts

bros, sorry for disturbing... im planning to buy m11x (cheapest one mah.. i no rich kid wan) n now contemplating a few details, and gor few questions if u guys care to answer... tbh i almost put my order, n thought of these things, so i ask u seniors 1st...

1. do i NEED 3 years complete cover, just in case something happen, or 1 year is enuf alredi? and what kind of cover does it provide, cant seem to find the link to the explanation.

2. for malaysian M11x, does it have the simcard slot (in IGN video, its shows as available as an option)

3. usually how long will it be shipped from day of order, and when shld we pay for the laptop, izzit when stuff arrive or counted frm day of order?

3. im planning to buy the rm3599 and upgrade the processor n not the hdd. shuld i, or its not worth the price increase? i know its cheap only but does it net a big increase in performance?

sorry long question... i think this is the best place to ask as its regarding alienware stuff. tyvm in advance...
Mr.Docter
post Feb 20 2010, 12:04 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

1. do i NEED 3 years complete cover, just in case something happen, or 1 year is enuf alredi? and what kind of cover does it provide, cant seem to find the link to the explanation.
>if you have an extra budget, go for it. it is advisable since if you just choose 1 year and want to extend later, it gonna cost you bomb! sweat.gif

2. for malaysian M11x, does it have the simcard slot (in IGN video, its shows as available as an option)
>i dont think so because there is no rumor at all regarding to this matter.

3. usually how long will it be shipped from day of order, and when shld we pay for the laptop, izzit when stuff arrive or counted frm day of order?
>depending on the status of hardwares availibility. if there is no shortage at all, 10 days or 2 weeks is the most common period to reach your doorstep.

3. im planning to buy the rm3599 and upgrade the processor n not the hdd. shuld i, or its not worth the price increase? i know its cheap only but does it net a big increase in performance?
>it worth it, my friend. really worth nod.gif

sorry long question... i think this is the best place to ask as its regarding alienware stuff. tyvm in advance...
> no problem at all smile.gif

Michaelbyz23
post Feb 20 2010, 12:08 PM

Sarawak Maju Makmur
4,546 posts

yea for question 3 is worth it for rm100 increase of proc.
us need to pay 100usd to get their proc upgraded.
Mr.Docter
post Feb 20 2010, 12:10 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Feb 20 2010, 12:08 PM)
yea for question 3 is worth it for rm100 increase of proc.
us need to pay 100usd to get their proc upgraded.
so what you people waitin for? brows.gif
Michaelbyz23
post Feb 20 2010, 12:13 PM

Sarawak Maju Makmur
4,546 posts

i have a question, does alienware laptop comes with original wallpapers? or there's only one original wallpaper which you have pre-set it during ordering time? or r there a bunch of wallpapers to be found pre-loaded into ur laptop?
what bout urs mr docter?
SUSBleed_X
post Feb 20 2010, 12:16 PM

220 posts

much appreciated. ordering now, with 3 years warranty and upgraded cpu. thanks all for assistance. feel more confident in ordering =D
Michaelbyz23
post Feb 20 2010, 12:19 PM

Sarawak Maju Makmur
4,546 posts

QUOTE(Bleed_X @ Feb 20 2010, 12:16 PM)
much appreciated. ordering now, with 3 years warranty and upgraded cpu. thanks all for assistance. feel more confident in ordering =D
good luck and welcome to da club ^^
which color are u gonna order? black or silver? biggrin.gif decided yet?€
Mr.Docter
post Feb 20 2010, 12:20 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Feb 20 2010, 12:13 PM)
i have a question, does alienware laptop comes with original wallpapers? or there's only one original wallpaper which you have pre-set it during ordering time? or r there a bunch of wallpapers to be found pre-loaded into ur laptop?
what bout urs mr docter?
no nope. you will have a set of wallpaper where you cannot download it anywhere else. its like 6 or 8 wallpapers available, not 1 only smile.gif

QUOTE(Bleed_X @ Feb 20 2010, 12:16 PM)
pleasure.
just post your question here and we will try to help laugh.gif
teikwing
post Feb 20 2010, 12:26 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 20 2010, 08:16 AM)
Looking at h0M3bReW3r's case, several factors comes into light.

1. I don't know about anyone here, but if I get a hard drive based laptop, I would NEVER flip or move around the laptop while it is booting up. Especially during first bootup. Just look at how he treats it during the unboxing video. Flip left, right, even tip it up and under so that he can video-record the underside for the lighting on the exhaust port! Now either the HDD itself has SMART capabilities to autoshut to prevent HDD head diving into the platter itself or not, this is a big no-no! Those action alone may have created bad sectors onto the drive, even more critical when it is his first bootup!

2. From what I read, his OC is fine with 1.6, but crashed at 1.73. Question is, where did he do his overclocking on? On that soft bed he did the unboxing? Covering the exhaust port underneath the laptop with bedsheets is only asking for trouble, especially when you are OCing the laptop. Heat needs to dissipate fast, and covering the only exit vent will only cause internal temp to rise and eventually? System shutdown due to excessive temperature.

3. Personally, I'm happy with 1.6Ghz. I plan to OC it that way. From the hardwareheaven review, the OCing penalty is almost begligible, only 1C temp rise. Stressing it to 1.73? Well, take it this way lah. I had engineering samples of the Athlon FX processor years ago during my overclocking days. Even with these engineering samples which are supposed to be superior than retail version, you are still up to a measure of luck to see if your batch overclocks better or performs only slightly better than retail processors. You take chances, there is no sure thing when it comes to overclocking. Too many variables are involved, INCLUDING the ambient environment variables like ample airflow, circulating surrounding temperature, your method of transporting away the hot air away from the processor so that it performs better, and such.

The point here is, the laptop performs fine as it is advertised. If you're buying it based on its overclocking abilities, then it is already the wrong reason to buy it. Alienware, IIANM, never advertised it as overclockable-steady nor does the machine itself is intended to do so. Only the hardware geeks among us who wants to push the poor little thing to its limits would want to risk doing so.

EDIT: Reading back again, it's reported that he hasn't any temp issues. In that case, more like it is about the power draw from the power supply unit. Undervolting may work, but that remains to be seen, or tried by the guys who already have their M11X.

Again, this happens only during the excessive 1.73 overclock. I'd take 1.6 anytime and be happy with it. Don't know how much faster you can do things with a mere 0.13Ghz of extra processor speed.
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 20 2010, 08:33 AM)
Also important point brought up by NBR member krackmonkey:-
Incidentally, an A01 BIOS is already in the Dell Support section at this link. Whether this is already the one in the M11X when it ships or a new one, I cant tell since I have not received mine yet.

Long story short, relaaaaaaaaaaaaaaax.
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 20 2010, 10:47 AM)
Looks like they're speaking the truth. A refreshing change.

Shipped! rclxms.gif
string, same status for me. looks like we might receive our system on the same day? smile.gif

on the OC side, i can live with 1.3Ghz. don't see the point of 1.6/1.73 unless when i really need it. still, will see how's the reviews from peeps in NBR to decide to go for 1.6 or 1.73 or stick with stock 1.3.

This post has been edited by teikwing: Feb 20 2010, 12:27 PM
SUSBleed_X
post Feb 20 2010, 12:44 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Feb 20 2010, 12:19 PM)
good luck and welcome to da club ^^
which color are u gonna order? black or silver? biggrin.gif decided yet?€
its gonna be black, most of my gear is black.. and black goes with everything. hehe...
now im pening abt the flexi payment. got no cash to pay all one shot laa... haizzz
Michaelbyz23
post Feb 20 2010, 12:45 PM

Sarawak Maju Makmur
4,546 posts

you mean installment? you got credit card and income shouldnt be a problem. try call dell sales agent and get aid from there. they will tell you what to do smile.gif
SUSBleed_X
post Feb 20 2010, 12:50 PM

220 posts

ya i got maybank credit card. think yea i shld call em... ill find the number from dell website now. thanks ya...
maxpudding
post Feb 20 2010, 12:54 PM

162 posts

there's a 12 months zero interest plan installment scheme if you're buying from dell

edit:- only for maybank credit card btw

This post has been edited by maxpudding: Feb 20 2010, 12:55 PM
trogdor1oh1
post Feb 20 2010, 01:49 PM

101 posts

I have a question for anyone who's ordered from the Dell website.
How long does it take to ship?

My dad is overseas, if he wants to buy an M15x for my birthday present could he use his credit card from there and just pay to have it shipped to my house here?
TSFindingScreemo
post Feb 20 2010, 01:51 PM

BOOO!
707 posts

QUOTE(trogdor1oh1 @ Feb 20 2010, 01:49 PM)
I have a question for anyone who's ordered from the Dell website.
How long does it take to ship?

My dad is overseas, if he wants to buy an M15x for my birthday present could he use his credit card from there and just pay to have it shipped to my house here?
Yea, that's possible. IIRC, there's an option for billing and shipping address. smile.gif
hye
post Feb 20 2010, 02:04 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

Those wanting to upgrade their warranty from 1 year to 3 years with complete cover, can do so but need to call in to their SA right when they get their notebook.

You'll pay slightly more than the RM473 listed in the system.
teikwing
post Feb 20 2010, 02:24 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(maxpudding @ Feb 20 2010, 12:54 PM)
there's a 12 months zero interest plan installment scheme if you're buying from dell

edit:- only for maybank credit card btw
the 0% installment plan applies to Citibank redit cardholders as well.

QUOTE(hye @ Feb 20 2010, 02:04 PM)
Those wanting to upgrade their warranty from 1 year to 3 years with complete cover, can do so but need to call in to their SA right when they get their notebook.

You'll pay slightly more than the RM473 listed in the system.
it cost RM500-ish to upgrade to 2-years complete cover and more like RM800-1K to upgrade to 3-years. sweat.gif
ff8ong
post Feb 20 2010, 02:57 PM

2,550 posts

Already send an email to my SA, this time i mad.gif mad.gif them already. Ask them stop telling me excuse. tongue.gif
I have no other option since my order remain in "order received" for 2 weeks till today, which company take 2 week+ to receive customer
order ohmy.gif
Michaelbyz23
post Feb 20 2010, 03:01 PM

Sarawak Maju Makmur
4,546 posts

the warranty is not international warranty rite? if somethin happens to ur laptop but ur not in malaysia, u cant send it for repair under warranty?

129 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0269sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:37 PM