giggsyy
post Mar 4 2010, 10:44 PM

846 posts

QUOTE(DalphinuS @ Mar 4 2010, 10:14 PM)
Hahaah... Like AirAsia...

Now Everyone Can own an AlienWare!!!
lol Now Everyone Can own a mini AlienWare.. laugh.gif

btw guys, can a M17x fit into the orion backpack? screemo? if it can, can it fit another 15.4 inch dell inspiron? laugh.gif
TSFindingScreemo
post Mar 4 2010, 10:50 PM

BOOO!
707 posts

QUOTE(giggsyy @ Mar 4 2010, 10:44 PM)
lol Now Everyone Can own a mini AlienWare.. laugh.gif

btw guys, can a M17x fit into the orion backpack? screemo? if it can, can it fit another 15.4 inch dell inspiron?  laugh.gif
Yea, it is built to fit in two 17" lappie. Should be ok for 2 M17x if i'm not wrong. smile.gif
lawhsee
post Mar 4 2010, 10:50 PM

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Mar 4 2010, 09:23 PM)

Pricetags of the accessories I have for the M11X:

Razer Kabuto = RM69, Razer Goliathus = RM69, Razer Mamba = RM459, Sennheiser PC350 = AUD169.99, Logitech G35 = RM355, Sensonic slot-loading external DVD-writer drive = RM129.

Hi String,

Which shop in lowyat you bought the Sensonic slot-loading external DVD-writer drive?
Price is RM129?(Previous you posted is RM188?)
giggsyy
post Mar 4 2010, 11:00 PM

846 posts

QUOTE(FindingScreemo @ Mar 4 2010, 10:50 PM)
Yea, it is built to fit in two 17" lappie. Should be ok for 2 M17x if i'm not wrong. smile.gif
Thanks for the quick reply bro smile.gif

Guys, need opinion of those who used to own an alienware...How long can an alienware lappie last before it becomes outdated and cant play the latest games? outdated = even with minimum settings, the game is unplayable.
TSFindingScreemo
post Mar 4 2010, 11:02 PM

BOOO!
707 posts

QUOTE(giggsyy @ Mar 4 2010, 11:00 PM)
Thanks for the quick reply bro smile.gif

Guys, need opinion of those who used to own an alienware...How long can an alienware lappie last before it becomes outdated and cant play the latest games? outdated = even with minimum settings, the game is unplayable.
Welcome, am doing revisions for exams. lol.
Well, the current line up will last you for at least 4 years i guess. this is pretty subjective i supposed.
look at core 2 duo proc, it's still sustainable in today's market, tho it is slowly fading out.
so imo, it's gonna last at least 4 years, if you can resist the temptation to change to another alien during that period of time lol tongue.gif
Azurika
post Mar 4 2010, 11:03 PM

Power to Leverage
1,721 posts

that heavily depents on technology growth ....
trogdor1oh1
post Mar 4 2010, 11:04 PM

101 posts

My computer wasn't of gaming standard 5 years ago and I can play Left 4 Dead 2 and Street Fighter 4 :V
Azurika
post Mar 4 2010, 11:13 PM

Power to Leverage
1,721 posts

there is a big difference in laptop and desktop performance u know ... 5 years ago was geforce 8 series era , u can max all settings on Street Fighter 4 ? o.O
giggsyy
post Mar 4 2010, 11:18 PM

846 posts

QUOTE(FindingScreemo @ Mar 4 2010, 11:02 PM)
Welcome, am doing revisions for exams. lol.
Well, the current line up will last you for at least 4 years i guess. this is pretty subjective i supposed.
look at core 2 duo proc, it's still sustainable in today's market, tho it is slowly fading out.
so imo, it's gonna last at least 4 years, if you can resist the temptation to change to another alien during that period of time lol tongue.gif
All the best in your exams Screemo..lol

Hmm...cos i was thinking isit better to get a good desktop i7-920, good graphic card, etc or get an alienware with i7-720QM, gtx260 graphics....cos the price would nearly be the same...i do play games, but only occasionally simply because my current lappie cant support todays games anymore..and its only been 3 years..lol. And a desktop with good specs would eventually be outdated in like 4-5 years? which is roughly the same time with an alienware...lol..I do like the idea of mobility gaming...although im thinking isit practical to carry the alienware all over...cos i know that thing is heavier than conventional laptops...i do go around with my lappie but not all the time. but the brand really makes me drool.gif laugh.gif but the price makes me sweat.gif
NeOCzx
post Mar 4 2010, 11:21 PM

hmmm... i have a question...
do disamble ur alienware..(e.g remove ur grapic card for dust service) void the warranty?
lately my gfx temp reach 102 celcius.. make me scare lol..
Azurika
post Mar 4 2010, 11:23 PM

Power to Leverage
1,721 posts

AW is a heavy burden but good results xP for me , i got my AW for portable gaming and is slowly building up a desktop on the way..

Added on March 4, 2010, 11:24 pm
QUOTE(NeOCzx @ Mar 4 2010, 11:21 PM)
hmmm... i have a question...
do disamble ur alienware..(e.g remove ur grapic card for dust service) void the warranty?
lately my gfx temp reach 102 celcius.. make me scare lol..
102 ???? what model u using ? and no , all dell laptops will not void ur warranty if u take out parts , but will u if u damage them.
If ur using a m17x , id realy say good luck in taking out the gc tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Azurika: Mar 4 2010, 11:24 PM
stringfellow
post Mar 4 2010, 11:32 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(0300078 @ Mar 4 2010, 09:54 PM)
damn bro String all ur stuff look so cool.

I am still deciding between Mamba and Orochi........ cant make up my mind. As for the Mat.... as long as it works well i dun care.
Then about Headphone i will straight go for the Sennheiser 595.... game or wat.... my main purpose will still be music.
As for optical drive...... as for now..... no idea. Maybe wont even bother getting one.
Bag.... still surveying, maybe gonna visit LYP this Sat or Sun.
But i am low on budget currently.... still considering using my money for the Driving Cockpit Obutto but GT5 not out yet..... even bought it now also will be putting aside onli.
Looking cool is a bonus, the most important thing is they work as advertised. The Sensonic drive works as advertised with its silent-drive mechanism. Slim enough to be considered as no extra bulk at all into the Hedgren. Between Mamba and Orochi, if lightning fast reflexes isn't one of your main concern, Orochi is plenty enough. I just like the fact that the Mamba cradle lights up as well. Keeps the lighting theme going on between them. I have my own music headphones, they are separate from my gaming and/or headphones for work. I'm big on noise-cancelling 'phones, so Bose QC3 and the Sennheiser PCX350 are my companion. Yes, people balk and scoff at Bose, but the QC3 works as advertised as well, and unplugged, I use it as a standalone noise-cancelling while sleeping onboard the aircraft, free from the engine drones. The PCX350 itself are aviation-certified, used by aircraft engineers for their walk-around in noisy terminal environment.

My point here is, different circumstances necessitates different equipments. Mamba/Orochi for gaming, and MX Air for the Freespace convenience in operating the Mac Mini/Apple TV/HT setup at home. Same goes for the headphones. The 595 is certainly no slouch aurally, but when you pair it as a gaming headphones, the best you'd get would still be a stereo audio. A damn good stereo representation no doubt, but games have moved beyond stereo into the realm of surround sound.
NeOCzx
post Mar 4 2010, 11:35 PM

Y? taking the GC very hard?
yes.. im using m17x T_T
before is not so hot... about 77 celcius when i play GTA4 or crysis..
now its 102 celcius.. OMG!
now play HL2 also lagging..
once ur GFX hot it will throttle the speed.. only restart pc can fix it..T_T
maybe after this i will consider laptop cooler not for cooling purpose.. but for filter the air from dust..

trogdor1oh1
post Mar 4 2010, 11:36 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(NeOCzx @ Mar 5 2010, 12:35 AM)
yes.. im using m17x T_T
maybe after this i will consider laptop cooler not for cooling purpose.. but for filter the air from dust..
Most likely dust la. Do what I do with my laptop now, take out the vacuum cleaner and suck up all the vents rclxms.gif
Azurika
post Mar 4 2010, 11:37 PM

Power to Leverage
1,721 posts

QUOTE(NeOCzx @ Mar 4 2010, 11:35 PM)
yes.. im using m17x T_T
for the m17x , u have to remove ur whole keyboard , the top part to remove ur gc which is located at the top left and top right of ur lappy ...
102 a , my advise is call up dell easier =.= should not be that high ...
stringfellow
post Mar 4 2010, 11:40 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(lawhsee @ Mar 4 2010, 10:50 PM)
Hi String,

Which shop in lowyat you bought the Sensonic slot-loading external DVD-writer drive?
Price is RM129?(Previous you posted is RM188?)
Pardon the mistake, I was thinking of another brand. Yes, it is RM188. The post before is now corrected. The RM129 is one of the no-name brand I see which have the drive packaged inside a brown cardboard box with no documentations and just the drive with USB cable.
NeOCzx
post Mar 4 2010, 11:44 PM

hehe.... already open the GFX card...
2 back cover screw + 2 front panel screw + 5 keyboard screw + 2 screw open the black plate covering the GFX heatsink + 2 screw at the GFX itself...
then POP! voila! the GC came out... so many dust in there... thanks for my RM2.xx tesco toothbrush its now already clean...
idle at 46 celcius... XDXD
Azurika
post Mar 4 2010, 11:46 PM

Power to Leverage
1,721 posts

lolx , good job smile.gif yea , the plus point of AW laptop is there are very few screws ~.~ compared to many others my frens using.
stringfellow
post Mar 4 2010, 11:51 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(giggsyy @ Mar 4 2010, 11:18 PM)
All the best in your exams Screemo..lol

Hmm...cos i was thinking isit better to get a good desktop i7-920, good graphic card, etc or get an alienware with i7-720QM, gtx260 graphics....cos the price would nearly be the same...i do play games, but only occasionally simply because my current lappie cant support todays games anymore..and its only been 3 years..lol. And a desktop with good specs would eventually be outdated in like 4-5 years? which is roughly the same time with an alienware...lol..I do like the idea of mobility gaming...although im thinking isit practical to carry the alienware all over...cos i know that thing is heavier than conventional laptops...i do go around with my lappie but not all the time. but the brand really makes me  drool.gif  laugh.gif but the price makes me  sweat.gif
The case in point here is, your own definition of what's portable. Heavyset folks have no qualms in lugging around larger laptops because they can afford to do so, strength-wise. Others may not wanna be burden by the encumbrance and/or weight. I had a 17inch Qosmio maxxed out at one time and I told myself that I can carry this around, because I want a powerful laptop with me wherever I go. Long story short, I ended up with sore shoulders, an increasingly painful back and the challenging situation of rearranging stuff around small tables in my favourite spots like Starbucks without looking like I'm setting up an office there! laugh.gif In the end, the Qosmio now already happy pass ownership to a nice South African friend of mine, who he himself is treating it like a desktop instead of anything portable (ie a laptop).

Which is why I draw the line to maximum of 15 inch for me to lug it around and for the laptop itself to be considered a "portable" unit. Anything more than that size, and the weight that comes with it, would probably have me revisit the same situation I had with the Qosmio before. And now, comparing the M11X and my old M15X, even though the M15X has more power under its hood, I'd rather game on the M11X because it is always with me all the time. A gaming laptop is only useful when it is being used, and for it to be used, it needs to be with you all the time. If a "laptop" is predestined to stay on a particular spot most, if not all the time, getting a desktop is more logical than a laptop.

My routine now, I carry my M11X everywhere I go. Because it is now "portable" enough, in terms of size and weight, to do so.

ADDENDUM: This would probably be the next mouse to get!

trogdor1oh1
post Mar 5 2010, 12:02 AM

101 posts

Imo even it's an M17x, you set it up as a desktop, but it's still portable enough in a sense that it's not TOO much of a hassle to bring it else where to set it up as a desktop, minus the excessive wires, peripherals, etc.
I.E. Lan parties, balik kampung, bring to a friend's house....

129 Pages « < 67 68 69 70 71 > » Top

0.0271sec    0.92    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:27 PM