Technical Playstation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V5, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Discussion

jedi_dc
post Mar 28 2010, 11:14 PM

2,273 posts

it was laggy for me even though my internet speed is fine, MAG was horrible, kept time-warping..

This post has been edited by jedi_dc: Mar 28 2010, 11:14 PM
jedi_dc
post Aug 14 2010, 10:57 PM

2,273 posts

QUOTE(ecs33 @ Aug 14 2010, 12:48 PM)
Hi all,

Just to ask, regards to ps3 problems.

Recently, while playing or watching movies via ps3, my screen will go black for few seconds and resumed back to normal. The ps3 is working fine, whereas the games continue as usual,... kinda strange. It happens quite often now...

Any idea what`s the reason? Hdmi cable? Overheat? Or ps3 updates??

Thanx
Regarding your problem , I myself have experienced it before too. The problem was fixed after i replaced my HDMI cable . But before doing that, i would suggest you to plug the HDMI cable into another port on the TV /monitor? It might be loose too. Try that and see if it works smile.gif

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Does anyone here have problems with their Phat PS3 fan going into fullspeed? ( sounds like jet-engine )

I've had the problem .. so i thought , Before risking a YLOD by ignoring the loud fan.. I should open it up and clean it clean..

I did exactly that, cleaning the whole ps3 and replacing the stock thermal grease ( which was not crusty, but looks bad )

I replaced it with Tuniq TX-3 thermal compound .

After that , my Phat 40gb ps3 has never made any jet-engine noise since ( touchwood ) biggrin.gif . Though , i'm beginning to wonder if I might have damaged the temperature sensor for the fan to adjust its speed ... hmm.gif

I played MAG about 6 hours with no loud fan noise compared to last time where it goes fullspeed after 20 minutes.

Recommended to those who want to prevent YLOD for PHAT PS3 , Better to be safe than sorry aye? whistling.gif

Here are some photos taken .

Attached Image A little crusty.
Attached Image Stock thermal paste cleaned using Isopropyl wipes
Attached Image Notice the HUGE fan and heatsinks . shocking.gif
jedi_dc
post Aug 21 2010, 02:44 PM

2,273 posts

QUOTE(ffSeeD @ Aug 21 2010, 11:25 AM)
not sure if I shld post here, but had this prob just now :-

1. started my PS3, the light was green
2. couple sec later, heard d "beep" sound... 3-4 times. then, red light blinking
3. pressed d on/off again. red light stop blinking
4. started my PS3 again, same thing happened (1-3)
5. tried holding d on/off for few sec, went 2 d display setup (I think that's wat u called it)
6. re-setup the display and sound again
7. off d PS3 and on again. seems 2 b ok......

just wondering, is this a symptom of something? mine's a 2-year plus PS3. casual gamer. thx
seems that ur PS3 might be overheating.. Does it go extremely loud ( turbo fan ) during ur games? if it does, its a sign that u should change ur thermal paste inside. Or else u might have permanent YLOD. sad.gif

Or maybe u placed ur ps3 in a area with little ventilation?

hello all

can i no much detail how the suitable way to cool our ps3 console especially phat ps3

bcoz mine is ps3 phat 40gb

rite now is wat im doing im placing my ps3 in my room (with air condition)plus i also use usb fan im placing at beside the ps3 to make cool air flow thru the hot air been released by ps3..

so my question is.. izit my way is 1 one the correct way to maintain cooling my ps3(afaid YLOD)?
Mine is the same set as urs , 40gb phat.

Here's a hint before ps3 gonna YLOD , Fan often goes super loud like vacuum.. If it does that , Time to change thermal paste nod.gif . Changed mine recently , posted a little guide on preventing YLOD few pages back..

After changing thermal paste, everything silent. no more crazy loud fan even if im playing whole day ( 8 hours or so ) .. Trust me, u dont want a fried GPU / CPU unit in ur ps3. smile.gif

This post has been edited by jedi_dc: Aug 21 2010, 02:45 PM
jedi_dc
post Sep 8 2010, 08:57 PM

2,273 posts

might be cable loose.. simple problems sometimes. laugh.gif
jedi_dc
post Sep 10 2010, 01:29 AM

2,273 posts

QUOTE(shikamaruam @ Sep 9 2010, 11:37 PM)
ow man....n i thought i got a good bargain. i bought the converter at sg.wang at rm40. got "axed" kaw2...didn't know caffour also sell the converter...gonna buy another another one at caffour instead.thanks for da enlightenment.

two is the max no. u can connect the converter right?as there are only two usb slot
i believe u can use a USB hub to provide more USB ports for the converter? i may be wrong though as im not sure about the power output from the usb port...

USB hub very cheap now, RM 10 - 20 can get a decent one thumbup.gif
jedi_dc
post Sep 13 2010, 12:54 PM

2,273 posts

QUOTE(wanttobuylaptop @ Sep 13 2010, 12:09 PM)
slim 160 white color..
bottom gets real hot after 5-6 hours playing FFxiii...
If it makes u less worried, go for the stand, the PS3 slim has less heat compared to the ps3 phat . ( my ps3 phat can make a wooden table warm when placed on top for a long time.. )

Honestly, Place the ps3 in a well ventilated area and your good to go laugh.gif

jedi_dc
post Sep 13 2010, 01:18 PM

2,273 posts

QUOTE(skypie @ Sep 13 2010, 01:01 PM)
lol sound that the heat can cook stuff
i would think so too. luckily got that gigantic fan to blow off the heat .. ( have to preserve the Phat species... brows.gif )
jedi_dc
post Sep 17 2010, 08:57 PM

2,273 posts

QUOTE(shahreza2000 @ Sep 17 2010, 08:02 PM)
since my pc always on, i hook my ps3 to the pc sound card input (either optical or line in)... pc sound card output both sounds (pc and ps3) to the pc speaker...
How much is the Optical output Cable to Input line? blush.gif

Recently tried hooking it up through TV Audio out, but doesnt work.. sad.gif
jedi_dc
post Sep 19 2010, 03:59 PM

2,273 posts

QUOTE(Cheapodude @ Sep 19 2010, 01:04 PM)
Hi people. Plan to get myself a PS3 after playing much with my PSP. I see in the market there are 320GB PS3 Slim which are selling. What's the difference between Singapore set and Malaysia set? Would yo all recommend me buying that? Would getting a 'usb unlock' cause the PS3 to be instable (hopefully this could be discuss here) since having a big hardisk would fulfill it's purpose? I did ask around the shop and some shop don't recommend me to 'usb unlock' it because they say 'all this time people buy ori game, so should use it... non ori will spoilt you PS3'. Yeah... right. But again, I need you expert opinion on this. Is the PS Move joystick can be a replacement for the Dual Shock joystick? And finally, since my TV at home being use for watching Astro, would you all suggest me getting an LCD Monitor with HDMI jack as a cheaper display for the PS3? Hope to hear from you all smile.gif Plan to splurge big time on this PS3 or should I wait for the 500GB one?
Well, the difference between a malaysia and singapore set is the warranty. U cant Send a singapore set to malaysia sony centre. Do take note that u can change the internal HDD urself , just keep the stock HDD to claim warranty if needed. I recommend a Malaysia set if u have the extra cash due to the warranty purpose. USB unlock , or Jailbreak PS3 is illegal and still in early phase, If u plan to play online, trophy collecting , I highly recommend u not to play pirated games , u might get banned permanently from accessing playstation network from ur ps3, MAC Address ban ( Though this is not confirmed yet , as no one as experienced getting banned so far . sweat.gif ) . So yeah , Non-Ori might spoil the ps3 blush.gif . PS move is a different type of gaming device used for the ps3, the PS3 DS3 works for all games except those that require the PS move support. an LCD monitor as a monitor for the PS3 is a good choice , Due to the small screen compared to a LCD TV , pictures will look stunning! drool.gif especially on fullHD 1080p.
jedi_dc
post Sep 19 2010, 08:54 PM

2,273 posts

QUOTE(Cheapodude @ Sep 19 2010, 07:34 PM)
As for the LCD monitor, I guess I'm getting the 23' type as the 27' is a bit to pricey for now. I guess as long as it LED and got the HDMI port on it, it should be able to display full HD 1080p right? smile.gif Thanks for the advise.
Some LED with HDMI ports support up to 720p ( HD Ready) smile.gif . Must get Full HD icon_rolleyes.gif
jedi_dc
post Sep 20 2010, 02:13 PM

2,273 posts

QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Sep 20 2010, 11:35 AM)
how to check bro?  hmm.gif
yes...the worst part is it's stated SONY at the DS3 and used same packing as the original one
Usually those that are Full HD 1080p will state so on the box / sticker on the monitor . ( advertisement thing, ) Those that are HD ready 720p will also state there.

So, as long as u see the word Full HD ,ur good to go tongue.gif

Yes, i've saw quite alot of imitation and original DS3.

Funny thing is, fake DS3 costs about 10-20 ringgit less. ( not much for a poor quality build ), so get original!

Differences are as below :

Fake DS3 has slightly taller buttons ( protruding upwards , very noticeable )
Fake DS3 has cheap plastic build ( Not as smooth as the Original DS3 , rough edges at the joints )
Fake DS3 have more colors ( Not the original White Black Silver Blue Red ) , eg : gold .
There is a screw under the sticker behind the DS3.

These are the common differences to look out for.

Though , performance wise no difference at all tongue.gif

0.0448sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:14 AM