Technical Playstation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V5, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Discussion

geekster129
post Mar 5 2010, 02:16 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(dlyz @ Mar 5 2010, 02:03 PM)
Guys why are R3 games cheaper than R1 and R2?

There is a lot of pages to go thru and i felt asking would be quicker.
Probably due to the exchange rate. If you're buying R1, you're buying from a US distributor, which simply means, you're paying USD for the game, don't forget about the shipping cost as well, since we are buying an imported product.

This post has been edited by geekster129: Mar 5 2010, 02:19 PM
geekster129
post Mar 5 2010, 10:57 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(dlyz @ Mar 5 2010, 02:39 PM)
The contents is identical? as in they all play in full hd? got ppl tell me R3 is only 720p
There still aren't many games out there that are in 1080p. 90% of all the games are still 720p regardless of the region.
geekster129
post Mar 16 2010, 09:08 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

The HDMI questions has been on in this thread for more than a year.

I have recently listened to a podcast that clarifies many things about HDMI and here is what they have to say:

http://twit.tv/htg11

Q: How many types of HDMI cables are there?
A: Four types, according to HDMI licensing: HDMI Standard, HDMI High Speed, HDMI Standard with Ethernet, HDMI High Speed with Ethernet.

HDMI Standard is able to carry a maximum bandwidth of ~4.2Gbps which is capable of delivering high definition content of up to 720p/1080i.

HDMI High Speed is able to carry a maximum bandwidth of ~10.2Gbps which has enough bandwidth to deliver a full 1080p signal and even up to 4K.

Q: Are expensive HDMI cables always better than regular HDMI cables? Am I going to get better colors and image quality?
A: The HDMI licensing board has defined a minimum specification for HDMI cables and, as long as it can comply with the specifications (delivering content up to certain bandwidth, etc), in other words, if a standard HDMI cable meet the specs, then there wouldn't be such thing as it underperform than other more expensive HDMI cables (better image quality, etc.) If the manafacturer says that gold plated HDMI cables have better image quality, then the manufacturer would have to justify its claims that upsells their product.

Q: I don't get any picture when connecting my PS3 to my LCD TV. Could it be because my HDMI cable is faulty?
A: It may be because it is faulty, and sometimes, not really the case. Some of the issues has been traced to HDCP (High Definition Copy Protection) incompatibility between devices. Sometimes it could be solved by firmware upgrade (if it can be supported by the TV). One way to test is to try using another HDCP--compliant device such as a camcorder or laptop, plug it into your TV with the HDMI cable and test. If it works, then it may not be cable problem, but actually HDCP issue.

Hope that helps. smile.gif

This post has been edited by geekster129: Mar 16 2010, 09:14 PM
geekster129
post Mar 16 2010, 09:10 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(waishingren @ Mar 16 2010, 08:48 PM)
Is it quite posible the hdmi port faulty? Cuz i have been googling around and so far no results.

Sony if check and end up having no problem, they wont charge anything?
Sometimes, Sony could end up finding no problem. Maybe because it is the HDCP issue, and so happened that maybe for example they test it with a Bravia which doesn't have HDCP issue with your PS3 and it works with the PS3, they may conclude that there is no problem with your PS3.

geekster129
post Apr 1 2010, 01:39 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(lightastral @ Apr 1 2010, 09:46 AM)
dear sifus,

after 3 days of trying, i would to ask your opinion on my hdmi connectivity issue. hdtv is pioneer 428xg directly to a fat ps3.

1. connect using composite and change to hdmi in xmb - blank screen.
2. unplugging everything, wait 5 minute, plug composite and hdmi, press i/o button until second beep, change to hdmi channel - blank screen
3. same as 2 but press i/o button from red to green to red (reset ps3 to lowest resolution - correct if my method is wrong) - blank screen.
4. the message hdmi device detected, do you want to output video and audio pop up, but when i press yes blank screen on both composite and hdmi channel.
5. sometimes on the hdmi channel, tv info will show hdmi, 576p,36bit but theres blank screen and flashes of green, grey half screen..
6. change to another hdmi cable, port etc still same result.
7. test cable and port to astro byond. no problem at all...

i ve yet to test the ps3 to another hdtv, the nagging question is this a handshake issue or the hdmi port on ps3 is faulty..

if its a handshake issue, ive googled and didnt found any 428xg user complaining, in fact one or two forummers with the same chain as i is having no problem...is this hshake issue can be unique to specific hardware sets?

thanks in advance..
Maybe you can check whether your 428xg has the same firmware version as theirs?
geekster129
post Apr 30 2010, 08:17 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(ericpires @ Apr 30 2010, 11:45 AM)
Can't eject my WE10 disc from my YLOD PS3. I tried holding eject n switching on the power button but it will blink yellow then red. Any other method?
Here's a quick instructional video that I have made earlier:

Added on April 30, 2010, 8:44 pm
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Apr 27 2010, 04:52 PM)
Ah re-sync, my bad.
My mistake, didn't read properly.

Just attach the USB cable and reconnect the controller to your PS3 then.
That's the same question I asked my friends on Facebook tongue.gif

"How to say 're-pair' a bluetooth device?"

This post has been edited by geekster129: Apr 30 2010, 08:44 PM
geekster129
post May 8 2010, 08:26 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(xanax @ May 8 2010, 03:15 AM)
i connect directly from my wireless modem to my ps3 via Ethernet cable and i still get NAT 2 isnt it suppose to be nat 1. iam puzzled

Added on May 8, 2010, 5:01 pmi'd like to ask which lcd monitors have
hdmi
composite rgb (av in/out)
dvi or dvi-d
vga
also an in built speaker

* size around 20 -24 inches reason i want to hook up my ps3 and ps2
If you're getting NAT2, that means there are still some filtering going on in your modem, probably it has some router functionality.

geekster129
post May 9 2010, 08:56 AM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(wanteddog @ May 9 2010, 03:53 AM)
Kinda silly question but I have an R3 PS3 game, i can use the Malaysian PSN to buy the DLC right? and also, can I play the Malaysian bought DLC using my US account? meaning can I use R3 DLC in R1 server? Thanks
The game software (Blu-ray disc) region and the DLC region must match, for the case of region locks.

E.g. I bought an R3 Uncharted 2. So, I must buy it from R3 stores (Malaysia, Singapore, HK, etc.). But playing it with whichever account doesn't matter.
geekster129
post May 10 2010, 11:37 AM

Janitor
1,180 posts

Guys, please comment whether this setup/arrangement will provide enough ventilation for my baby:

My previous phat was having roughly the same arrangement, but YLODed.... sad.gif

Planning to get a stand with fan soon.

This post has been edited by geekster129: May 10 2010, 11:50 AM
geekster129
post May 10 2010, 12:24 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(all blacks @ May 10 2010, 12:10 PM)
Bro r u planning to get the pega PS3 slim stand wic comes with fan?
How does it look like?

geekster129
post May 12 2010, 03:54 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(xanax @ May 12 2010, 12:16 PM)
can anyone suggest which wired ADSL modem is good for the PS3.
I first used Billion, then D-Link ADSL modem. So far both serves quite a good performance. For wireless switch/router I used Netgear. Range can go past 2 floors.
geekster129
post May 13 2010, 08:33 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(Bishop @ May 12 2010, 05:26 PM)
finally getting screamyx installed in my house. It comes with a free wireless router. Is that good enough for online games? thinking of playing SFIV online.

I applied for a 4mb line and they coming to check my connection the next few days. I will be using direct connection from the router to my PS3 slim. Is their router good enough or do I need to buy another router. (I dont know what router that they will be giving me)
What's the ping latency to USA servers? I heard 4mb is a holy grail line for gamers. thumbup.gif

TM router is usually Billion/Aztec/Riger branded.

This post has been edited by geekster129: May 13 2010, 08:35 PM
geekster129
post May 14 2010, 02:06 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

anyone has tried unifi for gaming?
geekster129
post May 18 2010, 02:44 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(seihowe @ May 18 2010, 02:13 PM)
i just got a ps3 (CECH-2106B) singapore edition. i registered an account in the playstation network. when i try to register my product, it did registered but says ' this is not the warranty registration'. what went wrong and what should i do to get the 90 days extra warranty?
You should go to Sony Singapore website for warranty registration.

http://www.sony.com.sg/section/home

This post has been edited by geekster129: May 18 2010, 02:44 PM
geekster129
post May 24 2010, 03:10 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(shadowblack @ May 24 2010, 03:03 PM)
To play a game,i know.On ps3,put cd then play.But how to turn off when we done playing? Eject cd 1st? Press button off 1st?
Graceful Shutdown
============

1. Hold down the PS button on your controller, until a list of choices shown on screen.
2. Select "Quit Game"
3. Alternatively, press the PS button, until the XMB is shown, select Game > Quit Game
4. Then back at XMB, select Game > Eject Disc
5. Finally, Hold down the PS button on your controller, until a list of choices shown on screen.
6. Select "Turn Off System"

Emergency Shutdown (When system hangs or game not responding)
===============================================

1. Eject the disc first by pressing the eject button on the console itself.
2. Hold down the power button on the console until you hear 3 beeps.
3. Press the power button again, and the light willl turn red, it will shutdown.
geekster129
post May 24 2010, 03:22 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

-edited-

Just realized thread has been merged.

This post has been edited by geekster129: May 24 2010, 03:35 PM
geekster129
post May 25 2010, 01:48 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(vivakarna @ May 25 2010, 12:56 PM)
hye! everyone ever heard about ps3 slim scratch the disc?my bro juz called me that my mw2 been scratched by his fren ps3 slim, now my disc is kaput! cant read anymore..and he said to me that when playing it there is a sound like 'tak' 'tak' 'tak' and cant read the disc at all..fak! juz playing it dis morning sad.gif
This is the first 'case' i'm hearing.

I'm a slim user too and my discs came out nicely without any scratches. Are you sure how the disc got scratched? Were you there when it was scratched?

geekster129
post May 25 2010, 06:17 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

For me, I would always keep my discs in its case nicely.

A round plastic worth > RM170 is not something cheap (like the price of a Laserdisc back in the old days) and to be taken for granted..

This post has been edited by geekster129: May 25 2010, 06:19 PM
geekster129
post May 27 2010, 11:07 AM

Janitor
1,180 posts

Q1: What is the latest price of PS3 slim 250 gb?

Around RM1,500-ish

Q2: Where can i find the Final Fantasy XIII+PS3 slim bundled pack?

Q3: Can we play online games using the PSN? How?

Sign up for a free account on PSN, login to PSN, add some friends and start playing multiplayer games on your PS3 format software.

Q4: How to update software?

System Update
==========

Option 1: Use the built-in updater on the PS3 or;
Option 2: Download the latest .PUP file from PS3 website from the link provided on the front page of this thread, then load it into a thumb drive and install the system update

Game Update
=========

Before you start the game, the game will check for any new updates (provided you're online). If there's any, it will prompt you to download and install the updates (this is done by the system)

This post has been edited by geekster129: May 27 2010, 11:10 AM
geekster129
post May 27 2010, 07:33 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(LeVis_Jeans @ May 27 2010, 06:29 PM)
Hi, I just puchase a PS3. Very new for the staff.
I just play about 1 hour. The Ps3 become hot. Izzit normal ?
Yup. It's normal. That's why it's important for you to provide ample ventilation for your PS3.

0.0251sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:19 AM