MY and SG set should be same, CECH-2006A. I really don't see any logic in getting SG unit when MY unit has same set of features.
Technical Playstation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V5, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Discussion
Mar 29 2010, 10:27 AM
1,715 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Klang |
MY and SG set should be same, CECH-2006A. I really don't see any logic in getting SG unit when MY unit has same set of features.
Mar 29 2010, 02:39 PM
QUOTE(scrappy_coco @ Mar 29 2010, 02:33 PM) not 0 problems, still can get malfunctions such as disc rear error and YLOD problems just that maybe lesser chance of it happening then older models. better just play it safe and get the MY set for the warranty So far only problem I have with mine is creaking and loud cracking sound when PS3 gets hot. At first I thought it was because my unit is US version and cannot tahan Malaysian temperature, but then This post seems to imply that it happens with MY/SG units as well.This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Mar 29 2010, 02:39 PM |
Apr 5 2010, 12:51 PM
I heard that PS Home launched in Hong Kong and Singapore already. I have a Malaysian account. I tried to log in to PS Home, but got the error "This content is not available on your account". Is it available to Malaysian PSN account yet? anyone tried it?
This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 5 2010, 12:52 PM |
Apr 5 2010, 02:02 PM
QUOTE(killz23 @ Apr 5 2010, 01:47 PM) Hi guys! Need some help here! Have you tried reloading the firmware using a USB media? I.e. download the firmware using a PC, store it on a thumb drive, and then get the PS3 to install the fw using the recovery menu? P.S. Make sure you get the correct firmware for your system.I posted a video of what happened to my PS3 on youtube...Can i post the link here? Anyway, I'll just try to describe it. I turn on the PS3, and nothing shows up. It's blank. I tried going into Recovery Menu, going through options 3 to 6, but no success. I then got a working PS3, swapped my HDD into it, and tried to reformat. It worked for the PS3. Then I swapped the HDD back into my PS3, and still, nothing shows up. Not even the option to reformat the HDD. Please help! |
Apr 5 2010, 05:12 PM
QUOTE(killz23 @ Apr 5 2010, 04:06 PM) Ok here's the link: From the youtube video, yours is CECHE01 - Second Generation US Spec Phat PS3. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SyetdGH2phc I tried re-installing the firmware..Only 3.15 available now though...The PS3 can't seem to detect my USB Drive.. Quoting front page: http://us.playstation.com/support/systemup...date1/index.htm Latest firmware is 3.21, same for phat PS3, unless you're avoiding it because of losing OtherOS function. I found out because I went home and powered up my slim, immediately it said have update. Mine is also US region spec model. Since mine is a Slim, I have nothing to lose with the update. It's funny that your thumbdrive not recognized tho, I was using a Sandisk Cruzer Micro to update mine (which would usually have bad support on these kind of devices because of it's two partition design: one "CD" partition and one removable drive partition). I never let my PS3 download the update itself, usually will download on PC then transfer to thumb drive for installation. This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 5 2010, 05:24 PM |
Apr 6 2010, 09:36 AM
Hmmm... Take the hard disk to a PC and low level format it using Seagate SeaTools, WD DataLifeguard, MaxBlast+, etc. Then, take the now-zeroed HDD back to the PS3 (do not build a partition table on the HDD using the PC using Fdisk, CFDisk or any partition builder) and boot the PS3. With any luck a wizard to format the hard disk will pop up. Also, try turning off your Wi-Fi router if your PS3 is connected to the internet using wireless, or unplug the PS3 from router if using wired. I forgot to mention that my PS3 took a bit longer to boot when there's a update on the internet.
Also, try other thumb drive, particularly a basic one that doesn't have the fancy two partition structure. Maybe it's because my PS3 is newer and have better FW, but I have not have any trouble using fancy two-partition thumb drives. Lastly, try plugging the thumb drive directly into USB port, avoid using hub. This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 6 2010, 09:40 AM |
Apr 6 2010, 04:56 PM
QUOTE(chinook @ Apr 6 2010, 01:55 PM) Hey there. New PS3 owner here =D Well, my suggestion would be to write to Sony Asia in Hong Kong and put in suggestion. Maybe if got enough people suggest, they'd consider it. I've already wrote in about this in the past regarding FFVIII and they said that they'd look into it (although up until now still no action).After creating my Malaysian PSN account, I browsed through and decided that I want to DL a classic PS1 game, FF9, which I played when I was much younger. However, I noticed that the only version available is the Japanese version. I realize that I have to make a US account to DL the English version but why should this even be necessary? I mean...most PS3 users in Malaysia don't even speak Japanese, let alone play a Japanese version game. Is there a way for me to contact Playstation Malaysia on this issue? I seriously want to play FFVIII, but PC version cannot run on my gaming rig because hardware "too new" and it didn't like my GeForce 7800GT and Soundblaster X-Fi. PS1 version is not an option, prices for NIB copies on eBay not to my agreement, and it'd add to the hassle of scouting a NTSC/UC PS1 since my new PS1 is still yet to be modded. PSN Asia version is "International" Japanese version, which I don't want for a few reasons. This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 6 2010, 05:01 PM |
Apr 7 2010, 08:28 PM
QUOTE(avars @ Apr 6 2010, 05:05 PM) noob question here since im not a ps3 user yet, how much normally we need to pay for the old games via psn? Depending on game. RM25.90 for TG16 game, and anywhere from RM22.10 to RM65 or even higher for PS1 games (22.10 for those blah games, 65 for Final Fantasy VIII Japanese)QUOTE(G@merZ @ Apr 6 2010, 05:23 PM) hey guys, i need some help here.. erm.. Set your PS3 to 576i/480i using the computer LCD. Then take the PS3 outside to the plasma and slowly increase the resolution on the DVI and see up until which res it can take. 720p should be a working safe bet. But no guarantee, since some TVs, for reasons unknown to the world, insists on VGA standard resolutions over VGA/DVI even if it supports 1080i over component.i just gotten my ps3 recently.. i've been playing on it using my tiny computer LCD in my room since day one.. so now i wanted to bring my ps3 out to play in the living room.. currently my living room is using an old school 42' plasma tv that dont even have hdmi and av slot.. only got component/s-video/dvi/rgb and two scart slot that need to use the convertor in order to use the av.. so i bought a hdmi - dvi cable and wanna use it together with the plasma n my ps3.. but no matter how i reset the console there's still no display.. so anyone here can help? This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 7 2010, 08:31 PM |
Apr 12 2010, 10:19 AM
QUOTE(Maximp @ Apr 9 2010, 07:56 PM) hi guys, i just wanted to ask is there any possible ways to use vpn services on our ps3? example like bolehvpn that obtained from lowyat.net Get a VPN router and use that to establish connection to VPN, then use the PS3 through that. I was going to try that with a LevelOne FBR-1430, but dun have time. |
Apr 12 2010, 12:33 PM
QUOTE(LeoLilieno @ Apr 12 2010, 12:26 PM) How long can we play PS3 at one time? I remember when the PS2 Slim was launced, you cannot play it for more than 5hours at one go as the lens cannot take it. Is this the same with PS3 slim? Pls advice. Well, for me, I rarely play mine for over 30 minutes, 1 hours tops, without taking a 10 minute break. After 30 minutes, mine gets warm. After 45 minutes to an hour, there's a series of uncomfortable cracking sounds coming from the console due to components expanding. According to other members, it's harmless, but it's still enough to convince me to give the thing a rest.And yes, I do turn up my air conditioning to full blast while playing my PS3. I even installed 12V fans on the rack behind the console. This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 12 2010, 12:35 PM |
Apr 13 2010, 10:32 AM
QUOTE(samurai20 @ Apr 13 2010, 09:37 AM) +10000We are US set 313375 Seriously, tho, don't try this unless you really know what you're doing and have weighed the pros and cons carefully. Ketam aside (I kena extra RM180), you will have no warranty and you will not have official help if anything goes wrong. For me, it's worth it because I need R1 DVD playback, and just having the PS Home icon long before MY and SG set got theirs. Although it's useless anyway because accessing it only gives me an error message because I still dun have US PSN account This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 13 2010, 10:44 AM |
Apr 13 2010, 07:53 PM
QUOTE(shenshenshen @ Apr 13 2010, 06:26 PM) If share media with Win7 PC, it's almost automatic. First you need to make sure the PS3 is on the same network as the PC. For me, my PS3 is on wired network to a 5-port switch on the rack which has a single cable connection to the 16-port switch where the PC is connected, and is on the same subnet as the PC, but I think you can also do it over Wifi. If done correctly the Win7 PC show up on the XMB. But it will not be accessible by default, you need to tell Win7 to allow the PS3 to access it.On the Win7 PC, you must then go to Control Panel -> Network and Internet -> HomeGroup, and select "Choose media streaming options". select "All networks", and look out for the PS3's name (sometimes will show up as "Unknown Device"). Set that as well as "Media programs on this PC and remote connections..." to Allow and click OK. Then close the Control Panel window. Now try to access the Win7 PC. If configured properly your libraries will appear, and within it your songs. Good luck! This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 13 2010, 08:01 PM |
Apr 13 2010, 08:42 PM
Apr 23 2010, 11:46 AM
I updated yesterday before sleep. Took roughly 45 minutes on my end. No problems, console still recognized the DS3 controller when I turned the console off and then back on.
Funny thing is, tho, the US PS3 website still saying that the latest is FW3.21. This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 23 2010, 11:47 AM |
Apr 25 2010, 04:18 AM
Proxy server should still work. My PS3 is on my private intranet, which requires it to go through a OpenBSD firewall proxy that's crafted out of a old Pentium box. No problems connecting to PSN.
As for receiver to connect DS3 to PC, there is, but it's kinda tricky and requires a bluetooth dongle if you want to use it wirelessly. And oh, you can to use only Windows XP to get it to work. http://boards.ign.com/ps3_lobby/b8269/163284350/p1/ I have not tried it myself tho. Currently I just use a Logitech Cordless Action controller with a Rockfire PX-205 USB-PS converter This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 25 2010, 04:23 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0229sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:42 PM |