Technical Playstation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V5, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Discussion

GamersFamilia
post Feb 11 2010, 06:31 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,838 posts

how bout vorchy?
GamersFamilia
post Feb 19 2010, 12:53 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,838 posts

yea my friend also got probs with carrefour hdmi rm15 cable...he already changed to sony hdmi cable.
GamersFamilia
post Feb 21 2010, 08:12 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,838 posts

i just bought KOSS Sylion UPS S-80N 800VA , can i use this UPS for my home theater set ( PS3 , LCD TV etc )

This post has been edited by GamersFamilia: Feb 21 2010, 08:12 AM
GamersFamilia
post Feb 23 2010, 11:40 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,838 posts

QUOTE(BelowAverage @ Feb 23 2010, 01:59 AM)
wireless definately slower.
But i use wireless no problem, download veri ifast.

on my pc, my download speed goes from 200-260kb/s

on wireless, it goes 150-250kb/s

So i cant say much~

on 1mb package
wireless much safer compare to wired connection..wired connection if forgot to undo the cable from console , strike by lightning then k.o nod.gif
GamersFamilia
post Feb 24 2010, 08:06 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,838 posts

QUOTE(DWExia @ Feb 24 2010, 07:23 PM)
anyone can help me with this?
must be the patch itself... nod.gif
GamersFamilia
post Feb 28 2010, 07:53 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,838 posts

QUOTE(charliezz @ Feb 28 2010, 07:25 PM)
hey guys, wanna ask those who sent your unit for warranty before. is invoice of the purchase needed to claim warranty?  thanks
if you have the invoice , its better to bring along during the warranty claim , but if u didnt bring the invoice also can , just claim the console as a gift from your parents or what so ever...the most important was , register ur ps3 via online.
GamersFamilia
post Mar 3 2010, 07:11 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,838 posts

QUOTE(nytenyte @ Mar 3 2010, 12:20 AM)
i'm really interested to get myself a ps3 slim for ffxiii mainly...... but the thing is.... i dnt want to buy a something thats just good for entertainment i mean i'm almost going to college so i'll probably need a computer... and i dnt really know what it can really really do...

can it do things like, can i plug it to my computer and play pc [utilise its graphics card] or ps3 games while still able to msn

, use as a wireless modem

, blu ray / dvd player[i heard it could spoil the laser] 

,support double screens

,upgrade its ddr3 ram

,overclock

,use a keyboard / mouse as a controller....

stuff like that..... overall i just wanna noe if it can be used as a pc or with a pc....... anyone can help??
any info will do.... illegal or not i dnt think i really mind brows.gif  lol.....

sorry if some questions are just too...... errr...... impossible rclxub.gif .....
my advise was , dont buy gaming consoles just for 1 game only...in other words for short terms , i guess pc more suitable for you nod.gif
GamersFamilia
post Mar 3 2010, 02:17 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,838 posts

ps home ( my ) still not available...
GamersFamilia
post Mar 8 2010, 10:58 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,838 posts

1. register here via online http://asia.playstation.com/sg/en/
2. no , you have to use your PS3 system for DLC
GamersFamilia
post Mar 8 2010, 11:10 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,838 posts

QUOTE(ReaperOfSoul @ Mar 8 2010, 11:05 AM)
I've just realised that the PS3 slim stand is blocking the air vents of the ps3 slim. Is it ok or i should just remove the stand? More surface area for heat dissipation or air vents? Anyone realised about this matter?
it depends on what stand you used...

im using vertical stand by sony..i guess the best way for the ps3 slim to get well ventilation..cause both side of ps3 slim didnt have air vent hole , so the vertical stand wont block anything.. nod.gif
GamersFamilia
post Mar 8 2010, 11:47 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,838 posts

ok , but i do believe using the vertical stand much better then put it horizontal position
GamersFamilia
post Mar 8 2010, 12:02 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,838 posts

QUOTE(LeoLilieno @ Mar 8 2010, 11:56 AM)
So, I just register and Sony Singapore will recognize my warranty? It did not ask for my Serial Number or whatsoever. Thanks for the advice.
Yes , it will recognize your warranty...you have to include the Serial Number for sure brows.gif
GamersFamilia
post Apr 13 2010, 08:36 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,838 posts

well TS get urself Malaysia Set...solve probs
GamersFamilia
post Apr 13 2010, 08:57 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,838 posts

QUOTE(beetch @ Apr 13 2010, 08:55 AM)
ok i have a question since i own the sg set i think bought 2 years back.

lets say u have a MY set, how do u activate for warranty? Through online signup when u register PSN?
register online via playstation MY website , product registration... nod.gif

This post has been edited by GamersFamilia: Apr 13 2010, 08:58 AM
GamersFamilia
post Apr 13 2010, 10:02 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,838 posts

QUOTE(samurai20 @ Apr 13 2010, 09:37 AM)
US set podewin!!... brows.gif...

/cabutss
lagi baek...apa apa jadi post kat obama dia leh claim kan laugh.gif
GamersFamilia
post Apr 18 2010, 10:23 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,838 posts

QUOTE(LeoLilieno @ Apr 18 2010, 10:16 AM)
There r some game with "Install" option. What does this install into the PS3? I can play the game even without installing. I dont want to waste time installing and then waste time again uninstall it if it aint provide anything to the gameplay. Pls advice.
Its a must for some games... nod.gif
GamersFamilia
post Apr 21 2010, 02:13 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,838 posts

standby mode

then....

keep hold the power button until you hear 2nd beeping sound , then release it...

you should get into display screen , which detect your hdmi connection..

thanks,
gamersfamilia.com
GamersFamilia
post Apr 21 2010, 04:24 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,838 posts

QUOTE(stormaker @ Apr 21 2010, 10:15 AM)
No problem bro ...

I'm not sure abt HDD compatibility, hope sifu2 here can enlighten me as well. But when come to choosing HDD, i'll only go for WD. rolleyes.gif
me either western digital or seagate... wub.gif
GamersFamilia
post May 23 2010, 03:17 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,838 posts

QUOTE(guarayakha @ May 23 2010, 02:57 PM)
Hi all. Need some suggestions here.

My PS3 phat 40GB Singapore set had just YLOD, it's currently using a 500GB HDD i've installed, but i hear that it's best to change the HDD back to the stock 40GB before sending it for repairs, is that right? How do I get that game disc inside the BR drive back out?

Warranty is out, so what are the recommendation to get it fix? Send it to Sony Style? Local gameshops? Singapore set must send to Singapore to fix, or Sony Style Msia also can? How much does repair cost?

Lastly, would all the stuffs in my PS3 get erased after repair (esp from Sony)? DLCs, locked saves, etc. Can't backup anything now, lol.

sony style / sony malaysia wont accept your console since its singapore set , there is 2 method :

1. send to sony singapore
2. send to the local gameshop that offer repair & service

but i would suggest you to send to local gameshop cause they can repair it less then 7 days... icon_rolleyes.gif
GamersFamilia
post May 23 2010, 04:48 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,838 posts

QUOTE(guarayakha @ May 23 2010, 04:13 PM)
So the best course of action for me is repair PS3 locally(heard that it won't last long), then save up and get a slim > Data Transfer?
yea better get a slim thumbup.gif

0.0483sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:57 PM