Compressed Air Can, Where To Buy, Techniques and Guides

TSRaitoTenth
post Feb 10 2010, 11:49 PM, updated 16y ago

62 posts

ok lets start it here..

i have a very dusty PC and decided to get CAC to blow away the dusts..

is it OK for me to do that on the electrical components?

i also plan to blow it through the holes in the PSU.. i was wondering whether will it affect the components..
bad melatonin
post Feb 11 2010, 02:32 AM

Insomnia
1,677 posts

i used Ambersil CAC, bought from ACE hardware. i've been using it for quite sometimes & no prob so far...
TSRaitoTenth
post Feb 11 2010, 05:24 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(bad melatonin @ Feb 11 2010, 02:32 AM)
i used Ambersil CAC, bought from ACE hardware. i've been using it for quite sometimes & no prob so far...
how long does it last?? per Can
E-J@1
post Feb 11 2010, 06:08 AM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(RaitoTenth @ Feb 11 2010, 05:24 AM)
how long does it last?? per Can
last only for two cycle
SUSFilifala
post Feb 11 2010, 09:34 AM

140 posts

i went ACE hardware and asked for compressed air. summit usj and sunway pyramid. they say don have. zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
abubin
post Feb 11 2010, 10:09 AM

10,429 posts

i saw it at ikano acehardware and midvalley acehardware. RM42.90 or RM45.00 per can if i remember correctly.
E-J@1
post Feb 11 2010, 10:33 AM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(RaitoTenth @ Feb 10 2010, 11:49 PM)

whats the difference of using compressed air can & case fans

both have air passes through

& here i thought, that it will have such an effect on the electrical components!

lol

i also plan to blow it through the holes in the PSU.. i was wondering whether will it affect the components..
ok, so ur psu got a fan in it right

sucking air, letting air passes through

so whats the difference if u blow it using the compress air can?

c'mon, guess guess guess

yes, thats correct, its the same

(so ur line should be: "geee, why didnt i think of that b4")

now will it effect the components?

(ur next line: "oh my, it will not, how dumb am i")
kopitiamtard
post Feb 11 2010, 10:52 AM

207 posts

saw the can at midvalley but for RM50 !!!!

Added on February 11, 2010, 10:52 amalso all it selling some other brand air for RM30

This post has been edited by kopitiamtard: Feb 11 2010, 10:52 AM
lun1986
post Feb 11 2010, 11:16 AM

939 posts

wow,so expensive 1 ar.... O_O

This post has been edited by lun1986: Feb 11 2010, 11:17 AM
dkk
post Feb 11 2010, 02:17 PM

11,400 posts

I just use vacuum cleaner + small brush.

The jet from the compressed air can is much stronger than the fan. That's why it can push out the dust. Some people say that it might push dust bunnies into inaccessible places. Possibly causing a short. But I don't think it's any more likely than any other method of cleaning.
TSRaitoTenth
post Feb 11 2010, 09:50 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(E-J@1 @ Feb 11 2010, 10:33 AM)
whats the difference of using compressed air can & case fans

both have air passes through

& here i thought, that it will have such an effect on the electrical components!

lol
ok, so ur psu got a fan in it right

sucking air, letting air passes through

so whats the difference if u blow it using the compress air can?

c'mon, guess guess guess

yes, thats correct, its the same

(so ur line should be: "geee, why didnt i think of that b4")

now will it effect the components?

(ur next line: "oh my, it will not, how dumb am i")
oh im dumb then?

i heard people saying that the CAC when u spray there's water.. or moist or watever i dont know..

http://images.google.com.my/imglanding?q=c...MIMjdVM&start=4
dkk
post Feb 11 2010, 10:19 PM

11,400 posts

the air in the can is compressed, when you spray it decompress, and cools down. The lower temperature causes moisture in the air to precipitate out.
xeratos_85
post Feb 18 2010, 08:31 AM

1,369 posts

i saw it at LYP (all it) , they sell it for RM23 each.
limhongwoon
post Feb 18 2010, 12:08 PM

Intel Certified - COre I7
2,892 posts

All It in Digital Mall got sell it for RM 20++
xeratos_85
post Feb 18 2010, 03:45 PM

1,369 posts

QUOTE(limhongwoon @ Feb 18 2010, 12:08 PM)
All It in Digital Mall got sell it for RM 20++
so that mean All it in digital mall cheaper than all it in LYP?
xeratos_85
post Feb 20 2010, 10:01 AM

1,369 posts

QUOTE(RaitoTenth @ Feb 20 2010, 06:09 AM)
do you even know why i started this thread?
just ignore him .. BTW ts, i already used air compressed can since 2004.
and some advice, dont spray it on ur skin, ur skin will red and pain because the air output is very cold.
and if u want to spray at electronic component, spray it with proper distance, dont to close to a subject (u will see something like ice on ur electronic component) .
joe74
post Feb 24 2010, 10:38 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(xeratos_85 @ Feb 20 2010, 10:01 AM)
just ignore him .. BTW ts, i already used air compressed can since 2004.
and some advice, dont spray it on ur skin, ur skin will red and pain because the air output is very cold.
and if u want to spray at electronic component, spray it with proper distance, dont to close to a subject (u will see something like ice on ur electronic component) .
if you're on tight budget, maybe you can get a mini squeezer. it's a rubber bulb with a small openings at the end. Most people use it to clean their DSLR, but note that it's not as powerful as compressed air
peguin78
post Feb 25 2010, 12:17 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(kopitiamtard @ Feb 11 2010, 11:52 AM)
saw the can at midvalley but for RM50 !!!!

Added on February 11, 2010, 10:52 amalso all it selling some other brand air for RM30
Bought Ambersil Air Duster RM52+ at ACE Ikano. I still remember it was just around RM39+ last time. I didnt know that they have just increased the price.
burner
post Feb 26 2010, 10:59 AM

112 posts

used a few cans before.. imo not worth it.. unless u cant get your brush to clean those hard to reach places.. than yea.
limhongwoon
post Feb 26 2010, 11:07 AM

2,892 posts

1 can near RM 50 , if u use a lot .
Why u guys dun go to buy a air compressed ?
EcchiMaru
post Feb 26 2010, 02:22 PM

bawak je pegi kedai moto.. pinjam air compressor kat sane.. abis citer.. kos pon jimat.. dalam RM10 kos minyak kereta je..
rublik
post Feb 26 2010, 11:05 PM

286 posts

Just go to ur car wash and use their air blower (compressed air)
esart
post Feb 27 2010, 07:12 AM

58 posts

kat low yat ade.....dalam Rm20.00++ camtu
tingkat 4...luper name kedai
legendarydummy
post Feb 27 2010, 06:52 PM

Just use those gardening water hand pump, which works like a water gun, and just pump air in without filling in water, and u get urself a air pump.
It doesnt as strong as cac but it sure strong enough to blow dust away.
haf 932
post Mar 2 2010, 01:26 PM

102 posts

any seller in lyn selling this thing?my mobo,gc,sc,cooler all dusty edi.
kanabalize
post Mar 10 2010, 06:45 PM

436 posts

cannot post bro...
stefanong
post Jun 11 2010, 03:36 PM

322 posts

also with compressed air. Do NOT shake can and always spray upright position.
butthead012
post Jun 11 2010, 04:16 PM

1,040 posts

I saw a hardware shop got sell, at this BU Centrepoint. Also about Rm50 per can, I think its called Ambersil or something like that. laugh.gif
nyunyu
post Jul 1 2010, 12:41 AM

His Royal Highness
1,394 posts

Everyone is talking about getting aircomp in KL area..
Just wondering does anyone know where I can get this in Sungai Petani or Penang area? Been looking for ages and didn't found it anywhere..still looking around though.
shajack
post Jul 1 2010, 10:07 AM

semi-retired@everything
872 posts

jln pasar also got
shorted a laptop coz it spurted water n trs on...silly me
reiben05
post Jul 1 2010, 11:26 AM

American Muscle
1,800 posts

QUOTE(shajack @ Jul 1 2010, 10:07 AM)
jln pasar also got
shorted a laptop coz it spurted water n trs on...silly me
u should have waited it to dry first :/".. syg je laptop tu xD
shajack
post Jul 1 2010, 06:59 PM

semi-retired@everything
872 posts

QUOTE(reiben05 @ Jul 1 2010, 12:26 PM)
u should have waited it to dry first :/".. syg je laptop tu xD
yeah tongue.gif
old sony one but imported...3 years ago n got blue ray drive
uk spec so awesome drool.gif
so,a lesson learned
reiben05
post Jul 1 2010, 11:39 PM

American Muscle
1,800 posts

QUOTE(shajack @ Jul 1 2010, 06:59 PM)
yeah tongue.gif
old sony one but imported...3 years ago n got blue ray drive
uk spec so awesome drool.gif
so,a lesson learned
wah 3 years ago.. and got BD player inside already?? amazing flex.gif

denon91
post Jul 2 2010, 11:40 PM

321 posts

go to car wash or bicycle shop and use their air blower (compressed air),but must let it dry 1st be switch on ur pc after u use the air compressor
benlaw
post Nov 10 2010, 11:06 PM

548 posts

hi all any cheaper alternative to compress air?
wan to clear the dust in my laptop??
wongpeter
post Nov 11 2010, 11:25 AM

973 posts

QUOTE(benlaw @ Nov 10 2010, 11:06 PM)
hi all any cheaper alternative to compress air?
wan to clear the dust in my laptop??

RonModz
post Nov 11 2010, 09:24 PM

199 posts

An airbrush paint mini compressor is just around RM 280 to RM 350. IMHO it's worth it biggrin.gif . Uncle Google might tell you where to buy in Malaysia biggrin.gif
fuzore
post Nov 19 2010, 12:59 PM

<motion sickness around>
2,142 posts

last time i bought from All IT ss14 rm25 per can but cant remember the brand..
amie_the_fakes3
post Nov 21 2010, 08:07 PM

277 posts

i already see that at TAMIYA SHOP AT MELAKA...
cheak this outhttp://www.tamiya.com.my/index.cfm?menu=paints_finishes&menuname=Paint%20&%20Finishes

Added on November 21, 2010, 8:07 pmhttp://www.tamiya.com.my/index.cfm?menu=paints_finishes&menuname=Paint%20&%20Finishes

This post has been edited by amie_the_fakes3: Nov 21 2010, 08:07 PM
xowangzi
post Dec 19 2010, 08:43 PM

281 posts

When I do my cleaning. 1 hair dryer and 1 paint brush will do. The hair dryer is the good 1 like those saloon used, with high air blower. Around rm150 from saloon shop, it worth that I can blow my hair and my pc components. smile.gif
cannavaro
post Dec 20 2010, 06:26 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

Ah, fancy seeing this old topic up here.
I just bought an industrial grade air compressor for the purpose of PC cleaning, been wanting to get it for quite some time. Really syiok woo...
Come to my house if you wanna use it, just for RM5. laugh.gif

The sound when the motor starts pumping air is deafening though..
plue64
post Dec 24 2010, 02:47 PM

Hi, any idea where to get this compressed air can in Penang? Really need it. smile.gif
limhongwoon
post Dec 25 2010, 07:44 PM

2,892 posts

QUOTE(plue64 @ Dec 24 2010, 03:47 PM)
Hi, any idea where to get this compressed air can in Penang? Really need it. smile.gif
I think Thye Huat got sell it
Kaellis
post Dec 26 2010, 02:11 AM

Certified Perodua Alza hater
1,231 posts

how much for mini air compressor?

can get it under rm200?
zx12
post Dec 29 2010, 05:04 PM

717 posts

i just use bicycle pump/foot pump..get my friend to pump while i direct the hose..a bit slow but gets the job done at no cost..(ok maybe a bit of cost..need to belanja my friend minum..penat dia pump)
johnsonvee
post Jan 18 2011, 11:34 PM

can i use CAC to blow my iphone as well? I need to clean the dust which stuck beneath the home button. Will the dust trap even deeper inside the iphone? sorry i know is wrong place but just want to know.
limhongwoon
post Jan 19 2011, 09:19 PM

2,892 posts

QUOTE(Kaellis @ Dec 26 2010, 03:11 AM)
how much for mini air compressor?

can get it under rm200?
If RM 500 , sure can get it . RM 200 really hard to get it .
KRU
post Jul 6 2011, 01:47 PM

14 posts

Can get a list of places where to buy CAC? My PC is very dusty
Hanifah H.
post Jan 3 2013, 12:36 PM

114 posts

Hi guys, I just came back from lowyat plaza. Went to many different shops but none of them sell compressed air cans. Any suggestions on where I can find them?
isnazi
post Apr 3 2013, 04:31 PM

went to lowyat also, apparently those shops dont know what the heck is compressed air also. sigh

found this though,

http://www.lelong.com.my/ace-air-duster-re...4-02-Sale-P.htm

This post has been edited by isnazi: Apr 3 2013, 04:34 PM
CheaTeRz
post May 24 2013, 08:24 PM

They can't beat me so they call me Cheater. oh silly
1,400 posts

QUOTE(isnazi @ Apr 3 2013, 04:31 PM)
went to lowyat also, apparently those shops dont know what the heck is compressed air also. sigh

found this though,

woah nice find, still i wonder if its worth if.

afraid later use 1-2 time then already finish d tongue.gif
yushin
post May 29 2013, 04:25 PM

3,329 posts

QUOTE(isnazi @ Apr 3 2013, 04:31 PM)

found this though,

ACE hardware in Sunway Pyramid got stock.
Personally I tested the air pressure is not that great.
My datavac blower could do better, its just setting up the cables and step down transformer will take some time.
Sichiri
post May 31 2013, 06:35 AM

1,192 posts

Radioshack is also selling Air dusters now if anyone's interested. RM20+ only.
shockk
post May 31 2013, 03:13 PM

[ T A R G E T - L 0 C K E D ]
11,883 posts

QUOTE(Sichiri @ May 31 2013, 06:35 AM)
Radioshack is also selling Air dusters now if anyone's interested. RM20+ only.
I got those recently too. Very good value. It's bigger and cheaper than those sold by Ace Hardware. Best compressed air you can get in the market ATM. biggrin.gif
Hanifah H.
post Jun 1 2013, 06:22 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(shockk @ May 31 2013, 03:13 PM)
I got those recently too. Very good value. It's bigger and cheaper than those sold by Ace Hardware. Best compressed air you can get in the market ATM. biggrin.gif
Hi, is it possible for you to snap a photo of the product and post it here? I am interested to buy it at RadioShack smile.gif
scwong93
post Jun 1 2013, 10:36 PM

Doraemon
545 posts

i think its quite expensive just to blow the dust away by this method.

i just use a brush and a vacuum cleaner and some contact cleaner to spray the dust from some corner.

dont know if the contact cleaner will damage the board or not whistling.gif
shockk
post Jun 2 2013, 01:01 AM

[ T A R G E T - L 0 C K E D ]
11,883 posts

QUOTE(Hanifah H. @ Jun 1 2013, 06:22 PM)
Hi, is it possible for you to snap a photo of the product and post it here? I am interested to buy it at RadioShack smile.gif
Attached the photo of it (taken from other sites though). It's the same one available in Radioshack Malaysia. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(scwong93 @ Jun 1 2013, 10:36 PM)
i think its quite expensive just to blow the dust away by this method.

i just use a brush and a vacuum cleaner and some contact cleaner to spray the dust from some corner.

dont know if the contact cleaner will damage the board or not  whistling.gif
I try to avoid using any kind of brush or liquid as much as possible to minimize damage to components. However, should not be a problem if you do it once in a blue moon.

tuo850
post Jun 2 2013, 01:41 AM

756 posts

refillabe? http://www.amazon.com/AES-Industries-124-R...l/dp/B002D3WXMU
Axalter
post Jun 2 2013, 08:15 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(tuo850 @ Jun 2 2013, 01:41 AM)
Refillable spray cans usually comes with a small straight intake like nozzle while those non-refillable type are enclosed and practically very hard to impossible to refill them without taking the whole thing apart. The one you posted is indeed refillable.
Hanifah H.
post Jun 3 2013, 12:57 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(shockk @ Jun 2 2013, 01:01 AM)
Attached the photo of it (taken from other sites though). It's the same one available in Radioshack Malaysia.  thumbup.gif
I try to avoid using any kind of brush or liquid as much as possible to minimize damage to components. However, should not be a problem if you do it once in a blue moon.
Thanks, but are you sure that it is compressed air?
It does not say "compressed air can"
ZoidbergFry
post Jun 7 2013, 02:37 PM

518 posts

QUOTE(EcchiMaru @ Feb 26 2010, 02:22 PM)
bawak je pegi kedai moto.. pinjam air compressor kat sane.. abis citer.. kos pon jimat.. dalam RM10 kos minyak kereta je..
i agree with you,i bring my cpu to car mechanic outside my house,jalan pergi saje..no need to buy a CAC la..i bet you will use it the 1st time and not enough for the 2nd (if your cpu is as dusty as mine).. biggrin.gif
abubin
post Jun 7 2013, 02:57 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(tuo850 @ Jun 2 2013, 01:41 AM)
nice!!! but how to refill?

This post has been edited by abubin: Jun 7 2013, 02:57 PM
berzerker
post Jun 2 2014, 12:50 PM

where can i get this product in Ipoh?
moron88
post Jun 3 2014, 12:27 PM

150 posts

just use any compressed air can. spray the dust hell out of ur pc !

Ace

shea2812
post Sep 7 2014, 11:03 AM

450 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Jun 7 2013, 02:57 PM)
nice!!! but how to refill?
buy another can laaa.....
the price of convenience i suppose
Just dont overdo it. A can can last a long time for personal use.

This post has been edited by shea2812: Sep 7 2014, 11:05 AM
nodeffect
post Oct 16 2014, 12:45 PM

Your past does not equal your future.
1,281 posts

How bout Air brush paint mini ?

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2438253
HoneyDear
post May 13 2015, 12:57 PM

83 posts

ok lets start it here..

i did that too haha !! i am not alone lol
t1231
post Jun 11 2015, 08:38 PM

251 posts

ok lets start it here..

hi, wow this is an old post, but this is what i'm looking for too.

I once cleaned my PC at my car workshop using their air gun, very strong man, blow all dust away definitely.... just wonder would it be bad for the pc or not? maybe the idea of using the hairdryer is worth a try also.

0.1514sec    0.89    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 03:52 AM