-= Naza-Kia Forte =- <Club> V4, Leaves You Speechless

squalluz
post Feb 10 2010, 01:43 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(izputra @ Feb 10 2010, 12:16 PM)
just ignore him..come from nowhere
What JayC75 means is the "1st..hehe" post that you posted. A lot of people hate that kind of nonsense.
squalluz
post Feb 11 2010, 03:18 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(jason111785 @ Feb 11 2010, 03:05 PM)
My SA told me car is ready for collection.. she has informed bank to settle the document with JPJ den will reg. with JPJ. She said JPJ might open on Saturday ... so hopefully can get car by tomorrow.. or sat...
I heard JPJ will only work half-day tomorrow. There's no reason why they they work on Saturday, and it's the holiday season as well. Just accept that the car will only be delivered after CNY.. Maybe even the week after.
squalluz
post Feb 11 2010, 03:52 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(jimmy.soo @ Feb 11 2010, 03:23 PM)
huh half-day? "they" work half-day for fark meh? kanneh not chinese also want to work half-day? they want rush back hometown celebrate chinese new year is it? walau =.='' crap excuse they have there.
This week has a long weekend maa, so many people will want to go balik kampung, regardless of race. So the department give chance for their JPJ staff to beat the rush hour, so give half day off lor.
squalluz
post Feb 17 2010, 12:12 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(4te @ Feb 17 2010, 10:16 AM)
Yup currently only 1.6 OTR ... no confirmed news for 2.0 just yet.

As for resale value, i wouldnt say that its low or high cos none in the 2nd hand or trade in market yet. if NAZA were to bring up the price slightly and gradually, then i dont think the resale value will be that bad ... Spectra has a very bad resale value cos of the bad FC, now Forte FC is a lot better than Spectra and not to mention all the features and good look ... if the demand for Forte is there, the resale value will not be low. I really hope that NAZA will throw in the 5 yrs warranty with a slight increase in price, that will boost the sale, change people's mentality (poor quality and expensive spare parts) and also increase the resale value, which will further conbribute to the sale.

As for other flaws, none so far after driving for almost 2 months but slightly less than 3K km only biggrin.gif
Not to mention the huge discounts that the SA give to Spectra buyers over the years. That dragged the price even lower. So that's why there will be no more discounts for Naza Kia cars, to protect the buyers.
squalluz
post Feb 17 2010, 06:49 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 17 2010, 04:34 PM)
you wanna bet?............. smile.gif
Got anything to back that up? Or just talking cock? smile.gif
squalluz
post Feb 17 2010, 07:24 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 17 2010, 07:09 PM)
natural history of naza.........

naza has always discounted their old stocks when sales drop after a couple of years......that's their business model......in the days when cars are launched as kia, and gets nazarised later, that discount is HUGE........

with the possible exception of suria/picanto........even then, before the facelift, it is easy to get a few k off too, but it is a low cost car, so the discounts cannot be much.........

in 2 years, when sales drop, expect significant discounts.........which will automatically devalue you old cars by a similar margin.........

it is best that all buying forte now have the full expectation that the car WILL get 'nazarised' a few years later.......keep the car at least 8-10 years and you will be okay......... smile.gif
Well, that's the way it used to be I guess. But I heard this from my SA from Naza World. She said nowadays, if an SA is caught giving discount to customers, they will get sacked. So, it's quite difficult for them to give discounts with that kind of incentive. And this Forte is already "nazarized" from day 1, coz it's launched as Naza Forte, not Kia Forte. So i guess the price couldn't get lower than that right? And I believe the management have taken a change for the better, as they couldn't be so stupid to not learn from their past mistakes.

I have faith in them, as all the moves that they made nowadays with the Peugeot and Kia brand, I believe they will go a long way from the "old" Naza. I mean, give credit where it's due man. Which car company in Malaysia can sell good cars such as the Forte and Peugeot 308 Turbo at the current price tag? At the very least, they give us another option to ponder upon, other than Toyota, Honda and Nissan (and the national car makers as well). smile.gif
squalluz
post Feb 17 2010, 08:59 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 17 2010, 08:13 PM)
that has nothing to do with how naza is as a 'screwdriver' (quote rafidah aziz) car company.........but the ability to get enough ap's and rebadge the cars as 'local'.............

btw, in case you don't know, what you pay naza is still significantly HIGHER than the REAL value of the cars......case in point, the forte/cerato 2.0 sells for aud25k in oz, or rm75k..........  sad.gif
Dude.. You're missing the whole point. It's not a matter of what the "real" price of the car. We the buyers can't do shit about it, so why bother complaining? Talking until Armageddon comes also no use. It's the price that the car is sold in Malaysia that matters. So instead of complaining about the "real" price, why not be realistic and talk about the market price instead.

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 17 2010, 08:06 PM)
and you believe the sa......... smile.gif

so what happened when naza officially dropped the price of the nazarised-at-launch sportage 15k late last year to clear stocks..........? biggrin.gif
Sorry, I'd take the SA's word over yours any day. And I don't know about the price drop, but the sportage is an ancient model. It deserved to be purged from the warehouse anyhow. So, instead of keeping the old stock and paying for the warehouse rental, why not sell them cheap and prepare for a new model (such as the new rondo) to take the space. And don't act surprised, all car companies in the world practice this. And besides, the price drop is official from Naza, it's not a discount from SA. There's a difference in case you don't know. smile.gif

This post has been edited by squalluz: Feb 17 2010, 09:07 PM
squalluz
post Feb 18 2010, 08:45 AM

131 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 17 2010, 11:40 PM)
the 2nd generation sportage was introduced in 2004, but launched in msia in mid 2007...........and discounted in 2nd half 2009..........

so i wouldn't call it 'ancient'.........

the fact remains, when forte gets 'ancient', guess what naza will do........and what will happen to your 2nd hand value........... biggrin.gif

of course you can always believe it's a 'new' nazakia nowadays, and they will not nazarise forte.......if it makes people feel better.......

me, i face the facts........

Added on February 17, 2010, 11:46 pm

nazakia does 2 things to prices of cars........

one is, they rebadge kia cars as 'local' naza brand with a significant drop in import duty, and a dramatic drop in the price of cars new, dragging existing owners down with it.......

the other is, they do heavy discounts once the car is a bit old, stocks build up, and demand drops........again heavily impacting on the 2nd hand price of existing owners.......

both has the effect of depressing 2nd hand prices of their cars.........

that's what i mean by nazarise..............you WILL suffer greater drop in 2nd hand value over natural depreciation because people can buy NEW ones at a cheaper price than what you paid for.........

generally, other manufacturers do not do this, well not this much anyway, which is why toyotas (caveat:maybe not anymore  smile.gif ) and hondas keep their value well..........you cannot buy NEW vios at heavily discounted prices......even when they are introducing new models, the discount for the old generation is minimal.........

Added on February 18, 2010, 12:01 ami will give you my personal example........

bought a 1st gen sportage in 2000 at 90+k.........

sold it in 2005.........they stop selling new sportage in 2002, and sold off old stock at 70+K........by natural depreciation (even for koreans), i should be able to get 40+k at least........

but all i could get from the private sale was 33k...........dealers want below 30k.........because they calculate based on 70+k new............
Sportage is an ancient model. Whoever bought sportage last year for example? With the Rondo and Sorento being a much better choice, only an idiot would buy it. And dude.. you're thinking too much. Just because the second hand price of your Sportage bite you in the ass, doesn't mean that all naza cars will do that to it's owners. Why don't you keep your speculation in like, 5 years time, and you create a Naza thread here. Then we'll can see wether your theory is proven or not. Maybe Toyota and Honda (currently) keep their price well, but they're overpriced to begin with, so it's nothing to shout about.

The forte has already been rebadged.. In case you don't know.. smile.gif
squalluz
post Mar 5 2010, 03:04 PM

131 posts

Hi guys, I've just collected my 1.6 SX 3 days ago from Rawang. The color is Metal Grey. I booked it in mid-December last year from Naza PJ.

The car is performing up to my expectation. I've no complain about it whatsoever. It's a delight to drive it. It's a HUGE difference from my previous Myvi 1.3. My favorite function of the car is definitely the shiftronic gear.
squalluz
post Mar 5 2010, 03:16 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(jerrykhor @ Mar 5 2010, 03:12 PM)
oops, i have not try the shiftronic.. so far.. after 4 days of driving.. will try it later today...tongue.gif
Try it man, it responsive and smooth. The main reason why I use it a lot because I can choose when to upshift and downshift, as I need the engine to rev between 2K - 4K RPM. If I just use the normal D gear, and keep the engine below 4K RPM, It will take forever to even get to 110km/h, hehee..
squalluz
post Mar 5 2010, 05:01 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Mar 5 2010, 04:46 PM)
Forever? Nah, not so bad lah although the torque dip from 2nd to 3rd gear is very annoying esp when you need a little bit more push when ascending slopes.

I noticed that in shift-tronic mode, there are ocassions where there is a huge jerk when upshifting from 2nd to 3rd gear as the tacho hits 2.5 to 2.6K. Shift at 2-2.1K is OK as that's the normal rpm the auto mode would shift anyway, whereas shifting beyond 2.6K would be fairly OK although the car will now be accelerating pretty fast from there onwards.

I find that for smooth driving the best rpm to upshift would be 2.3-2.4K. If you're pushing it hard, 2.8-3K would be good enough... Shifting at 4K is really making the engine roar and you'll feel the pinch very soon in your wallet the next time you fill up.

It's interesting to note that the speedometer has red markings for 30 and 50kmh, which is the indicated speed for the autobox to upshift from 2nd to 3rd and 3rd to 4th. I personally think that for a smooth and calm drive and yet maintain reasonable torque, it's best to shift at 35-40kmh and 50-55 kmh respectively.

Anyway, I rarely use auto mode nowadays to prevent the torque dip and the tendency of the box to upshift to 4th gear for fuel economy. What I do is try to use 3rd gear as much as possible, and once I reach a suitable speed for cruising, I'll switch to 4th to keep the rpm down. For slopes, 3rd gear will be good enough; rarely do you need to go down to 2nd.
I might be exaggerating a bit, hehee.. But as you said to wait for the 2nd gear to upshift to the 3rd is frustrating to say the least, especially when there's a Myvi behind you high beaming. I normally shift between 3K to 3.5K, as the engine will rev up a little bit whenever I upshifts (to make sure the engine stays under 4K RPM). But I would imagine that the FC will be much worse compared to your 2.3K to 2.4K. I bet your FC is really low. I rarely have the chance to take the car out for a spin, as I go to work with my kapchai and go home late. But when I do, usually to eat supper, fuel economy would be the last thing I would think of tongue.gif . But thanks for the tip, now I know the ideal RPM to upshift to save fuel.

I never noticed the red markings at 30 and 50kmh at the speedometer. I'll check it out tonight n experiment a little bit.
squalluz
post Mar 5 2010, 07:34 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Mar 5 2010, 07:10 PM)
My FC is not as low as expected... 8L/100km on RON91 mainly highway.
I don't feel the need to push the car hard as it sips a lot of fuel, makes a lot of noise, and kills the brakes quicker whenever you need to slow down at traffic lights. On the highways it's easy to be agitated whenever those buggers tailgate you when you're driving within the limits; more often than not it's those 4L V8 Falcons/Commodores. Cannot cabar them otherwise sure kena smoke. Keep cool and save your $$... not worth racing on the streets.

Are there that many stretches of roads that allow you to shift above 3K rpm? I don't even feel the need to rush so fast... urban streets over here are usually narrow and jampacked.
Since I collected the car, I only took the car out for supper, at around 11pm-12am. By then, the road is pretty clear. The LDP and SPRINT highway is a good stretch of road to test the engine. I just go back n forth those highway for.. well, mostly wasting fuel I guess, hahaa.. But I won't push the car on normal roads (I still have a little sense in me tongue.gif ). Don't worry, I wasn't trying to race. I'm just testing the capability of the car, especially the acceleration and cornering part. I always drive safely and I only go as fast as 130km/h tops, and that's even rarely. So far, the car handles itself very well, for a family sedan. And I'll also stop my experiment after my first 1000km service. After that, the car will sit quietly at home only for my wife to drive to work.
squalluz
post Mar 5 2010, 11:34 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(eecos @ Mar 5 2010, 11:25 PM)
and naza instead of kia on the steering wheel. hehe
facepalm.jpg
squalluz
post Mar 11 2010, 10:37 AM

131 posts

QUOTE(lwkong @ Mar 11 2010, 09:45 AM)
not SA, he don't know it. is the service guy in rawang and also service guy in setapak told me that.
he said many don't know about it, if keep charge there not even need to change battery..... they say la... how many % accurate i don't know.
I also realise user manual did not said it is for charging also.
0% accurate. The manual said there is no such thing as battery charging. You better don't send your car to that Rawang service center. If the service guy is stupid enough to believe the battery charging crap, and even told his customer that it's true, I don't want to imagine how he do his repairs.

0.0447sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:51 AM