burning fat + gaining muscle mass, help!

TSincognito
post Feb 8 2010, 09:57 PM, updated 16y ago

i've got a hunger, twisting my stomach into knots
2,402 posts

hi guys,

right now i'm in the process of trying to lose body fat while gaining muscle mass at the same time, however i find it really counter intuitive as both are contradictory processes.

on one hand i understand that burning fat requires calorie deficit (ie. burn more calories than you consume), so i've been doing a lot of HIIT cardio lately. however at the same time, to gain muscle i would need to eat more, which kinda defeats the purpose of the cardio, so im kinda struggling to find a balance between both. should i jst concentrate more on lifting + eating as i understand muscle will help burn off more calories, and cut down on the cardio?

fyi, i'm not looking to bulk up a lot, but more towards obtaining a toned muscular body. i am 176cm tall and weigh about 73kg. i think my current body fat % is around 20% now, based on this online bodyfat calculator (though i doubt it's accurate, lol).

appreciate any input from u sifus notworthy.gif thanks!
-Dan
post Feb 8 2010, 10:02 PM

4,382 posts

It takes near perfect nutrition and discipline to lose fat and gain muscle at the same time. Which is why most people opt to do either one at a time. I'd say bulk up a little more, then cut down to see what you're 'made of'. smile.gif
angrydog
post Feb 8 2010, 10:02 PM

More like "fatdog" amiright?
993 posts

Read the stickies.
TSincognito
post Feb 9 2010, 09:27 PM

i've got a hunger, twisting my stomach into knots
2,402 posts

thanks for the tip guys, yeah i realise its nigh impossible to achieve both goals at the same time, hence the current stagnation. right now i'm still undecided on which goal i wanna continue pursuing as well, as im currently neither really under nor overweight smile.gif
c0c0nut
post Feb 10 2010, 02:56 PM

CrAzY aBt aRoWaNa'S !
1,970 posts

anabolic diet + more protein intake ?
chenwei89
post Feb 11 2010, 01:47 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(incognito @ Feb 8 2010, 09:57 PM)
hi guys,

right now i'm in the process of trying to lose body fat while gaining muscle mass at the same time, however i find it really counter intuitive as both are contradictory processes.

on one hand i understand that burning fat requires calorie deficit (ie. burn more calories than you consume), so i've been doing a lot of HIIT cardio lately. however at the same time, to gain muscle i would need to eat more, which kinda defeats the purpose of the cardio, so im kinda struggling to find a balance between both. should i jst concentrate more on lifting + eating as i understand muscle will help burn off more calories, and cut down on the cardio?

fyi, i'm not looking to bulk up a lot, but more towards obtaining a toned muscular body. i am 176cm tall and weigh about 73kg. i think my current body fat % is around 20% now, based on this online bodyfat calculator (though i doubt it's accurate, lol).

appreciate any input from u sifus  notworthy.gif thanks!
Since, ur more towards obtaining a toned body, you should cut first..after stripping off those fats, then u consider clean bulk..and,,,
actually there is such thing as "buliding muscle and burning fat" at the same time..
check this website for info: http://www.leanhybridmuscle.com/build-muscle.html
however, their traning methods are different.. all the best.

This post has been edited by chenwei89: Feb 11 2010, 01:56 PM
wildcat90
post Feb 12 2010, 04:22 PM

273 posts

I think you should concentrate on gaining muscle first then lose weight. When you have the muscles, your metabolism is higher and its easier to lose fat.
Massa
post Feb 15 2010, 02:40 PM

Massa™
709 posts

Hey guys. smile.gif
Since TS is asking about 'Burning fat + gaining muscle mass at the same time', I have some questions to ask.
AFAIK, besides losing weight, HIIT can also make we lose our muscle mass, correct?
This statement is from AskMen.com:
http://www.askmen.com/sports/bodybuilding_...itness_tip.html
Secondly, when you perform long-duration, moderate-intensity exercise, you can actually put yourself in a catabolic state in which you will start losing muscle mass. That's right: Some of that hard-earned muscle will start degrading itself in your quest to get lean.

So, is that ok if we do HIIT once a week if we want to build muscle at the same time?
Thanks. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Massa: Feb 15 2010, 02:44 PM
flamefox850
post Mar 10 2010, 02:51 PM

24 posts

I've done this but i can say, all out of my 100% effort.....i think i only gain 30% muscle while the other 70% goes to fat-loss.

What i've done ?

- Zig zag diet (from normal diet to high protein/low carb diet but most of the time i do Keto diet)

- Cardio (at 1st month, i do HIIT but after a few readings, i do LISS cardio, sometimes once a day, sometimes twice and sometimes none ehehe...especially on weight-lifting day)

- Weight Lift - only Twice a week coz there's a bodypart i didn't train yet for now. Only focus for certain bodypart

- Supplement (I use Lipo 6, L-Carnitine, Whey, Casein, BCAA, Multis, Fish Oil, GABA, ZMA)

I know how the TS's feel. I know that some people would suggest u to bulk first but for me (and maybe for u), i need to cut down the fat first becos that's my first intention....i want to look a little better when put on a slim-fit cloth.

So, now i'm in my bulking phase...but i don't want to get too much fat even when bulking so i will monitor my fat gain hehe. I don't care much if i gain muscle a little slower than someone doing 'normal' bulking process

will put my pics later

John91
post Mar 11 2010, 10:30 PM

1,193 posts

I think you are focusing too much on diet and not enough on lifting. That's a heck load of supplements which would go to waste if you are not training hard enough.
SUSgengkey01
post Mar 12 2010, 03:30 AM

253 posts

how to burn fat on the both side of waist?and man-boob?
chenwei89
post Mar 12 2010, 11:28 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(Massa @ Feb 15 2010, 02:40 PM)
Hey guys. smile.gif
Since TS is asking about 'Burning fat + gaining muscle mass at the same time', I have some questions to ask.
AFAIK, besides losing weight, HIIT can also make we lose our muscle mass, correct?
This statement is from AskMen.com:
http://www.askmen.com/sports/bodybuilding_...itness_tip.html

So, is that ok if we do HIIT once a week if we want to build muscle at the same time?
Thanks. smile.gif
Long duration cardio will burn fat and lose your hard earned muscle..
HIIT is suppose to be short, and super intense if you're trying to lose fat while maintaining ur muscle..
You CAN perform HIIT 3 times per week, and maintain all your muscle, but you must perform them for not more than 10 minutes each session..that means 30 minutes per week..Do NOT underestimate this..becoz you are suppose to sprint, and not jog..in other words u'll use 90-100% of ur strength to run as fast as possible..for 15 seconds and rest (jog) about 30-45 seconds (depending on your fitness level) then sprint again.. the key here is "you dont burn your fats during the 10 minutes, rather you increases your matabolism by 40% after you finished your workout" that means after that workout, you'll burn fat while at rest...if you cant sprint at maximum intensity for a certain reasons,then 20 minutes moderate intensity will do..try not to exceed 20 minutes, becoz you want to preserve your muscles..

Added on March 12, 2010, 12:41 pm
QUOTE(incognito @ Feb 9 2010, 09:27 PM)
thanks for the tip guys, yeah i realise its nigh impossible to achieve both goals at the same time, hence the current stagnation. right now i'm still undecided on which goal i wanna continue pursuing as well, as im currently neither really under nor overweight smile.gif
burning fat and gaining muscle at the same time is NOT impossible..it is not impossible to achieve 2 goals at the same time..look at our ancestors in the past.. they don't lift weights, they don't set aside time to go to the gym, and they don't run around the track for hours to lose that stuborn 10 pound of fats..
and yet they are super lean, and muscular at the same time! Today, people like you and me lift weights for this so called "asethetic" purpose (or health purpose)..we want to look good all year round..but our ancestors do not care about how good their body look..and yet they have the best shape in the world...How is so? Look at their daily activities..people from the past have to go for hunting to get food, they have to chase wild boars and (you name it here!) Your guess is as good as mine! In other words, their day-to-day lives were much more demanding than ours..
Ancient cultures like the Spartans, Romans , and the Scandinavians often referred to as warrior cultures, had legions of career warrior whos sole job was to fight..This required them to be in peak conditions and even more important, their fighting ability depended on compound movements..Legendary warriors did not have gyms and machines to isolate their muscles..We cant relate to it today, but these guys trained as though their very lives depended on it..because it did! So, what does this have to do with "building muscle and burning fat" as the same time? The answer is, EVERYTHING! Look at the types of activities that the Vikings engaged in on a regular basis-rowing long distances, marching in full battle gear hand-to-hand combat-we can imagine some of the things that they would do to get themselvs into the physical conditions they needed to be in. So besides marching and running dressed for battle, some of the things they did to develope both physical strength and endurance probably included: 1)A variety of movements in which heavy objects would be repeatedly picked up and lifted over the head. 2) Swinging battle axe overhead in a movement that mimicked crushing a foe's skull (probably using hay or smt as a target) Swinging and slaming the heavy battle axe would have develope upper body strength, endurance and accuracy; 3) Lifting, carrying and moving heavy objects across distances. This would have prepared them for any number of situations that they might encounter such as fallen trees or boulders blocking the trail, or carrying the wounded. Because of this method of training, they have developed this "super hybrid muscle" which results in not only achieving the best for both worlds which is building muscle and burn fat at the same time, but also create a new mitchondria in the muscle, or in other words- "Super Hybrid Muscle" For more informations, check out [url=http://www.leanhybridmuscle.com/build-muscle.html...This]http://www.leanhybridmuscle.com/build-muscle.html
Check this program that allow you to kill 2 birds with 1 stone.. Even Vince Delmonte (muscle building expert) was trilled when he heard about this..and mentioned smt about this program in his muscle building blog..

This post has been edited by chenwei89: Mar 12 2010, 12:46 PM
shanecross
post Mar 12 2010, 01:09 PM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

cool story bro
flamefox850
post Mar 13 2010, 06:47 PM

24 posts

John91 : I don't know if my reason for not training enough is reasonable or logical to u but the reasons why i didn't train my back/lats is becos my forearms and biceps is weak...especially my left side, so, if i pull weight for back purpose, it's not well-balance. so, i skip the back training for the sake of strenghtening my arms first. and the reason i didn't train my legs becos i want to do more cardio on my cutting phase, and normally i do the threadmill, that's why i skip the legs.
And the supplement i don't know if go to waste or not as what i know, preserving or gaining muscle while cutting the fat is not simple (u can browse the forum at bodybuilding.c*m), that's why i use many supplements. and remember, i do Keto.

PHOTOS DELETED AS PROMISE

i lost about 5kg weight, 64kg down to 59kg on my cutting phase...and now i'm gaining back about 2kg as my muscle size a little bit bigger as i'm in bulking mode, but my fat gain is checked

not much different heh ?

p/s: will delete this photos on 17/3/2010

This post has been edited by flamefox850: Mar 17 2010, 08:40 AM

0.0243sec    0.37    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:46 AM