6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Stock Market V49, MARKET REBORN LIKE A TIGER ROAR !!!

SKY 1809
post Feb 19 2010, 02:19 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(mopster @ Feb 19 2010, 02:12 PM)
S&P 500 Future jumped to green~~  whistling.gif  rolleyes.gif party continues ?  unsure.gif
To me, US is moving out of the ICU ward to the normal ward, though still sick.

It is no good to stay in the ICU ( with emergency aids ) for too long . biggrin.gif

Japan is just a good example.

Personal opinion only.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Feb 19 2010, 02:20 PM
SKY 1809
post Feb 19 2010, 03:09 PM

23,851 posts

Small fishes are biting the Bigger fish in Genting ?
SKY 1809
post Feb 19 2010, 03:26 PM

23,851 posts

Interesting Opinion :-

Fed Discount-Rate Move May Help Asian Economies, ADB’s Nag Says

By Keiko Ujikane and Tatsuo Ito

Feb. 19 (Bloomberg) -- The Federal Reserve’s move to raise its discount rate may prove a plus for Asian countries by helping address global inflation, according to an official at the Asian Development Bank.

“The effect on the Asian economies in a way is going to be positive because it isn’t going to choke growth but it also recognizes inflationary pressures,” Rajat Nag, managing director of the Asian Development Bank, said in an interview in Tokyo today.

Central banks around the world are starting to raise interest rates or otherwise tighten monetary policy as economic rebounds take hold. The Fed raised the discount rate charged to banks for direct loans yesterday for the first time in more than three years. China’s central bank increased lenders’ reserve requirements last week for the second time in a month, while India raised a similar ratio last month to cool prices.

Nag, who provides strategic and operational direction to the ADB, said the Fed’s move “is not the end of cheap money but it is probably the beginning of the end.”

“We think this balance between not chocking off growth and not stoking inflation is a difficult call,” Nag said. “But we are encouraged that the governments including the U.S. and Asia are striking the right balance, so my reaction to this move by the Fed is positive,” he said.

Currency Impact

Asian currencies weakened after the Fed’s announcement, led by the South Korean won and Indonesian rupiah, as the move eased demand for higher-yielding currencies. The Indonesian rupiah and the won gained 30 percent and 28 percent respectively in the past year as near-zero rates in the U.S. gave traders cheap financing for investing in developing nations.

Nag also said today the ADB may raise its growth forecast for developing Asia in April. Asian economies will expand 6.6 percent this year after growing 4.5 percent in 2009, ADB President Haruhiko Kuroda said on Jan. 14.

“My feeling based on what we have seen so far 2010 will probably be a stronger year than we expected,” he said.

In Japan, Finance Minister Naoto Kan today said he didn’t think the Fed’s decision would hurt the nation’s recovery from its worst postwar recession.

The decision “resulted in the weakening of the yen and I don’t think it will have a negative effect on Japan’s economy,” Kan said at a press conference in Tokyo. “I will continue to calmly monitor developments.”

Taiwan’s central bank, in a statement today on the Fed’s move, said it will monitor changes to financial markets and take “proper” policy measures as needed. Taiwan’s policy makers are among those in Asia that intervene to stabilize their exchange rates, according to traders.

Nag also said that concerns about the credit quality of sovereign European borrowers will have a limited impact on Asian economies. Greece, Spain and Portugal are among European nations struggling to control widening budget deficits, prompting investors to dump the countries’ assets.
SKY 1809
post Feb 19 2010, 04:22 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(htt @ Feb 19 2010, 04:16 PM)
The result should be ok mah...
Even OCBC announce some impressive result today also cannot escape... -11c now...
Nowadays result is just another figure... tongue.gif
Singapore Sees Economy Expanding Up to 6.5% in 2010

http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=206...id=aDFDzpwLbIJQ

SKY 1809
post Feb 23 2010, 09:11 AM

23,851 posts

MAS is flying.

Hopefully goes above rm 2.
SKY 1809
post Feb 23 2010, 09:13 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(chyaw @ Feb 23 2010, 09:13 AM)
You bought MAS lately?  rclxms.gif
Ya at 1.88.
SKY 1809
post Feb 23 2010, 09:18 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Feb 23 2010, 09:14 AM)
smile.gif When the new MAS share coming in?
A month maybe.

Like the case of KPJ, listing of new shares took a while. biggrin.gif

Right issue subscription closing only next week.
SKY 1809
post Feb 23 2010, 09:43 AM

23,851 posts

Superman is flying to rm 6
SKY 1809
post Feb 23 2010, 09:49 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(chyaw @ Feb 23 2010, 09:44 AM)
CEO said got bonus issues mar.
you sold any at rm 5.75 ?

SKY 1809
post Feb 23 2010, 09:52 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(john123x @ Feb 23 2010, 09:48 AM)
link please
I am sure there is none , cos if there is would be breaching Bursa and SC rulings.

Correct me if I am wrong.

SKY 1809
post Feb 23 2010, 09:57 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(chyaw @ Feb 23 2010, 09:55 AM)
Sky Tai Kor!
Any plans to play E&O again. brows.gif
I did not track this stock for a while.

Anything up ?
SKY 1809
post Feb 23 2010, 10:04 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(chyaw @ Feb 23 2010, 10:01 AM)
Results will be out soon.
Oh I see,

I just bought some Muhibbah at 92sen , after heavy sell down by EPF or Tabung Haji.

They are still selling bit by bit.

Do not know whether result is good or not.
SKY 1809
post Feb 23 2010, 10:12 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Feb 23 2010, 10:08 AM)
Muhibah, one of the badly beaten stock, 92 sens entry price seems attractive.

putting into my monitoring list.
Buy low sell high.

Buy recommendation price is rm 1.03 given by Maybank & Kenanga Research.
SKY 1809
post Feb 23 2010, 10:15 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(chyaw @ Feb 23 2010, 10:12 AM)
You got HSL?  biggrin.gif
Genting SP masuk longkang again... My C1  cry.gif Didn't expect it to drop so much so soon...
I wanted to buy Gen SP C1 at 14.5sen that day , but did not know the expiry date.

So I gave up.
SKY 1809
post Feb 23 2010, 10:28 AM

23,851 posts

About Genting.

Singapore Casino's High pre opearating are odeli sunk costs, incurred over the years before opening.

Most important is whether the Casinos able to generate good cashflow from now on.

If it is, then worthwhile to invest.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Feb 23 2010, 10:29 AM
SKY 1809
post Feb 23 2010, 10:34 AM

23,851 posts

Fly MAS fly , rm 2 is on the way
SKY 1809
post Feb 23 2010, 11:01 AM

23,851 posts

Coastal fair value is about rm 3.68, liao.
SKY 1809
post Feb 23 2010, 11:07 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(chyaw @ Feb 23 2010, 11:03 AM)
nobody cares...  shakehead.gif

Added on February 23, 2010, 11:06 amHey! CIMB also revised their TP for supermx to $9.65. laugh.gif
Detail report can be found in Bursa website.
It would take a while for investors to discover the gem. biggrin.gif

SKY 1809
post Feb 23 2010, 11:18 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(chyaw @ Feb 23 2010, 11:14 AM)
Already more than 1 yr still not discovered yet.  laugh.gif  doh.gif
Previously, Protonw and David were in this boat with me. Now, I'm not sure whether they still holding it or not...
Well , it is not one of the Glove Stocks. biggrin.gif

But I keep an eye on it.
SKY 1809
post Feb 23 2010, 11:33 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Feb 23 2010, 11:32 AM)
Who got KFC from Maxis?  biggrin.gif
You seem to like KFC a lot. biggrin.gif

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top